Disc Golf Center
Vineland, NJ 
Landis Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #17
4 / 379ft.   3 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee: Mandos on the right



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Landis is what it is

5+    2/1/2015   5/18/2015
Review By: paulw
Played: 111  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: You won't lose a disc, unless it's in leaves.

Eclectic group of locals, tough to get to know but always good for a good game and good laugh after you do.

If you want to learn to throw with hyzer and how to make a 30' putt, this is the place to play.
Cons: Rough park, tough to follow, no elevation to speak of.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a scenic park, challenging par 4's and 5's, go somewhere else. It's a free park and a free game -- you do not have to play at Landis, no one will miss you if you're not there.


1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

horrible, you'll be happy you skipped it

2-4    5/18/2015   5/17/2015
Review By: Khao Pra
Played: 148  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: none that i can think of
Cons: i've played hundreds of courses in 10 different countries and this easily ranks as one of the worst.

signboard in parking lot has only one paper, indicating some "shady" local disc golf promoter that we are advised to avoid.

vast majority of tee signs are missing.

majority of tee box markers are either missing or impossible to find

most baskets are missing hole numbers, and there are quite a few baskets in close proximity to each other so just pick one and play to it i guess.

walk between 9 and 10 is ridiculous, nothing to indicate which way to go.

no maintenance, tall grass

on two separate occasions during my two "rounds" here, someone picked up my discs and i had to call to them to drop them.

park is in a very sketchy neighborhood, there was a significant domestic dispute going on in the house behind hole 3 while i was teeing off, male and female physically fighting, cursing, threatening each other very loudly, calling police etc

i played the course with a vineland resident non golfer, he was curious to see what i was doing since he'd lived there his entire life and never seen anyone playing this course before.

Other Thoughts: there are no redeeming qualities here, the best thing that could happen is for these baskets to be lifted out of here and planted somewhere that someone or some club will take care of them. this park is not the place and makes the game look very bad with each day this course is allowed to continue in this condition. avoid this course like the plague.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    4/26/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 57  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes located in a small park

Use of trees- i wouldnt be sure if i would classify this course as wooded or open because it is open with trees in play on every hole. This makes you need some accuracy and would probably be a good course to set you up for South Vineland.

Distance variety- holes anywher rom 200-450ft.
Posts to mark tees- this helps with the little amount of navigation that there is. It seems like the locals are creating gold tees. Im pretty sure only the locals know them though.
Cons: Sketchy- the park seems to be a hangout for bad people. There os a pavillion in the middle of the course where such activity always seems to be happening

No elevation and no variety- i ould come here with one driver one mid and one putter and still shoot relatively well.

Navigation- there are many baskets tucked into a small area, and therefore you can get messed up with navigation, because there are muliple baskets ou can see from an area at any given time. There are no arrows or any navigational tools to help you locate where the next tee is
Other Thoughts: The vineland group is doing a good job aound here and i hope they continue to do so.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sketch...

1    2/16/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is easy to find. It's right downtown.
-When locals are screaming at each other in a drunk rage at 11am, they are otherwise nice
-Sandy soil helps with keep unwanted rolls to a minimum
-Many trash cans available
-Multiple (natural) tee pads
Cons: -I'm glad I came with a friend to play this course, otherwise the sketchiness of the course would have been too much and I would have skipped it altogether
-Could not find the #10 tee boxes
-Even though there are dozens of trash cans on the course, litter is abundant on the course
-There are a couple of holes where an errand disc can fly into traffic (and that happened to my friend)
-Most of the holes have no elevation
-Locals can be very distracting during your round
-This course has lots of signs of abuse (missing signs, rusted baskets,trash) and I think that more due to the locals and not disc golfers
Other Thoughts: With South Vineland close by, it's either best to play this course first or skip it all together.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 2nd best in vineland

1    5/22/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: sinned8517
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: pretty open lots of big trees. big map at start to help you navigate the holes
Cons: the walk from hole 9 to 10 is hard to navigate. locals at the 18 hole they are no threat but did offer prostitution and we felt very uncomfortable.
Other Thoughts: its good coarse, but if you only have time to play one coarse in vineland save your time and go to south vineland park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 EXCELLENT COURSE FOR ALL LEVELS

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: CUTTER250@AOL.COM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
2 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: YES YOU CAN PLAY 18 BASKETS IN LESS THAN 2 HOURS..AN EXCELLENT DESIGN AND USE OF SPACE. ALL LEVELS CAN FIND A CHALLENGE HERE. ALL TEES OFFER MULTIPLE ROUTES TO IMPROVE YOUR SKILLS. PUTTING IS A MUST IF YOU WANT TO SCORE WELL.MAP LOCATED ON MESSAGE BOARD.NEWLY PAINTED RED TEE MARKERS AND NUMBERS ON BASKETS MAKE NAVIGATION EASY..18 BASKETS CAN BE PLAYED IN AN HOUR IF ALONE.VIRTUALLY NEVER LOSE A DISC HERE.PLENTY OF PARKING AND PARK IS PATROLLED FREQUENTLY.USE WALKING TRAIL AS A STREAM FOR ADDED OB.PUTT BETWEEN BASKETS 3 AND 9 FOR PRACTICE. THE OPENESS OF THE PARK ADDS TO ITS SAFETY.
Cons: NOT MUCH NEGATIVE HERE..THE COURSE IS THE COURSE PLAY AND HAVE FUN.SOME LOCALS HANG IN WARM WEATHER AT THE PAVILLION BUT ARE FRIENDLY AND POSE NO THREAT.
Other Thoughts: IN 1998 THE VINELAND DISC CLUB ASKED THE CITY TO BUILD A COURSE AT SOUTH VINELAND PARK.THE CITY SAID NO BECAUSE THE PARK WAS CLOSED AT THAT TIME AND OFFERED LANDIS PARK.18 BASKETS TEE MARKERS TEE BOXES AND MESSAGE BOARD WERE ALL BUILT WITH ZERO FUNDS FROM THE CITY.ALL 18 BASKETS WERE DONATED BY LOCALS.THE USE OF EVERY INCH AVAILABLE OF THE PARK MAKES THIS AN AWESOME DESIGN. OBVIOUSLY IT IS NO SOUTH VINELAND PARK BUT WORKING WITH WHAT WE WERE OFFERED IT IS AN EXCELLENT DESIGN.IF YOU THINK THIS COURSE IS EASY CALL NOTIFY ME WHEN YOU SHOOT A 1000 RATED 46...856-982-5320

2 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Not as Bad as Billed

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 65  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 4.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in a small, multi-purpose park. Dual long/short tees for each basket. Newly installed 4 x 4 red painted posts number each hole. Course navigation is easy. Comparable distances on all of the holes appeal to the casual or recreational player, while large trees spread throughout the park provide a bit of a challenge for more experienced disc golfers.
Cons: Flat course with very little variety. There is no challenge here to throw an array of different shots for success. Natural tee pads here. Baskets work fine but many are rusty and worn. Only a couple of holes have maps, there are no next tee arrows, benches, bag poles or other ammenities you'd find at a top tier course. While otherwise pretty clean, there is a lot of broken glass throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: Landis Park has some very real faults, but it is not deserving of the scathing reviews given by some, nor is it the ghetto I was led to believe it was after reading some of the comments on the review site. It is what it is- an okay, 18 hole course located in a lower- middle class town. There are no signature holes nor is it a destination course. It is not going to improve your overall game much, but it is an enjoyable, relatively quick play where an average player can achieve success. It is important to note that several people in the area are making a commendable effort to upgrade both Landis and the course in South Vineland- there is much to do.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of 18 baskets

1    6/27/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 7 Years
22 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are very few pros to this course. There are multiple tees which does offer some much needed variance to the extremely flat course. The summer time has a lot of growth which offers a nice canopy to play under. The fairways aren't overgrown so there is a low chance of losing your discs in high grass&#61514; or getting bugs all over you. The park features, such as the pavilion and ball field, are used to give some variety to an otherwise straightforward grip and rip course.
Cons: Bums and graffiti have taken a large toll on this course which drastically limits course playability and appeal. It also doesn't help that there isn't a caretaker for the course either. Lots of baskets are missing numbers which makes it incredibly hard to find the right basket to tee off into, especially since you can see multiple baskets from each tee. The course is on a very loud and busy city block, so teeing off and hitting a passing by car is a distinct possibility. The alternate tees are near impossible to find without having a person familiar with the course there. The only variance between the holes is distance and this helps a little bit with the entire course being totally flat. The tee signs are also missing or weatherworn beyond recognition.
Other Thoughts: The neighborhood decay shows a lot on the course. A large use of OB makes the course slightly more challenging. South Vineland is much better to play by yourself , with a group, and especially with your children.

22 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Bring yo' Posse!

5+    11/24/2007   6/25/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 89  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A few years back this was the best course in Vineland....of course it was the only course in Vineland. This could be a nice park with a decent course if it was free of the jackass thugs milling about the grounds.
Cons: New Jersey does not honor my North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit.
Other Thoughts: Played here until South Vineland Park put in the first nine baskets. I'd play South Vineland left-handed before I'd go back to Landis (and I have!)

7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Locals sling rocs I meant rocks!

2-4    11/21/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2010
21 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tee signs that are left are true works of art....very descriptive and artistic rendering of each hole, maybe thats why 12 of them were stolen? Multiple tee options, if your brave enough to play more than one round!
Big old growth trees all over course that create canopy to throw under and several defined lanes to choose from. 18 holes which means something when in underseved Jersey. No undergrowth, schule, pickers, thorns or high weeds anywhere(you might be offered weed by a dealer however), impossible to lose disc here unless it gets stolen or flies into a street. There is a decent option 5-10 minutes away at South Vineland Park to look forward too.
The course itself is a nice place to air out drives and do some line shaping around beautiful old growth trees.
Cons: Excuse my negative sarcasm in my pros section, it is not my nature but I had to warn my disc golf brethren. First of all this is a city block park, meaning the park takes up an entire city block and is thus surrounded by noisy street and one hears constant hip-hop bass, honking and sirens throughout your round. There are no locals here except for a few bums, gangbangers and kids sadly trying to play little league in this squalor, don't trip over that 40 bottle. First time I ever putted into a basket where I almost broke a thunderbird bottle rather than a splash of chains. I arrived at hole #11 which is the signature throw off the pavillion and was met by a bunch of thugs slinging rocks, yes crystal rocks not KC rocs. I decided to not step on their turf and skipped that hole. I wasn't about to mess with their pit bull and the sea of red clothing made me realize this was not hippie disc golf territory. As I played, they tried to bait me, hey you suck white boy! Blaaaat! that shot wasn't close white boy! etc. etc. While this was a true challenge to focus throughout the back nine it was not the kind of challenge I think my disc golf brothers are searching for. I skipped hole 18 which played back at the pavillion and would have probably appeared as though I was throwing at them...was tempted but chose the safer route and hurried back to my jeep. Sadly enough several blue collar types with kids were asking me about the sport and were interested in what I was doing....I usually stay and chat, I think we are all ambassadors to the sport, but I just briefly spoke to them and rushed off before it got dark. I was concerned my jeep might be getting broken into. The only cons with the course itself are the total flatness, which does not bother me. There are several dangerous holes that have baskets situated next to busy street#1, or tee off facing busy streets. It is also hard to find the alternate tees.
Many complain that you can throw a hyzer on every hole but I found that often an anhyzer was a better option on many holes.
I think when I originally played the course the gang activity and being harassed didnt allow me to appreciate the course as much as I could have. I played it early AM for a tourney and it was a fun play. I think this is a course that suffers from circumstances beyond the locals control. I suppose I have had rounds ruined in more affluent locales just as much as this one.
Other Thoughts: This was a unique experience for me. I am not afraid of urban life, I just usually play disc golf as a means to get away from such environments. This was probably once a nice disc golf park....you can see remnants of it's heyday. Sadly the neighborhood has decayed and the local disc golf scene must have fled to South Vineland Park about 5-10 minutes away.
Bottom line its a decent course that if played at the right time makes for a fun 18 hole round.

21 of 23 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center