Rockford, IL 
Anna Page Park - East Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    5/1/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Contrary to how they're currently ranked, I think East is the better of the two Anna Page courses at this point, and it comes very close to being a 4-star course in my opinion.

Where the West course is a little rough around the edges, East has some nice touches. The pin rotations are indicated on the sign post, something I wish every course with rotating pins would do. Woodchips around the teepads reduce erosion and improve the visual appeal of the course, and benches are located throughout.

As for the course play itself, there is nice distance and the natural features are used pretty well. There isn't much elevation, but what does exist is incorporated into the course. There is enough variety to maintain a high fun factor through 18 holes and at no point does the course feel repetitive.
Cons: The main issue that prevented this course from being a four star is the lack of line shaping required off the tee. While there are trees present throughout the course, most tee shots go through open areas.

This place was pretty crowded when I played and in a few spots bad shots can result in conflicts with other players. The tee box for #3 is in the line of fire for shots at #2.

The baskets are functional, but they are pretty old and may cost you a few putts during a round.

First time players will need to walk the fairway on a few holes. The signs help, but can not be trusted to throw without getting a visual of the chains.
Other Thoughts: Both courses complement each other well. As others have mentioned, this course is better suited as a warm up for the West course, since there is a lot more distance there, but you may be better served to just pick the less crowded of the two to start out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 love it

5+    1/22/2011   1/22/2011
Review By: malooly39653
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: this course is a blast fun to play. i enjoyed the varity of hole types and the course design.
Cons: lots of vandalism and really busy in summer. not really any place to get snack or bevrages close
Other Thoughts: could do with som changes like the new teebox this corse is a very big change from most in the area

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 a nice course

1    5/30/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: Brado
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The signage was good…better than most.
The course itself was challenging and fun.
Very scenic. A nice park.
I drove an hour to play this course with friends that lived in the Rockford area. I was not disappointed
Cons: If you can't remember the map at the beginning you'll lose your way.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I've loved East for nearly 20 years

5+    8/8/2009   1/5/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 706  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: IMHO this course asks one to shoot quite unique variety of shots.
I played a couple of my earliest tourneys here; in the early 1990s. I've been back nearly every year since; including 3 times in 2009; and I still enjoy the heck out of this course.
Land very well maintained and quite unique. Quite rare; in my experience, to be faced with such tall and thick schule; so near to most pins.
J shaped holes; while considered by some to force 3's; in my mind; require inventive shots to perhaps get a two; as well as smart play, to avoid a 4. If you come in early to some of these; there is BIG trouble.
You will need all shots here; including rollers, if you have them in your bag.
Elevation used well.
Anna West just on the other side of the parking lot.
Fresh water can be had at the bathrooms, located at end of parking lot. Good water; locals claim the water at this park, is better than city water.
Basket on top of the telephone/electrical pole quite a fun sculptural element. If you have a throwaway disc; give it a shot!
Two sets of pin placements; moved fairly often; which is nice for locals; but is another reason to print a map, for first timers.
Quite challenging course to long pins.
This course was designed, from the beginning, to challenge players over 900 rated. 6000 foot length; is fairly long (and, definitely was in the 1980s); especially, with all the schule near pins. My experience is that good shots are required to make 3s; very good shots to have a deuce opportunity; and good putts from the schule to save par.
#14 is one stand out hole for me....uphill, slight anny (rhbh), to what plays like 270 ft.; with some telephone poles and lines in play; as well as a big fall away hill to the road; on the left; if your anny line fades out left on you. So, you make it here; and now, you're faced with another 180 ft., straight, tunnel shot; over a bit of a ridge; to a pin you can just see the top of. If you don't make that first landing zone; you won't be able to see the pin.
Hole #5 (I think), in the long pin, is another very tall anny shot; requiring an excellent blind placement; for any chance at par. (the pictures for this course do it no justice; other than showing the nice looking landscape. Elevation not illustrated at all; there is good elevation here; especially to long pins.)
#4 (I believe), is a very interesting, poke and hope type of shot; that requires a tight drive to have a chance at the "hope." Very tricky green; with almost certainly force an unusual style putt; through, or around (or both) trees.
Cons: Tee signs not the best. You will see a number of pins from tees; and may have to walk a number of fairways to tell which basket is the correct one. I would suggest printing map beforehand, or meeting with a local. This course almost always has someone playing on it; it you don't have a map, ask if you can join up with a local for your first play through.
To next tee signs would be very useful. The number of blind pins, rather poor signage, and overall length of this course, can wear you out mentally (or, it does me, anyway). Take 10 minutes to figure out which hole you are throwing to, end up in the schule on your drive, play your way out; take a three or four; repeat this a number of times here; and the day can get long. I really suggest printing a map; or playing with a local. (The club is doing some nice improvements, late 2009; and they are attempting to have signs with pins noted and next tee markers, in by early 2010. This will certainly help make navigation easier.
Older baskets.
No drinking of alcohol at this park; and there are stories of person in golf cart style vehicle, making sure of this. Be discrete. There are lots of secluded spots here; just don't be hammering beverages in the wide open.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to concentrate on hole #1 and get your deuce; as you will not see another easy one until #18 (long pins).
Greater Rockford Area Bush Masters has been name of club since the beginning....after playing this course; you will understand the "bush master" part; as I darn near guarantee you will throw a number of shots from the schule. Many pin placements here will force interesting upshots/putts from the thick stuff. At the same time; it is fairly tough to lose plastic; but keep an eye on your landings.
In my heart; I want to give Anna East a 4 rating; but, West is considered the better course by most; and, I can't see giving it a 4 rating; given, the other, better courses in Illinois. But, if you end up enjoying these courses as much as I do; you will consider them 4 rated. (I rate .5 or more lower than most reviewers here)

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult to play your 1st time here.

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.1 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Holes have a variety of distance from 200 ft-500 ft. Holes are mostly open, but the rough will severely penalize you. Alot of good holes for roller shots. Hole 7 is a great challenge.
Cons: Mostly flat. Some of the pin placements are pretty goofy and offer no real route to the basket with the hole winding around the pine trees (180 degree hairpin in 1 instance). These placements do not create fun shots. Baskets are in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: A ton of blind holes that wrap around pine trees which makes playing here for the 1st time very difficult with all the extra walking to checkout the basket placement. Gotta play a few rounds here to get the distances dialed in.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The open page

1    5/28/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a very large park with rolling hills and a mix of open grassy areas and thick stands of trees. The park is very well taken care of, with nicely manicured grass on all the fairways and no trash on the course when I played. There are no holes with major elevation, but many of the holes play on at least a slight incline which adds some interest on many of the more open holes.

There is a variety of types of holes, from completely wide open holes where you can rip a drive to holes where accuracy is paramount if you don't want to be stuck in the woods. Most of the pins are tucked into or behind stands of trees, so that poor placement on drives and upshots is punished with tough looks at the baskets. There is a decent mix of straight shots and right/left curving holes throughout the course.

There are nice concrete tee pads on all the holes that provide enough space for most throwers.There are good signs on each hole with distance and lines to both pin positions. The sign board at the beginning of the course lists the current positions on all the holes, which is nice when there is a mix of A and B placements. The alternate pin placements really change most of the holes, and it looked like they would make for very different challenges.
Cons: One of my biggest beefs about courses with multiple pin placements is a lack of signage on the course that indicates the current layout. The sign at hole 1 alleviates this somewhat, but you have to write down the whole layout if you don't want to be scouting out many of the holes. Many of the holes are blind, which is a nice challenge, but is frustrating when the two pin positions require very different tee shots.

I would have liked a few tighter fairways on this course, as most of the holes were very wide open for much of their length. A few that had tighter fairways had very odd doglegs that seemed to make the holes have pretty poor scoring distributions (impossible to deuce, easy to 3, have to really screw up to 4), and these got a little old.

Though the design used the space well to keep fairways separate, too many of the tees were right in the flight path of the previous hole. If the course is crowded, you really have to watch out for drives coming at you from behind.
Other Thoughts: This course offered very different challenges from the West course, and I thought they complemented each other nicely. This course had more open shots, and is much more accessible to beginning players. It does have some holes that will challenge more experienced players, and is a great place to warm up for a round on the more challenging west course.

With two nice courses in one park, Anna Page is certainly worth driving out of your way to play. If you have time for both courses, play this one first, then tackle the West course. If you only have time for one, I found the West course more interesting and fun, and it provides much more challenge for more advanced players.

I enjoyed the "sacrifice" hole, and thought it was a neat idea. There is a basket mounted on top of a telephone pole, where if you somehow manage to shank a shot into it, you won't be getting your disc back.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Sacrificae to the disc gods

5+    8/29/2008   11/9/2008
Review By: Tripod2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big arms will like this one; there are quite a few open, grip n' rip holes. Not much creativity, tho, until you get near the pin. That's where the plantlife comes to play. Pins are placed very carefully and trees will come into play on nearly all of the holes.

This course is in quite contrast from the other 18 holer at this park, Anna Page West. If your score was a shipwreck due to West, you very well could salvage your day on East.

You will love one and hate the other. Your score will probably reflect that.

This is a challenging course in the sense that the groundskeepers do a good job of mixing up the pins (in addition to mowing!). That makes things very interesting.

There is a fieldhouse at the park. Grills are scattered throughout, especially at West. If you need something at the last minute, Wal-Mart and some fast food places are a few miles down the road.

Overall, this is a very pretty park, and you will forget, quickly, that you're in IL's 3rd largest city. If you skip the fieldhouse and need to pee, there are plenty of trees.....

There is, on the opposite side of the road of holes 1 and 18, a practice basket. There is plenty of space to throw your brand new, untested driver, without worry of hitting anyone. I think every course should have a practice basket!

FYI - Bring a disc you do not mind losing/offering as a sacrifice to the disc golf gods! On holes 13 & 15 (please correct me if I'm wrong) you have the opportunity to throw your offering disc about 30 or 40 feet in the air at a faux target. The telephone pole it is placed upon clearly marks that it is an offering to the "Disc Gods", so this is purely voluntary. There are a few discs up there and I've overheard a few guys say aloud "...I'll bring my spikes and climb that thing!".

Might not be worthwhile to disrespect the disc golf gods....
Cons: The main problem I have with this course is that I have discovered, the hard way, that the signs are not always accurate. Either the signs have not been updated or hooligans come along and switch what hole it is (A or B) that is being played. It's rather embarrassing and frustrating to lead some Anna Page newbies on this course only to discover, at the last minute, that you were throwing at the completely wrong direction.

For the most part, you are walking in the open, so that can be rough when it's really hot. Bring plenty of refreshments!

Watch your disc! Quite a few holes require flight plans that hug treelines, and, if you're not careful, you can wind up trying to tomahawk it thru a bunch of pine trees, praying for double or triple bogie.
Other Thoughts: There are tournaments held here, so check the listings before you set out with your buddies. If you arrive at about 8 a.m., the place is to yourself (unless I'm there, too!).

If you're planning a DiscGolf Day, start here, then do Kraape Park in Freeport and then Sinnissippi in Sterling. If you play each course just once, that's 72 holes thrown in less than 2 hours of driving time.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.