Rockford, IL 
Anna Page Park - East Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Long placements a +!

2-4    5/30/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 94  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement tpads and great signage here showing both A & B pin placements. Only recall one hole with a C position.
-Great views, down expansive fairways, with tall trees dividing the holes from one another.
-Fantastic use of the trees for shot-shaping, creating low ceilings, and forming hazards (out of the rough, blocking your shot, etc).
-A fair mix of open holes where you can let loose and bomb something, and some tighter, more guarded pins where accuracy is key. Good mix! Lots of direct angles here, controlled hyzers will do well.
-This side proves to be a good warmup for the styles of throws along with power you'll need to succeed at either course at Anna Page Park
-Benches and receptacles placed throughout the park. For as crowded as this park gets, it's fairly clean.
Cons: -Poison ivy is all over this course, but it's manageable. Just know how to identify it, you'll be fine. Helpful to have a towel to handle discs thrown into the mess.
-The bugs here are BAD as this park has a creek running through it. I played a day after a 3-day long storm ended, so that may have contributed to the veracity of the mosquitos. Just a warning!
-No water hazards on this course! Love the risk/reward, especially in a tight game with your buddies.
Other Thoughts: Together, with the West course, these courses provide one helluva day discing! Aside from the collection of great courses in the SW Burbs, Rockford stands out because of Anna Page Park. I also have heard there are serious plans for another 18 hole course here! Keep your ears peeled...

I like this course very much, but I don't love it, and although this course is a lot of fun it fails to "Wow!" me. That's not to say I didn't thoroughly enjoy playing here. It likely falls just outside my Top 10 courses.

My Favorites : 5, 7, 10, 12, 15, 17

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Contrary to how they're currently ranked, I think East is the better of the two Anna Page courses at this point, and it comes very close to being a 4-star course in my opinion.

Where the West course is a little rough around the edges, East has some nice touches. The pin rotations are indicated on the sign post, something I wish every course with rotating pins would do. Woodchips around the teepads reduce erosion and improve the visual appeal of the course, and benches are located throughout.

As for the course play itself, there is nice distance and the natural features are used pretty well. There isn't much elevation, but what does exist is incorporated into the course. There is enough variety to maintain a high fun factor through 18 holes and at no point does the course feel repetitive.
Cons: The main issue that prevented this course from being a four star is the lack of line shaping required off the tee. While there are trees present throughout the course, most tee shots go through open areas.

This place was pretty crowded when I played and in a few spots bad shots can result in conflicts with other players. The tee box for #3 is in the line of fire for shots at #2.

The baskets are functional, but they are pretty old and may cost you a few putts during a round.

First time players will need to walk the fairway on a few holes. The signs help, but can not be trusted to throw without getting a visual of the chains.
Other Thoughts: Both courses complement each other well. As others have mentioned, this course is better suited as a warm up for the West course, since there is a lot more distance there, but you may be better served to just pick the less crowded of the two to start out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/31/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: macraigimm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: fairly easy course, nice hole guides at tee pads, not heavily wooded, mostly flat. good for beginners.
Cons: hole guides are rarely acccurate, and a few holes are hard to follow.
Other Thoughts: a decent course overall. might be better to play when warmer.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 AP - East

5+    10/24/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice and open! This side is a great warm up side to unleash the arm and get to see great flight patterns of discs. Has a great variation of holes.
Cons: Super busy in the summer time. Get there early in the morning or afternoon

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 love it

5+    1/22/2011   1/22/2011
Review By: malooly39653
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: this course is a blast fun to play. i enjoyed the varity of hole types and the course design.
Cons: lots of vandalism and really busy in summer. not really any place to get snack or bevrages close
Other Thoughts: could do with som changes like the new teebox this corse is a very big change from most in the area

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 a nice course

1    5/30/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: Brado
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The signage was good...better than most.
The course itself was challenging and fun.
Very scenic. A nice park.
I drove an hour to play this course with friends that lived in the Rockford area. I was not disappointed
Cons: If you can't remember the map at the beginning you'll lose your way.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good, solid course!

2-4    6/4/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: bisket1978
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course with rolling hills, and open areas for long drives.
Thank you to whomever started placing the pin position under the tee sign. It was confusing last year without those there. Love, love, love the new hole #17 pin placement. Unique. Also love the pro tee on either #15 or 16, which gives you a drive from in a cove of trees, through a narrow gap to an open fairway that drops a good 20 feet to the pin, which is 300+ feet away.
This park is dedicated to really only disc golf, so there are rarely pedestrians, or kids running out onto the fairways, or joggers to hit. This is a HUGE +. A mix of a pro and con are the hidden baskets throughout. They are a fun challenge, but also make it difficult to find the basket.
Cons: Blind tee shots on way too many of the holes. Holes are "jumbled" too close to each other making finding the hole that much harder, and also crossing over previous or future holes, and frolfers. Keep an eye out for flying discs.
Some holes are a little too well hidden.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoy playing here. Between the two courses, I like West better, but will still play this as well. Combined with the West course across the lot, and Krape Park in Freeport, it makes for a full day of frolfing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 East is Tricky

5+    8/12/2009   1/11/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 322  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is a great looking park. There are nice rolling hills and open fairways. The grass is always cut. Thick rough lines the edge of many baskets.

The tee signs are very descriptive marking the short and long basket placement and distance of both.

Cement tee pads.

There are a variety of shots and distances required on this course. You have to be creative as there are many tricky holes. There are many open shots but you can pay a hefty price by making mistakes and landing in the thick rough.

Hole #7 is the signature hole on this course.

Once you have played the course and know where the pins are this is a very enjoyable course to play.
Cons: This course can be very frustrating playing for the first couple of times. Many of the holes are blind *depends on pin* (1*, 2, 3, 4, 5*, 6*, 7, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16*, & 17*) If you don't know where the pins are it can get really frustrating.

There are several areas where pins and tees can be conflicting. An example is on hole #2 where you are throwing around the corner and many shots land on or near the tee of #3. If you are playing #5 to the short/right many times the tee to #6 is getting bombarded. Another example is #12 to the long position. If #3 is in the long you are throwing right at it. This course gets quite a bit of play so this is an issue.

There are several hokey holes like #2, #5 to the short/right, #11,and #17 short. They have extreme flight characteristics and are not that fun to throw.

The tee pads are short. On some of the longer holes it can be very difficult to approach from the rear. Erosion has lead to standing water and mud around tee pads.

The baskets are old with minimal chains. It can be very difficult to knock down putts.

This is a par 54 that lacks the real toughness to kick it up to the championship calibur. SSA played around 48.5 (-5.5) for a mix of pin positions. Here is the link. Its the Anna Page Park Tournament Configuration.
http://www.pdga.com/course-ra...?TournID=7349
Other Thoughts: Anna Page West is right across the parking lot. East is the more beginner friendly course.

Watch for poison ivy. There are some places in the rough with thick ivy.

If you did a total redesign of East & West you could have 2 of the best championship level courses in Illinois. There is some very good land at this park.

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I've loved East for nearly 20 years

5+    8/8/2009   1/5/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 764  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 27.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: IMHO this course asks one to shoot quite unique variety of shots.
I played a couple of my earliest tourneys here; in the early 1990s. I've been back nearly every year since; including 3 times in 2009; and I still enjoy the heck out of this course.
Land very well maintained and quite unique. Quite rare; in my experience, to be faced with such tall and thick schule; so near to most pins.
J shaped holes; while considered by some to force 3's; in my mind; require inventive shots to perhaps get a two; as well as smart play, to avoid a 4. If you come in early to some of these; there is BIG trouble.
You will need all shots here; including rollers, if you have them in your bag.
Elevation used well.
Anna West just on the other side of the parking lot.
Fresh water can be had at the bathrooms, located at end of parking lot. Good water; locals claim the water at this park, is better than city water.
Basket on top of the telephone/electrical pole quite a fun sculptural element. If you have a throwaway disc; give it a shot!
Two sets of pin placements; moved fairly often; which is nice for locals; but is another reason to print a map, for first timers.
Quite challenging course to long pins.
This course was designed, from the beginning, to challenge players over 900 rated. 6000 foot length; is fairly long (and, definitely was in the 1980s); especially, with all the schule near pins. My experience is that good shots are required to make 3s; very good shots to have a deuce opportunity; and good putts from the schule to save par.
#14 is one stand out hole for me....uphill, slight anny (rhbh), to what plays like 270 ft.; with some telephone poles and lines in play; as well as a big fall away hill to the road; on the left; if your anny line fades out left on you. So, you make it here; and now, you're faced with another 180 ft., straight, tunnel shot; over a bit of a ridge; to a pin you can just see the top of. If you don't make that first landing zone; you won't be able to see the pin.
Hole #5 (I think), in the long pin, is another very tall anny shot; requiring an excellent blind placement; for any chance at par. (the pictures for this course do it no justice; other than showing the nice looking landscape. Elevation not illustrated at all; there is good elevation here; especially to long pins.)
#4 (I believe), is a very interesting, poke and hope type of shot; that requires a tight drive to have a chance at the "hope." Very tricky green; with almost certainly force an unusual style putt; through, or around (or both) trees.
Cons: Tee signs not the best. You will see a number of pins from tees; and may have to walk a number of fairways to tell which basket is the correct one. I would suggest printing map beforehand, or meeting with a local. This course almost always has someone playing on it; it you don't have a map, ask if you can join up with a local for your first play through.
To next tee signs would be very useful. The number of blind pins, rather poor signage, and overall length of this course, can wear you out mentally (or, it does me, anyway). Take 10 minutes to figure out which hole you are throwing to, end up in the schule on your drive, play your way out; take a three or four; repeat this a number of times here; and the day can get long. I really suggest printing a map; or playing with a local. (The club is doing some nice improvements, late 2009; and they are attempting to have signs with pins noted and next tee markers, in by early 2010. This will certainly help make navigation easier.
Older baskets.
No drinking of alcohol at this park; and there are stories of person in golf cart style vehicle, making sure of this. Be discrete. There are lots of secluded spots here; just don't be hammering beverages in the wide open.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to concentrate on hole #1 and get your deuce; as you will not see another easy one until #18 (long pins).
Greater Rockford Area Bush Masters has been name of club since the beginning....after playing this course; you will understand the "bush master" part; as I darn near guarantee you will throw a number of shots from the schule. Many pin placements here will force interesting upshots/putts from the thick stuff. At the same time; it is fairly tough to lose plastic; but keep an eye on your landings.
In my heart; I want to give Anna East a 4 rating; but, West is considered the better course by most; and, I can't see giving it a 4 rating; given, the other, better courses in Illinois. But, if you end up enjoying these courses as much as I do; you will consider them 4 rated. (I rate .5 or more lower than most reviewers here)

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    11/14/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 65  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. The greatest "pro" for this course is the beauty. About as good as it gets for Northern Illinois.
2. Every hole offers a unique challenge with guarded and hidden baskets.
3. The grounds are very well taken care of. As of 11/14/09 the leaves had been mulched.
4. Very little chance to lose a disc.
5. Plenty of long holes with creative pin placements. They put a lot of thought into each pin placement.
6. Anna Page West is right across the road.
7. Decent signs and a good flow through the park.
8. People hiking or having a picnic are the only others who share the park. And, they picnic and hike there because it is a beautiful park.
Cons: I really can't think of a "con". The signs are not the best but I really don't care about signage. Beyond that I can't think of any reason to complain.
Other Thoughts: This course is an hour drive away for me, but well worth the drive. Drove up in the morning, played Anna Page East, walked up to the car and grabbed a new drink and played the West side.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.