Disc Golf Store
Menomonie, WI 
Brickyard Share
Uploaded By: extreme18rotation Hole #2 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 279ft.   3 / 306ft.   3 / 348ft.   3 / 363ft. Par / Distance:
Bat Houses installed on holes 2 and 5 that house 500 bats x 1,000 insects/hr = 500,000/hour



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Brickyard

5+    3/24/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole with multiple tees and pins offering a nice variety.
Concrete tees with maps and some nice landscaping work on most.
A lot of elevation changes.
Warm-up hole and practice baskets, including around-the-world markers on one.
Dog park nearby.
Well maintained, fairly nicely designed, and some of the landscaping work really makes it look nice.
Cons: Can get crowded.
The layout on a couple holes has you walking up or across fairways, but visibility is pretty good so people always see you.
Bugs!
Slippery, messing, and even a bit dangerous in some spots during the winter and early spring months.
Tends to get a bit muddy after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and play every time I'm in Menomonie, it pairs well with Wakanda or even Axldog out in Boyceville.
The warm-up holes and around-the-world make for really enjoyable pre-game activities.
There are a lot of elevation changes for a 9-hole course, that combined with the multiple tee and pin layouts make this course fun yet challenging and add a high replay value.
There is a small brewery close by and they host a couple fun tournaments during the year. There is also a dog park and an animal shelter near the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Brickyard Booya

1    3/9/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 727  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Amenities abound here . . . Bike-rack, nice patio area with a pergola to block the summer sun, kiosk with plenty of room for information, mailbox for something (maybe scorecards?)3 practice baskets and a warmup hole . . . are you kidding me, they have a hole for you to practice on without interfering with play (that is awesome), garbage cans available around the hangout area (which I can only imagine is packed with college coeds all day everyday in season). What more can you ask for?

2) Dual tees and permanently installed dual baskets (each with two positions (two long and two short)). This course has so many variations it isn't even funny. I would like to know if anyone has aced any combination of layout on any given hole. Pick your tee for the day and pick your basket. I for one couldn't resist throwing one to the long and one to the short the whole way through because they were two totally different holes.

3) Dual tees as mentioned with nice wood structures indicating the white tee and the blue tee. It makes navigation so much easier when you can see the next tee. You can even see from a little distance if the routered hole and tee color are painted in the appropriate color. The beauty of this is that even if you are illiterate if you have some shred of intelligence you can figure out if you are playing the blue tee or the white tee.

4) Nice concrete tees on both of the dual tees.

5) Very nice tee signs (as I mentioned above in the wood structures) but the maps of the holes are cool. They are well done, appropriately scaled (it seems) and they indicate all of the basket positions and all of the basket distances for each tee. Even for just a laminated map they are decent and definitely help you get around the course and know where you are throwing.

6) Excellent Discatcher basket choice on this all wooded course. The only problem I can see if that the yellow banded Innovas and especially the orange banded baskets will get lost in the foliage at times during the year. Other than that issue they are all labeled with the hole # and pin letter to help you know if you are looking at the right basket. I played both baskets at once from the same tee so it was easy to figure out because I had to find both baskets before teeing off anyays.

7) This property is simply amazing and I can only imagine it was thought to be almost unusable for anything else. There is so much variety here from tightly wooded, to moderately wooded, to even somewhat open. Throw in the dual tees, the 4 basket placements (2 permanently installed per hole), the elevation, and the cool basket locations and that makes for just an incredible course.

8) Plenty of garbage cans and benches on the property so you will never have to carry your garbage too far. You also will have plenty of opportunities to just have a seat and enjoy watching other people throw into the trees.

9) Yet another property with power
lines and sewer easements running through it. I gotta find a property with this type of stuff so I can buy it and build an awesome disc golf course.

10) Excellent variety of shot shaping and disc selection needed on this course. There is enough distance variation to keep you on your toes and the discs you need to throw range from putters to mids to drivers (and that is just on the drives). Upshots requires the same decisions all over again.

11) Seclusion is awesome out here until you get near the dog kennels on #9 and the dogs will remind you that they could totally

12) I aced one of the coolest holes on the course . . .. #5b from the blue tees. It skipped nicely off the snowpack and intot he chins. I celebrated alone . . . again!
Cons: 1) Compaction and erosion are definitely a problem on this course.

2) The stairways and some of the landscape work was not the best quality. I appreciate the hard work .. . trust me I do . . . but it just was not the quality I expect as a professional landscaper. Not only were there some spots that were unattractive, but they were downright dangerous. The stairways with the logs and some metal spikes holding them in place . . . were just deadly . . . especially in winter when the "treads" of the stairs were all frozen up in ice. I literally had to crawl down the hills at time and feared having one of those metal retaining spikes or stakes rip me a new one. Do I appreciate the stairs . . . yes, I just wish that things could be done right on our sport and not "the best of our ability". I say this not to rip on the work the people did, but to simply show how our sport is years behind on construction, installation, and maintenance. I just with it would be one right, safely, and not need to be redone all the time.

3) The walk from #1 to #2 was goofy . . . so much so that it would impede players from throwing on #1 until you are already on #2 tee because you walk right back up the fairway of #1. The long walk from #3 to #4 was also a little confusing, but that may be because there was still a lot of snow. It might be more evident where #4 Blue Tee is (up the hill from the white tee which is at the base of the ridge.

4) While the short tees and short baskets may be easier than the rest of the course, I would still consider them to be difficult holes and thus deeming the course the Scarlet letters "BU" as in Beginner Unfriendly. It isn't so much from the distance, it is more from the difficulty of some of the shots, the feasibility to lose discs fairly easily on some holes, and simply put . . . just the walk and flow. Prepare your beginner friends for what they have in store for them.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is by far my favorite 9 hole course of all time. I did have Bethel University high up my list but this one takes the cake, in fact I think it might just have to shove bethel down a few ratings points. It may only be 9 holes but it feels like it plays like 18 . . . when in actuality it plays more like 50-60 holes with all of the basket and tee combinations. Seriously what more can you ask for? While the negatives are a big deal to me (a professional landscaper), they also have put in as much if not more work on this course than just about any other course I have seen before, so I can't really fault them in the rating because of what I view as dangerous. Eventually I assume everything will be in great shape and appropriately constructed, but it takes time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/25/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 394  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual Cement Tee Pads
-Dual Baskets with alternative pin locations
-Practice Baskets
-Practice Hole
-Lots of seating
-Elevation Changes
-Mixed of Challenges (NOV to ADV)
-Land on used for disc golf
-Major improvements started and coming

This course is amazing for a nine hole course. The money and time Stout Disc Golf Club is definitely showing. When you pull into the lot you are great by a large course board with the standard information you expect to find at a decent course. Behind the board, there are two practice baskets for putting as well as putting games you can play. There is a gazebo, a picnic table, and a bunch of lounge chairs right there at the beginning and the end of the course (there were some set up to watching White Tee Hole 9. As you walk from the practice baskets, there is a practice hole. Seriously, an entire hole. It's a short putter or midrange (depending on ability) that starts open and going down a tight corridor. It was nice to throw my putters and mids before starting the round just to strength out my arm.

Each hole had both dual tees and dual baskets. Most of tee pads were concrete. I remember Blue 8 being a fly pad (but I could be wrong). Tee signs were recently put up on the holes, showing where the holes and tee pads are located. On top of there being two Innova discatcher baskets (yellow shorter, orange longer), there were multiple pin placements for each basket. The courses was empty when I got there (got super lucky) and got two play two rounds simultaneously. I played a round from the white tees to both baskets and then played another round from the blue tees to each baskets. I knocked out four rounds (technically) in just over an hour.

The challenges on the holes vary from "deuce or die" to potentially legitimate par 4s from the blue tees. The mix of elevation is solid and the tree cover forces to throw certain and sometimes out of the box lines. An average Rec/Nov player could struggle with finding lines on certain holes, however generally speaking, you will need a variety of shot to birdie majority of these holes. The course itself is exclusively for disc golf. The course is next to the Dunn County Humane Society and they have another area for dog play and well as a dog walking path when you turned into the driveway. It is beautifully secluded. The area benches and gazebos on the course to wait for other golfers to finish. The landscaping and building they have done is solid so far, with still having some work left to be done.
Cons: -nagivation
-erosion
-amentities

The course flow was a slight issue. I could see how a new player without a lot of course experience could struggle with finding there way around quickly. With multiple pins and pin locations obviously could make things a little more challenging. There are some arrows pointing to the next tee near the beginning of the course, and I am willing to bet by the time they are finished with the improvements, it probably will not be an issue anymore.

Erosion is an existing issues and is being taking care of with other paths being made and well as step and walking path. With a course with this kind of elevation erosion will always be an issue and only get worse with increase traffic. They are doing a decent job of maintaining it. It could definitely use a washroom. Not really a con being manly, but you have the stuff by University of Wisconsin - Stout down the street for bathroom, food, and drink.

Other Thoughts: This course is one of the biggest stand out nine holes courses I have played. Just having the multiple tees and baskets with different pin locations makes it great. All the extra flair, the practice baskets, lounge areas, practice holes, landscaping makes it awesome. When they are finished with everything, it will be phenomenal. The challenge is there for everyone, you just need to find the difficulty you are looking for. If you are playing on stopping in Menomonie on a road trip to play a course, chose this one. It is noticeable better than the other options. Wakanda, Menomonie Middle School, and Lamb's Creek @ Pioneer Grill are all decent plays, however, this one is the most memorable and offers the most challenges. Lamb's Creek probably edges out Wakanda based on its uniqueness being at a bar and grill.

This is the first nine hole I have ever played that I would say is worth the stop. With having the potential to play four completely different nine holes on any giving day, it has more to offer than your average 18 hole course. If I lived in the area, this is where my wife would be able to find me if I was in trouble. It's gets a 4.0 for now with is excellent. When all the adjustment are made, I'd probably bump it to a 4.5 which is crazy for a nine hole course, but will probably deserve it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 BEST 9 HOLES I EVER PLYED

2-4    7/16/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brickyard is by far the best 9 hole course I have ever played. All other 9 holers should use this course as an example of excellence in design and aesthetic. The course is county own but is not in a city or town park. It is a standalone FREE course that rivals and surpasses many 18 holers I have played. The land is used wonderfully and it is full of beautiful views. The variety of shot types is outstanding and there are four different course layouts to play all tied into one course. The course plays through some of the most unique land I have seen for disc golf. Nice rolling hills, open meadows, dense woods and some very interesting ravines. This is an absolute must for anyone in the area and Menominee, WI has a few other gems that make this a WI DG destination IMO. BIG UPS TO THE STOUT DG CLUB FOR THE HARD WORK.

1.Two nice grippy tee pads for each hole. Great for all levels of players.

2.Two pin placements both having alternate locations. Total of 18 baskets with 36 pin locations. This also adds to the diversity of the course allowing for four different 9 hole course to be played in one location. Long baskets are orange and short baskets are yellow, both of which are very visible.

3.Great warm up area with three putting baskets with distance markers and fun putting games to play. There is also a warm up hole that is 180' long that starts by the putting green and goes into a tightly wooded tunnel.

4.The landscaped tee pads really add to the course as well as giving ample room for waiting for the group in front of you to finish the hole. Every pad has benches and garbage cans available as well. All the fairways were nicely mowed as well and finding disc's was not a problem.

5.The variety of shots here is excellent, and that is an understatement. They have it all up, down, left, right, wooded, open long and short. Shot shaping is incredibly important on most of the holes.

6.Risk reward is everywhere on this course. The ravine hole is really tough even though it is only 244' at the longest. If you don't make it across the heavily wooded fairway you will be looking at a 100' hill that you must throw to the top of to have a chance at par. The woods are thick on either side of most of the fairways and if you don't put your disc where you want it it's going to be hard to get par. There is also casual, seasonal water that is close to a few baskets that could be played as OB but it is not too hard to find your disc if it gets wet.

7.The short tees and pins offer beginners a chance to play a very hard course without getting too frustrated. That being said I would not bring a first timer here.

8.All the holes have a bit of a different feel to them and it would be very hard to get bored at this course. Hole #7 is the most memorable for me because of the big ravine that runs right through the middle of the fairway.

9.The putting green also has a grilling area for an afternoon lunch break.

10.The course is a great work out due to walking up and down hills.

11.IT'S FREE

12.THE WHOLE COURSE IS BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

This is a great course to go to with a group of four hard core DGers. You can play all day and never worry about getting sick of it. Play some putting games to warm up, then play two rounds, stop for lunch and play two more rounds afterwards. I will be going back here as much as possible.
Cons: Very few cons here and most are due to the unique land that the course sits on. Some of the cons are being addressed as I write this review. The land is very hilly and erosion is an issue. Step lightly while playing and use the designated trials to avoid making the problem worse.

1.The erosion is going to be a big problem here as the course gets older. The Stout DG Club is doing a great job of trying to nip this problem in the bud by, installing stairs and tearing some of the big elevation changes. If they continue the hard work this course should be around for years to come. Some of the hills that do not have stairs can get very slippery if it's wet so be careful.

2.The flow of the course is a bit difficult but the holes are so fun it is easy to forget about it. Be careful on a few holes because you have to walk along the side of the fairway to get to the next tee area. The walks between holes can be a bit long but once you get to the pad it is well worth it.

3.The only thing this course is missing is a pro shop. I don't know if this will ever happen but it would be nice to have the ability to buy disc's, snacks and drinks for your round. Bring water, food and bug spray.

4.This wasn't really a con for me but some of the wooded holes are incredibly tight and finding a line is really, really hard.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course anytime I have a chance. It is by far the nicest free course I have ever played. I am giving it a 4.5 and when all of the landscaping is done I might have to bump it to a 5. I can't believe I am rating it so high but it is just as fun as Blue Ribbon Pines IMO. PLAY THIS COURSE!!!!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole Course

2-4    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: CoolEggman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love the property this is on, perfect for disc golf.
Well documented and marked hole locations.
Great seating areas and warm up games.
Great 9 holes with 2 tees and 2 pins to create a nice 36 hole course.
Cons: Course flow is a little wonky. (Backtracking to get to hole 2 and ending away from parking lot)
Some shots are near impossible to get.
Need more stairs.
Other Thoughts: Played this morning after some heavy rains that caused the heavy travel areas to be slippery.

I only wish this course was around when I was still attending STOUT.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Brickyard

1    4/17/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain, hands down, is AWESOME for disc golf. Sharp elevation changes throughout a series of ravines, mounds, washouts, gulleys, and along an electric transmission line. If you love some disc golf on amazingly unique pieces of property, with sharp and drastic elevation changes, PLAY HERE! I'm taking 40-50' sharp drops that you throw up and over, down from, or peak to peak. Variety is also quite great. Hole 1 starts off with a semi-open ripper with sporadic trees to frame your routes (400'+'). Hole 2 begins a great downhil ripper and to make it more fun, a ton of water was in play because of the wet spring. Hole 3 offers a great long anny for a RHBH, and strategically placed OB ponds on the left where a righty would fade out. Hole 4 is somewhat of a crapshoot through the trees, but we saw many possible (but tight) routes, and my doubles partner managed to park the hole. Orange pin was to the right, but an alternate location on the left is framed up beautifully by a curved tree. Hole 5 is a great downhill finesse shot through some tight trees and over a small pond. Hole 6 is from the basin uphill to a blind pin, which is also perched right on the edge of a HUGE dropoff (love me some risky pin locations!). Hole 7 is a peak to peak throw over a washout ravine through very tight trees. Hole 8 is a downhill bomber along a power line (AIR IT OUT, the hole is long!). Hole 9 is an excellent uphill hyzer that requires power or placement because at the top of the turn you must cross a steep washout.
There are 2 sets of pads, and 2 permanent pins in play. We played long tees to orange (long) pins. It was an amazingly fun and challenging round. We could have just as easily made the turn after #9 and played the long tees to the yellow pins for another excellent 9. THEN, we really could have played short tees to either pin for another 2 sets of 9 holes with decent challenge and some more likely ace runs. I could really see myself out here playing the 4 different 9 hole possibilities on many days! And that's not to mention that they have two locations on most holes for the orange and yellow pins (4 possible pin locations from any of the two tees)!!!!!!! Variety galore!
Risky greens, specifically #6, but many others are near rollaway dropoffs or ravines.
Bunches of practice baskets (3) and even a practice hole, a tight 200' tunnel shot, that we actually played for our round. We also noticed a few oddly placed 'tournament only' pads that may bring more holes or longer tees into play.
Benches, staircases, and terraced tees and pins that make for some beautiful elements of the hole. The tee pad on #3 is amazing, the stairs on #5 are amazing. I'd love to see more of these on all the other holes out there. I realize the cost for items like this is STEEP - someone with some money must love the game out there and it shows!
Tees signs were great when they were in their slots. Unfortunately some were missing. Scanning the QR codes with links to hole information is an awesome, amazing, and forward thinking touch to the game of disc golf. I'd love to link to videos of how the hole plays or looks, along with commentary, especially on some of the blind holes. I could make a very leisurely day of flingng discs out here and viewing info about the course.
The area is dedicated to disc - no shared use with bikers, mushroom pickers, or clueless park patrons.
Great big meaasge board, and also some potties.
Cons: Popular with the locals. This is only a con when there are lotsof people out enjoying this great course, and you have to stand in line. Most everyone was accomdating and allowed smaller groups to play through without issue. Popularity can be a con for a course if too many people lead to texcess littering and whatnot. The course was very clean when we played it though and I suspect that is because the dedicated disc golf group in the area is creating a sense of ownership and pride in the course, and they're working to keep things clean and beautiful.
We played in spring, and with the amazingly difficult tree lined 'airways' and high potential for bad drives to kick off fairway, the underbrush and summer time growth could get pretty awful - it's just speculation though. We played it during a cold and wet spring and I actually thought all the standing water was an excellent aspect to the game we played.
There is no real OB, not real ponds during normal season, so this element of risk vs reward is missing.
Not truly any par 4/5 holes, but long pads to long pins stretched over 450' more than a few times on the 9 holes.
Tees signs were great when they were in their slots. This goes along with my first con.
Other Thoughts: We got here after finishing up a 2-day, 3-round tourny during the weekend. The focal point of the journey, axledog acres, turned out to be a disappointment if you ask me. I LOVED the Brickyard and every time I'm back in the Menomonie or Eau Claire area, I will be flinging discs here on one of their 4 possible layouts (and more with alternate pins!!!).
I LOVED THE TERRAIN!
This is a fundmentally sound design with gobs of unique terrain and options. Amazing variety for a '9er'! I truly believe with all the unique combinations of play, and the gorgeous terrain, this is a 4.5 rated niner! I will be back and I'm sure I'll love it again. Considering Wakanda is kinda bland city park type course, axledog has junk tees (only one), one pin, lots of open holes, and is $5, and Lambscreek is on steroids but not really fundamentally designed for a fair challenge (and has 2 of 9 throwaway holes), Brickyard is tops in Menom by far!!!
I typically rate a lot of courses as a travelling player in which time is often rushed. I'd make time to play here again and be glad I did.
Oh man - I've just started imagining having 18 holes out here with the same design components, 2 baskets, 2 tees, some true par 4/5 holes, maybe a manmade pond or something, a few open holes bordering some tricky OB, and utilizing even more of the amazing terrain. This type of configuration would blow off the 5-disc rating scale!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Brickyard review 2011

5+    1/11/2011   1/11/2011
Review By: DrewRetherford
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 4 options for each hole. 2 cement tee boxes as well as 2 permanent baskets. 36 options in a nine hole course is quite impressive. Recent updates and year round course maintenance have really cleaned up the area to portray a well groomed 9 holes within walking distance of the town of Menomonie. The elevation changes on each hole make for some difficult shots. Long tee to long basket holes are the true test of shot agility and distance. Recent construction of staircases are a nice replacement from the old dirt paths down a slippery hill. All skill levels can enjoy this course.
Cons: none come to mind
Other Thoughts: let's go throw !

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Secluded Rustic Course

2-4    9/1/2009   9/1/2010
Review By: shoe59
Played: 63  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very secluded, expect to have the course mostly to yourself. It plays through a nice hilly/wooded area. They have dual tees, and a set of Yellow (short) and Orange (long) baskets that are both in the ground all the time. So really you could play 4x9 holes (36) for some variety; if not just playing all 18 baskets from the longer tees.

There are a couple very interesting shots that you won't see at most other courses. One of them is a nice short ace run through the woods, crossing over a little ravine… very cool. Of course, you'll have to go down and then up from the teepad to cross over to where the basket is. It is a really unique course and I would highly recommend it.

One of the baskets is strategically placed at the top of a fairly steep slope, if you miss long you may have a 10+ft. uphill comeback putt.

Hole 8 is a downhill bomber with 200', 300', 400' poles marking the distances. The long pin is somewhere around 500-550' if I had to estimate.

One of the holes is a short (~180-190 maybe), downhill shot through some tight quarters. Chances are you'll hit a tree; however, there are routes possible to the left, right, and one miracle lane straight down the middle. You'll be hard-pressed to leave the tee without throwing multiple ace runs on this hole - especially since you climbed that hill to get up there!

Cement teepads have been installed since I last played here. From the photos I've seen, they look like they are very nicely done with crushed rock borders around the cement as a means to control erosion.
Cons: I personally don't even mind the elevation, but I'll include it here; there is a lot of steep up and down here - leave your sandals in the car! Not a place you'll want to bring young children.

I would stay away from this course if it has been raining. The terrain is moderately rough, but is worth dealing with to play the course IMO.

No "next tee" directional signs; however, the course flow is fairly easy to follow so with some average navigation skills you shouldn't get lost.
Other Thoughts: This is literally a brickyard! You'll probably find a few stray bricks and some wheelbarrows around the area.

A very unique and moderately challenging course with a nice variety of shots.

If I missed anything, see TallPaul's review! He has all the nearby courses covered in his other thoughts. Tower Ridge, just under an hour East, is a radical 36 hole course on a cross country ski trail - very difficult but a must play!

See "Course Info>Current Conditions" for future improvement plans. Sounds like there has been significant work done as far as clearing the fairways of brush and improving the teepads.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential

1    6/10/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly and forested small piece of property that is disc golf exclusive. Nearly every hole has some kind of elevation change, with some great downhill holes and a nice shot across a small ravine. There is a variety of lengths, from short ace runs through the trees to a long bomb with some elevation and distance markers to see how far you threw. You'll need right and left turning shots to thread through the trees on a few holes here, it plays pretty balanced for right or left handed players.

There are dual tees for each hole, with decent tee signs at both sets of tees showing hole layout and distance. There are two pins in the ground on each hole, an orange set and a yellow set, and several have alternate pin placements for one or the other. With the dual tees and dual pins, there are 4 possible shots on every hole, often with some very different lengths and hole shapes for a ton of variety.
Cons: This course feels quite neglected. Many of the long tees are overgrown and seem not to be used anymore. Brush and weeds have grown in on many holes making for some disc eating fairways even with a good shot. Many of the paths up and down the ravines and elevation changes are eroded and slick, especially in the rain when they get quite muddy (the staircase on one hole is a good start, more would make the course much easier to get around).

Several signs were not in good shape, making it hard to know where to throw. This was compounded by not knowing which position the pin was in when there were alternate placements, so we had to walk ahead on several holes to see where to throw. There are a couple walks between holes that are not obvious, and could really use some more next tee signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun 9 holer with a ton of variety and some very cool elevation changes. With better maintenance, it could be rated even higher. I definitely recommend a quick stop here if you're in the area, and both sets of pins are worth playing if you have time for multiple rounds. Beginners will find the course to have reasonable lengths, but there are lots of places to lose discs and tight fairways that could be frustrating. More experienced players will find some nice challenges here to go along with some fun ace runs, and more variety than you'll find at nearly any other 9 holer.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cool layout in the middle of nowhere

2-4    11/19/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: sportsheros90
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 31.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is such a cool layout! Really good looking holes with tremendous elevation changes and nice landing areas. Very challenging yet fun to play.
Cons: Needs to be kept up much much better to really be good. Could be spectacular. Desperately needs better signage.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those that looks so cool in the summer but for better play you better hit it in the spring or late fall after some of the stuff dies off.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.