Black Mountain, NC 
Black Mountain Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #11 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 219ft.   3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Short Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    10/31/2011   10/31/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 196  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to the highway, easy to navigate, very quick rounds. Fun layout. Front 9 are all shortie holes with obstacles (trees, a river), Back 9 (walk under the hwy to get there) are all open. Nice variety on all of these (rights, lefts, skippers, tight shots, open shots, etc). Very scenic and serene. This is a great course to stop and warm-up on when you're headed to Richmond Hill. The back 9 seems uninspired but it's well maintained and it's good use of such a small area. Fairways were mowed short when I played, and the rough is manageable - no lost discs in this tall-grass. There are two tees for most holes and the back 9 at least plays up/down hills and incorporates the mtn/hwy wind.
Cons: Signs and tee pads could be better.
There are walking trails throughout the course, so please beware of dog-walkers and families.
Other Thoughts: The last reviewer summed it up pretty well - this course is between a 2.5 and a 3; I chose 3 because I wanted to improve the rating instead of hurting it. The best way to look at this course is a very easy, quick, scenic walk. No huge drives, just a bunch of shortie woods holes on the front 9 and open holes on the back. Hole 9 is unique to look at but a relatively easy throw over a bridge.

There are tons of shortie courses close to highways, this is one I'd actually recommend. Not a destination course, but a really nice warm-up course. If you're with buddies, it's mostly ace runs and then making your putts. Also a good course if you're traveling with non-golfers (significant others, kids, dogs, etc)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly fun

1    10/20/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: mikeyg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised by how fun this course was to play. The front 9 was basically like a pitch and putt but was technical enough to require a variety of throws. The holes had clever designs and used the creek that came into play well. The back 9 was basically wide open but added some elvation changes.
Cons: Over all the back 9 was a littel bit lacking but from what I understand it was added afterwards. There really weren't any signs to help with navigation but it was relatively easy for the most part. The recently changed the layout of the back 9 a bit and after I think it was hole 13 the numbers on the tees don't match the numbers on the baskets. If I remember correctly, tee 14 throws at pin 15 and so on. the course was very windy, which i am told is the norm. Also, the close proximity to the highway took a little away from the experience.
Other Thoughts: I was trying to decide whether to give this course a 2.5 or a 3. Ultimately, because I had fun playing the course I wanted to improve its overall rating a little rather than make it worse. While I only threw an even round, I attribute that to it being my first time and wind blown putts. Overall I think just about every hole is a possible birdie.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love it!

5+    12/2/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 12/26/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - I love the front 9 although I loved the old original 9 even more (see other thoughts). The carpeted tees here seem to not be nearly as slick as the the ones at Richmond Hill. Easy flow to the course for the most part and the signage is plentiful enough.

- One of my favorite holes ever is #2 (old #5) where you have to throw over the Swannanoa River. Also I like the way they did #9 so you can see the basket through the culvert. If they really wanted to making this hole challenging it could be made into a mando under the bridge.

- I'm conflicted on how to address the back 9. On one hand I'm glad there are 18 holes now but on the other hand the back 9 holes aren't the best or most creative.

- I recently played the white tees for the first time using only a putter and playing them as par 2's. I have to recommend you to do this if you are getting burned out on the blue tees. It's a nice change of pace throwing slightly different shots. It's still challenging if you make them par 2's plus almost every hole is a potential ace.
Cons: - It's kind of awkward how the course doubles back on itself after #5 and #18

- You have to walk back across #2. I always find myself peeking around the opening in trees so I don't get hit with a disc coming from the #2 tee since they can't see you either and some people will throw to the left of that big tree instead of throwing to the right of it and over the river.

- After you finish #18 you walk back under the interstate and past the basket for #9 and you can't really see if anyone is throwing from the #9 tee so you need to be aware!

- I wish the back 9 played downstream on the opposite side of the river (starting on the other side of the footbridge...parallel to the front 9).

- As of 12/26/11 some of the carpeted tees have started to settle or warp or something. Most of them are really bumpy...a couple of them (#10 comes to mind) are pretty dangerous as far as rolling/twisting/breaking and ankle. Also, IMO almost all of the tees on the back 9 are too short.

- There's lots of idiotic ace tagging of the baskets. Seriously, please stop this. It looks trashy. And, no, I do not believe that "Ramrod" has aced every hole out there.
Other Thoughts: My favorite was the old configuration. The tee for #1 used to be under the bridge between current #9 and #10 and the course followed the river downstream. The original #9 ended on the opposite side of the baseball fields (near the entrance to the park). If you continue to follow the river after #4 you can still see where the old tees (little blue concrete circles) and baskets were. The new #1, #2, #3, #4 correspond to the old #4, #5, #6, #7. The other 5 holes on the front 9 are totally different. The front 9 had to be redone following flooding which washed away some of the river banks.

[/waxing nostalgic]

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites...as a 9 holer

5+    1/7/2011   1/7/2011
Review By: topflight
Played: 86  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: You can play 9 holes is 20 minutes. I love the front original 9, the back 9 are not my favorites although you can air it out some. Tight and technical, plenty of ace runs and risk asyou play around the swannanoa river.
Cons: small feel to the course, the back 9 are not fun.
Other Thoughts: great place to learn, to take the kids or just play a relaxing fun round. certainly worth the stop if you are in the area.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 easy, good fun

5+    9/24/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: smiller
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: a fun little course through a pretty little park along the swannanoa river. the mountain views on the back 9 are beautiful. a nice mix of challenges; trees and water on the front nine, and longer throws on the back.
Cons: right next to i-40, there is considerable traffic noise on many of the holes.
Other Thoughts: this is my everyday course. the different types challenges presented by the front nine and the back nine keep it interesting. the front nine with the trees and water, and the back nine with some longer throws. Aced 18 last time out! i wouldn't drive too far to visit this one, but if you are in asheville or driving by on I-40, do it!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I liked it

1    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: bsh301
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 34.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good use of what space was available, several water hazards(#2 had me wondering if I really wanted to throw from the blues). Yes,8 out of the front 9 are short; and the back 9 are totally different, but all in all it's a fun lil course if your passing thru.
Other Thoughts: I was driving thru the area while working, and decided to stop and give it a try; I'm glad I did.Thanks to the 3 locals that I played the last 12 with, it was alot of help with navigating the back 9. I'll definitly stop by the next time I'm in the area.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short Then Open

2-4    3/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alternate tees, nice tee signs, navigation was easy, nice baskets, good use of creek to make some challenging shots, benches throughout
Cons: Short and lacking variety, walking path goes through some of the front 9 holes, backtracking through some of the fairways to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I drove 50 minutes from Lake Lure to play this course. I'd suggest stopping by to play this course if passing through, although I'm not sure I'd drive out of my way to play this course.

The front 9 and the back 9 are two different kinds of courses. The first 9 holes play along a creek which make for some interesting shots. The creek can come into play and change your shot decision (risk-reward). A good looking shot can take a bad turn if it takes a bad kick off of a tree and maybe even end up in the creek. When I played, the creek was flowing fast (would have made for a tough time recovering a disc). Hole 2 was memorable where you throw over the creek to a peninsula green. The tree hanging over the creek can bring down any errant throws. Holes 3 and 6-9 bring the creek into play as well.

However, the lack of variety in distance kept nearly all of my discs in my bag except for my putters. I used a driver on the first tee and a putter or mid on the rest of the 9 holes. There are definitely many chances for an ace.

The back 9 holes are played out in an open field. Some of the baskets are tucked away off of the side, giving it somewhat of a challenge. A few mandos added give it a bit more variety.

Even with the course being short and the long tees being not far from the shorts, they do offer a different look and require a different shot for the most part. I'd recommend playing both tees if you have time.

Overall, this course was OK. Not great, not bad. Short and lacking variety. Aces are highly possible and so are good scores.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Simple, yet satisfying

1    7/24/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The setting itself is quite nice. Nestled in the mountains, the Front 9 has a handful of interesting water hazards including great one on Hole 2. There are lots of possible ace runs which can be fun. All in all, a short and relaxing course with a little bit of character.
Cons: For those of you looking to test your limitations, this is probably not the place for you unless you're a beginner. The Back 9 is a bit too open for the most part. Because the Back 9 is relatively new, the thick undergrowth around the holes can be a real pain thanks to briars.
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect course to play if you find yourself bored with just an hour or two to spare. You can show up, play a round, maybe get that ace, and be home in time for dinner without being too worn out.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Something for everyone

5+    7/17/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a short course done well. The lengths may not be impressive but the shots usually are. Excellent use of trees on the front nine to form fairways. There's always a fair line, and it's usually somewhat forgiving but they're definitely not 'gimmes' either.

The ace runs and personal record runs are really addictive for me.
Cons: The back 9 could use some more trees. A few of those holes are pretty open, but usually compensate with elevation changes and OB. Still, the holes could all be a bit more exciting on the back nine.

Definitely not a course for showing off your new distance driver, as only no.1 and no. 16 break 300 ft. and many are under 200.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for practicing your short game as it contains some good precision approach shots and won't tire you out after a single round. It is the perfect cure for a bruised ego from Richmond Hill. It's short, but it's definitely sweet.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Putt & Play

5+    8/1/2010   7/29/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 84  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very pretty surroundings with the moutain backdrop. Good 'short game' course on the front 9 with some play through the woods. More open & long on the back 9. Very casual course. Slight elevation comes into play on some holes on the back nine. Good long walk but no heavy hiking. Water (OB) comes into play on many holes. New tee signs & tee boxes (back 9). They've added a few more new benches. The back 9 adds balance to a good course as the holes are open & generally longer.
Cons: Dirt tee boxes on the front 9 are average. Can get muddy in winter or rains. Very small, short, elevated tee pads on the back 9 make it hard to get a good run up. Could use concrete (my preference). There is some chance of cross over play as some opposing fairways are next to each other (especially on the front 9). In the summer, watch out for yellow jacket & wasp nests. High grass in the fairways can result in a lost disc on errant throws.
Other Thoughts: You could easily take a beginner or a family to this course. Very user friendly. For the space they have they have got a nice little course set up here. The front 9 plays very quickly so a lunch time round would be easy.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.