Elizabethtown, KY 
Freeman Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 584ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Long 600ft Par 4.



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Infamous Back 9?

1    5/10/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well kept course with each hole having its own little challenges.
Cons: Some of the holes were difficult to tell which pin location were being used causing difficulty in judging distance.
Other Thoughts: Not sure if the back 9 is really infamous.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Freeman Lake is worth the plunge

1    3/20/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: g1nked
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great location and scenery, good shot selection a must because you have a ton of variety on shots from short and technical to long and bomb.
Cons: Biggest Cons imo was the course was really full of liter. The course is full of pedestrians and bikers and dog walkers so dont take for granite that they think its their obligation to keep an eye out for incoming projectiles.
Other Thoughts: I was with a group of four and speaking of bicyclist we all stood around a tee pad and a biker rode off the road and in between me and another guy literally who was stepping up to tee off. I almost went Chuck Norris on him just to protect myself from a unannounced game of chicken. He literally rode right down the middle of the teebox without a beep a verbal warning or anything so congested was a understatement.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Water Hazards 'R' Us

1    8/22/2009   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very well kept. Nice mix of holes. No ridiculous rough. Some good grip & rip shots.
Cons: Did I mention the frigging lake? You might want to take along a couple of driver's you wouldn't mind donating to the fishes if you know what I mean!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't be scared of the water edge

2-4    11/8/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Equipment The teepads and baskets were all in great condition.
-Layout the design has a double loop.
-Variety I wouldnt say it has any thick woods, but there are plenty of tree lined fairways. The evergreens are very unforgiving grabbing disc right out of the air.
-Water holes around the water are always fun and this course has some good ones. Hole 16 sticks out there are many pads for this hole and all have the water in play to some degree. The pics dont do it justice.
-Its only five miles off freeway.
-Park Facility's The rest of the park is very nice with bathrooms a huge gazebo and the massive lake.
Cons: -The only thing i can think of is there was a park bench close to 16 basket. Really its shouldnt be in play, but some kids were sitting there and it was making me nervous. I yelled over and told them to keep their eyes open, and they moved so its wasnt bad. I wouldnt change the hole over it cause that is the signature hole.
Other Thoughts: Freeman is not challenging but it makes you throw alot of different shots, with some cool water shots. Trying to pick favorite holes is rough I'll go with 3,4,16. The Trees make nice fairways and its nice to have little to no underbrush throughout the course. Instant favorite.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/1/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: tacoma38
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice all around shots.up hill, down hill over water,left hand right hand.Its all there...And clean one of the cleanest around!!
Cons: Hard to find holes if you never played there before.some trashy woods on some holes makes it very hard to find disk.
Other Thoughts: Great Course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A pleasure

1    8/21/2006   8/21/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, rolling grassy manicured hills, a lake, and large trees.

Especially lots of large disc-catching cedar trees which you must shape your flight paths around. There's sufficient room to hit the fairways, but they'll stop your disc dead of you don't. This, and the mild elevation changes, provide a fine variety of challenges.

Not a lot of underbrush, so you don't have to spend a lot of time searching for your disc.

The lake holes are great---enough to have that pucker factor, without being crazy risky.

If you throw rollers, a few great opportunities on well-mown fairways.

Suitable for all skill levels.
Cons: None, really. About the best I can come up with is that it's not super-challenging, if that's what you're looking for, and no "Wow!" signature holes.
Other Thoughts: What is that giant concrete cylinder sticking up out of the lake, playing with your mind as you cut the corner over the water?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: toxicgolfer
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is maintained very well as far as basic maintenance and cleanliness. For the most part, it is very open and has a lot of shot variation with some mild elevation changes as well.
Cons: There aren't very many wooded holes. There are trees throughout the course that play a part in your shot but overall, it is not a very difficult course.
Other Thoughts: If I'm ever travelling through Kentucky again, I would make it a point to play this course again. The best part was the cleanliness of the course. The bathrooms, however, let's just say your better off going in the lake.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/26/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course located in a well manicured park. Parking lot located right in the middle of the course. The practice basket is located right by the parking lot with holes 1-9 on one side and 10-18 located on the other side. Excellent signs, tees, and baskets. The fairways are well defined and the rough is "rough" on most of the holes. Some holes have am tees along with pro tees. And all signs have A & B pin placements labeled along with any MANDOS. The back nine has some very nice holes located around the lake which does come into play. I know because I lost my favorite Valk on the hole with the large concrete pipe sticking out of the water. Course was not to crowded for a very nice weekend which is always nice.
Cons: There was a lot of bird crap along all the holes around the lake so be sure and where shoes lol. Also keep an eye out for walkers and their pets as there were quite a few of them.
Other Thoughts: This course was really nice but also somewhat long for me. But I can't drive 400 plus feet like some people can. So if you only drive 275-300 like me you have like 4 birdie holes. Unless you make some really long putts. Which I also suck at lol. This course reminds me alot of Madisonville's Disc Golf Course so if you've played that course and liked it you won't be dissapointed with Freeman Lake.
It is well worth your time if you are in the area or if your passing through. And it does belong on the list of the Top Courses in KY.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Loads of Fun

1    7/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: benbobbins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has fantastic variation, and I can see why players of all skill levels are drawn to it. It features some of the most memorable and scenic holes of anywhere I've played to date. It also offers a lot of challenges, but in most cases is forgiving for mistakes. It has lots of variation in its use of hyzers and anhyzer shots, and the occasional well-positioned tree or mando holds your interest and poses good opportunities to work on different strategies. There is a good combination of drive shots and control shots on this course. All of the tees, baskets, and signage were well-maintained.
Cons: As a first-timer to the course, the next tee isn't always obvious, and the corresponding baskets can sometimes be hard to identify from the tee. On two different occasions, we found ourselves shooting at the wrong basket. Also, as mentioned before (but worth mentioning again), the goose junk was all over the place down by the lake. Bring some hand sanitizer for yourself and baby wipes for your discs.
Other Thoughts: The lake shots are downright intimidating. Luckily for me, there is plenty of scaredy-cat grass all the way around it that only adds a handful of strokes to my game. Call me a pansy if you want, but I'll show you the disc I didn't lose. I just wasn't feeling up for swimming. Maybe when my game gets better, I'll give it a shot.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed and fun!

1    5/2/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a beautiful park with rolling hills and nice views of a lake. The grounds are very well kept, and all the grass seemed recently mowed when I played. The course makes great use of the terrain and foliage in the park, with holes that range from long open bombs to shorter technical holes with narrow fairways.

The variety of holes on this course kept it interesting throughout, with holes that required left/right turns and with well-placed trees. There were two especially memorable holes right along the lake. The first was a hole that played right along the lake with a large concrete silo (?) about 20 feet out in the water. You had to shoot between this and some heavy brush on the right while keeping the disc from fading left out into the lake. The next hole played across water to a peninsula, and was just the right length where most players should be able to clear the water but going for the deuce was a real risk/reward decision.

The tee pads were nice concrete throughout, and the signs were in great shape. The course was very easy to follow, and well marked, and it's great to be able to play a course through the first time without spending time searching for the next hole.
Cons: There is a lack of any way to mark what position the pins were in. This would be especially important for players playing by the course par, as alternate placements often had different marked pars. On a couple holes where the pin was not visible from the tee, it took some extra walking and scouting to see where to shoot. Some of the course felt a little open and repetitive, though the wooded holes made up for it. There were some areas near the water with a ton of goose poop, bring an old towel for your discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course that seemed like it would be enjoyable to any level player. It was easy to find and get to, and easy to follow the course. I would definitely play this course again if I'm back in the area!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.