Colorado Springs, CO 
Widefield Park Share
Uploaded By: J.Kasm Hole #7 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 347ft.   3 / 347ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Get out and play this course

5+    5/21/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: ChingyChing
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find from I-25. Nice baskets. Full 18 hole course. Course ends where u start so u don't have to back track to your parking spot. Tees are level with baskets. Lots of fair to technical shots, but great course for beginners. Very little wind. Lots of shade from trees. if your looking for your first ace or looking to rack up the tallies this is the course to do it. Park for children. And creek to dip Ur feet to cool off.
Cons: None that come to mind, other then the fact its in a residential area. The small creek could be a con but I see it as a pro.
Other Thoughts: If you have time to play, You have time to play this course. It's great for everyone, bring your family and friends.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course, if you know the local rules

1    3/14/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course in a great park. It almost has a Midwestern feel as it plays very long and sits on flat land playing over a small creek with huge hardwood trees (mostly cottonwood). The pins and pads are very high quality and durable. There are multiple tee pads for various levels of players and a very challenging layout if you are aware of the mandos (areas that are mandatory to keep you disc within or it considered out-of-bounds).
Cons: The large sign/map at hole #1 is very worn out and is not very helpful and the mandos are not marked anywhere. It is the mandos that make this course challenging. A nicer and less confusing downloadable map would be helpful as well.
Other Thoughts: I was fortunate to be joined by Sk8 (David) Kendrick, a former pro and local Colorado Springs disc golf figure. He showed me the ins and outs of the course. I had found the course a bit on the easy side until he pointed out the mandos and got me on the pro tees. This course has a great history. Evidently the neighborhood used to be considered a fairly rough area and the park reflected this. The disc golf course and the local community investment into the whole park has helped to make the park one of the nice community open spaces in Colorado Springs. One note, on hole #3, there are a set of younger trees grouped to the right of the fairway on the west side of the creek. This is a memorial for the passengers of a plane that crashed in that spot. Locals consider it disrespectful play into those trees. West of the creek is considered out of bounds so play it safe to the left of the creek. This makes for a tough shot on the pro tee, so if you are worried at all about it, head down to the amateur tee.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Much better than Cottonwood

5+    6/2/2005   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 128  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots required, challenging OB creek comes into play on numerous holes, very scenic with shade in the summer. Very challenging back 9.
Cons: They nearly ruined the back 9 when the cut down numerous trees several years back. Some of the holes run very close to houses (back yard potential).
Other Thoughts: This course was never crowded when I visited several years back. My kids enjoyed this course as much as I did, and the cold creek water felt good on a hot day.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Widefield - Great Course, Great People

5+    7/12/2009   3/12/2008
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice course overall. Not too hilly, but wooded. Nice elevation changes on a lot of holes. There is a strong disc golfing community here, so there are frequent tourneys and leagues. This is my brother's home course, and I played it a few times while on vacation. Very well maintained grounds, and a good lot of people to play with.
Cons: There are a couple of holes where pedestrians seem to get in the way, but not to a fault.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun, and I recommend getting in with the league crowd if in the area. My brother runs the weekly league here on Saturdays.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.