Rockford, IL 
Anna Page Park - East Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 397ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 AP - East

5+    10/24/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice and open! This side is a great warm up side to unleash the arm and get to see great flight patterns of discs. Has a great variation of holes.
Cons: Super busy in the summer time. Get there early in the morning or afternoon

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 love it

5+    1/22/2011   1/22/2011
Review By: malooly39653
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: this course is a blast fun to play. i enjoyed the varity of hole types and the course design.
Cons: lots of vandalism and really busy in summer. not really any place to get snack or bevrages close
Other Thoughts: could do with som changes like the new teebox this corse is a very big change from most in the area

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 a nice course

1    5/30/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: Brado
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The signage was good…better than most.
The course itself was challenging and fun.
Very scenic. A nice park.
I drove an hour to play this course with friends that lived in the Rockford area. I was not disappointed
Cons: If you can't remember the map at the beginning you'll lose your way.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good, solid course!

2-4    6/4/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: bisket1978
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course with rolling hills, and open areas for long drives.
Thank you to whomever started placing the pin position under the tee sign. It was confusing last year without those there. Love, love, love the new hole #17 pin placement. Unique. Also love the pro tee on either #15 or 16, which gives you a drive from in a cove of trees, through a narrow gap to an open fairway that drops a good 20 feet to the pin, which is 300+ feet away.
This park is dedicated to really only disc golf, so there are rarely pedestrians, or kids running out onto the fairways, or joggers to hit. This is a HUGE +. A mix of a pro and con are the hidden baskets throughout. They are a fun challenge, but also make it difficult to find the basket.
Cons: Blind tee shots on way too many of the holes. Holes are "jumbled" too close to each other making finding the hole that much harder, and also crossing over previous or future holes, and frolfers. Keep an eye out for flying discs.
Some holes are a little too well hidden.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoy playing here. Between the two courses, I like West better, but will still play this as well. Combined with the West course across the lot, and Krape Park in Freeport, it makes for a full day of frolfing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 East is Tricky

5+    8/12/2009   1/11/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is a great looking park. There are nice rolling hills and open fairways. The grass is always cut. Thick rough lines the edge of many baskets.

The tee signs are very descriptive marking the short and long basket placement and distance of both.

Cement tee pads.

There are a variety of shots and distances required on this course. You have to be creative as there are many tricky holes. There are many open shots but you can pay a hefty price by making mistakes and landing in the thick rough.

Hole #7 is the signature hole on this course.

Once you have played the course and know where the pins are this is a very enjoyable course to play.
Cons: This course can be very frustrating playing for the first couple of times. Many of the holes are blind *depends on pin* (1*, 2, 3, 4, 5*, 6*, 7, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16*, & 17*) If you don't know where the pins are it can get really frustrating.

There are several areas where pins and tees can be conflicting. An example is on hole #2 where you are throwing around the corner and many shots land on or near the tee of #3. If you are playing #5 to the short/right many times the tee to #6 is getting bombarded. Another example is #12 to the long position. If #3 is in the long you are throwing right at it. This course gets quite a bit of play so this is an issue.

There are several hokey holes like #2, #5 to the short/right, #11,and #17 short. They have extreme flight characteristics and are not that fun to throw.

The tee pads are short. On some of the longer holes it can be very difficult to approach from the rear. Erosion has lead to standing water and mud around tee pads.

The baskets are old with minimal chains. It can be very difficult to knock down putts.

This is a par 54 that lacks the real toughness to kick it up to the championship calibur. SSA played around 48.5 (-5.5) for a mix of pin positions. Here is the link. Its the Anna Page Park Tournament Configuration.
http://www.pdga.com/course-ra...?TournID=7349
Other Thoughts: Anna Page West is right across the parking lot. East is the more beginner friendly course.

Watch for poison ivy. There are some places in the rough with thick ivy.

If you did a total redesign of East & West you could have 2 of the best championship level courses in Illinois. There is some very good land at this park.

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I've loved East for nearly 20 years

5+    8/8/2009   1/5/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: IMHO this course asks one to shoot quite unique variety of shots.
I played a couple of my earliest tourneys here; in the early 1990s. I've been back nearly every year since; including 3 times in 2009; and I still enjoy the heck out of this course.
Land very well maintained and quite unique. Quite rare; in my experience, to be faced with such tall and thick schule; so near to most pins.
J shaped holes; while considered by some to force 3's; in my mind; require inventive shots to perhaps get a two; as well as smart play, to avoid a 4. If you come in early to some of these; there is BIG trouble.
You will need all shots here; including rollers, if you have them in your bag.
Elevation used well.
Anna West just on the other side of the parking lot.
Fresh water can be had at the bathrooms, located at end of parking lot. Good water; locals claim the water at this park, is better than city water.
Basket on top of the telephone/electrical pole quite a fun sculptural element. If you have a throwaway disc; give it a shot!
Two sets of pin placements; moved fairly often; which is nice for locals; but is another reason to print a map, for first timers.
Quite challenging course to long pins.
This course was designed, from the beginning, to challenge players over 900 rated. 6000 foot length; is fairly long (and, definitely was in the 1980s); especially, with all the schule near pins. My experience is that good shots are required to make 3s; very good shots to have a deuce opportunity; and good putts from the schule to save par.
#14 is one stand out hole for me....uphill, slight anny (rhbh), to what plays like 270 ft.; with some telephone poles and lines in play; as well as a big fall away hill to the road; on the left; if your anny line fades out left on you. So, you make it here; and now, you're faced with another 180 ft., straight, tunnel shot; over a bit of a ridge; to a pin you can just see the top of. If you don't make that first landing zone; you won't be able to see the pin.
Hole #5 (I think), in the long pin, is another very tall anny shot; requiring an excellent blind placement; for any chance at par. (the pictures for this course do it no justice; other than showing the nice looking landscape. Elevation not illustrated at all; there is good elevation here; especially to long pins.)
#4 (I believe), is a very interesting, poke and hope type of shot; that requires a tight drive to have a chance at the "hope." Very tricky green; with almost certainly force an unusual style putt; through, or around (or both) trees.
Cons: Tee signs not the best. You will see a number of pins from tees; and may have to walk a number of fairways to tell which basket is the correct one. I would suggest printing map beforehand, or meeting with a local. This course almost always has someone playing on it; it you don't have a map, ask if you can join up with a local for your first play through.
To next tee signs would be very useful. The number of blind pins, rather poor signage, and overall length of this course, can wear you out mentally (or, it does me, anyway). Take 10 minutes to figure out which hole you are throwing to, end up in the schule on your drive, play your way out; take a three or four; repeat this a number of times here; and the day can get long. I really suggest printing a map; or playing with a local. (The club is doing some nice improvements, late 2009; and they are attempting to have signs with pins noted and next tee markers, in by early 2010. This will certainly help make navigation easier.
Older baskets.
No drinking of alcohol at this park; and there are stories of person in golf cart style vehicle, making sure of this. Be discrete. There are lots of secluded spots here; just don't be hammering beverages in the wide open.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to concentrate on hole #1 and get your deuce; as you will not see another easy one until #18 (long pins).
Greater Rockford Area Bush Masters has been name of club since the beginning....after playing this course; you will understand the "bush master" part; as I darn near guarantee you will throw a number of shots from the schule. Many pin placements here will force interesting upshots/putts from the thick stuff. At the same time; it is fairly tough to lose plastic; but keep an eye on your landings.
In my heart; I want to give Anna East a 4 rating; but, West is considered the better course by most; and, I can't see giving it a 4 rating; given, the other, better courses in Illinois. But, if you end up enjoying these courses as much as I do; you will consider them 4 rated. (I rate .5 or more lower than most reviewers here)

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    11/14/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. The greatest "pro" for this course is the beauty. About as good as it gets for Northern Illinois.
2. Every hole offers a unique challenge with guarded and hidden baskets.
3. The grounds are very well taken care of. As of 11/14/09 the leaves had been mulched.
4. Very little chance to lose a disc.
5. Plenty of long holes with creative pin placements. They put a lot of thought into each pin placement.
6. Anna Page West is right across the road.
7. Decent signs and a good flow through the park.
8. People hiking or having a picnic are the only others who share the park. And, they picnic and hike there because it is a beautiful park.
Cons: I really can't think of a "con". The signs are not the best but I really don't care about signage. Beyond that I can't think of any reason to complain.
Other Thoughts: This course is an hour drive away for me, but well worth the drive. Drove up in the morning, played Anna Page East, walked up to the car and grabbed a new drink and played the West side.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better of the two courses!

1    11/1/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big concrete tee slabs with minimal erosion around most of them.

2) Good tee signs w/ alternate pins. Some of he blind baskets also have an A or B listed above the sign indicating which position it is in.

3) Awesome style of park for this course. This is a pretty big open park with small pockets of trees all around the park. This makes for incredible alternate baskets tucking them around corners and within 10-20' of wooded areas on most holes.

4) Shot requirements are tough. you need to be able to work the disc both ways so being backhand or sidearm dominant will hurt you unless you can anhyzer well too.

5) The basket on top of telephone pole on hole #15 was hilarious. WHat on earth do they use that for? If you hit that basket does it count as an ace? Either way I enjoyed seeing it up there and I even threw an extra disc to try and hit it. I missed the pole by only 5-10' but about 10' too low also.

6)Benches on most tees and garbage can placement seems adequate. Either the parks people or the locals do a good job of keeping this course clean of garbage. There is not much visible around.

7) Hole length is good. Apparently I played this course with all baskets in the easy positions as I played on the 1st of November. I enjoyed the basket locations, but would like to see it with all the baskets in the hard positions. I would imagine that is why my score was way better than the average on this site for this course. I am not that good of a player to shoot that much better than the average player.

8) Overall a good challenging course. It challenges mostly with its distance, because the holes are simply not reachable for the averag golfer (who throws under 250' normally) I can throw up to 275' and had a hard time getting any birdie chances after the first hole. The holes were just long enough or around enough of a corner that I had to throw a simple little approach under the basket for my 3's. I also two putted for bogie twice and had 2 errant approaches where I couldn't make my par, but I did birdie #1 and #17. LONG WINDED I know, but it helps to explain the distance required to do well on this course.

9) Every hole is unique, and although there are no super outstanding holes on this course, there are no throwaways.

10) This course uses rolling hills for their fairways and it does a wonderful job integrated what ellevation they have into the design. You go across hills, up over hills, around corners uphill and downhill which is a different challenge all in itself.

11) When I played the pins were all in easy positions so I didnt get to play some of the J shaped holes. I do not consider this to be much of a negative as it simply makes you wok your shot on every hole. It is better than allowing you to simply throw straight and rip it everytime. I think I would enjoy the challenge.

12) Maintenance in this park seems to be very high. There are not many erosion issues like you see on so many courses especially considering this course has been in the ground since 1986 and the rolling hills. There arent any dense wooded shot only pockets of trees so he turf also seems to be able to withstand the traffic it gets.
Cons: 1) Old baskets and some of them are inconsistent. Chain heights are different on some of the baskets. Some of the chains and baskets have been painted with something to protect it and it seems like it is peeling off. I have seen older baskets painted like this before so it must help protect the metal, and I would guess it may even make the chains catch better, but overall the baskets are old and not perfect.

2) Tough layout to figure out. I recommend bringing the course map as it shows the basket locations on each hole and will help you with the layout. It can be confusing the first time because you can see 2-3 baskets and tees from each tee or basket, so you may not know where you are supposed to go. On occassion the tee pad alignment might even mess you up because the baskets can be tucked around different corners. Baskets are also touhg to see in my instances too. Tucking the basket to the woodlines can be confusing, and since you can see baskets from every tee, you have to know where you are going.

3) Not real beginner friendly because of the length and the baskets that are tough to get to for the beginner. I would not expect this course was designed for beginners, it has been around a while and I can tell it is an old school course.

4) For a course that seems to be in great shape and received a lot of maintenance there were a ton of leaves that created some tough searches. I cannot fault the parks people much for this but it is somethng to be considered. Usually leaves are let go until they are all down so they do not continue to spend money on moving or mowing up leaves. Regardless I consider it a con, but no more so than any other course.

Other Thoughts: This is a championship caliber course in my opinion because of the basket location variability. It is mostly open (meaning no deep woods to throw through, just open fairways and around corners). I enjoyed it thoroughly and I think i liked it more than the west course because of the uniqueness of the holes and the course layout. Elevation, wooded area to avoid constantly, but rarely do you have to shoot through much of a wooded area, mostly just around.

There is a shared parking area between the courses and bathrooms located right by the parking which is nice.

I will definitely come back here sometime, probably for a tourney as I wont travel that far very often, but I certainly did enjoy this course a lot. I have had a hard time comparing between the two course and overall I think both courses are 4 disc course despite me enjoying this course more than the west course. Normally I like wooded courses, but this course was so uniquely designed I think I liked it more than the mature oaked west course. I am ranking them both 4's but this one was better in my opinion.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult to play your 1st time here.

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.2 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Holes have a variety of distance from 200 ft-500 ft. Holes are mostly open, but the rough will severely penalize you. Alot of good holes for roller shots. Hole 7 is a great challenge.
Cons: Mostly flat. Some of the pin placements are pretty goofy and offer no real route to the basket with the hole winding around the pine trees (180 degree hairpin in 1 instance). These placements do not create fun shots. Baskets are in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: A ton of blind holes that wrap around pine trees which makes playing here for the 1st time very difficult with all the extra walking to checkout the basket placement. Gotta play a few rounds here to get the distances dialed in.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The open page

1    5/28/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a very large park with rolling hills and a mix of open grassy areas and thick stands of trees. The park is very well taken care of, with nicely manicured grass on all the fairways and no trash on the course when I played. There are no holes with major elevation, but many of the holes play on at least a slight incline which adds some interest on many of the more open holes.

There is a variety of types of holes, from completely wide open holes where you can rip a drive to holes where accuracy is paramount if you don't want to be stuck in the woods. Most of the pins are tucked into or behind stands of trees, so that poor placement on drives and upshots is punished with tough looks at the baskets. There is a decent mix of straight shots and right/left curving holes throughout the course.

There are nice concrete tee pads on all the holes that provide enough space for most throwers.There are good signs on each hole with distance and lines to both pin positions. The sign board at the beginning of the course lists the current positions on all the holes, which is nice when there is a mix of A and B placements. The alternate pin placements really change most of the holes, and it looked like they would make for very different challenges.
Cons: One of my biggest beefs about courses with multiple pin placements is a lack of signage on the course that indicates the current layout. The sign at hole 1 alleviates this somewhat, but you have to write down the whole layout if you don't want to be scouting out many of the holes. Many of the holes are blind, which is a nice challenge, but is frustrating when the two pin positions require very different tee shots.

I would have liked a few tighter fairways on this course, as most of the holes were very wide open for much of their length. A few that had tighter fairways had very odd doglegs that seemed to make the holes have pretty poor scoring distributions (impossible to deuce, easy to 3, have to really screw up to 4), and these got a little old.

Though the design used the space well to keep fairways separate, too many of the tees were right in the flight path of the previous hole. If the course is crowded, you really have to watch out for drives coming at you from behind.
Other Thoughts: This course offered very different challenges from the West course, and I thought they complemented each other nicely. This course had more open shots, and is much more accessible to beginning players. It does have some holes that will challenge more experienced players, and is a great place to warm up for a round on the more challenging west course.

With two nice courses in one park, Anna Page is certainly worth driving out of your way to play. If you have time for both courses, play this one first, then tackle the West course. If you only have time for one, I found the West course more interesting and fun, and it provides much more challenge for more advanced players.

I enjoyed the "sacrifice" hole, and thought it was a neat idea. There is a basket mounted on top of a telephone pole, where if you somehow manage to shank a shot into it, you won't be getting your disc back.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.