Disc Golf Store
Rockford, IL 
Anna Page Park - East Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Worst at Anna Page?

2-4    3/16/2014   3/16/2014
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 115  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I haven't been to Anna Page in about two years, so I was looking forward to playing another course here, but I was pretty disappointed.

The good things are, quickly summarized, that there are two pins per hole (it may even be that there are two baskets per hole??), it's nice and secluded and only for disc golf, and that it's part of the biggest disc golf complex in Illinois.

I'd also like to mention that the tee signs at every hole are very informative and even mention which hole is in play.
Cons: Cons. The holes are pretty boring. In terms of design, all the holes are mediocre and very, very average. There aren't any big elevation changes and the holes are mostly open.

The flow of the course can be a bit awkward at times.
Other Thoughts: This is the oldest and understandably the worst rated course at Anna Page. If you're planning on spending the day at this park, I'd recommend starting here and then playing the others because it acts as a good warm up course.

However, if you're only down to play one of the courses here, I'd definitely recommend the other two over this one.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/31/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: macraigimm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: fairly easy course, nice hole guides at tee pads, not heavily wooded, mostly flat. good for beginners.
Cons: hole guides are rarely acccurate, and a few holes are hard to follow.
Other Thoughts: a decent course overall. might be better to play when warmer.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good, solid course!

2-4    6/4/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: bisket1978
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course with rolling hills, and open areas for long drives.
Thank you to whomever started placing the pin position under the tee sign. It was confusing last year without those there. Love, love, love the new hole #17 pin placement. Unique. Also love the pro tee on either #15 or 16, which gives you a drive from in a cove of trees, through a narrow gap to an open fairway that drops a good 20 feet to the pin, which is 300+ feet away.
This park is dedicated to really only disc golf, so there are rarely pedestrians, or kids running out onto the fairways, or joggers to hit. This is a HUGE +. A mix of a pro and con are the hidden baskets throughout. They are a fun challenge, but also make it difficult to find the basket.
Cons: Blind tee shots on way too many of the holes. Holes are "jumbled" too close to each other making finding the hole that much harder, and also crossing over previous or future holes, and frolfers. Keep an eye out for flying discs.
Some holes are a little too well hidden.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoy playing here. Between the two courses, I like West better, but will still play this as well. Combined with the West course across the lot, and Krape Park in Freeport, it makes for a full day of frolfing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 East is Tricky

5+    8/12/2009   1/11/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is a great looking park. There are nice rolling hills and open fairways. The grass is always cut. Thick rough lines the edge of many baskets.

The tee signs are very descriptive marking the short and long basket placement and distance of both.

Cement tee pads.

There are a variety of shots and distances required on this course. You have to be creative as there are many tricky holes. There are many open shots but you can pay a hefty price by making mistakes and landing in the thick rough.

Hole #7 is the signature hole on this course.

Once you have played the course and know where the pins are this is a very enjoyable course to play.
Cons: This course can be very frustrating playing for the first couple of times. Many of the holes are blind *depends on pin* (1*, 2, 3, 4, 5*, 6*, 7, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16*, & 17*) If you don't know where the pins are it can get really frustrating.

There are several areas where pins and tees can be conflicting. An example is on hole #2 where you are throwing around the corner and many shots land on or near the tee of #3. If you are playing #5 to the short/right many times the tee to #6 is getting bombarded. Another example is #12 to the long position. If #3 is in the long you are throwing right at it. This course gets quite a bit of play so this is an issue.

There are several hokey holes like #2, #5 to the short/right, #11,and #17 short. They have extreme flight characteristics and are not that fun to throw.

The tee pads are short. On some of the longer holes it can be very difficult to approach from the rear. Erosion has lead to standing water and mud around tee pads.

The baskets are old with minimal chains. It can be very difficult to knock down putts.

This is a par 54 that lacks the real toughness to kick it up to the championship calibur. SSA played around 48.5 (-5.5) for a mix of pin positions. Here is the link. Its the Anna Page Park Tournament Configuration.
http://www.pdga.com/course-ra...?TournID=7349
Other Thoughts: Anna Page West is right across the parking lot. East is the more beginner friendly course.

Watch for poison ivy. There are some places in the rough with thick ivy.

If you did a total redesign of East & West you could have 2 of the best championship level courses in Illinois. There is some very good land at this park.

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A decent course to play

1    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The concrete tees and markers are very nice. The signs are definitely better than at Anna Page West, this is an easier course to follow. Very good elevation and lots of trees provide for a challenging round. Not a bad mix of longer and shorter holes, as well as open and wooded holes. Multiple pin locations provide variety.
Cons: While there are A and B pins for each hole, it doesn't seem like they have a consistent set in the ground. I definitely noted some A's and B's throughout the course. It's also a pain in some cases to have to walk toward the tee to determine where it is located, as it can be fairly time consuming. And while there is good balance on this course, many of the wooded holes seemed very similar. Lots of the holes also seemed to overlap, with tees and baskets very close together.
Other Thoughts: I didn't enjoy this course as much as the Anna Page West, but both courses have their flaws. In regards to the East course - it was a bit easier to follow, but some of the wooded holes got to be fairly repetitious, which was disappointing. Anna Page is also a huge park, which is clear considering it houses 36 holes of disc golf. However, there are also numerous parties, picnics, and general gatherings. We had lots of issues with people wandering through the course, which was a big pain. That said, Anna Page East was a pretty good, challenging course, despite its flaws. Definitely take a day to head out to Rockford and play all 36.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/19/2002   1/19/2009
Review By: jeremytf
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2010
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Open fairways are good practice for driving. Hills add extra challenge (compared to Florida courses that I'm used to). Some difficult doglegs and long holes make what could be an easy course much more challenging. Variety in length and hole design. Several holes have a few options for best route to the basket, giving good opportunity for strategy. The slopes and openness allows the wind to affect the game some, which adds some difficulty.
Cons: The idea of open fairways with some tighter shots nearer the basket repeats itself a lot, which can be repetitive. Some weird shaped holes are impossible to deuce, so it removes some of the fun from those holes. I can't say there are any holes where a very technical, accurate DRIVE is required. It's not always obvious whether baskets are in the A or B locations. That plus mediocre signage means it's not an easy course to figure out for people unfamiliar with it.
Other Thoughts: I've played on this course since the mid '80s, although I don't get there often anymore because I moved to Florida. It's a beautiful course and well established over such a long time. But having played in a variety of courses over the years, I now realize that the design of Anna Page East isn't as technically challenging as it could be.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

great

5+    10/10/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: duain
Played: 67  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2014
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Decent layout with different challenges and a nice flow. Multiple pin locations on every hole. Nice course for all skill levels. The land is well used.
Other Thoughts: The Tee Pads are shorter than the other course, so it's good to start here.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Next page

1    9/28/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I agree with the reviews posted so far. Nice open fairways (if you consider this a pro), with plenty of length on numerous holes. Challenging basket locations on many holes - often you are looking at an open fairway with no clear basket in sight. Only upon walking up the fairway do you find that the basket is hiding in a thick grove of trees and bushes. This was frustrating for me the first time through, but once you know where the baskets are, its much more enjoyable. Very creative course.
Cons: Fairways are not well-defined, and like mentioned previously, can be confusing. I would recommend more clearly outlined signage (including which pin is in the ground), as well as more brightly colored baskets to help with this (they are old and faded in many cases).

HUC mentioned erosion, and I would agree that this a problem for this course. I would only add that it is especially a problem at the concrete tee-pads. I use a rather long run-up, and this is impossible on many of the tees due to there being an inch or greater lip where the soil had eroded away from the approach portion of the pad. This makes it nearly impossible to use any portion of the tee outside of the concrete.

I also had a hard time with the "U-turn" nature of some of the fairways. I'm driving north about 300', then all of sudden I need to use a hook-shot to the east and then south - back the direction I started - to get to the hole. What the?
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course, especially if you have played in at least once before. One of the final holes (I believe it's hole 15) features a basket on top of a 100' pole, about halfway down the center of the fairway. Nice obstacle (or goal?). Several discs were in it...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners

1    7/21/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: -HUC-
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the more beginner friendly course of the two courses in Anna page park. It is mostly open with little elevation change. It is hard to lose a disc because of the open layout and the open under story in the shule.

Anna page has great facilities including grills, a gazebo, bathrooms, water, and a sizable practice field. There are benches spread throughout the course and a portolet at hole 9.

The course is fairly long and there are multiple pin placements on every hole. There are concrete pads on every hole and tee signs to help you find your way. I love the "offerings to the disc golf gods" basket.

The layout offers a few par 4s when the pins are set up in the long positions which I like. There is a good mix of hyzers, anhyzers, and forced straight shots. Good lefty righty balance. The pins are usually well gaurded.
Cons: Playing this course there were a few things that bothered me. There were obvious safety concerns on this course. There are no less than 7 teepads that come within 60ft of a fairway. Hole 2 is a blind clown mouth that has the teepad of hole 3 right in the middle of it. There is a spot where there are 2 pins and a teepad within an 70ft diameter circle. So watch your head. It seems like they weren't given a lot of room or help and they tried to make the best course they could and they just pushed too far.
Although there is variability in the holes many have a very similar feel. For example there are 3 clown mouths for both pin placements. Part of this is that the fairways are pretty open and you get to throw pretty much anything that you want. Locals throw a ton of rollers on this course.

When the pins are set up short this course has a lot of "par 2.5s" were you can't reach it in one but you only get a four if you really screw up. It can be confusing to know which pin to throw to as there can be multiple pins in view from the end of the tee pad.


This course doesn't really do much for presentation. They haven't been working on erosion controls and now there is a lot of mud around the course. The baskets are home made or mach 1s and aren't really the greatest. A row of telephone poles in the back of the park comes into play on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: The open feel is great for beginners who may not have great control or throw that far. Even though the fairways are open the well protected baskets will challenge players of any skill level. I would only recommend playing if there aren't a lot of people on the course due to the risk of getting hit. The Anna Page complex does have two courses so you can pick which one to play based on how you feel like playing. There is a clear divide as to who plays which course. East is definitely more casual with more rec players with a disc in one hand and a paper bag in the other and West with the players with Quad shocks and under armour on.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.