Rockford, IL 
Anna Page Park - East Share
Uploaded By: DaBus85 Hole #17 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach: 'C' placement, basket visible toward the back in the middle.



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Worst at Anna Page?

2-4    3/16/2014   3/16/2014
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I haven't been to Anna Page in about two years, so I was looking forward to playing another course here, but I was pretty disappointed.

The good things are, quickly summarized, that there are two pins per hole (it may even be that there are two baskets per hole??), it's nice and secluded and only for disc golf, and that it's part of the biggest disc golf complex in Illinois.

I'd also like to mention that the tee signs at every hole are very informative and even mention which hole is in play.
Cons: Cons. The holes are pretty boring. In terms of design, all the holes are mediocre and very, very average. There aren't any big elevation changes and the holes are mostly open.

The flow of the course can be a bit awkward at times.
Other Thoughts: This is the oldest and understandably the worst rated course at Anna Page. If you're planning on spending the day at this park, I'd recommend starting here and then playing the others because it acts as a good warm up course.

However, if you're only down to play one of the courses here, I'd definitely recommend the other two over this one.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Better than the West

1    5/5/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: buggzbrown
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Very easy to navigate. The signs are very helpful in determining the basket to throw to as each hols has multiple pins. there will be a letter screwed to the pole at the tee either A B or C. to tell you which basket to throw too

- Decent challenge for all player skills

- Nice rest area for water/smoke break on the pro tee with benches

-nice concrete tees on this and its sister course to the west
Cons: - Some holes a little TOO easy and should have an ace chance every time

- If the basket gets changed and they forget to change the letter on the pole it can get very confusing where to throw

- Very busy as was the sister course next to it
Other Thoughts: I personally prefer this course to the other one but that's only my opinion, ratings on here show the other one rated higher. But if you're already there do yourself a favor and play both makes for a real fun day.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/28/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 92  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes which makes for versatile shot selections with a few exceptions. Great usage of the park itself as far as the layout and space available to create the course. Very well maintained property with the Park & Rec staff.
Cons: None- I only wish the course conditions weren't so wet but what do you expect when all the snow is melting away. I got caught up with a few things before leaving from the Milwaukee area and only had time to play the East course and wish I could've played the West course the same day but I will be back!
Other Thoughts: I noticed some great improvements to a few of the more wooded holes with the debris and a few smaller trees taken out to improve some gaps, some stumps have been removed too. I think they are also looking to install another 9 holes? I'm not sure how much truth there is to the rumor but that would be amazing!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Home Sweet Home

5+    5/14/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: BigArmJibba
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a long and challenging course. Even most of the "birdie" holes have some kind of challenge to get by/around.
There is a great mix of tight technical disc work and enough wide open space to get in a couple of long bombs (love the new tee-pad on hole 15).
A few holes have recently been upgraded to include a "C" position which are all great baskets.
Cons: Sometimes park is used by horseback riders, so the occasional pile of horse excrement may be expected, though they are rare.
No signage indicating if woods on the right are still "out-of-bounds" or if play through is fair for new "C" position on hole 14.
Other Thoughts: This is the course upon which I first played and fell in love with disc golf. It is excellently challenging, however, it is still accessible enough to novice players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Easier than West

5+    2/27/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: BMC52001
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Most consider the East Side course the easier of the 2 courses.
-Concrete pads except on 2 which I believe is in hole change which is a sweet new look from the old shot which most hated.
-Many different types of looks and possible throws which helps all styles.
Cons: -Tough course to start on(frustrating for some weaker throwers),
-Baskets are old and some putts will spit out
-Can be really confusing if this is your first time.
-Signs are nice but a bit confusing as well (might be b/c people move the screws in the signs.
Other Thoughts: -Pretty tough course that really tests your entire game. I found out quickly that your mid range game comes into play often here b/c of the longer holes. These were often the difference b/w pars and bogeys on the long holes.
-Recommend having a spotter on some holes (5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and sometimes 11)- bad throws can you put you in some serious troubles to find.
Favorite Holes: #2, #4, #12, #17
Rough Holes: #7

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    6/25/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large area that has a good amount of hills, and lots of dense forest to get around. Some trees in spots as well. Aside from a pavilion and some other random stuff, it is pretty clear for disc golf. A few spots by the road at worst.
- Majority of the holes here are set up in fairly open areas, but there are huge patches of thick rough to contend with, and the occasional trees. Hole #2, for instance, is an uphill RHBH hyzer that almost does a 180 into the forest, with trees long. #5 is a typical anny route that again must stay clear of the forest. There are holes that have more trees in the way, from a simple hyzer on #1 to an anny on #7 that requires going around some jail right in the fairway. Some lines are wide open here, definitely, but there are also a lot that are fairly tight as well.
- While there aren't any holes exclusively in the forest, there are places where you are shooting into or near wooded areas. This includes the sharp, sharp hyzers but also some long pin positions that are tucked in the forest. #15's pro tee is shooting out of the woods as well, so there is a little taste here and there. Some telephone poles come into play on some holes as well, in a big way. I liked the additional obstacles.
- The elevation changes here are a big factor, on a lot of different holes. There are some great downhill shots, like getting around the big pine trees on #12, and some tough uphill ones like the anny on #11. These holes are almost the same length, but it feels like night and day. Really helps to keep the open shots interesting.
- There are some tricky basket placements for some of the pin positions, 17c was pretty cool, and some hyzers and annys were really extended in the longs. I guess it depends where they are, but some make you work for it.
- Great teepads, signage, and baskets. Each tee showed the current pin position, thankfully. Navigation pretty straightforward.
Cons: - Overall, this course is pretty wide open. There are large, large patches of forest to stay out of, and trees to avoid, but usually there is always a wide open route that doesn't require much accuracy. Anna Page West really puts this one to shame in that regard; by itself it wouldn't seem so bad. Doesn't help that the last hole, #18, has almost no trees to speak of.
- Course is kind of crammed in at spots, there are some places where you are teeing off next to a basket, or walking close to other fairways. Not to mention some super blind shots, I would keep your eyes peeled on a lot of these holes.
- Terrain is exremely uniform, no water or any other craziness to be found here. Just rough and trees; the scenery rarely changes.
Other Thoughts: - I think that the proximity to Anna Page West hurts this course, in terms of rating. I personally had a great time at both courses. This one is a bit more open, allowing for some good rips off the teepad. But, there are also some holes that demand some good accuracy and will punish accordingly (#2, #4, #7, #11 at least). Elevation changes add a good amount of fun (or frustration). Big arms might be able to tear through this course easily, but everyone else should enjoy some somewhat well-rounded golf. What it lacks in forest, it makes up for with some extreme angles, I feel.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long placements a +!

2-4    5/30/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement tpads and great signage here showing both A & B pin placements. Only recall one hole with a C position.
-Great views, down expansive fairways, with tall trees dividing the holes from one another.
-Fantastic use of the trees for shot-shaping, creating low ceilings, and forming hazards (out of the rough, blocking your shot, etc).
-A fair mix of open holes where you can let loose and bomb something, and some tighter, more guarded pins where accuracy is key. Good mix! Lots of direct angles here, controlled hyzers will do well.
-This side proves to be a good warmup for the styles of throws along with power you'll need to succeed at either course at Anna Page Park
-Benches and receptacles placed throughout the park. For as crowded as this park gets, it's fairly clean.
Cons: -Poison ivy is all over this course, but it's manageable. Just know how to identify it, you'll be fine. Helpful to have a towel to handle discs thrown into the mess.
-The bugs here are BAD as this park has a creek running through it. I played a day after a 3-day long storm ended, so that may have contributed to the veracity of the mosquitos. Just a warning!
-No water hazards on this course! Love the risk/reward, especially in a tight game with your buddies.
Other Thoughts: Together, with the West course, these courses provide one helluva day discing! Aside from the collection of great courses in the SW Burbs, Rockford stands out because of Anna Page Park. I also have heard there are serious plans for another 18 hole course here! Keep your ears peeled...

I like this course very much, but I don't love it, and although this course is a lot of fun it fails to "Wow!" me. That's not to say I didn't thoroughly enjoy playing here. It likely falls just outside my Top 10 courses.

My Favorites : 5, 7, 10, 12, 15, 17

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Contrary to how they're currently ranked, I think East is the better of the two Anna Page courses at this point, and it comes very close to being a 4-star course in my opinion.

Where the West course is a little rough around the edges, East has some nice touches. The pin rotations are indicated on the sign post, something I wish every course with rotating pins would do. Woodchips around the teepads reduce erosion and improve the visual appeal of the course, and benches are located throughout.

As for the course play itself, there is nice distance and the natural features are used pretty well. There isn't much elevation, but what does exist is incorporated into the course. There is enough variety to maintain a high fun factor through 18 holes and at no point does the course feel repetitive.
Cons: The main issue that prevented this course from being a four star is the lack of line shaping required off the tee. While there are trees present throughout the course, most tee shots go through open areas.

This place was pretty crowded when I played and in a few spots bad shots can result in conflicts with other players. The tee box for #3 is in the line of fire for shots at #2.

The baskets are functional, but they are pretty old and may cost you a few putts during a round.

First time players will need to walk the fairway on a few holes. The signs help, but can not be trusted to throw without getting a visual of the chains.
Other Thoughts: Both courses complement each other well. As others have mentioned, this course is better suited as a warm up for the West course, since there is a lot more distance there, but you may be better served to just pick the less crowded of the two to start out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/31/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: macraigimm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: fairly easy course, nice hole guides at tee pads, not heavily wooded, mostly flat. good for beginners.
Cons: hole guides are rarely acccurate, and a few holes are hard to follow.
Other Thoughts: a decent course overall. might be better to play when warmer.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 AP - East

5+    10/24/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice and open! This side is a great warm up side to unleash the arm and get to see great flight patterns of discs. Has a great variation of holes.
Cons: Super busy in the summer time. Get there early in the morning or afternoon

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.