Charlotte, NC 
Renaissance Park - RenSke Share
Uploaded By: SpainKiller Hole #18 (Taken 11/2015)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
The Great Equalizer

5+    11/22/2016   11/22/2016
Review By: hyzerkite
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: While I have to stay 100% focused to even stay even at Gold, I can shoot in the mid 40s here all the time. I love the speed of play here, it is easy on your body (depending on your choices), plus it hones your short game while letting you still have some rather long shots. I love spiking over fairways here when I need to let off some steam. Just some plain old fun, easy to get back strokes lost, and lost discs are rare. When added to the gray (ppc), course for super renny round of 36 holes, it makes for supreme enjoyment.
Cons: This is a busy one as of late, especially on weekend days. I have played through hords of groups with no problem. You can finish a hole in seconds so it isn't an issue. There are some odd shaped holes but I can officially say all of them can be birdied and aced as well. You have to be creative and do things you might not have ever tried to get the 2 on a few holes. I call that fun, but you might call it unfair. High spikes are your friend out here if you do not want to throw straight shots. No bathrooms, there is a honey bucket beside the kiosk now however.
Other Thoughts: I play this waaaaaaaaay too much, it is just easy and fun and dosent make me look like I have been in some kind of war when I am done like gold. I highly recommend playing gray(ppc) course and adding this hole 18 holes in between hole 12 & 13. You can add par4s of gold to the gray course to spice it up as well. I call Renaissance park a disc golf complex now. It has trumped Elon as the place to play when you want diversity at one location. Renske is a good place to play for everyone, PPC (gray)AKA Gold short is challenging, Gold is just that gold level.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The most reasonable course at Rene

1    10/9/2016   10/13/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is an intermediate level course that most pros will use to warm up for Gold. It's a lot more beginner and intermediate level friendly. The course offers a great mix of technical and power shots. If you start on the Gold course and end up extremely frustrated, move on to this course and get a more confident round.
Cons: It's like playing flag football on the sidelines of an NFL game...

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    8/22/2016   8/28/2016
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 87  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: RenSke is a good course for a casual round, especially for beginner to intermediate players. It doesn't have the length or difficulty that an advanced player is looking for, but it caters to the players it was designed for.

+ Good navigation, easy to follow, good tee signs with distance and suggested lines, and next tee signs.

+ Nice concrete tees.

+ Well-marked baskets. RenSke shares fairways on some holes with the Gold course. RenSke baskets all have a red band on them and separate numbering.

+ A couple holes have hyzer and anhyzer routes to chose from. I like having the option; it makes you think.

+ The fairways and rough are fair for a red- to *maybe* white-level course.

+ Decent mix of open, wooded, hyzer, anhyzer, and straight.

+ Low risk of disc loss.
Cons: While this is a good course for casual play, and I would recommend it if you're in town and need a quick course to play or if you live in the area, it has a few cons. Perhaps its biggest con is that it gets compared to the many other stellar courses in Charlotte, including its big brother, Renny Gold.

- While it is a fun course and a cinch to navigate, nothing was really memorable about the course or any particular hole. It's a good course, not a great one. Nothing really wrong with it; it's just average. From an aesthetics perspective, it's not very pretty. And if you were to build an "all-star" course of your favorite holes in Charlotte, I doubt RenSke would contribute any.

- I especially did not like the finishing holes. Number 16 plays over the road entering the park. You have to play an anhyzer line (for RHBH), which isn't an easy shot for the beginner to intermediate player this course caters to. There's a pretty good chance your shot is going to be in the road. Fortunately, it's not especially busy. The other hole I didn't like was 18. There's a big bush right in front of the tee. You have to play a flick of an annie around it, which is fine, but it's too close to the tee, in my opinion.

- I didn't have a problem when I played on a hot summer afternoon, but I've gotta think that foot traffic has to be substantial on this course, especially since it shares fairways with Renny Gold. It would be wise to plan to play at a time when there aren't too many others playing.
Other Thoughts: RenSke is a good course and I recommend it. It's nothing to write home about, but slightly above average without a high risk of disc loss, so why not try it?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

RenSke - Fun for All

1    7/16/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 84  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 13.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, great signs and excellent baskets on every hole. Benches at every tee also. Good flow to the course with open and wooded holes. Nice mix of left and right holes and even a triple mando on the shortest hole (#15).
Most of the open holes were not completely open, they required some shot shaping around the trees and even splitting a tree line right in front of the tee (#2).
Cons: Even though there is plenty of parking at the course, really no facilities available. There probably are some when the ball fields are in use, but not normally. Really no other cons.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed and built for the 2015 Tim Selinske Masters, so it was built with little elevation change and not a lot of distance. I would normally consider those Cons, but it was designed with this in mind.
The open holes share fairway and baskets with the Renny-Gold holes in this section of the course. They are the long, open holes of that course, so they make of 2 or 3 holes of this course. The designers did a great job of dual labeling of the bands on the baskets, half gold (with that hole #) and half red with the RenSke hole #. The tee signs even have #, par, distance and flight path for both courses.
On the day I was at Renny, I got to see all three courses and this one was by far the busiest. I saw a large group of locals (including young daughter and dog in tow), a foursome of two couples, another couple and a minority family. It shows that this course is accessible and playable for everyone. A good addition to Renaissance Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

well that was fun!

1    6/8/2016   6/8/2016
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 292  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic--plays through the 11-13 corridor of renny gold. Area is pretty well known to be disc golf exclusive and we didn't see any non DG'ers doing anything on the course when we were there... Still, watch for people.

Baskets-- DisCatchers. most were painted red for RenSke exclusive baskets, some were red/yellow for baskets that were shared with renny gold. No pro-players intersects here.

Signage-- wonderful. tees were listed as Gold and PadSke to differentiate shared pads.. IF gold fairways were shared with RenSke fairways, this was always denoted along with which hole intersected/paralleled.

Teepads-- Mostly good. Super super gnurled and rocky in places, other places they were really nice.

Challenge/variety--though this is a short course, they did utilize a lot of variables to make the round here truly enjoyable. Lots of rights, lefts, trees trusses and clown mouths help keep it ineresting.

Routing and nav-- not once did we feel like were struggling with finding where we needed, next teesigns were present as well as teesigns showing exit directions.

Cons:
not many really.
Length--yep, it's short but the challenge lies in the natural here. trees define fairways as well as wind and heat all hope to derail your round.

Methane-- the methane release ports in the woods smell like a typical garbage dump and could be distracting depending on the wind.

challenge-- not super high here, scores for an AM3 player should be +5 or less, not a tough course by any means.
Other Thoughts:
RenSke has it's own personality from gold and is definitely it's own beast. For those who don't want to take on the daunting challenge of 9000+ feet of disc golf, play RenSke. Hey, it lets you see some crazy long holes for what they are...Crazy long.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Renny Level 1-1

1    5/30/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 131  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Spainkiller's review is spot-on. This is the perfect warm-up course for Renny. It's basically a city park style course except it's subtly designed a lot better for the most part. Most city park courses are very deuce and die but RenSke makes you work a little bit harder for your birdies. You can't just hyzer around some trees hole after hole here.

There's good balance of wooded and open, the open having a little bit of length to them to warm up the driver while the wooded is largely technical. I opted for FH often in the woods b/c the gaps are just tight enough to make a BH risky occasionally but I don't recall any of them being too "poke and pray" tight, aka unfairways. You also run into some interesting lines like the triple mando on hole 15.

Finding the start of the course isn't a problem if you know which parking lot to go to (not the one for Renny Gold/PPC). Big kiosk thingy and a demonstrative bench welcomes you to hole 1. Unlike other reviewers I didn't notice much of a water retention problem but wouldn't be surprised if it stayed wet after a good rain.

Tees, pads, baskets, and signs are top notch. Can't complain a bit. Terrific course for casual play or boning up on your midrange/putter game.
Cons: Okay, hole 2 is a weird duck. My poor brother struggles mightily with FH and does a big anhyzer once every blue moon so he was just flabbergasted.

I really like hole 16 but there is a lot of potential for a turnover to not stay turned over and fade into the park road.

I wish there was a bit more of a dogleg element or something. Not a lot of extreme angles to worry about.

It's really flat (kind of nice after trekking up and down Renny) and ain't much in the way of really interesting natural features (big rocks, water, etc).
Other Thoughts: This is a great Rec level course. At least 3/4s of it is great for what it is. I like it better than Bailey (less crowded and much harder to lose a disc here) and on par or maybe a little less than Eager Beaver. Nothing here really knocks your socks off but it fills a need of not breaking the will of beginners in this area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

3rd Renny Course Fills A Need

2-4    11/24/2015   11/24/2015
Review By: SpainKiller
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rennaisance Park is the closest DG location to me in Charlotte, less than 10 miles from my home and office. Now there are THREE distinct courses (54 holes!) in this one location. A quick and well deserved "thank you" to Charlotte Disc Golf for the planning and many hours of hard work that has made this location - and Charlotte in general - a destination for disc golf lovers.

On to this course: It is not a Championship Caliber course. It's not insanely long. It's not a heave and hope track through an impenetrable maze of trees. What it is, is a nice toss in a gorgeous setting - with several birdie runs and several tough pars. Every course doesn't need to be Renny Gold or Winthrop Lake Course. The course mixes in open holes with shorter wooded holes. There is little to no elevation change.

Expert player who wants a good warm up before tackling Gold? RenSke represents a perfect "driving range" for Gold.

Intermediate player who doesn't want a three hour beatdown after work? Come have a nice hour long toss and work on your midrange and putting game.

Beginner looking to learn the game and not have your confidence ruined by super tough holes? This is an ideal place to sharpen up before graduating to other courses in the area.

Parent who wants to teach your children this great game in a non-intimidating setting? RenSke is a perfect place to do so.

The course is in excellent condition, is very well marked, has all concrete tee pads, with signs on every hole, benches on many holes, and all Discatchers (recently painted red to dilineate between the Renny Gold and Pro Players Course - which have gold and white baskets, respectively).
Cons: The course holds water more than most. This may be due to the fact that Rennaisance Park was a huge landfill many years ago. No. 4 on the right side has been a lake every time I've played it (4X now).

The course gets a good deal of traffic. This isn't really a con, as it moves quickly though due to the shorter nature of the course in general.

As others have mentioned, No. 2 is weird and kind of out of place. I like every other hole.
Other Thoughts: Favorite holes:
No. 1 - Nothing like a nice open rip to ease in to the course.
No. 12 - Another open throw, ending in the woods
No. 15 - Triple mando birdie run

RenSke is a perfect addition to Rennaisance Park, giving it three full courses - an expert (Gold), intermediate (Pro Players Course) and beginner/practice (RenSke).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nice Counterpart to Renny

2-4    6/11/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: TOB3RT
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The main pro I can say about this course is how it is a nice complement to the original Renny. This course is for intermediate, even beginner, level players. The longest hole sits at ~340ft.
-A great course for beginners/intermediate players who need something that is not quite as hard as Renny, but still fun.
-For more advanced players, a good putter/mid course.
-The hole layouts, for me, were excellent. A number of different throws were required, and although holes weren't very long, they still required a bit of finesse. The triple mando on hole #15 was the only one of it's kind I've seen. Not a hard hole at all, but adds something new.
-Clear fairways and well maintained both times I've played.
-Addition of the concrete teepads were quick and the signs are very clear.
-Overall the course is fun if you want to have a mid/putter round. For beginners, there is very little OB to worry about, and when there is OB, is usually for your good/pedestrian good.
Cons: There are a few cons that I considered, but none that would be too much of a hindrance on the overall satisfaction.
-The course has some holes near the parking lot/sidewalk, so potential for hitting cars/pedestrians.
-While the fairways are nice, right outside the fairway on some holes are a thick brush that could have a lot of potential for lost discs.
-Hole #2. The teepad is right near a line of trees. You have to either do a steep anyhyzer/forehand, or cut through the little path the trees offer. Good technical hole for testing accuracy, but too close for comfort. Hardly any room to do anything. Also, if overthrown, straight into a parking lot. Lefty players have a good advantage here. (Although there was a RHBH ace on this hole last time I went).
-The ground was soaked, and it hadn't rained it about 5 days. So definitely the retention of water.
-Some holes overlap the gold holes, and the basket placement for these holes can get confusing. For hole #14, I think I was trying to throw to hole #16 until I saw the basket for #14.
-For those of you who cant find the beginning, it is right before the line of trees starts after turning in to the tennis complex near the back parking lot. Yes, these directions are as confusing as actually going there and finding it.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is not that bad. Yes it is an easy course, but I did not realize courses were rated based on their level of difficulty. I rated this a 4 due to it's enjoyability. If you want a laid back day to throw on the course, then come here.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Renny's son, Dry Creek's nephew

1    2/21/2015   2/21/2015
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 87  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This is a nice addition to Renaissance Park. RenSki is different than most courses in Charlotte. It has a bit of a Dry Creek feeling, with a touch of Eastway. It's more beginner friendly, better for practice, or just for fun.
-Layout is really good. Many well designed holes! #3 comes to mind. It's a more wooded hole with some trees spaced out in the fairway. It reminded me of #15 at Grand Central Station except you could go through the two trees because of a slightly wider gap. I also really liked #15, the triple mando that forces you to go through and under but is still a pretty easy birdie.
-There is a really good mix of open and wooded holes. There are some interesting greens as well. #1 & #8's baskets are guarded by trees.
-Really cool fairways, most are very limited. #9 offers two lanes (right lane needs work) that allow any shot that won't go straight. #10 is also a severe hyzer in the woods. #17 is an interesting anhyzer.
-Tee pads are still natural but they are already being worked on.
-Good mix of easy and difficult here. For instance, #15 is just a toss through a triple mando gate. Don't let the sound of that fool you, if you get through the gate, you will at least get an easy tap in par but a birdie is also easy on this hole. However, #4 is a tricky sidearm around a cluster of trees and through an odd shaped fairway and #6 is a backhand shot in the woods that is close to 300' and allows a limited spaced fairway. This is a hole that I can see on a pro course.
-Next tee signs throughout the whole course. Makes it easier to navigate most of the time. It also ends where it starts.
-Another course, Renaissance Grey/Gold is onsite and is the real big boy course! Still a lot of fun. You can play two courses at this place. I recommend you start here first.
Cons: -A few real unusual/poor designs. For instance #2 is a goofy anhyzer around a line of trees to the right and the parking lot is very close. This hole can and will be a hindrance to pedestrians and cars. I also don't get #17, the fairway can and will be considered interesting but more bizarre than interesting. It's a huge anhyzer with only a few trees but a couple are literally just a few feet from the tee. This hole is just weird, and it's after a really fun two hole stretch, #15 and #16.
-It can get very soggy and very muddy, a few pads were extremely slippery today (not just from the ice) some were muddy. After a rainfall, your clothes can get very dirty.
-Plenty of thorns and briars here and there, the transition to #14 was painful for me and they attached to my bag.
-Navigation can still be very difficult, there are next tee signs but there are no tee signs or any labels for the tees and I never found #18's.
Other Thoughts: -RenSki is a nice addition to Charlotte disc golf. People who live in this area can really get hooked on the game because this course is not at all like Grey/Gold. It's a course where birdies can and will be made more easily. This course can easily be fun or boring. I'd say if you play this one first, you will have fun and even more fun at Grey/Gold (If you are more experienced.)
-There is good ace potential. Every hole is reachable for an intermediate player with a decent distance. However, a few greens and the different shaped fairways spice things up here.
-Just for you to notice, Renaissance Park has more than one entrance. This one is half a mile from the original course but is still straight down the road. Have fun, play both courses.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Renny Lite

2-4    2/7/2015   2/7/2015
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 235  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2015
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: RenSke is a nice addition to the Charlotte disc golf scene. It's shorter and more beginner friendly than most local courses, paving the way for beginners to tackle the original Renny layouts.
- This course is very beginner friendly. No long holes - the longest is #1, an open, 339 foot layout - meaning you don't need a big arm. Another appealing aspect for beginners/casual players is that there aren't any overly challenging holes, meaning there shouldn't be high scores on many, if any, of these holes.
- This is a great score for practicing your mid-range game. Holes all range from 160 - 339 feet, with the average length at 237 feet. My first round here I was mainly throwing only three discs for my drives and approaches.
- Course has a nice flow to it. The layout goes from open to partially wooded to heavily wooded on the front nine. The back nine has more of the same, with some tight layouts to open shots. Just to remind you that you are in Charlotte, the baskets have been strategically placed on some layouts, adding to the challenge.
- Course also has a nice mix of doglegs and straight shots. Throw in a triple mando (throw between two trees and under a beam) on #16, you get a solid variety of looks throughout the course. I really enjoyed the tight layout on #7. It's a 184-foot hole that starts out narrow, but opens up the closer you get to the basket.
- Adding to the beginner-friendly feel, there are plenty of birdie chances here. What I like about the course is that you have to work for those birdies. There didn't seem to be many easy 2s on the course (think #11 at Hornets Nest), but plenty of holes where a solid tee shot will give you a chance to knock down a putt. From my first time out, the two easiest holes appeared to be #5 (190 foot, slight dogleg right) and #15 (the 174 foot, triple mando hole). I had a great tee shot on #5 for a tap-in, while an average tee shot on #15 still left me within 20 feet of the basket.
Cons: While the course is a work in-progress, there will be some minor issues - lack of tee pads and signs, navigation issues, etc. As of February 2015, they're minor issues. On to the real issues.
- A couple holes have questionable layouts, especially if this is considered a beginner course. The three most glaring examples are the final three holes on the course. #16, which was one of my favorites, could pose risks for beginners. It's a dogleg right around trees, with your tee shot beginning by aiming towards the park road. I bring it up as an issue because beginners may not have the talent or wherewithal to turn over a disc if throwing RHBH, or try a different shot altogether. I would think we don't need a beginner accidentally hitting a car to see the potential risk. Even by simply moving the tee further to the left, you reduce the angle and risk of throwing towards the road. As for #17 & 18, they both have awkwardly, unnatural and poorly designed layouts. The tee shots for both, as well for #2, have trees almost immediately in front of the tee. Again, no tees have been poured so the final layouts may still be works in progress.
- There needs to be a better identifier of where the course actually begins. From the time you turn into the park, you immediately see the basket for #15, followed by a bunch of other baskets. Unlike Eastway, where you just follow the road to the end, a first timer player may have a hard time finding out where the first hole actually is. I'm guessing signage or a kiosk will be added in due time. Just an FYI for course visitors.
- Parking could be an issue when other park activities are taking place. The same issue happens with Renny Gold/Grey on weekends.
- For #14, there's a long walk. It's even more pronounced because the transitions between most holes is almost non-existent.
Other Thoughts: RenSke is a good, not great, course. It has its moments, but will never get confused with the original Renny layouts, or most of the Charlotte area's other courses. Still, it has a clear goal, and it succeeds in being a short, beginner-friendly course.
- When all is complete, I actually think RenSke, along with Elon Eager, will be one of the two easiest courses in Mecklenburg County. I've heard comparisons to Winget Park, but WP is a clear notch above this layout.
- It's a little weird having holes weave in and out of the Renny Gold layout. On a summer weekend, this could also present an issue if both Renny original and RenSke are packed.
- Because this is a short course, it is a very quick play. My first time out was a solo round, and even with a couple navigation issues and fairway walks, I finished in 50 minutes. A quick round and then a nice run on Renny's trail was a perfect Saturday morning.
- I'm rating this course on what I expect it to be once completed. If I was giving the course a rating based on today, I'd mark it slightly lower. Still, I say this is an average course, and that's reflected in my 2.5 rating.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.