Colorado Springs, CO 
Widefield Park Share
Uploaded By: LeewayeDiscGolf Hole #3 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 287ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Am Tee (on sidewalk)



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A pretty nice little residential park course

1    8/22/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2016
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Makes good use of the relatively limited amount of land

3-4 pin placements per hole, adds variety for locals

Widefield Park is well-maintained. Grounds crews were out mowing while we were out for our round

Pro and Am tees for most holes

Helpful locals (we had some trouble finding holes 8-12 and 14)

The course isn't too long for beginners

You'll need to use every shot in your bag at least once here to score well, but newer players can get away with just BH and lay up on a few areas.
Cons: Grass was long after you leave the park area - hole 5 or so. The grass was wet with dew so my shoes were soaked completely through by the end of hole 1 (it was mowed later during our round). It wasn't as enjoyable having soppy socks and shoes for an entire round.

Holes 8-12 are across the road from the rest of the course, which made them difficult to find. We never found 14.

Holes 7-13 feel pretty similar.

Beginners will have plenty of opportunities to lose discs in the running creek and poison ivy.

No long holes to really air it out.

Course map at the park entrance is weathered to the point where it's completely illegible.
Other Thoughts: experienced players can get by with just a putter and a mid. I'm not a distance thrower and any means and used my leopard exactly once on the 18th pro tee. Otherwise, I was teeing off with my Aviar or Shark.

Some tee markers are missing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 92  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has a wide variety in lengths. This was nice. Several holes had an abundance of trees between you and the basket, especially number 17. This course requires some finesse.
Cons: The OB's were very intimidating. Let go to late or throw an under-stable disc (if you are a righty) and you are right over the barb wired fence of many less than happy residents. Rescuing one disc took about 30 minutes to count the houses and talk to the owner, and finally return to the course. The creek also provided a problem. Fast water steep sides make for a tough rescue.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course regularly only if I lived within a few minutes. It's not worth a long drive.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Walk in the Woods

2-4    7/2/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 70  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fairly unassuming with some variation. The course is entirely flat with a small, but quick creek. Most of the holes wind along the creek around the mature trees. There are several ace possibilities. Many holes have multiple pin positions and multiple tee pads which increase the difficulty. The trees affect almost every shot.
Cons: The lack of elevation (surprising because Springs is so hilly) makes the course bland. The course is very easy even from the long tees. I would not want to play here when the creek is high. You cannot avoid the creek unless you layup on most of the holes.
Other Thoughts: If you live in Denver, I recommend Cottonwood. This is not an amazing course. It is a nice course with some easy holes. I could see some really low scores here. The course has grass, but many dirt patches. There is a very nice memorial by hole #3 for victims of a plane crash.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Its ok...

2-4    6/1/2005   6/10/2010
Review By: Drew Heintz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is pretty open so you have less chance to loose a disc. The river that runs through some of the course is very nice and fun to play around.
Cons: Nothin too cool about it. Just a regular course in a park.
Other Thoughts: Out of three Courses in the Springs, this one is third for me.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.