Elizabethtown, KY 
Freeman Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: This hole has 3 pin positions. Current position shown straight off the box behind the group of trees.



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Awesome, classic layout

2-4    9/21/2006   12/21/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.3 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Freeman Lake is a picturesque course that plays along a rolling hill on the edge of the lake. This course is well maintained with hardly any thick underbrush to deal with. All of the teepads and signs are in excellent condition.

The real strength of this course is the layout. All of the holes flow very well together, and every inch of the terrain is used without feeling crowded. Cedar trees are the main obstacle, although the water also comes into play on the back 9.

There are no extreme elevation shots, but there are several tricky uphill/downhill shots. Even the short holes at this course have well protected baskets and will reward an accurate shot.

The average distance of the holes is around 300 feet with a few over 350. All of the holes present a challenge, as even the shorter ones have disc eating cedars. Par is a good score at this course, and it is not too challenging for recreational players.
Cons: The biggest problem I have with this course is that it can be hard to find, and the parking situation is not ideal. I know that most of the locals park at Target and walk down the road to get access to the park. This is not ideal for someone playing the course for the first time, because if you start on hole #5 you will have missed the course map.. Also, I would say that hole #5 is not a good starting hole at all. At 500+ feet you have not had a chance to warm up.

I really wish that there was more traffic at this course. I hardly ever say that, but the few times that I have played this course it was like I was the only person out there.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 starts out on level ground, with the first few holes having fairly open fairways with the baskets being placed around large cedars. The majority of the holes on the front 9 play along a hillside which has clusters of cedar trees very similar to Keriakas park in Bowling Green. There are 3 shots on the front 9 that play in a field, with one of the shots being around 550.

The back 9 plays along the same kind of terrain as the front, but is slightly more open. The holes that play along the edge of the water are spectacular. You will not need to have a big arm to clear the water, but you will have to be confident in your shot and be able to throw accurately even in strong winds.

Freeman Lake is one of the top courses in the state of Kentucky. What sets it apart for many of the other really nice courses is its physical beauty and original layout. Although it is not as challenging as Idlewild, and doesn't have the variety or elevation of Banklick, it is phenomenal in its own rite.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/11/2009   12/16/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot to offer: multiple pin placements on nearly every hole, a challenging par 4 hole, strategically placed trees and evergreens on almost every hole, a beautiful lake that comes into play on 3 holes, and some fun, memorable holes.

The tee pads are in good shape, and the tee signs are on tall 4x4's with next to the pads making the next hole easy to find.
Cons: The course gets closed down a couple months around Christmas time because of decorations.

The course has looping 9's which is great, but there's a small walk from 9 to 10 and from 17 to 18. This is fairly minor issue because it's not that difficult to follow, but a small sign could easily fix this.

On nice days, people tend to walk around the park and specifically the edge of the lake which is close to a few holes. I've had to wait for people a few times but nothing unreasonable.

Getting into the correct entrance for the course and locating hole 1 can be an issue your first time here.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing, gorgeous course well worth checking out.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Local Course

5+    11/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very diverse combination of terrain, 1-4 has some up/down elevation change, 3 has a nice up-then-downhill tight tunnel fairway which is very challenging. Hole 4 has some good distance and an neat clearing where the basket usually resides (2 pin locations). Several open holes to try out your distance, and several holes that reward greatly for a technically accurate throw. Playing next to the lake can be challenging, especially since on all the lake holes (14-16) the lake is on your left which requires some finesse from RHBH throwers (most of us) to stay out of the water. This course tests all of your DG skills. This is the course I learned to play on, so it holds a special place to me as well.
Cons: Sometimes I wish that there were less cypress trees and more oak, maple, etc. trees so that I wouldn't have to climb trees. I'm getting a little older and would like to have the challenge of playing around trees without those trees grabbing my discs and holding them.
Other Thoughts: I feel VERY fortunate that I have such a nice course to play on a regular basis (play on lunch 3-5 days a week, 9 holes), even in cold weather it's great. A definite must-play if you travel up I-65 through Kentucky.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/19/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Freeman Lake DGC is located in a nice park that offers a solid 4-disc course with a great layout. The course is strategically designed through open fields, mature trees, and around scenic views of Freeman Lake. The course is both fun and fair for players of all skill levels, a definite must play in the Elizabethtown area.

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Mach III (all in great shape) w/variable placements on all holes except 4, 10, 13, 15, 16. Two pins stay in the ground on 18 at all times; the long position is typically used for a practice basket, and the shorter position used as the primary placement for the hole.
-Tee Pads: Large, level, concrete pads on all holes w/multiple tee pads on hole 4 (2pads), 15 (2pads), and 16 (4 pads).
-Tee Signs: Good signs on all 18 holes that show variable pin placements, distances, hole layout, and mando's. (A few minor issues with the signs will be discussed in the cons section.)

General Course Design & Layout:
-Length: Approximately 6,200ft total (344ft/hole avg). Length varies based on current pin placements and alternate tees (alternate tees available on 4, 15, & 16 only).
-Elevation: Minimum to Moderate throughout the course, used effectively in the course design to create a nice variety in uphill, downhill, and sidehill lies.
-O.B. & Water Hazards: Fence (left side of fairway) plays O.B. on 1, 2, & 5, road plays O.B. on 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, & 17. Water hazard in play on holes 13-17.

Freeman Lake is comprised of two 9-hole loops that each return to the parking area. A sign labeled "Disc Golf Course" located near the parking area points the way to the first tee. The course in general has an open feel to it, but tee placements and pin positions are strategically located to take full advantage of all the land has to offer.

The front nine is creatively designed around large, mature evergreens and gently undulating terrain, and on average, will typically play 2-3 shots higher than the back nine. The higher scoring average is contributed to a slightly longer (approx 700ft longer) and more technical layout. The back nine, while similar to the front, poses a different challenge with the lake coming into play on 5 of the last nine holes (13-17). The lake is mostly in play for holes 14-16, but on rare occasions, I have seen discs lost on 13 & 17. The back nine is shorter and less difficult than the front, so it gives a good opportunity to get a few strokes back that may have been lost on the front.

The course has a semi-open layout with lots or room to work the disc, but tees and pins are placed in a manner that force you to hit some type of gap between the large evergreens and deciduous trees found on every hole. There is good variety in lines throughout the course allowing the opportunity to throw many different types of shots as you navigate the layout. Typically, the moderate size gaps are located between the tees and pins (not right off the tee or near basket). This layout requires a decent amount of accuracy to clear the trouble and access the basket. A good drive can easily get knocked down leaving a 100ft+ upshot while still trying to navigate the remaining gaps. The only hole that is truly open is number 5, but you still have to contend with a mando down the right side and O.B. all down the left side. Even though number 5 has a very generous fairway, it measures over 500ft in length which increases the difficulty; 3's are good and 2's are rare on 5.

Epic Holes:
-Hole 3: A tunnel shot with a low canopy, right to left sloping fairway, and trouble on both sides (especially the left side). The tunnel narrows as you approach a small gap between two large evergreens. In the short position, the basket sits between these 2 trees right in the gap, the long position requires you to navigate the small gap and clear a small stream to reach the basket.
-Hole 4: The longest hole on the course at nearly 600ft. Thick woods run all along the left side and a row of trees on the right define the fairway off the tee. The tee shot is fairly straight forward, but the approach requires a shot under a low canopy that clears a 10ft gap and across the creek to a well-protected basket. I've played this course for 4yrs and have yet to get a 3 here, fantastic and challenging hole.
-Holes 14-16: These are the primary lake holes. Hole 14 & 15 run along the edge of the lake. The tee shot on 14 requires you to clear a tight gap over the lake between a small tree and a large concrete silo. Hole 15 is a little more straight forward, but with the basket tucked in a corner just 15ft from the edge of the water on the back and left sides, you have to be cautious with your drive. Hole 16 offers 4 tee positions, 3 of which require a shot directly over the lake to a pin just 12ft or so from the edge of the water. All tee positions must contend with water on 16. Any shot that goes left on these 3 holes is in the lake!

Navigation:
Navigating the course is relatively straight forward. In most cases, the next tee is visible from the previous basket which helps to simplify navigation around the course. A couple of trouble areas are discussed in the cons section. An up-to-date course map is located on the "Links/Files" tab. The up-to-date map is: "Freeman Lake DGC Course Map (PDF File)". The map shows park navigation, alternate parking for winter months, and course layout with alternate tees/pins.

Maintenance:
The park is well-maintained year round, the pin placements are moved frequently, the grass is mowed on a regular basis, and it is very rare to see any trash lying around the course.

Ammenities:
-Benches & trash cans are located around the course.
-Large pavilion near the first/last holes
-Restrooms located at the pavilion.
Cons: -Signage: The signs are mostly accurate, but there is some missing and out-of-date information on a few holes. Alternate tee pads were installed a couple of years ago on 4 & 15. These new pads are not listed on the signs and will most likely be missed by someone new to the course, but they are listed on the updated PDF map in the "Links/Files" tab. There are 3 pin placements on hole 6, 9, 12, and 17, but only 2 placements are listed on the signs for these holes.
-Navigation: There are no next tee markers anywhere on the course. In general, navigation is simple and straight forward, next tee markers would easily clear up any questionable navigation issues for players new to the course.
-Vehicle/Pedestrian Traffic: The front nine is dedicated solely to the disc golf course, but the back is a little closer to the road (10, 11, & 17), and areas used for unmarked hiking/biking trails (area from 12s tee through 17s basket). The lake holes (13-17) are semi-popular for fishing, and there is a pavilion/volleyball court near 17. Just use caution through these areas.
-Wildlife: During the summertime, the lake is home to a very large number of geese. Oftentimes, the fairways on 13-17 are full of geese, and the entire back nine gets covered with goose poo, be careful where you step, when picking up discs, and where you place your disc bag.
-Park Closed From Mid-November Thru Spring: The main gates are locked during this time of year, but the course is accessible (starting at hole 5) from the local Target store. Alternate parking and starting points are listed on the PDF map in the "Links/Files" tab. During the Christmas season, the park is home to a lights display, with some displays installed on/near a few holes. Usually, all holes are playable, but there is the potential that a couple of holes may not be playable during this time (Dec-late Jan).
Other Thoughts: Freeman Lake is a great course and beautiful park with a lot to offer. There are multiple recreation areas, nature trails, covered pavilions, charcoal grills, boat rentals, and several playground areas for the kids. This is a solid course that is definitely worth checking out if you are in or near the area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great course...

2-4    11/2/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2008
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely my favorite course to date. Great combonation of skill and strength. Lots of lengthy holes. Great use of trees as obstacles, forcing the hyzer and anhyzer. This course has such a variety. I divide it into four parts. Light forest with Hemlocks and Cypress trees, Open field area to strech out your long arm. Then the elevation challenges in the moderatly hilled area. Lastly the lake run which is really fun, there are three holes that run along the water with the third having 4 T pads to choose from. Three are over water. I love this challenge.
Cons: Hard to find any, but in the summer when I went there was a lot of duck droppings all over everything by the lake. But it is pristine now in the fall.
Other Thoughts: I wish I couple play it everyday.


9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

My favorite!

5+    7/26/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not too wooded, not too open, just right. The front 9 has some thick disc-eating evergreen trees placed strategically throughout the fairways that have forced me to go monkey mode on many an occasion.

Good length, plenty of opportunities to stretch your arm a bit.

Very well manicured. This course reminds me of a ball golf course in many ways. Holes 13-17 along the lake are particularly beautiful.
Cons: I lost my all-time favorite disc this summer in the lake. First run CE Valk. Ah well, I can't think of another course I'd rather lose it to!
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course. I play it every chance I get, and it never gets old.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Everything you need

7/22/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: kyflash
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Masterfully laid out and well kept, Great scenery.
Very challenging for all levels. Freeman Lake will make you a better disc golfer.
Cons: The water holes can get you.
Other Thoughts: Bring your entire bag and all your shots. You will need them here.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fabulous

5/14/2006   5/14/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.3 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed. Challenge of water holes. Every different shot used (including an anhyzer over water that must go around a huge tree). Another hole requires a drive over a small inlet in the water to a pin on a peninsula. It is fabulous to look out at the peninsula into this beautiful lake and see a disc golf basket. It soothes the soul. The park was exquisitely kept. fairways were fabulous.
Cons: The park closes at dark...promptly at dark. Or at least it did 2 years ago when we were last there. The park was slightly hard to find for guests (I think we had to turn and go behind a strip mall) but it may have been bad PDGA directions.
Other Thoughts: This is a jewel of a course. We played it as an afterthought on our return from a weekend in the Cincinnati area. It turned out to be one of the top courses for the trip. I would definitely put it on par with Mt. Airy in Cincy as well as Banklick Woods. We did not have a chance to play the entire course as it was crowded and the guards were screaming at us to leave with about 4 holes to go. The great news though is that we started on the back 9 due to the crowd. This allowed us to get all of the water holes in which turned out to be fantastic. If you play here often, I'll bet you will lose quite a few discs. My buddy through a floater into the lake...I ended up swimming out to get it...so I played the rest of the holes soaking wet. It was worth it to play in a setting like this. This was one of the places were it really felt like disc golf got the good "real estate". Too many courses are on cast-off pieces of land, but this is a totally different story in Elizabethtown. The town is a nice little place too.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

3/3/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide veriaty of shots and terrain. Has several holes around or over water. Some long holes and some short ones. It feels very much like Keriakis in Bowling Green but is longer and a little more open and has more veriaty. It has roling terrain and some disc grabbing cedar trees.
Cons: I wish it had one or 2 heavily wooded holes. Hole #3 is wooded, but that is the only one. But you do have to work with the land you are given.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really fun course to play. It is not terribly difficult, but if the wind starts blowing you will not shoot as well as you would expect to. It is always well kept.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 This course rocks!

5/4/2008   5/4/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with a good mix of open and tight holes. Very well maintained. There are only a couple of tunnel holes.

Hole 16 is over the water but there are alternate teepads so most people should be able to find on they can clear the water from.
Cons: Can be hard to find some of the tees. Hole 18 is back across the road LOL. The day I played there were a lot of people around the lake. That made #16 difficult to play because people were in the way.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot like Kereiakes in Bowling Green except it is longer and there is a lake. The strategic use of trees is very similar. On hole 3 you better use a loft putt because if you miss with a regular putt you will roll down the hill and into the scrub.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.