Vineland, NJ 
Landis Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #1
3 / 220ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/26/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes located in a small park

Use of trees- i wouldnt be sure if i would classify this course as wooded or open because it is open with trees in play on every hole. This makes you need some accuracy and would probably be a good course to set you up for South Vineland.

Distance variety- holes anywher rom 200-450ft.
Posts to mark tees- this helps with the little amount of navigation that there is. It seems like the locals are creating gold tees. Im pretty sure only the locals know them though.
Cons: Sketchy- the park seems to be a hangout for bad people. There os a pavillion in the middle of the course where such activity always seems to be happening

No elevation and no variety- i ould come here with one driver one mid and one putter and still shoot relatively well.

Navigation- there are many baskets tucked into a small area, and therefore you can get messed up with navigation, because there are muliple baskets ou can see from an area at any given time. There are no arrows or any navigational tools to help you locate where the next tee is
Other Thoughts: The vineland group is doing a good job aound here and i hope they continue to do so.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring yo' Posse!

5+    11/24/2007   6/25/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.6 Years
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A few years back this was the best course in Vineland....of course it was the only course in Vineland. This could be a nice park with a decent course if it was free of the jackass thugs milling about the grounds.
Cons: New Jersey does not honor my North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit.
Other Thoughts: Played here until South Vineland Park put in the first nine baskets. I'd play South Vineland left-handed before I'd go back to Landis (and I have!)

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Locals sling rocs I meant rocks!

2-4    11/21/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2010
20 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tee signs that are left are true works of art....very descriptive and artistic rendering of each hole, maybe thats why 12 of them were stolen? Multiple tee options, if your brave enough to play more than one round!
Big old growth trees all over course that create canopy to throw under and several defined lanes to choose from. 18 holes which means something when in underseved Jersey. No undergrowth, schule, pickers, thorns or high weeds anywhere(you might be offered weed by a dealer however), impossible to lose disc here unless it gets stolen or flies into a street. There is a decent option 5-10 minutes away at South Vineland Park to look forward too.
The course itself is a nice place to air out drives and do some line shaping around beautiful old growth trees.
Cons: Excuse my negative sarcasm in my pros section, it is not my nature but I had to warn my disc golf brethren. First of all this is a city block park, meaning the park takes up an entire city block and is thus surrounded by noisy street and one hears constant hip-hop bass, honking and sirens throughout your round. There are no locals here except for a few bums, gangbangers and kids sadly trying to play little league in this squalor, don't trip over that 40 bottle. First time I ever putted into a basket where I almost broke a thunderbird bottle rather than a splash of chains. I arrived at hole #11 which is the signature throw off the pavillion and was met by a bunch of thugs slinging rocks, yes crystal rocks not KC rocs. I decided to not step on their turf and skipped that hole. I wasn't about to mess with their pit bull and the sea of red clothing made me realize this was not hippie disc golf territory. As I played, they tried to bait me, hey you suck white boy! Blaaaat! that shot wasn't close white boy! etc. etc. While this was a true challenge to focus throughout the back nine it was not the kind of challenge I think my disc golf brothers are searching for. I skipped hole 18 which played back at the pavillion and would have probably appeared as though I was throwing at them...was tempted but chose the safer route and hurried back to my jeep. Sadly enough several blue collar types with kids were asking me about the sport and were interested in what I was doing....I usually stay and chat, I think we are all ambassadors to the sport, but I just briefly spoke to them and rushed off before it got dark. I was concerned my jeep might be getting broken into. The only cons with the course itself are the total flatness, which does not bother me. There are several dangerous holes that have baskets situated next to busy street#1, or tee off facing busy streets. It is also hard to find the alternate tees.
Many complain that you can throw a hyzer on every hole but I found that often an anhyzer was a better option on many holes.
I think when I originally played the course the gang activity and being harassed didnt allow me to appreciate the course as much as I could have. I played it early AM for a tourney and it was a fun play. I think this is a course that suffers from circumstances beyond the locals control. I suppose I have had rounds ruined in more affluent locales just as much as this one.
Other Thoughts: This was a unique experience for me. I am not afraid of urban life, I just usually play disc golf as a means to get away from such environments. This was probably once a nice disc golf park....you can see remnants of it's heyday. Sadly the neighborhood has decayed and the local disc golf scene must have fled to South Vineland Park about 5-10 minutes away.
Bottom line its a decent course that if played at the right time makes for a fun 18 hole round.

20 of 22 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.