Colorado Springs, CO 
Widefield Park Share
Uploaded By: LeewayeDiscGolf Hole #3 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 287ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tourney Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Beautiful Park Course

2-4    4/8/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 68  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: This is a typical park course, with lots of mature trees, short grass, and very little brush. The creek that winds through the course adds a great element of risk, and I rolled a few discs into it.

The course offers a good mix of open holes and wooded holes. Nothing really tight, but some holes require good straight drives or a little line-shaping to stay out of trouble.

Very nice concrete teepads, and decent tee signs, though some were getting a little weathered. There are "pro" tees and "am" tees for about half of the holes.

There are numerous pin placements for each hole. Based on the tee signs there are some holes with as many as four or five potential basket locations. As an out-of-towner I have no idea how often the baskets are moved, but it looks like the holes could have a lot of different looks/lengths.

Navigation on the course was pretty easy for a first-timer. Most of the teepads were close to the previous basket and the signs were pretty obvious. It was helpful that they were clearly labeled as "pro" or "am" and that the holes with only a single tee clearly stated it on the sign.
Cons: No real elevation changes to play with.

Not really a great deal of variety. You have some wide open holes at the beginning and end, and some wooded (but not tight) holes in the middle.

Once you get into the wooded stretch around Quebec Street (Holes 7 - 13) there is a bit of similarity between the holes.

Quite a few of the holes run along the fences of adjoining homes, and you could certainly lose a disc or two over a fence.
Other Thoughts: I played on a Tuesday morning and had the course to myself. But from other reviews it sounds like the weekend could get a little sporty.

Good parking, but the restrooms were locked so we had to drive to a nearby convenience store for my wife's sake.

Good Combination

1    3/21/2014   3/21/2014
Review By: Fresh Hound
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Choice of easy and hard tee spots
Holes range from long and strait to short and tricky with some water hazards
great for beginners and pros
Cons: plays through a park and can be very busy
can be good and bad but a lot of trees

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

1    11/29/2013   12/1/2013
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: Good mix of technical shots and more open ones.
Both amateur and pro. tees on almost all holes.
Baskets in good shape.
Well maintained course.
There is a nice little stream running through the course that adds a bit of risk/reward to play. When I was playing the water was down enough that you didn't have to worry about loosing your disk. It was just inconvienant to drag it out of the water.
Cons: Personally I woulld have liked to see more long shots. Around here 300-350 ft. shots are about average but in Colorado this is considered a long shot.
Other Thoughts: From reading other reviews I expected to be surrounded by rude people, but I found everyone to be very nice and helpful. There were several larger groups of players who saw that we had a smaller group that was moving faster than they were.The all offered to allow us to play through without us having to ask. They were very helpful in giving us help navigating the course.

Hazard county

1    4/6/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Might be the best course I've seen so far. Distances shots, technical shots, and everything in between plays here.

Most of the holes have water in play and mature trees to dance through, making it very hard but fun.

Hole placement is key here, they have some fun locations in groups of trees.

One of the early holes has an elevated tee that is a lot of fun.
Cons: Not much, but a few things.

Their are few designated tees, most are sidewalks with faded markings.

It's in a park, so people tend to look down on the DG'ers because we almost took out a kite.

Do NOT go after a disc in someone's yard.
Other Thoughts: Because our DG brethren have disrespected people's property, they aren't too fond of us at Widefield. Most yards have "Do Not Enter" signs and barbed wire on the fences. These are the actions that get courses removed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

5+    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: EricBasile
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept.
Not a lot of traffic.
Nice open long shots in the begining and the end and the middle is wooded.
Cons: The creek in the middle on some days can just take you disk down stream and you will never see it again.
If your disc goes in someones yard you may have issues getting it back. Some of the yards have barbwire on the fences or they will take your disc and not give it back.
Other Thoughts: Besides me losing discs at this course i have a lot of fun here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/18/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: geofflaw
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - great course for begginer to intermediate players to test there consistency and skills with a disc.
- plenty of shade
Cons: - very crowded on the weekends.
- the grass around the creek that runs through the whole course is very high and overgrown, it could be trimmed back a little bit.
- no benches so my family cant go watch or play with me
Other Thoughts: - some of the chains are set up in odd places, but it does make for a good challenge

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 3rd hole...look out!

2-4    7/5/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 40  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 23.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -1st hole is a wide-open long bomb...if you can go 350-400 you'll love it
-The "wooded holes" require some skill to hold the line, but still easy enough for a newer player
-Plenty of shade
Cons: -3rd hole is a disc eater! The tall grass around the creek will take your disc if you're aiming for the basket...overthrow the basket and putt in for an easy 1 under
-SUPER crowded on the weekends...go with a group or on the weekdays
-No benches, which means I can't play with my daughter
-1st timers will have a helluva time finding the 1st teebox...the weathered old sign at the entrance is of little help to navigate the course
Other Thoughts: This is my second "hometown" course (I live in Fountain) but I find myself playing it less than Cumberland due to the crowds. But that obviously means the course is good if so many people are playing!

With that said, intermidiate on up for this course....NOT a course for begginers. If you're younger or just starting out, hit up Cumberland or Turkey Creek to hone your skills or you'll be suffering a lot of lost discs.

This course is most fun with 4 or 5 players of the same skill level. My daughter, wife and I trying to play was like the Three Stooges go folfing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun yet challenging

5+    7/13/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: little oz
Played: 61  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice, narrow course that runs through a greenway with a creek that runs throughout and comes in to play on approximately 12 of the holes. Great course to play on a windy or hot day, as most of the course has trees and minimizes those factors. The persistent presence of the creek demands shot-making skills and the ability to hold a line instead of just bombing hyzers. A good number of trees and a couple of mandos that again require skill, but not so many trees that it is just stupid luck if you don't hit one. People use the course, but it's rarely crowded and the locals are cool. Course starts and ends very near the parking area. Good place for a relaxing round.
Cons: no benches or trash cans once you start the course. Some folks think the proximity of the houses is a con, but honestly, if you have any amount of control they shouldn't come in to play, Baskets are a bit beat up and the signage is sometimes barely discernable. No elevation change, so that doesn't come in to play
Other Thoughts: Houses on the anhyzer side of nearly every hole, so be respectful of the residents and don't scream expetives if your shot goes awry. We don't need problems with the neighbors.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Eatin Creek Course!

1    7/10/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Widefield offers a nice variety with it's 18 holes. The first three play through a greener part of the park and then the rest play through and around the ever-present creek. The creek, even after a drought and months of hot weather still factored into our round quite a bit. The course is showing her age. The tee signs are sometimes hard to read. The navigation was mostly easy to follow for our group of first timers. And there were enough players on the course to ask and follow.
Cons: Our group of four consisted of two players playing their first ever round of disc golf. I can't in good faith call Widefield a great course for the newbie. The creek is present on way too many holes. Luckily for us, two elementary age kids were more than happy to jump into the knee deep creek and fish out our discs about a dozen times. And we were more than happy to slip them a couple of bucks for their efforts.
Other Thoughts: I would call Widefield a solid Recreational level course. Advanced players would tear it up and the creek is going to eat up the beginner and families. It was just about a perfect match for me, an aging recreational player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc in the Yard ...

2-4    5/19/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: SMTouton86
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great starter course, really gives a new player an idea of how to get used to throwing. Easier to spot pins than other courses I've done, and always friendly people playing.
Cons: Too close to housing, as an errant throw will end up with you knocking on a door and then you have to worry if the dog got ahold of it before you do. Creek can present interesting challenge, but also is a home for snakes as I saw a Water Moccasin/ Cottonmouth looking snake when I was there last.
Other Thoughts: Great little course to just go blow off steam and throw, just beware the fences and the walkers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.