Black Mountain, NC 
Black Mountain Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #11 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 219ft.   3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Pitch and Putt Style Course

1    7/12/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: jeffboi
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty open and a lot of fun. Not too challenging - very short. Some use of elevation ...overall, straight forward and great for beginners.
Cons: Long grass on back 9 is a nuisance - you will eventually find your disc and still will have a wide open second shot.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Beginner-Intermediate Course

1    5/24/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2014
Pros: - The variety is fantastic; the front nine are mostly lightly wooded while the back nine are very open.
- Great for making birdie runs, especially in the back nine with accuracy. Intermediate players can certainly finish under par.
- Quick course, by oneself all 18 holes can be played in under an hour.
- Every hole is a par 3, makes score-keeping easy.
- Navigation through the course is easy with plenty of trails from pin to tee.
Cons: - As aforementioned, this course can be a birdie run for the experienced player, so it doesn't pose the biggest challenge to those looking to test their skills.
- The holes are located rather close to one another throughout the entire course; you must be aware of players around you.
- Although the tees on the back nine are nice turf pads, the front nine do not have any tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I would certainly recommend this course to any beginner or intermediate disc golfer in the area or just passing through. Also, with the variety, one could practice throws in slightly wooded areas by playing the front nine a couple times through and practice throwing for distance in the back nine. The course is very well maintained, so depending on the weather, this course makes for a fun afternoon all year long.

Convenient, easy, quick

2-4    11/2/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great location - right off 40 (you have to walk under 40 to get to back 9).
- Right at the base of the mountains - some nice views as you are playing.
- Multiple tees on most baskets.
- Back nine makes good use of gentle elevation changes.
- Decent amount of benches
- If you play quickly (with no one else on the course), you could probably get a round done in 30 minutes.
Cons: - Probably ace runs on 15+ of the 18 holes, so the course is very short (and those who throw them feel obligated to sign them).
- Teepads are pretty bad. Non-existent on most of the front nine. Back 9 has astroturf which is kind of "lumpy".
- Signs need to be redone. They are kind of weathered. The ones that are there are adequate.
- The course is pretty tight. The only reason why it would not be dangerous if several groups were playing is because they should be playing with blunt-nosed putters (or maybe that's why it is dangerous because those throwing drivers may not quite be as accurate as needed).
- Minimal variation in holes - it's OK, but not great.
Other Thoughts: This is close to where our church does a retreat, so I have been able to play this course a few times. It's actually a fun little course. 2 is a great hole over water (that you can fish your disc out of if you hit the tree branch). They changed 9 so it's not over the bike path anymore. That was a quirky, cool hole, but no longer....:( The back nine are similar in the open field - they actually do a decent job mixing them up, and it seems like the field is mowed and fairways maintained, so you feel like you're playing on a course rather then in a field. Navigation is a little tricky the first time since you can see all these baskets. The first time I played was early in my DG "career" and I found the course very challenging. When I played a few years later, it really was a putter and mids course. I think it would be a good course for beginners to learn on, but I will say it again, it is very, very short. If it weren't for the convenient location and mountain views, I would have given a 2.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice pitch and putt

2-4    5/14/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice location, Good flow to the course, creek runs along the front nine and can play some degree of difficulty. Can play a fast round, put in 2 solo rounds in 2 hours and took my time, I think the put it together well for the amount of land available, I dont think there is any other way it could have flowed that well
Cons: Front 9 tees are terrible, puddles of water in the middle of each one, didn't have to use any other discs other than a roc and a sole, did use a teebird on the first hole, the longest by far on the course. Back 9 is good to work on your putter driving game, definitely lacked obstacles though.
Other Thoughts: Easy to get too, i was wanting to get in rounds quick so it did the job, in town visiting and will check Richmond Hill for more of a challenge.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Updated review of the full 18

5+    7/5/2012   7/4/2009
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 75  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a well maintained county park and is split between two sides of I-40.

The course started as a 9-hole pitch and put type course with 2 holes allowing you to open up a little with more than a putter. It has since expanded to 18 holes, but they are distinctly different in character.

The front 9 (original) allows you to hurl a driver in a flat field for hole 1, but then slams on the brakes as holes 2-9 require little more than a putter or midrange.The high probability for an ace will keep you playing. Hole 2 is a really cool hole with the basket perched in the river bend, forcing you to throw a hyzer over the river and hope it bends back enough. Hole number 9 is a one of a kind hole, however i don't see how anyone would expect to run it through the drain. The front nine, while all mostly short, still requires a little technical precision to be mastered, so don't think it's a walk in the park.

The back 9 is a mostly open, longer affair with the chance to pull those drivers back out that you stashed away earlier. Water is only in play on 10, however you'll need to be wary of the woods line as you finish up on the last 3 holes.

The course utilizes the water hazards well and number 2 might be a hole you remember for while (signature). Navigating between holes is very intuitive, so you shouldn't worry about getting lost. Just know when you finish hole 9, you walk UNDER the interstate to get to hole 10.

Cons: The course isn't very challenging. The only technical shots required, you'll do so with a putter.

More could be done with the back 9. The majority of holes are in an open field with little to no elevation change. There also isn't any additional hazard in the back such as water (only on hole 10). Sure it may be a little longer than the front, but you'll probably post a lower score on the back.
Other Thoughts: This course is so close to the interstate (literally underneath it!) that it would probably be a mistake to skip over it when driving through. If it were located further away I wouldn't tell you to go play it. A fairly average course that is OK with wearing that title. I used to be a local with Richmond Hill in my backyard and I still managed to come out to play Black Mountain fairly often. The local club is very active in the community so you'll easily be able to find people to go play with.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Water, water everywhere

1    1/6/2009   1/6/2009
Review By: lukegardner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole 9 is hilarious and shows a good sense of humor - the pin is visible from the tee through a pipe under a pedestrian bridge!
Hole 2 is actually quite challenging, with a pretty high risk to reward ratio. If you screw up, you're going swimming as your disc will almost certainly land in the creek.
This course would be a great place to hone your skills as there is a decent variety of obstacles to get around: hallway-type tree setups, hyzer and anhyzer shots, some tees require a rather delicate touch.
You only have to cross your own tracks once, and the flow is logical. I had no trouble whatsoever finding the tees and pins. The signs were fairly clear about pin location.
Cons: The creek will be a problem for novice players, as it's located very close to most of the pins.
Too short. I don't remember anything being longer than 250 feet, though the alternate tees could certainly add a bit of challenge.
No elevation changes.
Alternate tees not clearly marked - but are they ever?
Tees were very, very muddy.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a very rainy day, and the creek was rather deep. On the second hole I was unlucky enough to hit the giant tree over the creek - I had to wade in and grab my disc (which was, luckily, brightly colored even in the rather muddy water).

I'm not sure exactly who this course is for. It's short, but not exactly appropriate for novice players (though it's certainly easier than the nearby Richmond Hill).

This course seems like it could have decent replay value - I was definitely trying to avoid the creek and that hampered my shots a bit, but I'd love to play this again after I've had my fill of Richmond Hill.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.