Grayslake, IL 
Central Park Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #4
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice little nine holer

1    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think this course is an example of a good nine holer in the chicago suburbs. The area where the disc golf course is set up is primarily a disc folf only area with the exception of a few areas designated for walking paths.

Concrete tees- even though they are not great, the concrete tees are serviceable and provide good footing. Howver they are very narrow.

Well defined fairways- fairwas are cut out of rough and trees. Not many trees to provide obstacles but the rough is unforgiving and on tree kick could leave you struggling for par or even bogey. I like this because the is a punishment if yo do not execute your shot correctlty.

Small elevation changes- elevation is not usually found in this areas courses, however they did a good job incorporating the amount of elevation.

Variety- course has holes ranging from 150-375 and all of the holes have different lines. There are hyzer lines, as well as tough turnover shots and anhyzers.

Amenities- some tee signs are still there. This is a multi use park so there are bathrooms as well as other activities at the park
Cons: Holes 6 and 7 cross- althoug im sure that this course does not get very crowded there is alwas the chance of hitting someone because of the faiways croo. I think it makes more sense to play tee 6 to sevens basket and tee seven to 6's basket, this would allow for two holes both about 280 requireing a big hyzer and big anhyzer.

Rough can get thick, i would recommend using a spotter on the holes where the rough is more dense.

Multiple tee signs are missing. 3 of the holes are blind where you can not see the basket, of these three two had missing tee signs, if i was here alone, i could imagine having to run up to see where the basket was before you throw.
Other Thoughts: Thus is a nice nine holer situated in a well maintained multi use park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Disc golf activities are pretty much separate from the rest of the park. There is a football field, a playground, and an outdoor theater, but none of them are really in the way.
- Excellent use of the forest on almost every hole. Lots of well defined fairways due to the dense forest, as well as plenty of tree obstacles in the fairway. Definitely requires line shaping in both directions, as well as some straight shots.
- Some minor elevation changes on some holes help to keep it interesting. #9 is a nice, 340' shot over a shallow valley. Nothing too extreme, but definitely noticeable.
- A tunnel shot, #5, thrown in to add some variety as well.
- Decent tees and baskets, about half of the signs are missing. Map at beginning is also a little off, from what I could tell.
Cons: - Two holes have crossing fairways, which is never good. At least the people behind you can see that you are going to the next tee.
- While there are defined fairways with obstacles, there aren't any really tough lines to hit or tough holes in general. A good shot is needed, definitely, but an okay one will also turn out OK.
Other Thoughts: - I enjoyed this course thoroughly, from start to finish. Great forest environment with some challenging holes, and very few boring or easy ones. The layout could be a little better, I guess, but that's nitpicking.
- One of my top rated 9-hole courses I have ever played. Not much elevation change, no water, but otherwise great. Easy enough to have fun, but not too easy to get bored.
- OK, it's not the greatest course in the world. But it's my type of course in terms of length, layout, and setting. Solid 3 discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 G-Lake

5+    11/19/2009   1/18/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 316  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice neighborhood multiuse park. The course is located in a flat wooded section of the park. The rough can be very heavy in the summer.

There is a good mix of long, medium, and short range drives. There are no bomber holes but long enough to make you throw it. Balance is ok but i'd say if favors a righty a bit. For a short 9 hole course it has a few challenging holes. Several with tight gaps you have to hit. The rough can be punishing although they thinned it out quite a bit last summer.

Innova Discatcher Baskets

Nice Tee signs and course Map.

Concrete Tee Pads.

The course is pretty easy to navigate. You can see each tee and sign of the next hole from the basket you just played.
Cons: The concrete tee pads are very narrow and hard to throw from.

The basket to #7 is in rough shape. Last year someone started a fire in it and it's charred.

The Tee sign to #8 is snapped off and missing.

The fairways of #6 and #7 cross.

There are walking paths in the woods and quite a few pedestrians walk around. Please be careful.
Other Thoughts: Park at the far north side of the parking lot near the football field. The 1st tee is located a little west of the baseball field.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

5+    6/11/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: steven2361
Played: 173  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some interesting holes. Varying lengths. The shorter holes are still a little chalenging because of super tight fairways between the trees (Hole 5). The Baskets are GREAT Innova Discatchers with bright yellow tops.
Cons: Most shots just go to the left for RHBH throwers. Only hole 9 has some elevation. There is way too much weeds and thorns on the sides of the fairway which also makes it easy to lose a disc. 1 crossing fairway (6 & 7). There are no holes really that should test your distance.
Other Thoughts: Keep your disc low because of all the trees. You need an accurate arm to play this course well as there are a few tees where trees are directly in front of the tee on either side. Don't drive out to this course from anywhere far, but if you're close it's still a very fun course to play. If you're around I suggest instead going to a 18 holer such as Lippold or Bevier. If you only have time for a 9 holer, Adler and Warren are great too.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.