Elizabethtown, KY 
Freeman Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #13 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: Basket straight ahead.



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Picturesque course

5+    11/10/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: KyHyzer
Played: 66  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You will need everything in your arsenal to take on this course. It's my hometown baby and its very well manicured. many wonderful views on the back 9 that plays along the lake and will eat your plastic. If all in the long it's a championship style course. Multiple pads and pin placements. Pins on 14 out of 18 holes. The course could be different everytime you play. Tee signs on every hole, front nine has every shot. Long drives that you can crush, hard holes for pros. Just an amazing spectacle.
Cons: Finding it is hard for out of towers, they have changed a few things and the new entrance is kind of hidden. From Louisville on Dixie hwy there is a new Tim French superstore at the entrance and you turn there and go around to the very back of the park.losing discs in the lake will probably happen because of all the buzzers around the lake. Other than that my favorite.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this course and your in or around the area you should really stop and play this one. Spring and summer are the best times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Gorgeous Kentucky Course

1    9/12/2013   9/20/2013
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very good course worth making the stop to play if you're in town. Each hole has good sized tee pads with accurate tee signs and benches on many of the holes. The course weaves through a beautiful piece of property with a very large diversity of holes. This course literally has everything you can ask for in a course to test a golfers game. There is good distance on the open holes and tempting/testing lines on the shorter holes. Dog legs in both directions, elevation change, tough but fair greens, water... you name it it's here.

Like other courses I've played in kentucky there are beautiful cedar trees which will snatch any errant drive and help test your accuracy. As one reviewer stated its not the most difficult course for more advanced players, but it will keep you coming back for more. With 18 very different holes you don't get bored playing this course.
Cons: There really aren't too many cons to this course but there were a couple of holes which I personally was not a fan of. Hole 14 plays from one side of a large thicket of brush to the other with really only one route to the basket involving a completely blind left to right shot over water. In defense of the hole is very short so to play it safe all you really have to do is throw a simple sidearm (or left handed backhand) about 200 ft. That said blind shots over water are rarely a good idea.

Then the 18th hole is essentially a 400ft mandatory spike hyzer through a very small gap. Because of a large bush to the right of the tee pad it makes for a slightly awkward approach. What makes it worse for me is that to the left of this area is essentially a field which could easily accommodate around a 600ft finishing hole. But again this is really only a minor complaint on an otherwise excellent course.
Other Thoughts: I actually played this course completely by accident. On a road trip back from Columbus, OH to Mobile, AL. I missed a turn through Cincinnati and ended up taking 71 to Lexington. Looking for a quick course to play to break up the long drive my wife found this course on the review and we decided to give it a go. It was definitely a great decision. This is a course I would easily play again. I honestly through every shot in my arsenal: backhands, forehands, rollers, booming open long distance drives, touch long drives, finesse approaches. If you're in the area do yourself a favor and play this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome, classic layout

2-4    9/21/2006   12/21/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Freeman Lake is a picturesque course that plays along a rolling hill on the edge of the lake. This course is well maintained with hardly any thick underbrush to deal with. All of the teepads and signs are in excellent condition.

The real strength of this course is the layout. All of the holes flow very well together, and every inch of the terrain is used without feeling crowded. Cedar trees are the main obstacle, although the water also comes into play on the back 9.

There are no extreme elevation shots, but there are several tricky uphill/downhill shots. Even the short holes at this course have well protected baskets and will reward an accurate shot.

The average distance of the holes is around 300 feet with a few over 350. All of the holes present a challenge, as even the shorter ones have disc eating cedars. Par is a good score at this course, and it is not too challenging for recreational players.
Cons: The biggest problem I have with this course is that it can be hard to find, and the parking situation is not ideal. I know that most of the locals park at Target and walk down the road to get access to the park. This is not ideal for someone playing the course for the first time, because if you start on hole #5 you will have missed the course map.. Also, I would say that hole #5 is not a good starting hole at all. At 500+ feet you have not had a chance to warm up.

I really wish that there was more traffic at this course. I hardly ever say that, but the few times that I have played this course it was like I was the only person out there.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 starts out on level ground, with the first few holes having fairly open fairways with the baskets being placed around large cedars. The majority of the holes on the front 9 play along a hillside which has clusters of cedar trees very similar to Keriakas park in Bowling Green. There are 3 shots on the front 9 that play in a field, with one of the shots being around 550.

The back 9 plays along the same kind of terrain as the front, but is slightly more open. The holes that play along the edge of the water are spectacular. You will not need to have a big arm to clear the water, but you will have to be confident in your shot and be able to throw accurately even in strong winds.

Freeman Lake is one of the top courses in the state of Kentucky. What sets it apart for many of the other really nice courses is its physical beauty and original layout. Although it is not as challenging as Idlewild, and doesn't have the variety or elevation of Banklick, it is phenomenal in its own rite.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

My favorite!

5+    7/26/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not too wooded, not too open, just right. The front 9 has some thick disc-eating evergreen trees placed strategically throughout the fairways that have forced me to go monkey mode on many an occasion.

Good length, plenty of opportunities to stretch your arm a bit.

Very well manicured. This course reminds me of a ball golf course in many ways. Holes 13-17 along the lake are particularly beautiful.
Cons: I lost my all-time favorite disc this summer in the lake. First run CE Valk. Ah well, I can't think of another course I'd rather lose it to!
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course. I play it every chance I get, and it never gets old.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

3/3/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide veriaty of shots and terrain. Has several holes around or over water. Some long holes and some short ones. It feels very much like Keriakis in Bowling Green but is longer and a little more open and has more veriaty. It has roling terrain and some disc grabbing cedar trees.
Cons: I wish it had one or 2 heavily wooded holes. Hole #3 is wooded, but that is the only one. But you do have to work with the land you are given.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really fun course to play. It is not terribly difficult, but if the wind starts blowing you will not shoot as well as you would expect to. It is always well kept.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 This course rocks!

5/4/2008   5/4/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with a good mix of open and tight holes. Very well maintained. There are only a couple of tunnel holes.

Hole 16 is over the water but there are alternate teepads so most people should be able to find on they can clear the water from.
Cons: Can be hard to find some of the tees. Hole 18 is back across the road LOL. The day I played there were a lot of people around the lake. That made #16 difficult to play because people were in the way.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot like Kereiakes in Bowling Green except it is longer and there is a lake. The strategic use of trees is very similar. On hole 3 you better use a loft putt because if you miss with a regular putt you will roll down the hill and into the scrub.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: broken_star
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, mix of open and tight fairways, good mix of long and short holes, baskets are well maintained, changes in elevation, OB and water hazards on several holes
Cons: Swirling wind that almost impossible to read, christmas decorations out for 2-3 months
Other Thoughts: The only thing this course is lacking is multiple pads. This is a great course that is highly recommended

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Scenery

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very beautiful course. Awesome views around the lake. Multiple pin positions which are changed frequently. Very well maintained.
Cons: Does get a bit windy being next to the lake.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2/28/2008   2/28/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: beautiful course, well maintained, the shots around and over the lake are AWESOME!! one of my favorites, if you have a chance to check it out do so. Will bring out your D and accurary.
Cons: X-mas decorations during the late Fall and Winter months is a bummer, but its nice for the kids.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Kereiakes Park.....

12/8/2007   12/27/2007
Review By: ambroze
Played: 127  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well thought out course. I believe there were 3 water shots on the back 9 which are awesome to play. The scenery is spectacular and the course is really nice. This is a great course for all. I would recommend this course to anyone.
Cons: Honestly, I cannot think of anything because it was such a great course. Personally I did not do as well as I would have like to because I've only played it once while a friend and I traveled up from Nashville, TN to play it. I shot a +1; I was really looking to shot under par that day.
Other Thoughts: This is like a mini Kereiakes Park located in Bowling Green, KY except with water shots!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.