Elizabethtown, KY 
Freeman Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 ol' faithful

5+    9/30/2014   10/5/2014
Review By: pookiebear
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2014
Pros: Multiple tees and/or pin placements on each hole. I generally play the front 9 2-3 times a week, and try to get the full course once a week. Most of the time, I play the f9 during the day, so foot traffic around the course is minimal. I'm not the best golfer, so I enjoy the course because it requires me to throw rhbh, flick, and rollers which has improved my game quite a bit over the past year or so. Weekends seem to draw out a few more players, I don't ever seem to have any trouble finding people who ask me to join their group. It's a beautiful park and a great course that offers multiple lines to the pin on most tee shots.
Cons: As previously mentioned, hole 13 is out. 14 needs some major trim work done to really be playable. Most of this year, the grass was left pretty tall, so early morni ng rounds can get wet/slippery.
Other Thoughts: If there were a par 5 on the course, it should be hole 4, certainly not hole 5. Double Eagle is within reason on 5, even for someone like me who really doesn't crush it off the tee.

On the back 9, 13's gone, 14's unplayable, so I generally play 12 and play an alternate (the "pro") tee for 15. When you finish 12, start walking across the small field toward the lake. You'll see the tee pad there kind-of in the middle of the field, but there's no sign on it. I don't know how long it plays, but I do prefer that pad to the original one, I find it a bit more of a challange to keep my rhbh drive safe from this tee, and it makes the flow feel a bit better while skipping the two holes.

 Awesome water holes

1    3/27/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Freeman Lake Park possesses a fine 18-hole disc golf course. Water comes into play prominently on 5 out of the last 6 holes. The majority of the course has open holes with a few scattered trees as obstacles, although some wooded areas do come into play. A slight amount of elevation keeps the course from being completely two dimensional. Dual pin positions help keep some of the more open holes from becoming repetitive over time.
- The water holes are well-designed and will certainly make most players a bit nervous. None of the water carries are ridiculously long, though, and alternative concrete am pads are available for the more difficult shots in case the risk of losing plastic is too great. #14's tee has water directly to the left and woods slightly ahead and to the right. A concrete silo extends out of the water just ahead of the tee. The green is easily makeable unless your shot goes awry, in which case you're probably in the drink. #16's green is comprised of a narrow peninsula surrounded by the lake. Four concrete pads are available for differing levels of skill.
- Well-worn concrete tees, but grippy and long enough. Tee signs list both pin positions along with distance and a map of the hole.
- Mandos force lines away from other park activities and add a little difficulty.
- Port-a-john on site.
Cons: - As mentioned in other reviews, the course is difficult to locate at first. Our group ended up starting on a random hole because we had already lost time trying to figure out where the entrance was, where to park, etc. Be sure to follow other reviewer's tips for finding where to go.
- Near the water, goose excrement becomes a bit of an issue.
- Many of the more open holes seemed generic or slightly repetitive, but this is largely forgotten by the time the outstanding water holes come into play.
- Short wooden posts that house electrical utility boxes dot the course in areas. I'm not certain if these are for campers or if they are for something else, but if in use, I imagine the course could become unplayable in spots due to the risk of hitting someone.
- Despite the signage showing both pin positions, it's often impossible to tell which pin was in. Going ahead to scout the position is necessary in places.
Other Thoughts: - Despite seeing only one or two trashcans on the course, the course was clean and it is seemed obvious that Freeman Lake is well-maintained year round.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Freeman Lake is worth the plunge

1    3/20/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: g1nked
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great location and scenery, good shot selection a must because you have a ton of variety on shots from short and technical to long and bomb.
Cons: Biggest Cons imo was the course was really full of liter. The course is full of pedestrians and bikers and dog walkers so dont take for granite that they think its their obligation to keep an eye out for incoming projectiles.
Other Thoughts: I was with a group of four and speaking of bicyclist we all stood around a tee pad and a biker rode off the road and in between me and another guy literally who was stepping up to tee off. I almost went Chuck Norris on him just to protect myself from a unannounced game of chicken. He literally rode right down the middle of the teebox without a beep a verbal warning or anything so congested was a understatement.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/1/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: tacoma38
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice all around shots.up hill, down hill over water,left hand right hand.Its all there...And clean one of the cleanest around!!
Cons: Hard to find holes if you never played there before.some trashy woods on some holes makes it very hard to find disk.
Other Thoughts: Great Course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/11/2009   12/16/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 225  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot to offer: multiple pin placements on nearly every hole, a challenging par 4 hole, strategically placed trees and evergreens on almost every hole, a beautiful lake that comes into play on 3 holes, and some fun, memorable holes.

The tee pads are in good shape, and the tee signs are on tall 4x4's with next to the pads making the next hole easy to find.
Cons: The course gets closed down a couple months around Christmas time because of decorations.

The course has looping 9's which is great, but there's a small walk from 9 to 10 and from 17 to 18. This is fairly minor issue because it's not that difficult to follow, but a small sign could easily fix this.

On nice days, people tend to walk around the park and specifically the edge of the lake which is close to a few holes. I've had to wait for people a few times but nothing unreasonable.

Getting into the correct entrance for the course and locating hole 1 can be an issue your first time here.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing, gorgeous course well worth checking out.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.