Disc Golf Store
Colorado Springs, CO 
Widefield Park Share
Uploaded By: LeewayeDiscGolf Hole #3 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 287ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tourney Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beautiful Park Course

2-4    4/8/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 82  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a typical park course, with lots of mature trees, short grass, and very little brush. The creek that winds through the course adds a great element of risk, and I rolled a few discs into it.

The course offers a good mix of open holes and wooded holes. Nothing really tight, but some holes require good straight drives or a little line-shaping to stay out of trouble.

Very nice concrete teepads, and decent tee signs, though some were getting a little weathered. There are "pro" tees and "am" tees for about half of the holes.

There are numerous pin placements for each hole. Based on the tee signs there are some holes with as many as four or five potential basket locations. As an out-of-towner I have no idea how often the baskets are moved, but it looks like the holes could have a lot of different looks/lengths.

Navigation on the course was pretty easy for a first-timer. Most of the teepads were close to the previous basket and the signs were pretty obvious. It was helpful that they were clearly labeled as "pro" or "am" and that the holes with only a single tee clearly stated it on the sign.
Cons: No real elevation changes to play with.

Not really a great deal of variety. You have some wide open holes at the beginning and end, and some wooded (but not tight) holes in the middle.

Once you get into the wooded stretch around Quebec Street (Holes 7 - 13) there is a bit of similarity between the holes.

Quite a few of the holes run along the fences of adjoining homes, and you could certainly lose a disc or two over a fence.
Other Thoughts: I played on a Tuesday morning and had the course to myself. But from other reviews it sounds like the weekend could get a little sporty.

Good parking, but the restrooms were locked so we had to drive to a nearby convenience store for my wife's sake.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/18/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: geofflaw
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - great course for begginer to intermediate players to test there consistency and skills with a disc.
- plenty of shade
Cons: - very crowded on the weekends.
- the grass around the creek that runs through the whole course is very high and overgrown, it could be trimmed back a little bit.
- no benches so my family cant go watch or play with me
Other Thoughts: - some of the chains are set up in odd places, but it does make for a good challenge

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 3rd hole...look out!

2-4    7/5/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 41  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -1st hole is a wide-open long bomb...if you can go 350-400 you'll love it
-The "wooded holes" require some skill to hold the line, but still easy enough for a newer player
-Plenty of shade
Cons: -3rd hole is a disc eater! The tall grass around the creek will take your disc if you're aiming for the basket...overthrow the basket and putt in for an easy 1 under
-SUPER crowded on the weekends...go with a group or on the weekdays
-No benches, which means I can't play with my daughter
-1st timers will have a helluva time finding the 1st teebox...the weathered old sign at the entrance is of little help to navigate the course
Other Thoughts: This is my second "hometown" course (I live in Fountain) but I find myself playing it less than Cumberland due to the crowds. But that obviously means the course is good if so many people are playing!

With that said, intermidiate on up for this course....NOT a course for begginers. If you're younger or just starting out, hit up Cumberland or Turkey Creek to hone your skills or you'll be suffering a lot of lost discs.

This course is most fun with 4 or 5 players of the same skill level. My daughter, wife and I trying to play was like the Three Stooges go folfing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Eatin Creek Course!

1    7/10/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Widefield offers a nice variety with it's 18 holes. The first three play through a greener part of the park and then the rest play through and around the ever-present creek. The creek, even after a drought and months of hot weather still factored into our round quite a bit. The course is showing her age. The tee signs are sometimes hard to read. The navigation was mostly easy to follow for our group of first timers. And there were enough players on the course to ask and follow.
Cons: Our group of four consisted of two players playing their first ever round of disc golf. I can't in good faith call Widefield a great course for the newbie. The creek is present on way too many holes. Luckily for us, two elementary age kids were more than happy to jump into the knee deep creek and fish out our discs about a dozen times. And we were more than happy to slip them a couple of bucks for their efforts.
Other Thoughts: I would call Widefield a solid Recreational level course. Advanced players would tear it up and the creek is going to eat up the beginner and families. It was just about a perfect match for me, an aging recreational player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc in the Yard ...

2-4    5/19/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: SMTouton86
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great starter course, really gives a new player an idea of how to get used to throwing. Easier to spot pins than other courses I've done, and always friendly people playing.
Cons: Too close to housing, as an errant throw will end up with you knocking on a door and then you have to worry if the dog got ahold of it before you do. Creek can present interesting challenge, but also is a home for snakes as I saw a Water Moccasin/ Cottonmouth looking snake when I was there last.
Other Thoughts: Great little course to just go blow off steam and throw, just beware the fences and the walkers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good

5+    7/15/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: Kytus
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is essentially an "out and back style. You start near the parking lot and finish near a playground about 200 yards away from the parking lot.

The course flows from hole to hole pretty well, with only a few weird basket finishs to odd tee placements.

There is a park bathroom very near the parking lot at the start. It's been opened any time I've played there.

Disccatcher baskets, are in good condition, and there are multiple pin placements per hole. Pin placements appear to change every 3-4 weeks.

The teepads are concrete and in good condition.

At the beginning of the course near the parking lot is a decent map of the entire course.

The grounds of the course are maintained pretty well, the park is rather beautiful to play in. There is a small stream that divides the course down it's length. Presenting some tricky shots and OB chances.

The park has a few really nice long shots, and a couple short obstacle holes.
Cons: Tee signs are pretty crappy. The wooden 4x4 with a painted number is fine, but the hole placement maps are garbage. They are super faded due to time, and the angle they are taken from is silly. They are pictures taken from the tee pad towards the direction of the pins, with the pin images overlaid.

A better design I've seen is the aerial picture, or aerial painted rendition. Giving a top down view of the hole, from the tee to the pin, with each pin located mark on the map, with it's associated distance.

It is hard to distinguish which pins are which using the current view point. Leading into the next con.

The basket numbers are the disccatcher baskets appear to only be painted on 2 sides, possibly 3. Due to the direction in which some baskets need to be locked into their base, there are many holes and pin placements where you cannot see the hole number on the basket from the tee.

This is a disappointing oversight. And if you are just starting this course, it's a good idea to run up and check, so you aren't throwing at the wrong one. This could be easily solved by simply painting 2-3 more angles on the disc catcher rim with the numbers.

Another problem this course suffers that isn't uncommon is holes playing over each other. There are 2-4 holes in the middle depending on placement, that play directly over each other. This course isn't crazy busy so it's normally not an issue. But as it's smack dab in the middle you experience it going out and coming back.

No benches at any tee pads, and no trashcans after the bathroom area. Pretty big bummer as this course is a nice long walk, and rather pretty. It'd be nice to stop for a minute or two and sit down to enjoy the view of the park.

Parts of the course border on both sides, residential areas. An errant shot can easily land in backyards on a few holes.

Other than 2-3 holes, this course doesn't present many challenges. The course is definitely fun, and I enjoy playing every time I do, but the overall challenge is staying out of the stream and peoples backyards. Other than that, bomb a drive and sink a putt and you've got it.
Other Thoughts: I rated this a 3.0

I love playing here, as the park is beautiful. the layout is nice, the flow is pretty good, and I can bomb some drives. A few minor things could make this course even better.

Keeping all the cons, if there were just a few more technical holes, I'd very likely have rated it a 3.5.

If you are live in or are visiting the Colorado Springs area and have never played here, you need to. It's a pretty nice course, and it's not busy.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Unexpected. Great for Where it is.

1    7/4/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Widefield is a little gem that comes out of nowhere in the middle of the suburbs. It is a course that plays holes 1-3 through a very well-manicured grassy park, and the remainder of the holes play an out and back on opposite sides of a creek through a moderately wooded running-path-area. Considering where the course is, I was no expecting the amount of technicality this course has to offer. While it is not super-technical, it is technical enough to be fun, and to not be a gun-em style course. Also, the presence of pro and amateur tees at each hole allows for different looks and different shots on the same basket. I would advise checking both out, and picking your favorite on each hole. While I usually shoot exclusively from pro tees, there were a few tees where the amateur tee was shorter, but much more fun and technical.

You will not throw tons of different throws out of your bag. This is more of a course to use slight variations on your favorite discs. There are a few s-curves here and there, as well as some nice hyzer/anhyzer shots, but don't expect anything crazy. They incorporated many trees into this course, which otherwise would be wide open. The trees are 90% of the difficulty on most shots, while a few shots manage to cross the stream. The steam is very small, but it is a water hazard nonetheless, which a few pins come very close to. The variety on this course is quality only considering it is a park course. Whitmore has a quality mix of short and long holes.

The course is in a good looking area for where it is. It is surrounded my houses, neighborhoods, roads, and fences on all sides... yet this tight little corridor is full of gorgeous deciduous trees, a small stream, and a dirt running path.
Cons: The number one issue is that this course is on a walking/running path. While it is not super-frequented, you will find yourself stopping for oblivious dog walkers and runners. Non-Disc-Exclusive parks are usually an issue, and this one falls right in line.

This is not a highly creative course. It is easy to see why considering they have a small alley of land in the middle of a neighborhood, but the lack of creativity is apparent. They did a moderately good job of incorporating the trees to create different shots, but in my opinion there is more potential on this land. There are large stands of very thick trees which the course manages to skip, while it plays right next to them in an open corridor with scattered trees. Also, while it was a fun course, the lack of creativity and repetition of certain shots got me a bit tired by the end.
The signs here are very poor, and do not help much. They are placed in confusing orientations, and most are so faded from rain that they are impossible to use. This is also an issue because many baskets are near one another, so while you may be able to see the basket - you may be unsure which one to throw it too. This usually requires scouting, or looking at the label on each basket once you get closer.

You are required to cross the stream on a few shots, which requires backtracking on a path. To some this is an issue, but to be it is an opportunity to jump over the stream.

The baskets here are in moderate condition, but are certainly not the best. That being said, it is not much of an issue.

Hole 1 tee is hard to find. It is located on the sidewalk, in the opposite direction of the disc golf sign.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course considering where it is. It was highly unexpected, and I think it's worth checking out if you're in the area. They worked with the small stretch of land they had, and it's always good to see efforts to incorporate the sport of disc golf into any area that warrants it. This was a fun course, but certainly not anything to ride home about. Not worth traveling for. Comparatively, Cottonwood Creek in CO Springs was more fun and creative.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Throw it out, get it close, tap it in.

1    7/2/2008   3/1/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Widefield is on the south side of the Springs, opposite Cottonwood Creek which services the north side of town . The course has red baskets and plays around a park for the first few holes then picks up along a creek and back with one strange street crossing in the back. Giant cottonwood trees and the creek give the course its character. There are good usable facilities and the teepads are long and level toward the ground surface. There are two tee pads per hole on some holes and up to four pin locations per hole, as always, I tried to play the longs. In the spots where there was only one tee pad there was a lot less confusion. Each tee pad has a post with a faded but quality picture of the fairway with each a,b,c, and d locations on the picture along with their distances. Because of their multiple tee boxes, and easy navigation I could recommend this course for all levels of players. When I played, I had the course all to myself.

This is the only course I have ever dragged my 50 year old mother onto, and I caught her digging the sport, I could tell that she "got" it. If it was good enough for my mom, it will always have a good place in my memory.
Cons: One course quirk is by the turnaround, the backyards of the neighbors are very close to play, I imagine recreational players hook em in there all the time. Some of the neighbors have put those huge military style coiled barbed-wire on their fences. In a way I don't blame them. If it were me I'd be taking down my fence and building my own tee boxes and BBQing during tournaments but I guess it takes all kinds. The course is pretty flat and there are no elevation changes. Keep an eye out for the few tee boxes that are spray painted onto the sidewalk. I had an easy time finding things, but just to be on the safe side print out the map from here.
Other Thoughts: I'd say that I like Cottonwood Creek more because of my preference for natural settings but they are almost equal in quality. The afternoon I played the weather was typical, "summertime in the Rockies." Sideways rain with bursting gusts and intermittent sunshine which forced me to make about five minutes worth of practice putts with my wind breaker on. I look forward to playing the Springs again someday!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 decent course

5+    2/23/2011   2/28/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice clean course in a city park. Pretty good mix of hole lengths. Nice baskets in pretty good condition.The teepads are all cement and just the right size. Moderately wooded on the middle part of the course, forcing some well shaped shots. Larger mature trees add to the challenge but I wouldn't consider this a wooded course. They move the pins around frequentlyto keep it exciting. Good risk/reward potential here, well thrown/placed shot and you got a birdie. Creek throughout comes into play on several holes, especially in the middle part of the course. It is a small creek that is easy to get your disc back, when it is low. Play is pretty straightforward and easy to get around. Short walking distance between basket and teepad. Course is mowed often and no underbrush to worry about losing a disc here.
Cons: Mostly grass area with trees. A majority of the holes are straight shots. Only a slight elevation change throughout the course. There is a walking trail throught the middle of the course that you see walkers on, so you have to wait sometimes. Lots of beginners play here and often congest the course with their slow play. Graffiti on the baskets and teesigns frequently.
Other Thoughts: A solid 18 hole course that is easy to get to and easy to play. A few holes do require some skill to place it carefully, especially on the middle portion of the course. The creek may be small, but it winds around the fairways and for some reason my discs just gravitate towards it. A fun and enjoyable round can be had at this course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.