Menomonie, WI 
Brickyard Share
Uploaded By: Koerner26 Hole #8
3 / 249ft.   3 / 321ft.   3 / 374ft.   3 / 456ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Really cool course

1    4/23/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: A diverse layout with massive elevation changes, techical shots and fauna in your path.

There are some bogs in play this time of year so there is that added challenge, and the views are fantastic.

There are multiple teea and baskets for every hole, and Appearantly they change the placements often(thank you they!).

Many of the holes are well marked and there are log steps up many off the steep hills.
Cons: It's just nine holes, though you can play at least 4 configurations of each hole so it's not so bad.

Holds a ton of water in places and the downhills that don't have steps are pretty slippery.

Not too many major cons, I played in the rain when it was getting dark with some discs I've never thrown before and it was still enjoyable.

Just wish it had one or two longer holes.
Other Thoughts: Saw tons of deer, a huge groundhog and a big variety of birds. The locals are nice and the place is quite nice overall. The local guys said it floods badly in late spring so gotta look out for that.

Fantabulous Course

5+    10/12/2012   4/21/2013
Review By: Ramapa
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The historic land upon which the Brickyard Disc Golf Course is located abounds in beauty. The beauty is seen abundant in the flora and fauna throughout the hills and valleys. The welcoming area invites any player with its pergola including grill, picnic table and extra leisure seating. There are several warm up baskets in this large plateau which overlooks the entire scenic course.
The free to play course encompasses challenging shots over valleys, along a swampy edge, around a small pond, down well placed fairways, over hills and thru trees. Each of the 9 holes has 4 throwing options and 2 cement tee pads thus giving numerous rounds of play options. Along with these various playing options each hole provides a player (novice-advanced) with a mixed variety of challenges.
It is my understanding that the new signage will contain Brickyard history, accurate mapping, sponsorship, and hole adoptees. Arrows will aid in next hole location for ease of playing. Each hole has seating for relaxation and wait time, also large garbage containers to help promote a clean course.
The Brickyard Disc Golf Course is a prime location to the nearby family friendly Middle School course, the scenic challenging Lambs Creek course at Pioneer Grill and Saloon, and the Wakanda course (Menomonie's first disc golf course). Also nearby are private courses and two much played courses in the nearby city of Eau Claire.
It is pleasing to know that the civic minded members of the Stout Disc Golf Club, who are the care takers of this course, host tournaments to benefit various programs.

Cons: In searching for cons I can only say that understandably mother nature plays havoc on the land, but doesn't that just bring out a more challenging disc golf experience in the best of us? Now if only port-a-potties would be available at least from April - December.
Other Thoughts:
Many thanks to those who unselfishly take care of the course for others to enjoy and have a wonderful experience playing disc golf in this area. My sincere appreciation goes out to the city of Menomonie with land management, UW-Stout addressing the needs brought forth by the Stout Disc Golf Club, Menomonie schools with Arbor Day volunteers, the tourism sector with events, camps and trails highlighting availability in the area, and to the community as a whole; especially Red Cedar Medical Center / Mayo Clinic Health System for supporting disc golf thru Wellness ROCKS and the EDGE Program. Thanks to those who devote their passion and labors into making this a truly great disc golf course. This free to play course is definitely a must!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Hidden Gem!!

5+    4/10/2013   4/16/2013
Review By: Koerner26
Played: 77  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Brickyard is a very unique Disc Golf course just outside of the UW-Stout Campus in Menomonie, Wisconsin. For only a 9 hole disc golf course, the Brickyard offers a variety of features that many courses do not have. Probably the most unique aspect of the Brickyard is that it plays like an 18 hole course with 2 baskets on every hole. The Course also includes 2 separate tee-box's as well allowing for 36 possible hole combinations. The overall hole distances on the course range for about 470ft to 130ft with the average hole being about 250ft range allowing players of all levels to have an option best suitable for the level of play. As stated earlier each hole has 2 separate tee-boxes including nice tee signs with an aerial of the hole along with course and club sponsorships. Also many of the tees include benches and trash cans. Hole 3 has a small shelter with a bench underneath it at the white tee-box while the long pad has a very nicely landscaped bench behind its pad! The course plays through some pretty rough terrain which to some people may be a con but to me the terrain gives the Brickyard an amazing atmosphere allowing players to make shots that I have not seen at any other course that I've played. There is a nice staircase built going down the hill on Hole #5 along with other well defined paths throughout the course from hole to hole. The Brickyard also has a "Putting Pavilion" in which they have 3 baskets there to practice including games such as Around the World to play either before or after the round. This pavilion also include a Warm-Up Hole which is about a 130ft tunnel shot through the woods which will lead you right to Hole #1's pad.
Cons: There are a few very minor cons to the Brickyard. As stated in the "pros" section there course play through some rough terrain so this could be a problem to some people. Another con of the course is there are no restrooms on sight which isn't a big deal but could cause some hassle. In the early spring there are some "causal" ponds that develop on Hole 2 and Hole 5 from the melting snow. The water isn't too deep but can cause an annoyance at times. There are also a few area's within the course where the brush is thick so be careful. Also, there are a few spots along the course where erosion is starting to take its toll as well. Overall there are not too many cons that come to mind with this course though!
Other Thoughts: Overall the Brickyard is a must play if you are in the area! This is by far the best 9-Hole Course that I've ever played and it personally ranks as one of my favorite courses! There are many great courses in Menomonie but if I could suggest any course to play it would have to be the Brickyard because it's not your typical course! If I had the option I would rate this course a 4.25/5 but since that is not an option I'm going to give the course the benefit of the doubt and bump it up to a 4.5!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Course

5+    4/1/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: jwilly
Played: 62  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) The biggest advantage this course has is the multiple pins, pin placements, and tees. This nine hole course actually play like a 60 hole course over a full year and is actually a 36 hole course at all times with 2 baskets and 2 tees for each hole.
2) It has a variety of shots that combine both finess and distance throughout the round
3) It is well maintained year round and doesn't stay too busy at any time of the year.
4) free to play and easy to locate
Cons: 1)The signs are getting a little worn down and need to be replaced.
2)It is not the easiest course to play in the winter and spring since it is not shovelled and it is very prone to large pools of water.
3) there are definitely some confusing area getting from hole 3 to 4 and 8 long down to the fairway, but follow the signs and it should work out.
4)erosion is starting to take a toll on the course as a whole so watch where you step.
Other Thoughts: I love going out to this course every day that I get a chance because I know that I will never live within walking distance of the best 9 hole course I have ever played again after I graduate. Get out here and play this course!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 hole

2-4    9/22/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of concrete teepads at each hole. Two baskets at each hole as well. Disccatchers with yellow bands on top are for the shorter white tees, baskets with orange band on top are for the longer blue tees. The best signs i've ever seen on a course before. They provide hole number, an excellent map of the hole layout with pictures of both tees and both pin locations including alternates. They also show the direction to the next hole which is always nice to have. Excellent variety of shots here, with the land available being used very effectively. There are a few very challenging downhill or across a valley shots here that if not executed properly will cost you. Unlike most 9 holes this one can be played many times without getting repetative due to the multiple ways to play each hole. Trash cans available throughout the course. Three practice baskets and a short tunnel shot warm up hole at the beginning which was cool to see as well. Many of the tee areas have beautiful wood framed areas around the tees with multiple benches throughout the course. Not really many places to lose a disc here either. They have steps going up and down most of the steep hills with most having logs staked into the ground on the terraced hillsides. There is a an awesome set of Wood stairs going down the hillside after teeing off from hole 5 i believe it was.
Cons: Its only 9 holes but with the 2 sets of tees and pins its basically an 18 so this isn't even a con. The walk between hole 3 and 4 can be confusing the first time through. I could see this course getting very busy at times with UW-Stout not too far away and the fact this is the best course in menomonee. Humane society is on the same road so there is lots of barking. No restrooms or even a port o potty here, the only ones being at the park across the street. Not so bad for me but it is for any girls playing the course. I could see a few areas being swampy after a lot of rainfall, but not much they can do about that. Bugs weren't a factor when i went in late september but i could see them being an issue in spring or summer, again nothing the designers can do about this, Just have bug spray available. Not much else here
Other Thoughts: Definately the best 9 hole i've ever seen. I would like to see more courses adopt this format to offer twice the variety of shots on half the land. Has a huge fenced in dog park on the same property as the course and is a dog friendly course, just pick up after them. Very nice course with Wakanda, Menomonee Middle school, Axldog Acres, and Lambs Creek all within a half hour as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A 9 hole with a lot to offer

5+    7/17/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: Manimal
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements, Short and Long Tees made of cement. Has a huge variety of shots from downhill/uphill, hallway shots, doglegs, and distance. This course may only be 9 holes, but when combined with the varying pins/tees, can be played as up to a 36 hole course.
Cons: When it's wet out their are swampy areas that pool water, this can be a real pain if you have a bad throw, easy to lose a disc in the muck.

The Humane Society is located right next to the course, so if you find the sound of constantly barking dogs a distraction, this might not work out for you.
Other Thoughts: A nice secluded course that challenges players of varying skill levels. The trees sculpt the fairways and are definitely a factor that varies with the season. The paths can get rough, and you can easily slip on the steeper slopes, so wear some good grippy shoes that protect your feet.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Very technical Course

5+    8/2/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: ecstokely
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical and fun course.

Its only nine holes, however the two tee and pin locations allow for very different feels. if you play multiple times through. Playing a mixed format Allows you to have a lot of variety.

Holes are mapped out well with signage at every tee.

Great place to practice a mid and approach game.

Pairs well with wakanda in town for a good day of disc golf.
Cons: There are only a few holes to stretch the arm out on long drives.

Blue tee on hole 8 could be concrete. Gets slippery.

Gets overgrown at times during the summer. Maintenance is kind of inconsistent. Has been cut frequently in recent weeks.

Some of the dirt trails could use steps and maybe a few markers. If you've never played it before it could be difficult to find a few tees. And climbing or descending some of the hills can be a bit scary if youre carrying a heavy bag
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses, but with a bit more trimming and a new tee pad on 8 this could be GREAT!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fall Course

2-4    6/10/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: warmastar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Great terrain use
*Challenging holes
*Multiple Tees and Holes
*Well documented signage
*Warm up drive range and putting
Cons: -Lack of maintenance
-Unsafe paths
-Confusing paths between holes/tees
-Very buggy during the summer
Other Thoughts: This is a course best played when the weeds have been matted down by the fall leaves. There is very little course maintenance so if you go during the summer make sure to go later in the day. The dew from the morning will make for a very wet and uncomfortable experience if you go too early. Also if you go during the summer set aside a healthy chunk of time for disc searching as the weeds tend to get very thick.

Last thoughts:
If I was rating this only by my fall experiences I would give it 4 stars. If I was rating this only by my summer experiences I would give this 1 star.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Brickyard

1    7/12/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: PTJohnston
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dual Tees, and Dual baskets, presents a huge array of ways to play this course. Great use of the land to make for a very challenging technical course, in a small space. Mostly set in a small valley going up and down the sides, it has a feel of roughness, as if there is a battle between course maintenance and nature. It made for a great feeling, and wonderful views.
Cons: Its too far away from the Twin Cities for me to play with any regularity, which bums me out.
Other Thoughts: My girlfriend and I drove down from the twin cities to do a little camping and disc golfing. Menomonie is a great destination for any disc golfer, and Brickyard is a big part of that.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 hole?

2-4    6/22/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: Goosefraba
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Wide open holes as well as challenging holes through multiple trees.
*Multiple pin placements. Most holes have orange and yellow baskets, with some having 2 possible pin placements for one or both of a color.
*Elevation changes.
*Hole 1 mostly open with a few trees
*Hole 2 mostly open with a few trees going from higher elevation to lower elevation
*Hole 3 open
*Hole 4 many trees, higher elevation to lower
*Hole 5 mostly open with a few trees going from higher elevation to lower elevation
*Hole 6 several trees going from lower elevation to higher elevation
*Hole 7 (one of the best holes around) many trees across a small valley
*Hole 8 wide open going from higher elevation to lower elevation
*Hole 9 lower elevation to a higher elevation with many trees
Cons: *Only has 9 holes
*The second time I played this, the dogs were going nuts, so the barking got old.
*Rubber mat on #8 always seems wet/slick, so would be better to remove it.
Other Thoughts: Great course but does get busy at times. A touch overgrown at times, but not a real issue.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.