Elizabethtown, KY 
Freeman Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #3 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Tunnel shot. Basket straight ahead when in short position. Basket sits through the gap and across the creek in the long position.



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Great Place

1    4/2/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: Float
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As a beginner there was nice people to play with and didn't turn me away. Had a great time. Easy parking since I'm a truck driver out of Arkansas. Holes was nicely laid out. Hope to get to play here again soon.
Cons: The grass was a little high and hole 13 was closed to some construction. But as this was a early spring I'm sure that this will be well groomed course the rest of the year.
Other Thoughts: Didn't get to play back 9 just played fron 9 twice which was great for me as a beginner.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid challenge up and down

5+    8/16/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 220  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grippy large tee pads with good signs on every hole. Nice collection of hyzers, anhyzers and arrow straight shots spread out through the course. Freeman provides a good variation of hole lengths of some quite two-able holes to long crushers. The trees keep you honest as a lot of them are cedars that like to stop you dead if you're unlucky enough to have an errant throw. The water holes add another element of danger that's not found in any other near by courses (Radcliff, Maldraugh, Meade/Olin). The underbrush in the rough is not so thick as discs would instantly disappear. Would rate this course as for good intermediate players and above.
Cons: There's a lack of indication of which sleeve the basket is in. Though most are not blind shots it'd still be nice to know before you start looking. The only down side to the water holes is the unavoidable goose crap long the lake. Feel like this course gets underplayed for as good as it is. Its almost always in excellent condition.
Other Thoughts: The gates for the park are not opened at all during the latter part of the year (late November through whenever they get around to taking down the Christmas decorations) when the Christmas decorations are on display so you have to go park over behind Target, jump the fence and start on number 5. As with me rating this for AM2 and up, lower level players may get frustrated with the length in some situations and the amount of cedar trees between them and the basket. This course is worthy of any competitive players time and is a hidden gem in the middle of Kentucky.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 No holds barred

1    8/9/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: We played this course right after Muldraugh, and it was the perfect compliment to a technical course like Muldraugh. Very open with cedars lining the way on most holes. Easy to navigate, and multiple pin placements. The Back 9 is the crown jewel of the course as it plays beside the lake, and #16 obviously being the signature hole with a shot across water to the basket being on a peninsula. Pretend that Madisonville and Keriakes Parks had a baby, THIS is what the course would be.
Cons: Tricky to locate the beginning of the course in the park. On the main entrance hang a left at the roundabout and continue on to the second parking lot, and hole #1 starts across the street from there. Once you get going, the course is relatively easy to follow. Other than that, I can't think of much.
Other Thoughts: Long and challenging, this course will challenge you on almost all aspects of the game. I'm glad we played it on our two destination course of the day. Won't be the last!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 very nice park and coourse

1    7/27/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 28.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed park and course with cut grass fairways. Faily open with mostly large trees to shoot around and avoid. Not too wooded.... (I'm tired of hitting trees off the tee). The rough isn't thick and punishing, if you get off the fairway, finding your disc isn't a problem.

Scenic terrian with the lake coming into play on the back 9. Very good cement tees and nice signs. The course and park are both extremely well maintained. A good challenge for this Adv Master player. The course had a lot holes between 300-350 so a good drive and approach made a par 3 easily obtainable. Big arm pro's would find plenty of birdie opportunities here.
Cons: Finding the park itself and then hole 1. Goose crap on holes 16/17. The picnic table on the penisula close to the basket. If you don't print a map ahead of time, it will be hard to navigate the first time. The tee signs don't show which pin position the basket is located in but after looking at the sign and then the fairway itself, it becomes obviuos.
Other Thoughts: The park entrance is very hard to find, I drove by it twice before noticing the park sign. It is located in between Auto Zone/Chase Bank and Soft Touch Car Wash in the Magnet Business Park. Once in the park, take the first left and continue left at the fork onto the
last pavilion (named E Williams) on the left. Hole 1 is on the opposite side of the parking lot of the restrooms.

Once I found the correct spot, this course was very fun to play. Print a course map
don't be afraid of the water shots, they look intimidating but I threw good shots and didn't loose any discs in the water.

I'm a tough reviewer of courses and give this one a 4!

I'll come back for here for sure my next time driving through KY!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Infamous Back 9?

1    5/10/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well kept course with each hole having its own little challenges.
Cons: Some of the holes were difficult to tell which pin location were being used causing difficulty in judging distance.
Other Thoughts: Not sure if the back 9 is really infamous.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Water Hazards 'R' Us

1    8/22/2009   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very well kept. Nice mix of holes. No ridiculous rough. Some good grip & rip shots.
Cons: Did I mention the frigging lake? You might want to take along a couple of driver's you wouldn't mind donating to the fishes if you know what I mean!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't be scared of the water edge

2-4    11/8/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 86  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Equipment The teepads and baskets were all in great condition.
-Layout the design has a double loop.
-Variety I wouldnt say it has any thick woods, but there are plenty of tree lined fairways. The evergreens are very unforgiving grabbing disc right out of the air.
-Water holes around the water are always fun and this course has some good ones. Hole 16 sticks out there are many pads for this hole and all have the water in play to some degree. The pics dont do it justice.
-Its only five miles off freeway.
-Park Facility's The rest of the park is very nice with bathrooms a huge gazebo and the massive lake.
Cons: -The only thing i can think of is there was a park bench close to 16 basket. Really its shouldnt be in play, but some kids were sitting there and it was making me nervous. I yelled over and told them to keep their eyes open, and they moved so its wasnt bad. I wouldnt change the hole over it cause that is the signature hole.
Other Thoughts: Freeman is not challenging but it makes you throw alot of different shots, with some cool water shots. Trying to pick favorite holes is rough I'll go with 3,4,16. The Trees make nice fairways and its nice to have little to no underbrush throughout the course. Instant favorite.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A pleasure

1    8/21/2006   8/21/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, rolling grassy manicured hills, a lake, and large trees.

Especially lots of large disc-catching cedar trees which you must shape your flight paths around. There's sufficient room to hit the fairways, but they'll stop your disc dead of you don't. This, and the mild elevation changes, provide a fine variety of challenges.

Not a lot of underbrush, so you don't have to spend a lot of time searching for your disc.

The lake holes are great---enough to have that pucker factor, without being crazy risky.

If you throw rollers, a few great opportunities on well-mown fairways.

Suitable for all skill levels.
Cons: None, really. About the best I can come up with is that it's not super-challenging, if that's what you're looking for, and no "Wow!" signature holes.
Other Thoughts: What is that giant concrete cylinder sticking up out of the lake, playing with your mind as you cut the corner over the water?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: toxicgolfer
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is maintained very well as far as basic maintenance and cleanliness. For the most part, it is very open and has a lot of shot variation with some mild elevation changes as well.
Cons: There aren't very many wooded holes. There are trees throughout the course that play a part in your shot but overall, it is not a very difficult course.
Other Thoughts: If I'm ever travelling through Kentucky again, I would make it a point to play this course again. The best part was the cleanliness of the course. The bathrooms, however, let's just say your better off going in the lake.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/26/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course located in a well manicured park. Parking lot located right in the middle of the course. The practice basket is located right by the parking lot with holes 1-9 on one side and 10-18 located on the other side. Excellent signs, tees, and baskets. The fairways are well defined and the rough is "rough" on most of the holes. Some holes have am tees along with pro tees. And all signs have A & B pin placements labeled along with any MANDOS. The back nine has some very nice holes located around the lake which does come into play. I know because I lost my favorite Valk on the hole with the large concrete pipe sticking out of the water. Course was not to crowded for a very nice weekend which is always nice.
Cons: There was a lot of bird crap along all the holes around the lake so be sure and where shoes lol. Also keep an eye out for walkers and their pets as there were quite a few of them.
Other Thoughts: This course was really nice but also somewhat long for me. But I can't drive 400 plus feet like some people can. So if you only drive 275-300 like me you have like 4 birdie holes. Unless you make some really long putts. Which I also suck at lol. This course reminds me alot of Madisonville's Disc Golf Course so if you've played that course and liked it you won't be dissapointed with Freeman Lake.
It is well worth your time if you are in the area or if your passing through. And it does belong on the list of the Top Courses in KY.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.