Grayslake, IL 
Central Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #6 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 9 holer with maybe 5 good holes

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 233  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 23.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent shots required on Holes 3,6,7,8 to make birdies. Cement tees. Good baskets. Course gets an average amount of play which makes getting a round in here reasonable even if you want to throw some extra shots.
Cons: Rough is extremely rough and easy to lose discs here. Bugs can be bad at times. Tees are way too narrow (obviously created without researching into what is needed). Holes 2,4,5 are boring holes. No long holes that allow you to get out and rip a drive on this course.
Other Thoughts: Rough is ROUGH! Not the most fun course in the world, but honestly one of the better Lake County 9 holers. Shooting a few under par on the 9 holes is decent shooting. Not alot they could do with the land available to really make the course much better.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent wooded 9 holer!

2-4    12/29/2011   8/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 858  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Course uses mature woods to really make this course challenging. There are some holes that go through a pretty wooded area. There may be some fairways but the holes are long enough a dead straight shot with a midrange is only possible by the best players.

2) Gravel laid around greens to keep the soil from eroding. It doesn't look like it would hurt anything, but it can help keep the green areas from turning too mud.

3) Course is pretty clean and garbage cans are clearly visible a few times through the course.

4) A couple of tough doglegs and a couple of straight shots. Some anhyzer shots are needed unless you have the sidearm.

5) Strange asphalt tees because they are so long and not very wide. I would prefer a shorter pad with more width, but at least they are paved.

6) Nice map and signs help make the course attractive.

7) Course is set inside of a very well maintained park. It has all sorts of amenities and activites and the disc golf course only infringes on one thing (practice fields for soccer/football) so it shouldn't be an issue.

8) Course has some distance averaging almost 300' per hole. That makes the course even more challenging because you need to throw some overstable drivers to try and get to the baskets. I like that challenge!
Cons: 1) Not very beginner friendly because of how tight the woods creep in on the fairways. Errant shots will be punished!

2) Rough areas on the wooded holes likely have some poison Ivy and also can easily eat a disc.

3) Course layout isnt that great because the criss cross between #6 and 7. Those holes could have been made into 2 doglegs instead of two criss crossing fairways as one potential change.
Other Thoughts: This course works itself into, out of, through, and around one wooded section of the park. There is only one hole that is fairly wide open and it is the last hole. The rest of the holes all have fairly dense woods. Even #9 has one large tree overhanging the line to the green. In spring it looks like #9 would be even harder because it looks like a collection area for rainwater would be in your way on #9 too (couple that with a low hanging big branch and you would have a tough driving hole).


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This 9-holer

1    7/16/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 374  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B+ (Not too punishing for missing your line, but enough to keep you honest and to keep it quite interesting)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A (Almost every hole is long enough or has an interesting enough shape to make it the perfect challenge for my throwing length)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B- (All holes favor RHBH throwers. Even hole 7 that finishes right favors a RHBH turnover throw more than a LHBH due to its shape. That said, it is creatively enough designed to not feel boring or repetitious at all)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+ (Beautiful large oaks are all over. In summer it does feel quite secluded for most of the course)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course to Improve On

5+    5/30/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: StrikerME02
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To start I am going to have to say that my favorite part about this course has to be the baskets. They are top of the line innova discatchers. The chains just seem to grab your discs as they fall into the big nicely constructed basket on the bottom. This course does have a nice set of risk/reward holes with the tight fairways and pinball (skinny) trees it has scattered in the line to the basket. THere are many holes on this course that are easily birdie-able. Also, the tees are nice concrete tees to throw from.
Cons: Although I do think this is a decent course it could get a lot better. For example, there is a point on this course where the fairways do cross over and intesect one another that you have to pay very close attention so that there arent other discers in the way this area involves holes 6 & 7. Another negative about this course is that you can easily lose a disc. Although there are no water obstacles there is tall grass and big bushes to just devour your discs. All I can recommend is just keep your eye on your disc if it lands in the brush and DONT THROW A GREEN DISC. With all this tall grass and shaded areas from trees attracts a lot of mosquitos and other bugs so make sure you come prepared with a lot of bug spray if you don't want to be a little tiny things dinner. How could this course be improved, well to start it would need to have some long holes. All the holes on this course are pretty short in comparison to a lot of courses, but that is mainly because of all the trees that can get in the way as I mentioned before. Also the fact that there is really no elavation until the last hole is somewhat disappointing.
Other Thoughts: This course I would say is at the level where it deserves to be checked out. But again I say deserves Not that it is mandatory to check out this course. There is a nice bathroom area by the soccer/football field right by the first tee. It's inside a little building specifically made in order to let people do their business. When I play at this course it is because I want to try and get an ace and practice my tight fairway shots.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

5+    6/11/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some interesting holes. Varying lengths. The shorter holes are still a little chalenging because of super tight fairways between the trees (Hole 5). The Baskets are GREAT Innova Discatchers with bright yellow tops.
Cons: Most shots just go to the left for RHBH throwers. Only hole 9 has some elevation. There is way too much weeds and thorns on the sides of the fairway which also makes it easy to lose a disc. 1 crossing fairway (6 & 7). There are no holes really that should test your distance.
Other Thoughts: Keep your disc low because of all the trees. You need an accurate arm to play this course well as there are a few tees where trees are directly in front of the tee on either side. Don't drive out to this course from anywhere far, but if you're close it's still a very fun course to play. If you're around I suggest instead going to a 18 holer such as Lippold or Bevier. If you only have time for a 9 holer, Adler and Warren are great too.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.