Rockford, IL 
Anna Page Park - East Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Easier than West

5+    2/27/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: BMC52001
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Most consider the East Side course the easier of the 2 courses.
-Concrete pads except on 2 which I believe is in hole change which is a sweet new look from the old shot which most hated.
-Many different types of looks and possible throws which helps all styles.
Cons: -Tough course to start on(frustrating for some weaker throwers),
-Baskets are old and some putts will spit out
-Can be really confusing if this is your first time.
-Signs are nice but a bit confusing as well (might be b/c people move the screws in the signs.
Other Thoughts: -Pretty tough course that really tests your entire game. I found out quickly that your mid range game comes into play often here b/c of the longer holes. These were often the difference b/w pars and bogeys on the long holes.
-Recommend having a spotter on some holes (5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and sometimes 11)- bad throws can you put you in some serious troubles to find.
Favorite Holes: #2, #4, #12, #17
Rough Holes: #7

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    6/25/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large area that has a good amount of hills, and lots of dense forest to get around. Some trees in spots as well. Aside from a pavilion and some other random stuff, it is pretty clear for disc golf. A few spots by the road at worst.
- Majority of the holes here are set up in fairly open areas, but there are huge patches of thick rough to contend with, and the occasional trees. Hole #2, for instance, is an uphill RHBH hyzer that almost does a 180 into the forest, with trees long. #5 is a typical anny route that again must stay clear of the forest. There are holes that have more trees in the way, from a simple hyzer on #1 to an anny on #7 that requires going around some jail right in the fairway. Some lines are wide open here, definitely, but there are also a lot that are fairly tight as well.
- While there aren't any holes exclusively in the forest, there are places where you are shooting into or near wooded areas. This includes the sharp, sharp hyzers but also some long pin positions that are tucked in the forest. #15's pro tee is shooting out of the woods as well, so there is a little taste here and there. Some telephone poles come into play on some holes as well, in a big way. I liked the additional obstacles.
- The elevation changes here are a big factor, on a lot of different holes. There are some great downhill shots, like getting around the big pine trees on #12, and some tough uphill ones like the anny on #11. These holes are almost the same length, but it feels like night and day. Really helps to keep the open shots interesting.
- There are some tricky basket placements for some of the pin positions, 17c was pretty cool, and some hyzers and annys were really extended in the longs. I guess it depends where they are, but some make you work for it.
- Great teepads, signage, and baskets. Each tee showed the current pin position, thankfully. Navigation pretty straightforward.
Cons: - Overall, this course is pretty wide open. There are large, large patches of forest to stay out of, and trees to avoid, but usually there is always a wide open route that doesn't require much accuracy. Anna Page West really puts this one to shame in that regard; by itself it wouldn't seem so bad. Doesn't help that the last hole, #18, has almost no trees to speak of.
- Course is kind of crammed in at spots, there are some places where you are teeing off next to a basket, or walking close to other fairways. Not to mention some super blind shots, I would keep your eyes peeled on a lot of these holes.
- Terrain is exremely uniform, no water or any other craziness to be found here. Just rough and trees; the scenery rarely changes.
Other Thoughts: - I think that the proximity to Anna Page West hurts this course, in terms of rating. I personally had a great time at both courses. This one is a bit more open, allowing for some good rips off the teepad. But, there are also some holes that demand some good accuracy and will punish accordingly (#2, #4, #7, #11 at least). Elevation changes add a good amount of fun (or frustration). Big arms might be able to tear through this course easily, but everyone else should enjoy some somewhat well-rounded golf. What it lacks in forest, it makes up for with some extreme angles, I feel.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long placements a +!

2-4    5/30/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement tpads and great signage here showing both A & B pin placements. Only recall one hole with a C position.
-Great views, down expansive fairways, with tall trees dividing the holes from one another.
-Fantastic use of the trees for shot-shaping, creating low ceilings, and forming hazards (out of the rough, blocking your shot, etc).
-A fair mix of open holes where you can let loose and bomb something, and some tighter, more guarded pins where accuracy is key. Good mix! Lots of direct angles here, controlled hyzers will do well.
-This side proves to be a good warmup for the styles of throws along with power you'll need to succeed at either course at Anna Page Park
-Benches and receptacles placed throughout the park. For as crowded as this park gets, it's fairly clean.
Cons: -Poison ivy is all over this course, but it's manageable. Just know how to identify it, you'll be fine. Helpful to have a towel to handle discs thrown into the mess.
-The bugs here are BAD as this park has a creek running through it. I played a day after a 3-day long storm ended, so that may have contributed to the veracity of the mosquitos. Just a warning!
-No water hazards on this course! Love the risk/reward, especially in a tight game with your buddies.
Other Thoughts: Together, with the West course, these courses provide one helluva day discing! Aside from the collection of great courses in the SW Burbs, Rockford stands out because of Anna Page Park. I also have heard there are serious plans for another 18 hole course here! Keep your ears peeled...

I like this course very much, but I don't love it, and although this course is a lot of fun it fails to "Wow!" me. That's not to say I didn't thoroughly enjoy playing here. It likely falls just outside my Top 10 courses.

My Favorites : 5, 7, 10, 12, 15, 17

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 AP - East

5+    10/24/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice and open! This side is a great warm up side to unleash the arm and get to see great flight patterns of discs. Has a great variation of holes.
Cons: Super busy in the summer time. Get there early in the morning or afternoon

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    11/14/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. The greatest "pro" for this course is the beauty. About as good as it gets for Northern Illinois.
2. Every hole offers a unique challenge with guarded and hidden baskets.
3. The grounds are very well taken care of. As of 11/14/09 the leaves had been mulched.
4. Very little chance to lose a disc.
5. Plenty of long holes with creative pin placements. They put a lot of thought into each pin placement.
6. Anna Page West is right across the road.
7. Decent signs and a good flow through the park.
8. People hiking or having a picnic are the only others who share the park. And, they picnic and hike there because it is a beautiful park.
Cons: I really can't think of a "con". The signs are not the best but I really don't care about signage. Beyond that I can't think of any reason to complain.
Other Thoughts: This course is an hour drive away for me, but well worth the drive. Drove up in the morning, played Anna Page East, walked up to the car and grabbed a new drink and played the West side.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better of the two courses!

1    11/1/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big concrete tee slabs with minimal erosion around most of them.

2) Good tee signs w/ alternate pins. Some of he blind baskets also have an A or B listed above the sign indicating which position it is in.

3) Awesome style of park for this course. This is a pretty big open park with small pockets of trees all around the park. This makes for incredible alternate baskets tucking them around corners and within 10-20' of wooded areas on most holes.

4) Shot requirements are tough. you need to be able to work the disc both ways so being backhand or sidearm dominant will hurt you unless you can anhyzer well too.

5) The basket on top of telephone pole on hole #15 was hilarious. WHat on earth do they use that for? If you hit that basket does it count as an ace? Either way I enjoyed seeing it up there and I even threw an extra disc to try and hit it. I missed the pole by only 5-10' but about 10' too low also.

6)Benches on most tees and garbage can placement seems adequate. Either the parks people or the locals do a good job of keeping this course clean of garbage. There is not much visible around.

7) Hole length is good. Apparently I played this course with all baskets in the easy positions as I played on the 1st of November. I enjoyed the basket locations, but would like to see it with all the baskets in the hard positions. I would imagine that is why my score was way better than the average on this site for this course. I am not that good of a player to shoot that much better than the average player.

8) Overall a good challenging course. It challenges mostly with its distance, because the holes are simply not reachable for the averag golfer (who throws under 250' normally) I can throw up to 275' and had a hard time getting any birdie chances after the first hole. The holes were just long enough or around enough of a corner that I had to throw a simple little approach under the basket for my 3's. I also two putted for bogie twice and had 2 errant approaches where I couldn't make my par, but I did birdie #1 and #17. LONG WINDED I know, but it helps to explain the distance required to do well on this course.

9) Every hole is unique, and although there are no super outstanding holes on this course, there are no throwaways.

10) This course uses rolling hills for their fairways and it does a wonderful job integrated what ellevation they have into the design. You go across hills, up over hills, around corners uphill and downhill which is a different challenge all in itself.

11) When I played the pins were all in easy positions so I didnt get to play some of the J shaped holes. I do not consider this to be much of a negative as it simply makes you wok your shot on every hole. It is better than allowing you to simply throw straight and rip it everytime. I think I would enjoy the challenge.

12) Maintenance in this park seems to be very high. There are not many erosion issues like you see on so many courses especially considering this course has been in the ground since 1986 and the rolling hills. There arent any dense wooded shot only pockets of trees so he turf also seems to be able to withstand the traffic it gets.
Cons: 1) Old baskets and some of them are inconsistent. Chain heights are different on some of the baskets. Some of the chains and baskets have been painted with something to protect it and it seems like it is peeling off. I have seen older baskets painted like this before so it must help protect the metal, and I would guess it may even make the chains catch better, but overall the baskets are old and not perfect.

2) Tough layout to figure out. I recommend bringing the course map as it shows the basket locations on each hole and will help you with the layout. It can be confusing the first time because you can see 2-3 baskets and tees from each tee or basket, so you may not know where you are supposed to go. On occassion the tee pad alignment might even mess you up because the baskets can be tucked around different corners. Baskets are also touhg to see in my instances too. Tucking the basket to the woodlines can be confusing, and since you can see baskets from every tee, you have to know where you are going.

3) Not real beginner friendly because of the length and the baskets that are tough to get to for the beginner. I would not expect this course was designed for beginners, it has been around a while and I can tell it is an old school course.

4) For a course that seems to be in great shape and received a lot of maintenance there were a ton of leaves that created some tough searches. I cannot fault the parks people much for this but it is somethng to be considered. Usually leaves are let go until they are all down so they do not continue to spend money on moving or mowing up leaves. Regardless I consider it a con, but no more so than any other course.

Other Thoughts: This is a championship caliber course in my opinion because of the basket location variability. It is mostly open (meaning no deep woods to throw through, just open fairways and around corners). I enjoyed it thoroughly and I think i liked it more than the west course because of the uniqueness of the holes and the course layout. Elevation, wooded area to avoid constantly, but rarely do you have to shoot through much of a wooded area, mostly just around.

There is a shared parking area between the courses and bathrooms located right by the parking which is nice.

I will definitely come back here sometime, probably for a tourney as I wont travel that far very often, but I certainly did enjoy this course a lot. I have had a hard time comparing between the two course and overall I think both courses are 4 disc course despite me enjoying this course more than the west course. Normally I like wooded courses, but this course was so uniquely designed I think I liked it more than the mature oaked west course. I am ranking them both 4's but this one was better in my opinion.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favs

5+    6/3/2009   6/3/2008
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Posted: Disc Golfers Have Right of Way
- Nice consistent Cement teepads
- A and B pin placements
- Large mature trees
- Gentle rolling hills
- Open fairways
- Easy to navigate and great flow
- Practice basket
- Nice tee signs
- Picnic Benches every few holes
- Trash cans abundant
- Bathrooms
- Port-a-potie by hole 9 tee
- Kind and helpful locals
- Challenging fairways
- Every feature of the available land is well utilized
- Accuracy and placement are essential
- Several risk and reward holes
Cons: - The A and B markers at the tee signs arnt consistently indicating the right placement
- Missing the tight technical holes
Other Thoughts: Anna page has some fantastic disc golf. The East course is more open and requires well placed drives, the West course is much tighter and requires hitting the right gaps. Making a day out of playing both courses is well worth your time.
The east course has large open fairways that play around and through patches of woods and trees. Accuracy combined with distance is essential for a good score. Many of the baskets are tucked behind or into the woods. Keep your mental game in control, although the course is fun its easy to get frustrated.

Favorite hole #4 (position A) - There is essentially 2 lines to take towards the pins. Directly in front of you is a patch of trees and all along the left there is trees. The basket is tucked away down along the left in the trees about 260' away. The first line is a large hyzer that sneaks in along the backside of the patch of trees in front. The other line is a tight lil S curve down a narrow path through the tree pathc and the left tree line. There is a very risky straight line straight at the basket down a 2' wide gap. Not suggested, if you dont make it through its not uncommon to take a 4.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Anna Page Park East

2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Check out my "West" review for more. I think the two are very similar. If you have a big arm, you should like this course.
Cons: Layout may be confusing

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.