Elizabethtown, KY 
Freeman Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Just OK

1    7/26/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: robthky
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of variety.
Good signage on most holes.
Benches and garbage cans on about half the holes.
Nice view of the lake.
Cons: Poor par consistency, long 700+ ft par 4 followed by a 500 ft open par 5?
Hole 13 is gone, the tee pad is there, but no basket. Hole 14 is unplayable.
Geese poop everywhere.
No water available on the course.
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend, there are too many other great courses around to waste your time here.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Picturesque course

5+    11/10/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: KyHyzer
Played: 68  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You will need everything in your arsenal to take on this course. It's my hometown baby and its very well manicured. many wonderful views on the back 9 that plays along the lake and will eat your plastic. If all in the long it's a championship style course. Multiple pads and pin placements. Pins on 14 out of 18 holes. The course could be different everytime you play. Tee signs on every hole, front nine has every shot. Long drives that you can crush, hard holes for pros. Just an amazing spectacle.
Cons: Finding it is hard for out of towers, they have changed a few things and the new entrance is kind of hidden. From Louisville on Dixie hwy there is a new Tim French superstore at the entrance and you turn there and go around to the very back of the park.losing discs in the lake will probably happen because of all the buzzers around the lake. Other than that my favorite.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this course and your in or around the area you should really stop and play this one. Spring and summer are the best times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Gorgeous Kentucky Course

1    9/12/2013   9/20/2013
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very good course worth making the stop to play if you're in town. Each hole has good sized tee pads with accurate tee signs and benches on many of the holes. The course weaves through a beautiful piece of property with a very large diversity of holes. This course literally has everything you can ask for in a course to test a golfers game. There is good distance on the open holes and tempting/testing lines on the shorter holes. Dog legs in both directions, elevation change, tough but fair greens, water... you name it it's here.

Like other courses I've played in kentucky there are beautiful cedar trees which will snatch any errant drive and help test your accuracy. As one reviewer stated its not the most difficult course for more advanced players, but it will keep you coming back for more. With 18 very different holes you don't get bored playing this course.
Cons: There really aren't too many cons to this course but there were a couple of holes which I personally was not a fan of. Hole 14 plays from one side of a large thicket of brush to the other with really only one route to the basket involving a completely blind left to right shot over water. In defense of the hole is very short so to play it safe all you really have to do is throw a simple sidearm (or left handed backhand) about 200 ft. That said blind shots over water are rarely a good idea.

Then the 18th hole is essentially a 400ft mandatory spike hyzer through a very small gap. Because of a large bush to the right of the tee pad it makes for a slightly awkward approach. What makes it worse for me is that to the left of this area is essentially a field which could easily accommodate around a 600ft finishing hole. But again this is really only a minor complaint on an otherwise excellent course.
Other Thoughts: I actually played this course completely by accident. On a road trip back from Columbus, OH to Mobile, AL. I missed a turn through Cincinnati and ended up taking 71 to Lexington. Looking for a quick course to play to break up the long drive my wife found this course on the review and we decided to give it a go. It was definitely a great decision. This is a course I would easily play again. I honestly through every shot in my arsenal: backhands, forehands, rollers, booming open long distance drives, touch long drives, finesse approaches. If you're in the area do yourself a favor and play this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place

1    4/2/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: Float
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As a beginner there was nice people to play with and didn't turn me away. Had a great time. Easy parking since I'm a truck driver out of Arkansas. Holes was nicely laid out. Hope to get to play here again soon.
Cons: The grass was a little high and hole 13 was closed to some construction. But as this was a early spring I'm sure that this will be well groomed course the rest of the year.
Other Thoughts: Didn't get to play back 9 just played fron 9 twice which was great for me as a beginner.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome water holes

1    3/27/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Freeman Lake Park possesses a fine 18-hole disc golf course. Water comes into play prominently on 5 out of the last 6 holes. The majority of the course has open holes with a few scattered trees as obstacles, although some wooded areas do come into play. A slight amount of elevation keeps the course from being completely two dimensional. Dual pin positions help keep some of the more open holes from becoming repetitive over time.
- The water holes are well-designed and will certainly make most players a bit nervous. None of the water carries are ridiculously long, though, and alternative concrete am pads are available for the more difficult shots in case the risk of losing plastic is too great. #14's tee has water directly to the left and woods slightly ahead and to the right. A concrete silo extends out of the water just ahead of the tee. The green is easily makeable unless your shot goes awry, in which case you're probably in the drink. #16's green is comprised of a narrow peninsula surrounded by the lake. Four concrete pads are available for differing levels of skill.
- Well-worn concrete tees, but grippy and long enough. Tee signs list both pin positions along with distance and a map of the hole.
- Mandos force lines away from other park activities and add a little difficulty.
- Port-a-john on site.
Cons: - As mentioned in other reviews, the course is difficult to locate at first. Our group ended up starting on a random hole because we had already lost time trying to figure out where the entrance was, where to park, etc. Be sure to follow other reviewer's tips for finding where to go.
- Near the water, goose excrement becomes a bit of an issue.
- Many of the more open holes seemed generic or slightly repetitive, but this is largely forgotten by the time the outstanding water holes come into play.
- Short wooden posts that house electrical utility boxes dot the course in areas. I'm not certain if these are for campers or if they are for something else, but if in use, I imagine the course could become unplayable in spots due to the risk of hitting someone.
- Despite the signage showing both pin positions, it's often impossible to tell which pin was in. Going ahead to scout the position is necessary in places.
Other Thoughts: - Despite seeing only one or two trashcans on the course, the course was clean and it is seemed obvious that Freeman Lake is well-maintained year round.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Solid challenge up and down

5+    8/16/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 223  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grippy large tee pads with good signs on every hole. Nice collection of hyzers, anhyzers and arrow straight shots spread out through the course. Freeman provides a good variation of hole lengths of some quite two-able holes to long crushers. The trees keep you honest as a lot of them are cedars that like to stop you dead if you're unlucky enough to have an errant throw. The water holes add another element of danger that's not found in any other near by courses (Radcliff, Maldraugh, Meade/Olin). The underbrush in the rough is not so thick as discs would instantly disappear. Would rate this course as for good intermediate players and above.
Cons: There's a lack of indication of which sleeve the basket is in. Though most are not blind shots it'd still be nice to know before you start looking. The only down side to the water holes is the unavoidable goose crap long the lake. Feel like this course gets underplayed for as good as it is. Its almost always in excellent condition.
Other Thoughts: The gates for the park are not opened at all during the latter part of the year (late November through whenever they get around to taking down the Christmas decorations) when the Christmas decorations are on display so you have to go park over behind Target, jump the fence and start on number 5. As with me rating this for AM2 and up, lower level players may get frustrated with the length in some situations and the amount of cedar trees between them and the basket. This course is worthy of any competitive players time and is a hidden gem in the middle of Kentucky.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 No holds barred

1    8/9/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: We played this course right after Muldraugh, and it was the perfect compliment to a technical course like Muldraugh. Very open with cedars lining the way on most holes. Easy to navigate, and multiple pin placements. The Back 9 is the crown jewel of the course as it plays beside the lake, and #16 obviously being the signature hole with a shot across water to the basket being on a peninsula. Pretend that Madisonville and Keriakes Parks had a baby, THIS is what the course would be.
Cons: Tricky to locate the beginning of the course in the park. On the main entrance hang a left at the roundabout and continue on to the second parking lot, and hole #1 starts across the street from there. Once you get going, the course is relatively easy to follow. Other than that, I can't think of much.
Other Thoughts: Long and challenging, this course will challenge you on almost all aspects of the game. I'm glad we played it on our two destination course of the day. Won't be the last!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 very nice park and coourse

1    7/27/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 28.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed park and course with cut grass fairways. Faily open with mostly large trees to shoot around and avoid. Not too wooded.... (I'm tired of hitting trees off the tee). The rough isn't thick and punishing, if you get off the fairway, finding your disc isn't a problem.

Scenic terrian with the lake coming into play on the back 9. Very good cement tees and nice signs. The course and park are both extremely well maintained. A good challenge for this Adv Master player. The course had a lot holes between 300-350 so a good drive and approach made a par 3 easily obtainable. Big arm pro's would find plenty of birdie opportunities here.
Cons: Finding the park itself and then hole 1. Goose crap on holes 16/17. The picnic table on the penisula close to the basket. If you don't print a map ahead of time, it will be hard to navigate the first time. The tee signs don't show which pin position the basket is located in but after looking at the sign and then the fairway itself, it becomes obviuos.
Other Thoughts: The park entrance is very hard to find, I drove by it twice before noticing the park sign. It is located in between Auto Zone/Chase Bank and Soft Touch Car Wash in the Magnet Business Park. Once in the park, take the first left and continue left at the fork onto the
last pavilion (named E Williams) on the left. Hole 1 is on the opposite side of the parking lot of the restrooms.

Once I found the correct spot, this course was very fun to play. Print a course map
don't be afraid of the water shots, they look intimidating but I threw good shots and didn't loose any discs in the water.

I'm a tough reviewer of courses and give this one a 4!

I'll come back for here for sure my next time driving through KY!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    7/10/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: DGRZ001
Played: 179  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 37.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course was well groomed, with nice tee signs, tees and baskets. Lots of different types of altitude variation, and hole variation - open to woods to water. Navigation between holes was not too difficult. Lengths of the holes allowed for good score distribution, that is, most holes were not ones that almost everyone would get the same score on. Not crowded - only saw three people playing on a Saturday morning,.
Cons: The course in general was partial to the right-to-left shot. The course had too many mandatories. At least one mando, on hole 5?, was difficult to locate from the tee. If I had to guess, I would say that some to most of them were put in after the course was installed because of people who threw left-to-right shots that went over street/sidewalks/other fairways instead of the intended right-to-left fairway. Note: I am a RHBH right-to-left thrower. As others have said, on a few holes near the lake, there is bird poop all over, including the concrete tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course. I am a pro GM, and I know that with some more practice on the course, I could double or triple the three birdies I got when I played. I talked to the twosome I saw, and they were visiting from Chattanooga, so I don't know if that means that the locals usually play somewhere else or not. I would have given the course a higher rating if it had less mandos, and a lower rating if my predominant throw was left-to-right.

But as I said, it is a nice course, and a pleasant diversion for a fun round of golf.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Infamous Back 9?

1    5/10/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well kept course with each hole having its own little challenges.
Cons: Some of the holes were difficult to tell which pin location were being used causing difficulty in judging distance.
Other Thoughts: Not sure if the back 9 is really infamous.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.