Baker, LA 
Greenwood Park Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #14 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun finesse course

5+    5/25/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: bilen434
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good change of pace from long, wide open courses. Course seemed to be kept up very well. Liked the ring of gravel around each basket.
Cons: Front 9 does not dry very well and is heavily wooded, so mosquitoes are rampant. No elevation change. The location of the next tee pad is not always easy to find.

Other Thoughts: I wish Highland Road Park could get some of the features of this course, such as the bridges, and the signs that say "this is a disc golf course, please watch for flying discs".

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/8/2013   8/31/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a fairly easy course settled in a nice park north of Baton Rouge. The course focuses more on the accuracy aspect of your game rather than length with the holes averaging out around 250'.

Even though the course is short it still has a lot to offer. Some holes have very tight windows to hit like 6. Some holes need a anhyzer or hyzer shot off the tee. Hole 8 is perhaps the most unique hole on the course. It is a horseshoe with a strategic mando that needs a roller to get to the basket in one shot.

There are some risk/reward off the tee on some holes. On Hole 9 you can cut the OB creek and get to the basket in one or play safe to the left.

The signs at the course are great and the course is very easy to navigate. According to locals, the course has been re done and it's current layout is multiple times better than the previous.
Cons: Sadly besides the few holes I mentioned the course is short and repetitive. Short courses are fine but I did not feel that Greenwood Park had enough variety to accompany the distance which makes it a very average course.

There are some drop off near baskets. Be careful of your footing and be sure to watch your disc all the way to the ground. A bad shot can lead to an itchy experience with poison ivy in a few places.
I usually do not have a problem wading into water to retrieve a disc, however on the few bits of water on the course the water is absolutely rancid smelling.
Other Thoughts: I had more fun here than Flanacher. The atmosphere is nicer here, the course is easy but hard enough to keep you coming back.

However, the course is nothing special and you will not see much here that you would not see elsewhere.

The locals are super friendly. They have random draw doubles every Tuesday at 6:30 and they love to have new players which I did when I went.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Serviceable and Well Kept

1    8/10/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The strength of this course lies in the tight, midrange-favoring holes which predominate, particularly on the mostly wooded front nine. Accuracy is definitely prioritized at Greenwood, allowing for those of us without big arms to fully engage the course. There are some tight windows here set a variety of distances from the tee, some of which have really fine margins between success and all-out failure (such as 6 and 17). There isn't a poke-and-pray feeling, though; all of these windows are hittable.

Pins are placed thoughtfully, usually tightly against the woods; approaches offer much of the risk/reward decision making here - do you lay up, or go for birdie and risk ending up in the woods? 4 is another noteworthy pin, featuring some serious rollaway potential in addition to a wooded backdrop.

8 is a fun hyzer, combining an extreme angle with a low ceiling, although I felt like this hole could have been more memorable with a little tweaking.

Greenwood Park is easy to find and features quality amenities. Bathrooms are available, there are plenty of garbage cans, benches, and even a few small pavilions dotting the course in case a flash Louisiana shower shows up. Tees are brick and provide good footing, though I would have preferred them to be a few feet longer. The course was very well tended, and my sense from being there and talking to others who play it is that this is the norm. The plentiful shade is nice reprieve on a sunny day.
Cons: To be honest, none of these holes stood out to me. The tightness of the first six holes was enjoyable to start off, but grew repetitive. The longer holes seem built for distance alone: they don't seem notable or memorable to me, as they're all on straight or nearly straight lines. There's little line shaping on this course, the big hyzers on 8 and 18 and the anny on 15 being the notable exceptions. This lack of personality means that there's minimal mental game of selecting shots and weighing risk versus reward. This was a big drawback for me, making the course easier than it probably needs to be given the wooded environment. This decreases the course's replay value in my eyes. There's not much draw to play it again, as there's not much left untried or undiscovered. This sense is amplified by the single set of tees and the static pin positions.

For those who like to bomb a drive or two, there's not really an opportunity for that here. This isn't a drawback for me in a vacuum, but it stood out when coupled with the vanilla shot selection. Similarly, the lack of OB, water hazards, elevation (except 4's green), and mandos (except 8) puts a pressure on the shot selection to provide a level of interest that it wasn't up to supplying.

There are a few potential spots for a navigation snafu, but thankfully the course is compact enough that you won't end up severely off trail. In particular, the transition from 17 to 18: 17 plays near the wooded section of 11-16, but 18 is back near 1-6. Some navigation signage in cases like this would be welcome.
Other Thoughts: Having read and heard positive things about this course, I was disappointed. This wasn't from expecting one type of course and getting another: I knew it featured tight lines and shorter holes, and I was looking forward to playing a course like that in my neck of the woods. The lack of challenge, line shaping, and shot selection disappointed me, though. With all of the trees here, I feel as though Greenwood could offer a significantly more challenging and interesting experience. I assume that space limitations are part of the issue, as the course seems crammed on the land it sits on, particularly in 1-6/18 and 11-15.

Despite my misgivings, I would happily play this course again as part of a day trip to Flanacher, whose challenges and novel lines I enjoyed a lot more. There's just not a lot to draw me to this course in itself.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very nice, if short, course.

1    7/13/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A good mix of wooded and fairly open holes.

New paver tee pads are large. Pads are marked well with good signs and navigation is fairly straightforward with few issues.

This is a fun and quick course to play with plenty of shade to keep it comfortable in the summer.
Cons: It's very short. It would be nice to be able to use the distance drivers on more than one hole. But it's still fun.

No elevation change. Some holes have blind OB that isn't marked on the signs.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course to play in the Baton Rouge area but its not the most challenging. For that you have to drive to Flanacher Rd., which isn't all that far away. Play both if you get a chance.

Maybe the biggest head scratcher with this course is its relative good condition versus Highland Road Park which could easily be a much better course but is just run down.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Neat short course

1    10/9/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: Mung
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short course where accurate throws can net you a great score.
Cons: mosquitos, mosquitos and more mosquitos!
Other Thoughts: Course starts wooded, with lots of tree obstacles but which can be avoided. Breaks into more open area with longer holes. Short enough to complete relatively quickly. Definitely some spots where you can lose a disc. Bring bug dope, for sure.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/5/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: medropout
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easiest and most beginner-friendly course in the area. Plenty of tight shots will test your accuracy, but you won't be too harshly punished if you miss the line. You'll give up shots at birdie and might have a tough time making par, but you won't be entirely out of it. No holes are unreasonably long, and many holes are good birdie options if you're accurate enough off the tee. Course seemed well maintained with concrete pavers for tees, and grass not overgrown, and baskets in good shape. Few water hazards, but one in particular (9 and 16) deserves some respect and is easily in play. It's easy to navigate the course.
Cons: Not a whole lot of shot variation (I almost exclusively used a RH forehand for straight and slight fade to the right), practically no elevation change, and not a lot of variance (the only obstacle is typically trees). Some holes are heavily treed without a clear line so that unless you're very accurate, you'll be throwing and hoping for the best. A stretch on the back 9 from 11-15 is very uninteresting and repetitive, with moderate distance holes with occasional trees to dodge.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a fun, easy course to play. Great for beginners, as it's fairly tough to lose a disc (outside of the water hazard on 9/16). There's a pro shop with restrooms, water fountain, drinks, equipment, and scorecards in the middle of the tennis courts.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Newly Remodeled

5+    12/10/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: bayouace
Played: 39  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: BREC has just redone (10/11) this old classic and it has a new look. A combination of wooded holes and reasonably open holes with many RHBH annies and some RHBH hyzers will test your technical game. Baskets on 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7 and 18 are heavily guarded by strategic trees to the point of praying and throwing. 4, 9, and 15 are good RHFH holes. 8 has a hairpin hyzer to deal with. Most of the other holes are straight or slight turns, but those trees here and there will grab that disc. The grass is cut for rollers. Lots of shade. The nearby clubhouse has a nice restroom. Another rest room(when open) is on the back half of the course. Tees are well-marked with stepping stone pads and a hole map. Parking is fine beside the tennis courts. The course will test your mids and putter approaches. Many of the baskets are on narrow land that slopes away quickly for putts that are not precise. Good course for new players and those who welcome shorter, technical courses. Water available at the clubhouse. Other activities are the nearby zoo and kayaking/canoeing.
Cons: A rain brings standing water on or near 1,2,5 and 6. Only one air-it-out hole, #11. If you want the big arm course, this is not for you. Try Flanacher Road instead. If hyzer courses are your specialty, you will be forced to use other skills - which is really a pro, as well as a con for some. Benches are pretty scarce, so a stool is a good idea.
Other Thoughts: Scorecard/maps are available in the clubhouse, but if it is closed navigation will be tricky going from 7 to 8 (around the corner) to 9. 18 is a decent walk from 17, but you will see it as you move from 6 to 7, so remember it if you have no map. It finishes back at the tennis courts.Overall this is a fun, great addition to the Baton Rouge DG scene. I really enjoy the course and it is a lot of fun. Lots of birdie opportunities if you can hit your lines. This is now my favorite BR course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Memory

1    11/14/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: Drivin2win
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Medium wooded, new tees and baskets. The baskets have a ring of rocks around it to signify a parked disc. New bridges and very easy to get around. VERY well marked also.
Cons: There is a steep dropoff next to many holes, so beware of a wayward disc.

NOTE: debris from the renovation is still scattered around. I went with a friend who had a 8 year old with him, and said 8 year old found a saw blade.
Other Thoughts: A good course for a Predominately Sidearm thrower like me; many of the holes curve to the right.

They finished the renovation.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Go somewhere else for now

1    4/13/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: littleshoe
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bathrooms, next to the zoo, some holes are very good and memorable (5, 9, 17)
Cons: Flat, ground holds water like a sponge, Old equipment, dirt tees, holes 11 and 12 are pulled for now due to construction, no signs at all, not all holes are marked for distance/par/number, holes are repetitive, not maintained, course very difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: Went this saturday, course was soaked due to rain the day before, but I drove an hour and played it. Some holes really were great! The course as a whole was not fun. Met a member of the local club who said the course was going to be renovated soon, it needs it in the baddest way. I give it a one out of five and will probably not play this course again until it has been renovated and it has been dry for at least 3 days.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Greenwood Park

6/27/2007   6/27/2007
Review By: nikrunner
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course has a nice variety of shots, mostly short, but with many obstacles to fly around. Some opportunities for aces. Most of the course is in a wooded area, which is nice during the Louisiana summer for the shade. Some memorable holes are the 11th, which hugs a lake, and 13th, where the tee is located in a "fox hole".
Cons: Watch out for poison oak and ivy. The animal noises coming from the Baton Rouge Zoo nearby might distract some players!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.