Vineland, NJ 
Landis Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #17
4 / 379ft.   3 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee: Mandos on the right



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Actually not too bad

2-4    8/18/2013   8/18/2016
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 58  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 14.3 Years
Pros: Despite negative reviews, I had a lot of fun here. It's an more open park-style course with plenty of trees, but no undergrowth. you certainly won't lose discs here, but it's tight enough to make for some good golf lines. You'll throw a bunch of different discs here, which I always like, as opposed to just throwing all drivers off tee, or all mids off tee. Good variety.
Cons: There can be some seedy characters floating around, but it's in a low-income area, so that's not a huge surprise. Most people don't seem to pose any threat. Most of them couldn't care less what you're doing, and some seem legitimately curious. Be vigilant, that's all.
Other Thoughts: This pairs up nicely with South Vineland's Crystal Lake course if you're trying to make for a fun day of disc golf in that area.

Landis is what it is

5+    2/1/2015   5/18/2015
Review By: paulw
Played: 115  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: You won't lose a disc, unless it's in leaves.

Eclectic group of locals, tough to get to know but always good for a good game and good laugh after you do.

If you want to learn to throw with hyzer and how to make a 30' putt, this is the place to play.
Cons: Rough park, tough to follow, no elevation to speak of.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a scenic park, challenging par 4's and 5's, go somewhere else. It's a free park and a free game -- you do not have to play at Landis, no one will miss you if you're not there.


1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

horrible, you'll be happy you skipped it

2-4    5/18/2015   5/17/2015
Review By: Khao Pra
Played: 148  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 23.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: none that i can think of
Cons: i've played hundreds of courses in 10 different countries and this easily ranks as one of the worst.

signboard in parking lot has only one paper, indicating some "shady" local disc golf promoter that we are advised to avoid.

vast majority of tee signs are missing.

majority of tee box markers are either missing or impossible to find

most baskets are missing hole numbers, and there are quite a few baskets in close proximity to each other so just pick one and play to it i guess.

walk between 9 and 10 is ridiculous, nothing to indicate which way to go.

no maintenance, tall grass

on two separate occasions during my two "rounds" here, someone picked up my discs and i had to call to them to drop them.

park is in a very sketchy neighborhood, there was a significant domestic dispute going on in the house behind hole 3 while i was teeing off, male and female physically fighting, cursing, threatening each other very loudly, calling police etc

i played the course with a vineland resident non golfer, he was curious to see what i was doing since he'd lived there his entire life and never seen anyone playing this course before.

Other Thoughts: there are no redeeming qualities here, the best thing that could happen is for these baskets to be lifted out of here and planted somewhere that someone or some club will take care of them. this park is not the place and makes the game look very bad with each day this course is allowed to continue in this condition. avoid this course like the plague.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    4/26/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes located in a small park

Use of trees- i wouldnt be sure if i would classify this course as wooded or open because it is open with trees in play on every hole. This makes you need some accuracy and would probably be a good course to set you up for South Vineland.

Distance variety- holes anywher rom 200-450ft.
Posts to mark tees- this helps with the little amount of navigation that there is. It seems like the locals are creating gold tees. Im pretty sure only the locals know them though.
Cons: Sketchy- the park seems to be a hangout for bad people. There os a pavillion in the middle of the course where such activity always seems to be happening

No elevation and no variety- i ould come here with one driver one mid and one putter and still shoot relatively well.

Navigation- there are many baskets tucked into a small area, and therefore you can get messed up with navigation, because there are muliple baskets ou can see from an area at any given time. There are no arrows or any navigational tools to help you locate where the next tee is
Other Thoughts: The vineland group is doing a good job aound here and i hope they continue to do so.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sketch...

1    2/16/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is easy to find. It's right downtown.
-When locals are screaming at each other in a drunk rage at 11am, they are otherwise nice
-Sandy soil helps with keep unwanted rolls to a minimum
-Many trash cans available
-Multiple (natural) tee pads
Cons: -I'm glad I came with a friend to play this course, otherwise the sketchiness of the course would have been too much and I would have skipped it altogether
-Could not find the #10 tee boxes
-Even though there are dozens of trash cans on the course, litter is abundant on the course
-There are a couple of holes where an errand disc can fly into traffic (and that happened to my friend)
-Most of the holes have no elevation
-Locals can be very distracting during your round
-This course has lots of signs of abuse (missing signs, rusted baskets,trash) and I think that more due to the locals and not disc golfers
Other Thoughts: With South Vineland close by, it's either best to play this course first or skip it all together.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 2nd best in vineland

1    5/22/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: sinned8517
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: pretty open lots of big trees. big map at start to help you navigate the holes
Cons: the walk from hole 9 to 10 is hard to navigate. locals at the 18 hole they are no threat but did offer prostitution and we felt very uncomfortable.
Other Thoughts: its good coarse, but if you only have time to play one coarse in vineland save your time and go to south vineland park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 EXCELLENT COURSE FOR ALL LEVELS

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: CUTTER250@AOL.COM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
2 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: YES YOU CAN PLAY 18 BASKETS IN LESS THAN 2 HOURS..AN EXCELLENT DESIGN AND USE OF SPACE. ALL LEVELS CAN FIND A CHALLENGE HERE. ALL TEES OFFER MULTIPLE ROUTES TO IMPROVE YOUR SKILLS. PUTTING IS A MUST IF YOU WANT TO SCORE WELL.MAP LOCATED ON MESSAGE BOARD.NEWLY PAINTED RED TEE MARKERS AND NUMBERS ON BASKETS MAKE NAVIGATION EASY..18 BASKETS CAN BE PLAYED IN AN HOUR IF ALONE.VIRTUALLY NEVER LOSE A DISC HERE.PLENTY OF PARKING AND PARK IS PATROLLED FREQUENTLY.USE WALKING TRAIL AS A STREAM FOR ADDED OB.PUTT BETWEEN BASKETS 3 AND 9 FOR PRACTICE. THE OPENESS OF THE PARK ADDS TO ITS SAFETY.
Cons: NOT MUCH NEGATIVE HERE..THE COURSE IS THE COURSE PLAY AND HAVE FUN.SOME LOCALS HANG IN WARM WEATHER AT THE PAVILLION BUT ARE FRIENDLY AND POSE NO THREAT.
Other Thoughts: IN 1998 THE VINELAND DISC CLUB ASKED THE CITY TO BUILD A COURSE AT SOUTH VINELAND PARK.THE CITY SAID NO BECAUSE THE PARK WAS CLOSED AT THAT TIME AND OFFERED LANDIS PARK.18 BASKETS TEE MARKERS TEE BOXES AND MESSAGE BOARD WERE ALL BUILT WITH ZERO FUNDS FROM THE CITY.ALL 18 BASKETS WERE DONATED BY LOCALS.THE USE OF EVERY INCH AVAILABLE OF THE PARK MAKES THIS AN AWESOME DESIGN. OBVIOUSLY IT IS NO SOUTH VINELAND PARK BUT WORKING WITH WHAT WE WERE OFFERED IT IS AN EXCELLENT DESIGN.IF YOU THINK THIS COURSE IS EASY CALL NOTIFY ME WHEN YOU SHOOT A 1000 RATED 46...856-982-5320

2 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Not as Bad as Billed

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in a small, multi-purpose park. Dual long/short tees for each basket. Newly installed 4 x 4 red painted posts number each hole. Course navigation is easy. Comparable distances on all of the holes appeal to the casual or recreational player, while large trees spread throughout the park provide a bit of a challenge for more experienced disc golfers.
Cons: Flat course with very little variety. There is no challenge here to throw an array of different shots for success. Natural tee pads here. Baskets work fine but many are rusty and worn. Only a couple of holes have maps, there are no next tee arrows, benches, bag poles or other ammenities you'd find at a top tier course. While otherwise pretty clean, there is a lot of broken glass throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: Landis Park has some very real faults, but it is not deserving of the scathing reviews given by some, nor is it the ghetto I was led to believe it was after reading some of the comments on the review site. It is what it is- an okay, 18 hole course located in a lower- middle class town. There are no signature holes nor is it a destination course. It is not going to improve your overall game much, but it is an enjoyable, relatively quick play where an average player can achieve success. It is important to note that several people in the area are making a commendable effort to upgrade both Landis and the course in South Vineland- there is much to do.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of 18 baskets

1    6/27/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 76  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.1 Years
22 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are very few pros to this course. There are multiple tees which does offer some much needed variance to the extremely flat course. The summer time has a lot of growth which offers a nice canopy to play under. The fairways aren't overgrown so there is a low chance of losing your discs in high grass&#61514; or getting bugs all over you. The park features, such as the pavilion and ball field, are used to give some variety to an otherwise straightforward grip and rip course.
Cons: Bums and graffiti have taken a large toll on this course which drastically limits course playability and appeal. It also doesn't help that there isn't a caretaker for the course either. Lots of baskets are missing numbers which makes it incredibly hard to find the right basket to tee off into, especially since you can see multiple baskets from each tee. The course is on a very loud and busy city block, so teeing off and hitting a passing by car is a distinct possibility. The alternate tees are near impossible to find without having a person familiar with the course there. The only variance between the holes is distance and this helps a little bit with the entire course being totally flat. The tee signs are also missing or weatherworn beyond recognition.
Other Thoughts: The neighborhood decay shows a lot on the course. A large use of OB makes the course slightly more challenging. South Vineland is much better to play by yourself , with a group, and especially with your children.

22 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Bring yo' Posse!

5+    11/24/2007   6/25/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 89  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A few years back this was the best course in Vineland....of course it was the only course in Vineland. This could be a nice park with a decent course if it was free of the jackass thugs milling about the grounds.
Cons: New Jersey does not honor my North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit.
Other Thoughts: Played here until South Vineland Park put in the first nine baskets. I'd play South Vineland left-handed before I'd go back to Landis (and I have!)

7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.