Rockford, IL 
Anna Page Park - West Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 West side

1    11/10/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 82  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads

-Nice rolling elevation that is very well utilized

-Plenty of huge trees that come into play

-Good mix-up of distances, Some shorter holes and some real bombers.

-There is a nice quiet feel to this course and it had a lot less traffic than the east course which made for a casual, relaxed round of DG.

-There are a bunch of nicely tucked away baskets that add to challenge.

-Good "fun factor" to this course, my friend and I liked this course more than it's eastern counterpart.

-Navigation is pretty straightforward

-Even though most holes are relatively open, an off target throw can be punishing if you end up in the brush that surrounds the fairways and baskets. This adds to the reward of a well thrown shot.

-Good variety of shot lines, I found myself throwing all sorts of different shots from hole to hole.

-Not a whole lot of fairway overlap but some overlap is evident on a few holes.
Cons: -Despite the fact that there are signs there were still a few holes we had to walk out to fully survey before throwing. This is probably being picky, It really doesn't bother me but to some this could get old.
Other Thoughts: Not a whole lot of cons to this course, I really liked how it played. It has some well guarded baskets in spots and some other holes where you can just grip and rip. This keeps things interesting and never boring.

This course when played with the east course is a good time, Both offer something very different. This course is a little less forgiving in regard to the east course but it still has a high demand for on target throws which makes it fun but by no means overly easy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Anna Page West is by far the more challenging of the two courses. There is a TON of distance as well as some tough wooded shots.

The course begins and ends in hilly area filled with mature trees. Line shaping is key, but these are not short holes either with most shots at 300 feet or more. After #8, the course runs through a series of long, open bombs where players can crush it without too many obstacles to avoid.

The difficulty is consistent throughout the course whether it be line shaping, or huge distance required to score well. This place will challenge at least one aspect of almost any player's game.

Concrete tee pads are nice and the baskets catch well. The handmade tee signs are pretty cool and they get the job done.
Cons: My biggest complaint with this course is the repetitiveness of the huge distance holes. I like the opportunity to crush one or two shots in a round, but throwing across open fields gets boring after doing it a couple times.

There are several blind tee shots, and the tee signs are not reliable enough to shoot without walking the fairway. This sucks when the pin is 400ft away.

Navigation is unclear in a couple spots. Next tee signs exist in a few places, but there is still potential for confusion if you're a first time player.

Crowded, but the locals were cool and most had good course etiquitte.
Other Thoughts: Both courses here are very good, and I enjoyed the variety and distance of this course more, but the East course is still a little better at this point -- mainly because it's older and it seems like there has been more work put into it. I expect the west course to become the better of the two in the near future as it gets more attention. Combined, this ranks among the best DG destinations in the state with two top notch courses on the same grounds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 West Side

1    3/12/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays through a nice, hilly park with trees coming into play on most of the holes.
What I liked most about this course is the great mix of shots. There's a 3 or 4 hole stretch where you just get to crush plastic as the distances are all over 350 feet. There's also memorable dog leg lefts and rights which made it a really fair playing field for left hand vs. right hand. I throw primarily forehand and my two friends throw primarily backhand and we all ended up with scores within a stroke of each other. Other courses I've played definitely tend to favor RHBH throwers by giving huge hyzer lines and leaving me with tricky turnover drives.
I really feel as though the designer of this course utilized the land very well and the pin placements were spot on.
Cons: While this was a really fun course to play, I don't think it has the signature holes that really wow'd me.
I also felt like navigation would be an issue when in the summer. When I played here a few days ago, there was still snow on the ground and there were footsteps that lead the way to the next tee, which really facilitated everything.
Other Thoughts: It's a shame that I didn't get to play the other half of Anna Page, but from the looks of it, it looked like it was about the same caliber as this half. If I'm in the area again, I would definitely check out what the East side has to offer. :)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Signs make all the difference!!

2-4    6/4/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: bisket1978
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are many elevation changes on this course which only adds to this challenging, mostly wooded beauty of a course. Concrete tee pads.
NEW SIGNS!! This course was next to impossible without the addition of these new signs, which someone took the painstaking time to make. They are wood-burned, hand-crafted signs. Thank you to whomever made, and placed them!! There are some great distance holes now, with open, slightly elevated tees, you can grab some decent distance.
Cons: Not too many cons here. Gets some heavy traffic, especially on weekends. Guess you kind of have to expect that though. Could use a source of water somewhere between 1 and 18, even just to cool off.
Other Thoughts: Love this course now with the new signage. Also, whoever had the idea to put, and I'm not kidding, a 751 foot hole in there was a genius. With the slightly elevated tee, you can get a ridiculous drive from whatever hole number it is. 13, or 14 maybe. Anyway, it's awesome!!

Combined with the East course across the parking lot, and maybe Krape Park in Freeport you can have a full day of fantastic Frolfing.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 West is more difficult

5+    8/17/2009   1/11/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 318  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is a great looking park. There are nice rolling hills that are plastered with mature trees. The grass is always cut. Thick rough comes in to play on some holes.

There are a variety of shots and distances required on this course. To score well here you have to be long and accurate. There are quite a few holes where you really get to let it rip too.

The cement tee pads are nice and large. It has some early Gateway baskets that catch good.

This is a par 54 that can play tough. SSA played around 50 (-4) There are several tough par 4's. Here is the link.
http://www.pdga.com/course-ra...?TournID=7349
Cons: I like this course but it really has no signature holes that say man that was a great hole.

Tee signs are not the greatest and navigation can be tough in a couple of places. I saw in a couple of reviews new tees signs are in the works for 2010.

With the old more beginner friendly course I thought this course could have utilized the land and added a few more tougher par 4's.
Other Thoughts: I heard they put in another set of pin postions las fall that make this course much tougher. I have yet to play them.

Anna Page East is right across the parking lot. West is the more challenging of the 2 courses.

Watch for poison ivy. There are some places in the rough with thick ivy.

If you did a total redesign of East & West you could have 2 of the best championship level courses in Illinois. There is some very good land at this park.

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 one of two good 18 hole layouts

2-4    8/25/2009   1/5/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New tee signs are done; awaiting installation in early 2010.
New set of long pin placements; making three pin spots on most holes.
Greens on pin placements have recently been mulched and or fixed up.
Nice tees.
This, and East, IMO will be found challenging to all level of players. Despite only having one set of tees; different challenges are offered. i.e. There is plenty to hit if you're a long arm....you must choose your shot and hit it...and hit some putts to "run with the big dogs." For lesser arms; the pure footage of this course, in addition to the lines required, will test every bit of your upshot/putting ability. (Note that the yardage for this course is not correct; as of 1-5-09. I don't think it was correct; even for the older set of pins; but now they have added an even longer/tougher set.)
Large, stately trees. West is more "tree" orientated; while East has more of a "bush" feel to it.
Quality water available from "bubbler", near bathrooms; at end of main lot.
Cons: To me; (I throw 340 max; and usually am solid more around 290 ft), this course is "somewhat boring." There is a lot of grip it and rip it here; which is why I believe high level players will find it to be a decent quality course. Back nine kind of plain (we'll see whether or not the new pin placements make this better?)
I do end up enjoying it from the stand point of, by footage alone; I must not make many mistakes; to hang around par. You're not deuceing many of these holes; unless you consistently throw well over 300 foot.
I hope the new tee signs; and hopefully, next tee signs; will be nice and in the ground; early in 2010. Up until this point, both Anna East and West have been rather tough to navigate. If this gets taken care of; the major draw back for both of these will be resolved.
No alcohol allowed here. There are stories of someone who drives around the course in a golf cart type of vehicle, enforcing said law and issues fines. I, personally, have not seen this, in numerous trips here; but, be discrete; and I definitely would not suggest standing in the parking lot with alcoholic beverages.
Other Thoughts: I originally played parts of this design; more than 15 years ago. In 2004; this course was added on a permanent basis, and is a fine compliment to Anna East. This course is more of a big arm course, with a more stately feel. As with my rating for East; I love this course enough to give it a 4 rating; but compared to the "very best in Illinois"; it doesn't quite make it to four.
Sinnissippi Park, in Sterling, is a bit of a haul from here; Anna East and West; combined with Sinnissippi; will give you the opportunity to play three courses; that were some of the very best in late 80s, early 90s design. They all still hold up very well; and this one has been continually upgraded in an attempt to keep high quality in terms of the most modern design. I am looking forward to playing in 2010; to see the new long, pin placements; and new signage.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 232  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a pretty good course with a variety of shots required (rollers, anhyzer, hyzer, straight through trees, big hyzers over the top, etc..). A variety of distances with a couple par 4's. Most of the par 3's require an excellent shot to card your birdie and potential for bogey if you hit early. Fun to play with decent Gateway baskets and good cement tees!
Cons: Pretty flat. With the land available, a few more par 4's could have been thrown in to create more of a challenge relative to the neighboring course. Some of the par 3's could definitely have been lengthened a bit as well.
Other Thoughts: There is no hole on this course that I'd really consider a 'bad hole'. All provide a challenge to birdie with many potential bogeys.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty nice course

1    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees on all holes is nice. Very good elevation changes for the area, with lots of trees as obstacles. There was a nice mix of wooded holes and wide open holes, and the distance was pretty fair. Some longer holes, but overall, great balance
Cons: The course was fairly easy to follow at first, despite missing and broken hole signs. Toward the end, it was very difficult to make sense of what holes we were playing. It seems that many of the signs were posted on the wrong holes.
Other Thoughts: This was a nice course, and I definitely had a good time playing it. My only gripe are the signs, which were broken, non-existent, or on the wrong hole. If they could correct those with signs like they have on Anna Page East, then the course would be much more pleasant. As is, it's good for 18 holes, though it's not a spectacular course. Considering the two courses are right next to each other, it's worth going out of your way to check out the Anna Page courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Long Bomber Course Done Right

2-4    4/17/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a diverse collection of hills dotted with a maze of scattered mature trees, some wooded areas, and a large open field. Terrain is in play on almost every hole, and every hole has ways of punishing bad shots.

This course will stretch your drives and give you plenty of opportunities to really unleash it, but it also punishes mistakes. It demands both distance, but it rewards shot placement. This is not a tightly wooded, highly technical finesse course like UW-Parkside. This is longer and more open, but still technical in its own right.

For me, the key to this course is long, controlled drives. The scattered trees give choices of lines, but to score well you will still need to pick which gap you want to thread. This course is challenging but fair. You can get tons of birdies here, but it'll take a pretty well placed drive, and probably a longer putt. This course doesnt give freebies. The abundance of terrain, and thus hillside pins, means that risk/reward is always a fact, even on putts.

Generally, I prefer tightly wooded, technical courses over longer, more open ones, but this course is quite well-done. It constricts your shots in many different ways: doglegs, low overhanging tree branch, narrow gap between two trees, even one perfect hyzer line thru a tree avenue to an opposing hilltop that a lone tree branch very effectively shuts down, forcing a straight shot that hugs the right side of the fairway and breaks right very late to get a possible birdie.

The wide open field holes on this course keep it interesting as well. The 600 ft hole has thre trees along the fairway to the left, and a line of shule to the right, ready to punish errant drives.

This course, IMO, is just the right level of difficulty. You have to drive fairly well and have good mid-game to get par, and birdies are very attainable if you can weave a long drive through the trees, but any hole on this course can trip you up for a stroke or two if you really fudge it up. The par 4's and par 5 are tough, and deserve their higher par, but birdies are possible here to. This course is a nice balance between distance and accuracy, with lots of cool holes that will keep you on your toes.

I feel like my distance increased after a day of playing both these two courses, because I got so many chances to just let it fly, versus teeing off with midranges on on every other hole like on some other courses. See for yourself if these two don't help your game in a similar fashion.
Cons: Signage.
Pieces of particleboard have been elaborately painted with hole maps and distances and affixed to posts by every (long) tee, which would be great if anything but particleboard had been used. As it is, the signs on holes 4, 6, 7, 16 and 17 have disintegrated, through natural or other means, leaving bare posts. Holes 12 and 13, the 2 holes in the open field next to 600+ ft Hole 11, do not even have posts next to the tee, for whatever reason, and thus no signs either. Consequently, many people accidentally skip those two holes.

In fact, there are a few areas on this course where its easy skip a hole or two without realizing it. In particular, the transition from hole 7 to hole 8 is an easy one to miss. From basket 7, follow the path through the woods to your right. You'll see holes 2 and 3 in front of you, but Tee 8 is to your left.

A few holes have "short tees" displayed on the tee signs, which are dirt pads not marked in any way (except 3 short, marked with a wooden pole) so don't bother looking for them. It takes too much effort to figure out their approximate location, which usually isn't even a flat area, and since only about 7 holes have short tees, its really not worth it anyways.

Though usually you can see the basket form the tee, or at least see where the fairway goes, the thing that would benefit this course the most is signs directing you to the next tee, to help newbies out.

I almost wanted to rate this course as merely "good" due to the signage issues and the virtually nonexistant short tees, but as it stands, its still a very entertaining and reasonably challenging course with lots of terrain, which is just fine with only one set of tees. Also, from what I gathered, the locals are figuring out what kind of signage will stay in place before they replace anything that's already been broken, so hopefully people will respect the course and the signs will get better sooner rather than later.
Other Thoughts: This park is huge, and apparently they are in the process of designing a third course, "South" in this park, to be opened at some point in the future. When I asked Bear, one of the local players, what it would be like, he told me West would be just a warmup for South, meaning a much longer, championship course. If the new course is as fun and well-designed as West, with great signage like East, there is no doubt in my mind it will be an Excellent course, but only time will tell. In the meantime, enjoy this course. The more people that play here, the more reason to build a third course, so check this place out if you're in the area.

With a third course in this park, it would really make things interesting, like a stairstep from East to West to South. Also, its so unusual to have more than 36 holes on a free public course, that this spot is worth checking out for that reason alone.

If you get tired of your discs hitting trees on West, head over to East for a break. If its your first time playing here, I would suggest warming up at East before playing this course. Since West has more terrain, trees, and distance than East, it will ease you into it, and you'll appreciate the superior course design of West that much more. I agree with previous posters, you will love one and hate the other. After my initial "warm-up" round on East, I stayed on West the rest of the day. I like West. East, not so much.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

great

5+    10/10/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: duain
Played: 67  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mixture of some wooded holes, some 500+ bomber holes. Beautiful layout. Multiple pin locations and a nice flow.
Other Thoughts: This is the course to play if you want to open up and test out some distance drives.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.