Baton Rouge, LA 
Highland Road Park Share
Uploaded By: ejsanchezjr Hole #8 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 441ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
unrealized potential

5+    10/13/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: bilen434
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of hole types. More of a control course than a distance course, although it has a few long holes. Difficulty varies with season/foliage, and you can play many holes more aggressively when the foliage is not as thick.
Cons: Course is often used for high school sports. No clear boundaries to disc golf course, so sometimes runners or dog walkers will get in the way.
Other Thoughts: I don't think the group that runs the parks in BR cares that much about the disc golf course. You pretty much have to jump over ditches to navigate the last 4 holes of the course. I think with a few minor improvements this could be an even better course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Class of Baton Rouge

5+    9/2/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: ejsanchezjr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Maybe not the best it could be, but for South Louisiana, this is as good as it gets. Elevation changes, challenging throws over hazards, weaving amongst trees, and stays in pretty good shape. Different course in winter compared to summer when leaves are thick and some shots are much tighter. Friendly disc golfers and park patrons alike.
Cons: A little bit of neglect has left this course a little less than optimal. Would be nice if the tee pads were something other than dirt, if for no other reason identification of tee sets. The only way people know which tees are which is "lore." Otherwise you look for the first worn patch of grass you see after the previous basket. Sometimes you can't even find it and make up your own.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to whoever updated the map on the site. Use this one rather than ones you may find floating around. The expanded tennis courts took out holes 13 and 14 but there are still 18 holes, so use the map here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't play this course for the first time by yourself.

1    7/13/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros at Highland Rd. Park are more potential than real. This park sits near the edge of the highlands to the east of the Mississippi River in south Baton Rouge. The elevations changes and mature trees could make this easily one of the nicest courses in Louisiana. There are shots up hills, down hills, across small "valleys" and on flat ground. It has lots of punishing, non OB areas and is just a generally fun area to play in. Still, what is most striking is its unrealized potential to be a great facility for Disc Golf because . . .
Cons: Navigation is a nightmare. There are no real tee boxes, just mostly-large, ill-defined worn areas in the grass. Most tees are unmarked. Some are impossible to find without asking someone. Some baskets are also difficult to locate from the tees that have either no hole layout signs or signs that are utterly useless.

Additionally, the course map is inaccurate, showing holes that are either numbered incorrectly (due to changes) or that do not exist.

Some of the worn-areas/tees are on hillsides and have obviously led to erosion problems.

This is simply a neglected disc golf course that could be phenomenal. BREC really needs to give this course its due, which is a rebuild and possibly a redesign. And given the amount of play that this course gets, it certainly deserves concrete or paver tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: If you are reading this review because you are wondering whether to give this course a try while you are in Baton Rouge. Do not waste your time unless you will be playing with someone very familiar with the course. It is that difficult to navigate. Instead, drive up to Baker or Zachary for Greenwood or Flanacher Rd. Parks or both. If you try to play this course for the first time by yourself, you will become puzzled, frustrated and then angry, first at whomever has let this course fall into disrepair and then at yourself for not going somewhere else.

If I were simply rating this course on how well it is laid out and how fun it is to play, I would have rated it much higher. But the serious navigation issues, lack of tee boxes and lack of signs are inexcusable.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I could be a great Park

2-4    9/8/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: Bluracoon
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Like the location, The course is not that difficult but it's not easy either so it makes for a nice relaxing time (If you play to relax like I do). and that is all she wrote. I want to say more good things but there are non...
Cons: NO! T- markings .
If you are new to this field like I was a couple of months ago you will get lost. I quit after a couple of holes, got tired of asking folks where the next T was. They say you T-off where the patch of dirt is , well the problem is there are patches of dirt EVERYWHERE.

To Crowded
I've played at this park three times now and all three times I was bombarded by scores of people. The last time I went there were school children using the park for some kind of physical training. When I say a whole school was there I am not kidding. I had to quit because there was just to many people. Joggers, moms with their kids, school kids, old people and their walkers ok the last one was an exaggeration but you get the point. If you decide to go and play there you might want to take someone with you who can stand at the basket and warn the millions of passers by that a flying disc is about to land where they are jogging. Not playing here again!!
Other Thoughts: I lost my Flick at hole nine which just rubbed salt in my wounds, so if you find please call the number on it and if you are one of those dishonest people who takes what does not belong to them just remember "I don't know who you are. I don't know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don't have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my disc go now, that'll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don't, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

2-4    4/10/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a wonderful park and has a lot of different challenges to it's holes. Some of the holes show great creativity in the use of space, blind drives, and really good use of the thicker woods around the course. Being in South East Louisiana it is great to play a course with some hills and elevation changes. This course uses it's natural setting very well, and really makes the most out of the space.
Cons: Navigation. Navigation. Navigation. It can not be clearer. There are no signs, no markers. Nothing. The tee boxes are only distinguishable as a worn patch of dirt, and two painted bricks set in the ground that can not be seen unless you are on the tee box. There is no info on the hole about where the basket is (which is great on blind drives). Also there are a few holes which it is unclear as to which basket you are suppose to be playing to. To be fair it did seem on a few holes like there used to be signs, but on pole was tipped over, cement base and all, and others had nothing around it. It was also often unclear where the next hole was. On my second trip I was playing with a limited amount of time to play (2.5 hours) and ended up only playing 7 holes before packing it in 30 mins early. 2 hours to play 7 holes. And I had taken the map available on the course page.

The only other con I really have is that some of the long bombs get a bit boring to me. There are a few holes with great design and are nice and challenging, but it feels like the designers had 7 great hole ideas then just filled the rest with long bombs through a field.
Other Thoughts: I really want to love this course, it is fun to play and the good holes are great. Overall it just isn't enough to be anything more than an okay course. If the navigation issues were cleared up it would be great, but running out before every drive to find the basket, or debating which is the right basket, or not being able to find the next hole! Well it get's old really quickly. That alone really brings this course down.

I will say from experience during the summer this course can be brutal. Go early in the spring and you will love it! Also on one of my rounds, 5 feet in front of the 4th tee some large group set up their tents and were having a party. To me something like that, while it should not be held against the course, speaks of where the course stands in the local area, and may explain why it seemed like all sign-age was missing. Maybe the course has fallen into a certain level of disrepair.

If you can get with a local or some one who knows the course I would say it's a can't miss, but alone for the first time, drive to Flanacer or City Park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Highland Road Park

5+    12/31/2010   1/2/2011
Review By: JeffMelson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2011
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice rolling hills. A grip it and rip it style course with a few strategic holes mixed in.
Cons: Tee boxes are dirt so when it rains you throw from the mud. Tee boxes are not clearly marked.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for the family to enjoy.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/28/2010   12/29/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park, mostly on and over a large, flat valley. There is also some forested areas here and there, and a creek that runs through at the bottom of the valley. Seems popular for joggers/walkers, but the park is large enough where it doesn't interfere with the DG. Pro shop on site as well!
- Majority of the holes are set by the valley, so there are good elevation changes in many spots. Mostly downhill or over the valley, with a few uphill shots. There are lots of large trees to provide some challenge, good placement off the tee is key to have a clear approach shot.
- Some other holes have denser forest to contend with, in many different ways. Hole #2 has a thick patch to get over off of the tee; it is crucial to stay clear left, right, and low. Another hole has dense forest at the end of a clear fairway, with a hard right turn into a very tight window.
- Creek comes into play in a few spots, some are very tricky. Hole #2 has water pretty close to the tee, which punishes shots that don't hit the window. Another hole has a large, bushy tree right next to/on top off the creek that can snag errant drives and drop them in. Definitely in play in a big way.
- Decent variety of shots needed, both in the forest and out of it. The mature trees here are very large, and definitely force line shaping off the tee and on approaches. I felt there was a good balance of left to right in the tighter holes as well. Also a great variety in hole length, from ace-able to monster bomber. Not too many of any kind, which is good for almost any size arm.
- A lot of baskets are well protected by large trees as well as smaller ones. The large trees force good placement to avoid getting stuck behind a wall of trunks, and smaller trees create tight windows to get through to the basket. A couple of sloped greens add good challenge as well.
- Good baskets, tees are still flat and in good shape. Signage is almost non-existent; only a few tee signs remain. Navigation is a nightmare, with no tee signs or helpful directions, I don't know how you would ever know which hole is which. Very bad.
Cons: - Some of the holes in the open are pretty straightforward, there might be some trees near the basket to worry about, or one or two large trees in the fairway, but there is a lot of leeway for even the worst shanks out here. Can be easy to recover from any shot at times.
- The tougher holes can be the shortest holes, which means there are no real par 4's to be found, maybe 1 or 2. Length can be the biggest obstacle in scoring well out here, and even then, it is possible to score very well without too much skill. More of a fun course than a tough one.
- The signage here is sorely, sorely missed, especially since it had to be redesigned to accommodate more tennis courts. Good luck without a guide.
Other Thoughts: - This course has a very high amount of fun holes. The long downhill drives over and into the valley are a joy to watch, especially when hitting the line just right. The shorter, technical holes have good lines to the baskets as well, and usually are well protected, and are definitely not gimmees. Very high fun factor, with medium difficulty. I think almost any player should enjoy it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Highland Road Park

5+    7/10/2009   7/10/2010
Review By: mcnal1sp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-maintained course with a great variety of hole types. The pro shop at the tennis court is a great amenity, with discs for sale to suit all types of players.
Cons: It looks like they changed the course layout (tee order) within the last few years, which can be confusing. Also, navigating the course can be tricky if you're not familiar with it, as the tee signs are elusive, if present at all.
Other Thoughts: The back nine and front nine feel like two completely different courses, which is fun! Have fun on the 18th: as it's a LONG downhill shot with a water hazard at the bottom that only the most ambitious and powerful throwers will clear from the tee.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/1/2010   2/18/2010
Review By: noahat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots required.
lots of elevation changes.
great facilities on the course.
fun to play
Cons: gets extremely muddy, making tee pads very slippery.
poor tee signs... almost impossible to find your way around on your first trip.
Fairways very close to each other. I heard "fore" atleast 7 or 8 times in my two rounds.
Other Thoughts: The course tends to favor big arms, but still has a good variety for all players. The "fun factor" for this course is much higher than the 3 rating I gave it, but the negatives on this course are pretty bad, so it brings it down quite a bit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 LA Doubles

2-4    2/6/2010   2/7/2010
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets. Older, but still really good quality.
-Nice rolling hills. So elevation comes into play on several holes.
-Shot variety needed is pretty high.
-Nice restrooms in the tennis center.
-Fairly well maintained course.
-Multiple tee locations.
Cons: -Tees. They are natural so they can get slick and messy after rain.
-Signage. There are little to no signs. There are no distances or holes numbers posted on any of the tees.
- Course layout. The course weaves over itself in many spots. Some fairways are shared. Several tees are too close to other baskets. On a busy day, the speed of course play is very, very slow.
-Hole 9. It plays by throwing over the corner of a rugby field. There was a rugby game going on the day I played the course, so the TD had to move hole 9.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly well maintained with beaten paths on many of the common areas. The park is very nice and has much to offer besides disc golf. It has playgrounds, soccer fields, rugby fields, tennis courts, a basketball gym, and nice bathrooms with showers in the tennis center.

The course layout just takes away so much from this course in my opinion. I played in a busy tourney and I had to hear "fore" or "heads up" about 20+ times over the course of two rounds. That's just not good. Each individual hole is pretty nice, but the way they coordinate with each other is not good. The lack of some type of tee (concrete, rubber, gravel, sand, something), takes away from the course too. I would like to see some hole distances posted.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.