Disc Golf Store
Vineland, NJ 
Landis Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #1
3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    4/26/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes located in a small park

Use of trees- i wouldnt be sure if i would classify this course as wooded or open because it is open with trees in play on every hole. This makes you need some accuracy and would probably be a good course to set you up for South Vineland.

Distance variety- holes anywher rom 200-450ft.
Posts to mark tees- this helps with the little amount of navigation that there is. It seems like the locals are creating gold tees. Im pretty sure only the locals know them though.
Cons: Sketchy- the park seems to be a hangout for bad people. There os a pavillion in the middle of the course where such activity always seems to be happening

No elevation and no variety- i ould come here with one driver one mid and one putter and still shoot relatively well.

Navigation- there are many baskets tucked into a small area, and therefore you can get messed up with navigation, because there are muliple baskets ou can see from an area at any given time. There are no arrows or any navigational tools to help you locate where the next tee is
Other Thoughts: The vineland group is doing a good job aound here and i hope they continue to do so.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sketch...

1    2/16/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is easy to find. It's right downtown.
-When locals are screaming at each other in a drunk rage at 11am, they are otherwise nice
-Sandy soil helps with keep unwanted rolls to a minimum
-Many trash cans available
-Multiple (natural) tee pads
Cons: -I'm glad I came with a friend to play this course, otherwise the sketchiness of the course would have been too much and I would have skipped it altogether
-Could not find the #10 tee boxes
-Even though there are dozens of trash cans on the course, litter is abundant on the course
-There are a couple of holes where an errand disc can fly into traffic (and that happened to my friend)
-Most of the holes have no elevation
-Locals can be very distracting during your round
-This course has lots of signs of abuse (missing signs, rusted baskets,trash) and I think that more due to the locals and not disc golfers
Other Thoughts: With South Vineland close by, it's either best to play this course first or skip it all together.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 2nd best in vineland

1    5/22/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: sinned8517
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: pretty open lots of big trees. big map at start to help you navigate the holes
Cons: the walk from hole 9 to 10 is hard to navigate. locals at the 18 hole they are no threat but did offer prostitution and we felt very uncomfortable.
Other Thoughts: its good coarse, but if you only have time to play one coarse in vineland save your time and go to south vineland park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT COURSE FOR ALL LEVELS

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: CUTTER250@AOL.COM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: YES YOU CAN PLAY 18 BASKETS IN LESS THAN 2 HOURS..AN EXCELLENT DESIGN AND USE OF SPACE. ALL LEVELS CAN FIND A CHALLENGE HERE. ALL TEES OFFER MULTIPLE ROUTES TO IMPROVE YOUR SKILLS. PUTTING IS A MUST IF YOU WANT TO SCORE WELL.MAP LOCATED ON MESSAGE BOARD.NEWLY PAINTED RED TEE MARKERS AND NUMBERS ON BASKETS MAKE NAVIGATION EASY..18 BASKETS CAN BE PLAYED IN AN HOUR IF ALONE.VIRTUALLY NEVER LOSE A DISC HERE.PLENTY OF PARKING AND PARK IS PATROLLED FREQUENTLY.USE WALKING TRAIL AS A STREAM FOR ADDED OB.PUTT BETWEEN BASKETS 3 AND 9 FOR PRACTICE. THE OPENESS OF THE PARK ADDS TO ITS SAFETY.
Cons: NOT MUCH NEGATIVE HERE..THE COURSE IS THE COURSE PLAY AND HAVE FUN.SOME LOCALS HANG IN WARM WEATHER AT THE PAVILLION BUT ARE FRIENDLY AND POSE NO THREAT.
Other Thoughts: IN 1998 THE VINELAND DISC CLUB ASKED THE CITY TO BUILD A COURSE AT SOUTH VINELAND PARK.THE CITY SAID NO BECAUSE THE PARK WAS CLOSED AT THAT TIME AND OFFERED LANDIS PARK.18 BASKETS TEE MARKERS TEE BOXES AND MESSAGE BOARD WERE ALL BUILT WITH ZERO FUNDS FROM THE CITY.ALL 18 BASKETS WERE DONATED BY LOCALS.THE USE OF EVERY INCH AVAILABLE OF THE PARK MAKES THIS AN AWESOME DESIGN. OBVIOUSLY IT IS NO SOUTH VINELAND PARK BUT WORKING WITH WHAT WE WERE OFFERED IT IS AN EXCELLENT DESIGN.IF YOU THINK THIS COURSE IS EASY CALL NOTIFY ME WHEN YOU SHOOT A 1000 RATED 46...856-982-5320

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Not as Bad as Billed

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in a small, multi-purpose park. Dual long/short tees for each basket. Newly installed 4 x 4 red painted posts number each hole. Course navigation is easy. Comparable distances on all of the holes appeal to the casual or recreational player, while large trees spread throughout the park provide a bit of a challenge for more experienced disc golfers.
Cons: Flat course with very little variety. There is no challenge here to throw an array of different shots for success. Natural tee pads here. Baskets work fine but many are rusty and worn. Only a couple of holes have maps, there are no next tee arrows, benches, bag poles or other ammenities you'd find at a top tier course. While otherwise pretty clean, there is a lot of broken glass throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: Landis Park has some very real faults, but it is not deserving of the scathing reviews given by some, nor is it the ghetto I was led to believe it was after reading some of the comments on the review site. It is what it is- an okay, 18 hole course located in a lower- middle class town. There are no signature holes nor is it a destination course. It is not going to improve your overall game much, but it is an enjoyable, relatively quick play where an average player can achieve success. It is important to note that several people in the area are making a commendable effort to upgrade both Landis and the course in South Vineland- there is much to do.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of 18 baskets

1    6/27/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
21 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are very few pros to this course. There are multiple tees which does offer some much needed variance to the extremely flat course. The summer time has a lot of growth which offers a nice canopy to play under. The fairways aren't overgrown so there is a low chance of losing your discs in high grass&#61514; or getting bugs all over you. The park features, such as the pavilion and ball field, are used to give some variety to an otherwise straightforward grip and rip course.
Cons: Bums and graffiti have taken a large toll on this course which drastically limits course playability and appeal. It also doesn't help that there isn't a caretaker for the course either. Lots of baskets are missing numbers which makes it incredibly hard to find the right basket to tee off into, especially since you can see multiple baskets from each tee. The course is on a very loud and busy city block, so teeing off and hitting a passing by car is a distinct possibility. The alternate tees are near impossible to find without having a person familiar with the course there. The only variance between the holes is distance and this helps a little bit with the entire course being totally flat. The tee signs are also missing or weatherworn beyond recognition.
Other Thoughts: The neighborhood decay shows a lot on the course. A large use of OB makes the course slightly more challenging. South Vineland is much better to play by yourself , with a group, and especially with your children.

21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Bring yo' Posse!

5+    11/24/2007   6/25/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A few years back this was the best course in Vineland....of course it was the only course in Vineland. This could be a nice park with a decent course if it was free of the jackass thugs milling about the grounds.
Cons: New Jersey does not honor my North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit.
Other Thoughts: Played here until South Vineland Park put in the first nine baskets. I'd play South Vineland left-handed before I'd go back to Landis (and I have!)

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Locals sling rocs I meant rocks!

2-4    11/21/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2010
20 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tee signs that are left are true works of art....very descriptive and artistic rendering of each hole, maybe thats why 12 of them were stolen? Multiple tee options, if your brave enough to play more than one round!
Big old growth trees all over course that create canopy to throw under and several defined lanes to choose from. 18 holes which means something when in underseved Jersey. No undergrowth, schule, pickers, thorns or high weeds anywhere(you might be offered weed by a dealer however), impossible to lose disc here unless it gets stolen or flies into a street. There is a decent option 5-10 minutes away at South Vineland Park to look forward too.
The course itself is a nice place to air out drives and do some line shaping around beautiful old growth trees.
Cons: Excuse my negative sarcasm in my pros section, it is not my nature but I had to warn my disc golf brethren. First of all this is a city block park, meaning the park takes up an entire city block and is thus surrounded by noisy street and one hears constant hip-hop bass, honking and sirens throughout your round. There are no locals here except for a few bums, gangbangers and kids sadly trying to play little league in this squalor, don't trip over that 40 bottle. First time I ever putted into a basket where I almost broke a thunderbird bottle rather than a splash of chains. I arrived at hole #11 which is the signature throw off the pavillion and was met by a bunch of thugs slinging rocks, yes crystal rocks not KC rocs. I decided to not step on their turf and skipped that hole. I wasn't about to mess with their pit bull and the sea of red clothing made me realize this was not hippie disc golf territory. As I played, they tried to bait me, hey you suck white boy! Blaaaat! that shot wasn't close white boy! etc. etc. While this was a true challenge to focus throughout the back nine it was not the kind of challenge I think my disc golf brothers are searching for. I skipped hole 18 which played back at the pavillion and would have probably appeared as though I was throwing at them...was tempted but chose the safer route and hurried back to my jeep. Sadly enough several blue collar types with kids were asking me about the sport and were interested in what I was doing....I usually stay and chat, I think we are all ambassadors to the sport, but I just briefly spoke to them and rushed off before it got dark. I was concerned my jeep might be getting broken into. The only cons with the course itself are the total flatness, which does not bother me. There are several dangerous holes that have baskets situated next to busy street#1, or tee off facing busy streets. It is also hard to find the alternate tees.
Many complain that you can throw a hyzer on every hole but I found that often an anhyzer was a better option on many holes.
I think when I originally played the course the gang activity and being harassed didnt allow me to appreciate the course as much as I could have. I played it early AM for a tourney and it was a fun play. I think this is a course that suffers from circumstances beyond the locals control. I suppose I have had rounds ruined in more affluent locales just as much as this one.
Other Thoughts: This was a unique experience for me. I am not afraid of urban life, I just usually play disc golf as a means to get away from such environments. This was probably once a nice disc golf park....you can see remnants of it's heyday. Sadly the neighborhood has decayed and the local disc golf scene must have fled to South Vineland Park about 5-10 minutes away.
Bottom line its a decent course that if played at the right time makes for a fun 18 hole round.

20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 play South Vineland

1    1/24/2009   1/24/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Landis Park DGC is a simple straightforward disc golf course located in a small city park. All of the holes are pretty much open and grip & rip shots. The course makes large use of OB to mix things up on some of the holes and it is much needed. There isn't much variation to any of the holes except distance. There are three tees per hole which can add a different perspective to each hole
Cons: Landis Park doesn't have much going for it. The course looks like no one takes care of it. The natural tees need to be leveled, and it seemed like some were actually missing. The signs are mostly missing or very weather worn. The baskets are rusted and need a lot of TLC. Vandalism has really taken its toll at this course. The basket numbers are gone on most and since it is easy to see several baskets form any tee, teeing off to the wrong basket is a distinct possibility.
The course is surrounded on all sides by busy roads. Due to the close proximity of the holes to the roads sometimes you have to wait to tee off because of heavy traffic (an errant throw can hit a car). The park also seems home to a lot of local bums which detracts from the course.
Other Thoughts: With the nicest disc golf course in south Jersey only 5 minutes away at South Vineland Park there is no reason to play Landis Park. I like to play new course and so I don't regret playing this course once, but I would never go there again. Play two rounds at Vineland (whites & yellows) and you will enjoy it far more than the stress of playing at Landis Park.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 The 18 to play is 2 miles down the road.

1    1/13/2009   1/14/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 245  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.3 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its nice there's an 18 hole course here, in Jersey they are very hard to come by. (only 5 in the state I think) All drives from the tee needed accuracy, especially with the amount of OBs the course has. Using park features like the pavilion and ball fields was a good choice as it added some needed variety to the course.
Cons: With the exception of the #11 pavilion shot I was using the same drive the whole time and it got repetitive. Most of the tees were missing there signs, I assume do to vandalism. This made playing and navigation a bit difficult. From some tees you can see 2-3 baskets (some with numbers rusted off) so it took some figuring out as to which to throw at. Also tees are simply a board in the ground and some are hard to find with direction. A lucky guess landed me at tee #10 as it is a 200 yard walk from basket #9. (Go to other side of ball-field, tee 10 near road.) It seems that course upkeep here has been abandoned. Additionally most of the course played right near busy roads. One thing I really enjoy about playing is getting out into nature and away from everything, so teeing off next to honking cars and cops pulling people over was not appealing. At one point a giant street-cleaning sort of truck drove right down the fairway in front of me.
Other Thoughts: Playing a new course is fun, but I should have taken the advice some locals gave me- Skip Landis and just play 2 rounds at South Vineland Park.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.