Black Mountain, NC 
Black Mountain Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2
3 / 150ft.   3 / 184ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign: Note 'drop zone' sign on right at creek's edge



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    7/16/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: pandabaer6496
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course is set in a nice little park. there are a couple longer holes to mix in with the shorter ones. fun deuce or die course
the front nine is especially short but does add some woodsy holes requiring some technical shots
Cons: tee signs are terrible, really need to be replaced.
course is super repetative, the entire back 9 consists of the same straight uphill or downhill shot, which makes it really dull
also, youre right below the highway while playing this course, which takes away from the experience for me
Other Thoughts: this is a decent begginer level course. the park does have a nice walking trail if you want something to do before or after a round. if looking for more challenging courses, there are plenty closeby (Richmond Hill, an excellent course in Asheville, is about 20 minutes away). Nonetheless, if you want to work on your short game or introduce yourself to disc golf, Black Mtn is not a bad option

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just off, and under, the highway

1    11/1/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a travel-stop course, Black Mountain is not too shabby. It's just off the highway, it can be played quickly, it has a few nice shots, and it boasts some epic scenery.

The course is literally a step from the interstate. I've played disc golf north if I40, and I've played south of it, but this was the first time I've done that on a single course. This little slice of land is completely surrounded by mountains. I40 slightly ruins the effect, but you hear the cars more than you see the high way. Views of the peaks are largely unimpeded. It's a great place to stop, stretch legs and throw a few discs around.

It's a short course. It even labels itself as par three disc golf. But it has a few memorable holes. Mostly two and three. They aren't long holes, but they wind along the river, adding some needed danger, and you can hang one out over the river before fading left to the bank. The river itself is great, its not deep enough or fast enough to be a disc-loss threat, but it moves along nicely and adds great effect to the front nine.

The back nine is across the highway in an open field, but a field on an hill, giving many of the holes here some interest based on elevation alone. It also boasts tees, nice turf tees at that, which have held up far better than the teesigns. Many of them also had a second teepad. Maybe, they all did, it's tough to tell without signs. But the hill allows many of the otherwise unremarkable holes to stand out, at least from each other. One is along the river. Another sharply uuphill. One downhill down the middle and another downhill along the edge. For the space the nine was scrammed into it's a pretty nice design.
Cons: The extra stuff at Black Mountain is in pretty bad shape. The signs are mostly missing, with only the post that held them remaining. The signs that are there have seen better days. And it is often (perplexingly so at such a small course) difficult to locate the next tee. Even with the map I ended up skipping 13 and going from 12 to 14. It may also be advisable to skip 18, as there is no basket there.

Beyond that, half the course is just in an open field and one without a ton of distance. There has been an attempt to mow it into fairway and rough, but none of that affects flight path and most holes can be easily parked anyways.

Even on the first nine, 4-6 are pretty weak and a disappointment after the previous holes. While the other are short, these are incredibly short. When I realized at the 4 basket that I had to backtrack and play parallel to 2 and 3 I was fairly stunned. They're really just upshots and require walking back across where someone could be throwing. Of the nine, I'd say four are pure filler.
Other Thoughts: It's fun, but it might have been more fun as a nine. Playing 2,3,7,8 and some combination of the back nine could be a great nine with a lot more challenge. I think a great safari nine could be easily be made up with what is there and if I was local, I would have definitely done this.

If it isn't too crowded, just use the 11 basket from the 18 tee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Birdie Time

1    5/16/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - A good short par 3 course that gives you two different looks. The front nine goes from open to wooded to a mixture and then you hit the back nine and end up in an open field.

The front nine does offer up some technical shorter shots that you'll have to do some shot shaping to get close. It uses the river very well to add difficulty to some holes and makes you think about your route. The wooded part has some nice basket locations that add difficulty to some putts. It also gives you the longest open hole (#1) on the course where you can really rip it.

The back nine is in a big open field which is usually a sign of boredom but I can honestly say I've never seen open done so well. They use the elevation and the edges of the field to give you some unique looks. The fairways and greens are mowed while the rough is left tall which adds another aspect that makes you feel like you're not just out in the open.

The entire course is a birdie fest and you can really shoot low out there and feel good about yourself. There's two sets of tees and even the longer ones are casual player level. I also think the course flows well and you're never left wondering where to go next.

Equipment - The baskets are in good shape. The tees are large and astroturf and worked surprisingly well. It was dry when I played so I could see them being a problem if wet but i had no complaints. There's benches everywhere which helped in the open area when the sun was blazing.

Atmosphere - The aura of the course is hit and miss. On one hand you have anice wooded area, a river, a nice open field and a community garden with an Appalachian backdrop. On the other hand I-40 is running right through the middle of it all. The park also has some ball fields but the course keeps you away from that for the most part.
Cons: Layout - Although the front nine does well with a limited space it's crammed in there and the layout suffers from that. You probably won't need more than a putter for everything from 2-9. I also didn't like how many simple hyzers were thrown in on the first part as you went along the edge of the woods towards the back nine.

I liked #1 because it's long and open but it just doesn't jive with how the course really begins, it would be much better if it was the last hole you played.

The open back nine is done superbly for what it is but... if they planted some trees to mix it up a bit and create some separation from other holes it would be a huge step in the right direction.

Equipment - I didn't mind the astroturf tees but I know that's a con for some. The hole signs are broken in a lot of places and need to be redone.

Atmosphere - As I said before I-40 runs right through the middle of the park and ruins what would be a beautiful place in a way.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with friends of all ages, from a couple with a baby to an older women. It's that kind of place, a great place to bring your family or people starting out.

#2 is an awesome disc golf hole. It's a hyzer over a bend in the river, around a tree and on to the bank where the basket sits right in the bend.

This is a fun course and if you're going past it on I-40 you should definitely stop. If they get some trees on the back part the course it would be one of the more solid ones in the area. The designers did a good job of taking the area and making it fun and interesting. If they get some trees on the back nine I'll bump it up.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall- This city park course has 18 holes with dual tees, nice baskets, and very nice color tee signs. The course began as 9 holes but is now upgraded to a full 18.

Front- The front 9 is could be described as cute. It is mostly flat but wooded and along creek that can come into play on several holes. #2 is a fantastic hole over the creek to a small landing area in the bend of the creek protected by a large tree. #9 over the bridge with the basket visible through the pipe is also unique.

Back- The land is away from the rest of the park (on the other side of 1-40, through the big tunnel), in a larger area allowing the holes to be longer than the front. The fairways and greens are cut out of tall grass/weeds (at least in the summer). The designers made good use of what few obstacles are there- trees, cables, poles, billboards, etc. There are also a couple of holes that nicely utilize a little bit of elevation on a course that is flat overall.
Cons: Overall- The course is clearly two separate 9-hole courses as they were built in two phases and have 2 contrasting styles. The tees are a mix of natural and turf tees. The turf tees are ok, but are on the short side. Dual tees are nice, but there was not a whole lot of difference between the short and longs on most holes. Some of the longer tees did provide different angles, but most were just a little longer version of the same shot.

Front- The holes 3-6 are narrowly side by side with fairways and tees very close to other holes. A walking trail runs along holes 1, 7, and 8.

Back- It was a little strange playing in what felt like people's backyards on a couple of holes. There is the potential to be really boring in the winter if the tall grass is all gone.
Other Thoughts: The front is great for locals, beginners, and rec players to have fun, as it's not too hard or long. Other than #1, most of the holes can be played with mids and putters. The back has a little more challenge and length, but most experienced players will find this course pretty easy and boring after 1 or 2 rounds. There are lots of birdie opportunities and ace runs here.

It is worth a stop if you are driving by, as it's just off I-40 and is a quick play. But it is probably not worth driving from far away. I wouldn't even highly recommend driving from Asheville unless you are coming to Black Mountain for other reasons.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sorry Man

1    7/4/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 66  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
Pros: This course does utilize a water hazard pretty effectively. my brother went wading at least 3 times for wet discs! The high probability for an ace will keep you playing. Hole number 9 is pretty cool however i dont see how anyone would expect to run it through the drain.
Cons: The holes were really short. Only 2 over 300 i think with the majority under 200.I know that it would be difficult to get approval for a hole through the throughway under I-40 but that would have been a cool hole. The back nine was kinda disapointing with the holes so open, however given the land available, they did utilize it well.
Other Thoughts: My brother was down to boxers and boots hunting his Aero putter and got stung four times on hole eleven by yellow jackets. Poor guy just wanted an ace. Ha ha. This course is definately unique and worth playing if your in the area. I know i will play it more often in the future.

 Ace Runs and Park Jobs

1    6/27/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 258  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- I gave this course a 2 because I don't know if I could give it more. It was fun as hell to play... but a little too short to be taken seriously.

Pros:
- There are a lot of birdies to be had here. Even bad shots will yield birdie putts. And, there are a lot of ace runs too. Although, to ace some of the holes here would be more like making a long birdie than an ace.
- The creek provides some danger on some of the holes. Definitely something to think about on the tee-pad if your not wanting to get wet.
- The course is now 18 holes... and the new back 9 play a little longer than the front.
- Great tee-pads. Astro-turf... and multiple tee-pads on every hole let players play to their skill level.
- This would be a great course to teach your kids or your girlfriend on.
- Easy to navigate for a first timer.
- And... this course is near the Pisgah Brewery. Good beer!
Cons:
- Although fun to play... This course is a little too short. Pitch and putt status.
- That's about all I can say that's bad about it - Too Short.
Other Thoughts:
- They hold a few weekly events here. I hear they have a "one disc" weekly... which sounds fun because you can pretty much destroy this course with a putter.
- Bring 1 driver and 5 putters and go ace run crazy! If no one is behind you launch em all... you're bound to at least hit metal.
- My Score: -14

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quick

1    12/20/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: backpackermike
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a short course. If your limited on time you can play this pretty quick. Very pretty along the creek. There are places to start from for every skill level.
Cons: It is easy to put you disk in the creek if your a beginner. And it is deep. It would be nice for a swim in the summer. You can get in the way of other groups playing. The trail crosses some of the holes. Just pay attention.
Other Thoughts: If I'm in the area I'll play again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dan Kilgore

1    10/29/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1179  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 26.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: SHORT, this is good for the novice player and even this advanced player seeking to add a quick course to his resume, I want to know the odds of throwing your only drive (possibly I'll ever throw at this course) into the drainage pipe that (if you look through) you can see # 9's basket from the tee. And what are the odds of making your birdie shot from lying down in the pipe?? Well I didn't make my birdie shot, but I did lay in the pipe for a possible birdie shot. What are the odds???

I like # 2 shooting over the bend of the creek (I'm glad I didn't know how deep the creek was that I was throwing over). and I LOVED # 9. GREAT IMAGINATION here and hopefully other Disc Golf course designers and park departments can duplicate with LARGER Drainage pipes.
Cons: Most every basket is near water. I didn't see any snakes, but I wasn't looking for them either and I didn't really challenge myself of throwing at the baskets as they we're next to the water on most every hole. So I played par DG.
Other Thoughts: I loved the pipe (dream, yes I guess I was dreaming of making a birdie while lying in this pipe)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.