Marshall, MO 
Indian Foothills Park - Original Share
Uploaded By: DriveCrusher2 Hole #14
3 / 250ft.   3 / --   3 / 314ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Looking good

5+    8/4/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: Grip N' Rip 944
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
Pros: There was a tournament here recently and the local club has the courses looking good.This course starts off with a bang placing the pin over 400ft from the tee w/ trees to the right, left, and in the middle of the fairway. Also has O.B. surrounding it. Getting a 3 on the first hole is not always easy, but if you can, it may be a good sign for the holes to come. This course has great change in elevation and is placed well throughout this beautiful park. There are some long, open holes to just sling it, as well as holes surrounded by trees and brush that require precision. This is very much a course with variety. This course seems to test every aspect of my game and makes for a fun challenging round.
Cons: The club does a good job for the most part taking care of this course. Although with elevation changes and distance it can be tough to keep up with. There have been some occasions when grooming becomes a problem and weeds and brush start to take over some paths and wooded fairways. But I have to give them a pat on the back because there are now 3 courses here and considering there are only a few people to take care of them. They do a fantastic job. Also something to work on is the signage. I started my disc golf playing here in Marshall, so I know my way around pretty good. But if you are unfamiliar with this course I could see where it might be hard to find your way around. Definitely bring a map or your disc golf app to find your way around if you are from out of town. Or look me up and I'd be happy to come out and play. The park has also had problems with some people tearing down some of the disc golf signs and make it had to put up new ones. So other than some small grooming problems and lack of signage this is a great course. Had it not been for these 2 issues this would be a 4.5-5.0 course.
Other Thoughts: I would say on average, this course takes anywhere from 3 to 3 1/2 hours to play. Maybe 2-2 1/2 hours if you are by yourself, pretty good and don't have to search for any discs. Maybe 4 hours with a few people. But of course all this depends on having to find discs and the amount of people playing. Beware of the water on 11, 12 and 18. Well designed course and I hope that the amount of players here in Marshall continue to grow.

 This is what home town DG should be!

1    9/29/2012   9/29/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2012
Pros: Huge multi-use park with plenty of group facilities, only minimal interference when playing DG. This is a real plus - so many courses try to cram too many activities into too little area!

Very challenging layout, reminds me of Water Works (KC) but with more challenging woods holes. Speaking of which, I have to say that when I started my round, I felt lulled into complacency by the first several holes, which were excellent but certainly not malevolently challenging.

Then the course dove into the woods, which is where the claws and fangs came out. Sheesh! Talk about the need for absolutely pinpoint accuracy! Looking back on this part of the course, where while playing I felt downright intimidated, I could see that it was simply the course's way of punishing bad shots, which after all were my fault entirely.

Okay. So after traipsing around in the woods - where you have to deal with a meandering stream as well as dense schule - you come back out into the open and find yourself at the tee for #17, which I believe does merit a nod as the signature hole for the course. It's a long sweeping downhill hyzer shot that MUST be kept low to avoid iron leaves, of which there are plenty. Great penultimate hole.

What else? Good parking, excellent restroom facility, benches every now and then, very helpful "next tee" indicators on each basket, and some signage (see "con"s).
Cons: There are a couple of "con"s that prevent this course from earning an extra half disc at least. The first is signage: many of the signs are missing, and the main sign showing the entire course (at the kiosk near tee #1) is totally faded and almost useless.

Second is the fact that the pins are not numbered correctly for the holes they're on. These two are not serious issues and are easily fixed. Also easily fixed is the scarcity of trash cans. I don't recall seeing any of these while playing, there were some (IIRC) near the parking lot. Should be more: this course was very clean for a course sited in a public park but I did see beer bottles and other debris, particularly in the schule where people evidently threw their trash thinking that nobody would care if they didn't see it. (Little did they suspect how dangerous I am with plastic in my hand!)
Other Thoughts: The available maps and signs show blue tees which really don't exist. What is there is small blue bricks set into the ground - not really tees at all, but hey, maybe if they're fertilized and watered enough, they'll grow ...

All in all this is the sort of course that everyone should have in their home town so they can take visiting friends to play and be proud of the asset they have. No joke. I wish I lived here so I could play this course more regularly.

Btw, I took a raft of pix and will upload them shortly.

 

5+    10/23/2010   3/25/2011
Review By: VictorB
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course in a really beautiful park. Good use of elevation changes, and some dangerous greens that are sloped will force a decision to be made to play safe or run at baskets.

The installation of concrete teepads helped this park out a lot. I believe that 2 sets of teepads and at least 2 basket locations are available for each hole.

I compare this to a slightly shorter Waterworks (in KC MO), it's a fantastic course with good elevation changes, with some technically challenging shots as well.

Best kept DG secret in Missouri.
Cons: Not much bad to say about this. Some of the elevation changes can lead to frustrating roll-aways that could go OB - either on the paved, or gravel roads in the park. I believe that tee signs were an issue at one point, but I think this has been corrected.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if you're in Mid-Missouri, especially since it's a 36 hole park now.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 1st course

5+    9/27/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: bigt
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads.
Lots of elevation changes.
Lots of trees come into play.
Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Great coures to learn on.
Cons: It is somewhat short for better players but that is being taken care of with pro tee pads and alternate basket locations.

Could be better marked with some well placed signs.
Other Thoughts: The players are in the process of reworking this course and they are also getting ready to add another 18 holes that will be bring this park up to one of the better places to play in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Coming Along

5+    9/20/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: MOchains
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an enjoyable course to play. Careful driving is key to scoring well on this course. The course in nestled in the midst of hills which provide challenge in each hole. Several pin placements are located on the side or edge of hills, making approaches and tee landing areas difficult. This course is a challenge for both beginner and advance a like.
Cons: This course lacks distance. Accurate tee shots will lead to low scores and therefore little to no approach shots are needed unless drives are missed. The course currently only has one layout with no alternate pin placements.


Other Thoughts: This course is located in a beautiful park. Any issues with distance and layout are currently being addressed. The park is currently in the process of adding multiple tees and pin locations. This beautiful park will soon be home to two 18 hole courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well maintained/designed

1    4/4/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: kcnickster
Played: 55  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: Most of the other reviews are right on, this is a well designed course with more rights than lefts upping the challenge. While the course was short it had just enough difficulity to keep it fun. Signage was great and found my way around the course easily. Elevation changes were good although I could swear there were more down's than ups. A few blind holes but unlike other reviewers never felt like I would loose a disc. Pro tees were available but the brand new red tees were just too nice to pass up.
Cons: Playing in the early spring it was pretty wet and the hills were pretty slippery. Multiple tee placements would push this course up to excellent, also the trees did not come in play near enough most shots were fairly open. Also the walk from #4 basket to the tee on #5 was right through the fairway of #5 basically backtracking .
Other Thoughts: Several of the holes were very enjoyable but overall my favorite had to be #12 nice long downhill ending with the basket just on the other side of a little creek. Great stonework on the banks, and just enough trees to make it exciting.

 

5+    12/31/2010   12/24/2009
Review By: npez20
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: i love this course! well built and now have concrete tee pads and have poles on the baskets so you can see where the basket is on your blind throws! you have both open and wooded areas and a range of difficulty throughout the course. course is maintained very well and upgraded paths in between holes and the tee boxes make it hard not to come on any day. this course has changed a lot! there is a whole new 18 hole course being made and also 6 new holes on the previous course. all together there will be 3 18 hole courses. for people that know the course well they will still have trouble knowing where to go because it has changed. new signs, pathways, tees and more are being added to help everything out. this course is now more improved with longer holes and a lot more open tee offs and also some more wooded holes with more accuracy needed.
Cons: the only thing i would do to make it perfect is the pro boxes need better availability as it is hard to find where they are. i know that they are on it though and will finish it soon.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Foothills

5+    7/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: anhyzer24
Played: 70  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great shot variety, several elevation changes along with many trees makes you be creative with your shot selection. Most holes have several different routes you can take. Not the longest course around, most holes in the 300-350 range, but definitely requires some precise lines to get par. Well thrown tee shots will line up birdie putts on most holes, so scoring well is quite possible despite its difficulty. Well laid out to keep a good pace of play, and navigating the course is easy.
Cons: Has two sets of tee pads for all holes, but some pro tees are overgrown and hard to find. Some shots are blind, so you'll have to walk a couple of holes your first time through. Can get muddy after heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: Concrete pads are done! Come check out the course, it's looking and playing better than ever!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenger

5+    12/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: DriveCrusher2
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was made by local disc golf players but don't let it fool you. This course is a very challenging course to play on, moderatly hilly and wooded. Every hole has its own obsticle to go around. The course is well taken care of, and hasmultiple tee boxes. I have played it many times. Favorite holes have to be 3, 6, 12 and 17 for me. All of these are long holes and gives those of you that like to crush drives will like these holes as well. 12 is probably the best you have a tree you have to throw beneath from the top of a hill, and have to keep disc out of woods that is just to your right, almost no room for your disc to move that way, at the bottom of the hill is a creek (never dry).
Cons: Tee boxes can get really muddy after it rains, causes slipping. Some of the holes cannot be seen from the teeboxes, 4, 5, 9, 10, 14, and 17. Alot of woods around, disc will be hard to find if you don't keep an eye on them, some will be gone for good.
Other Thoughts: Alot of the holes call for the discs to go right, so if you can make your disc curve to the right you will do well on this course. Tommahawkers/Thumbers will do well on this course as well.
Overall excellent course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.