Baker, LA 
Greenwood Park Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #11 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great course for casual players

1    9/26/2015   9/28/2015
Review By: luv2xcheck
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great for the casual player
Beautiful park
Rock ring around basket
Brick paver t boxes
Cons: Trouble finding the next T on some holes. Simple fix is just to take a pic of the map when you start.
Other Thoughts: Easily the best course in baton rouge for casual players. Plenty challenging for beginners and intermediate but not too hard. definitely my favorite in BR

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Short and technical

5+    11/29/2014   12/4/2014
Review By: Jammer89
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Paver tee pads with signs
-Located in secluded area of park
-Focuses on short game and line shaping
-Gravel circles under baskets look nice and keep them from getting messy in bad weather.
Cons: - Front holes get messy after rain
- No elevation change
- Newcomers may find it hard to know where to go next, especially when transitioning from #7 to #8 and from #17 to #18.
Other Thoughts: Greenwood is a great course. Better maintained than Highland, but not quite as challenging. It hosts a couple tournaments a year. I love playing this course, then heading to Highland. The variation of the two make fore a great full day of disc golf.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun finesse course

5+    5/25/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: bilen434
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good change of pace from long, wide open courses. Course seemed to be kept up very well. Liked the ring of gravel around each basket.
Cons: Front 9 does not dry very well and is heavily wooded, so mosquitoes are rampant. No elevation change. The location of the next tee pad is not always easy to find.

Other Thoughts: I wish Highland Road Park could get some of the features of this course, such as the bridges, and the signs that say "this is a disc golf course, please watch for flying discs".

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/8/2013   8/31/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 154  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a fairly easy course settled in a nice park north of Baton Rouge. The course focuses more on the accuracy aspect of your game rather than length with the holes averaging out around 250'.

Even though the course is short it still has a lot to offer. Some holes have very tight windows to hit like 6. Some holes need a anhyzer or hyzer shot off the tee. Hole 8 is perhaps the most unique hole on the course. It is a horseshoe with a strategic mando that needs a roller to get to the basket in one shot.

There are some risk/reward off the tee on some holes. On Hole 9 you can cut the OB creek and get to the basket in one or play safe to the left.

The signs at the course are great and the course is very easy to navigate. According to locals, the course has been re done and it's current layout is multiple times better than the previous.
Cons: Sadly besides the few holes I mentioned the course is short and repetitive. Short courses are fine but I did not feel that Greenwood Park had enough variety to accompany the distance which makes it a very average course.

There are some drop off near baskets. Be careful of your footing and be sure to watch your disc all the way to the ground. A bad shot can lead to an itchy experience with poison ivy in a few places.
I usually do not have a problem wading into water to retrieve a disc, however on the few bits of water on the course the water is absolutely rancid smelling.
Other Thoughts: I had more fun here than Flanacher. The atmosphere is nicer here, the course is easy but hard enough to keep you coming back.

However, the course is nothing special and you will not see much here that you would not see elsewhere.

The locals are super friendly. They have random draw doubles every Tuesday at 6:30 and they love to have new players which I did when I went.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Serviceable and Well Kept

1    8/10/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 88  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The strength of this course lies in the tight, midrange-favoring holes which predominate, particularly on the mostly wooded front nine. Accuracy is definitely prioritized at Greenwood, allowing for those of us without big arms to fully engage the course. There are some tight windows here set a variety of distances from the tee, some of which have really fine margins between success and all-out failure (such as 6 and 17). There isn't a poke-and-pray feeling, though; all of these windows are hittable.

Pins are placed thoughtfully, usually tightly against the woods; approaches offer much of the risk/reward decision making here - do you lay up, or go for birdie and risk ending up in the woods? 4 is another noteworthy pin, featuring some serious rollaway potential in addition to a wooded backdrop.

8 is a fun hyzer, combining an extreme angle with a low ceiling, although I felt like this hole could have been more memorable with a little tweaking.

Greenwood Park is easy to find and features quality amenities. Bathrooms are available, there are plenty of garbage cans, benches, and even a few small pavilions dotting the course in case a flash Louisiana shower shows up. Tees are brick and provide good footing, though I would have preferred them to be a few feet longer. The course was very well tended, and my sense from being there and talking to others who play it is that this is the norm. The plentiful shade is nice reprieve on a sunny day.
Cons: To be honest, none of these holes stood out to me. The tightness of the first six holes was enjoyable to start off, but grew repetitive. The longer holes seem built for distance alone: they don't seem notable or memorable to me, as they're all on straight or nearly straight lines. There's little line shaping on this course, the big hyzers on 8 and 18 and the anny on 15 being the notable exceptions. This lack of personality means that there's minimal mental game of selecting shots and weighing risk versus reward. This was a big drawback for me, making the course easier than it probably needs to be given the wooded environment. This decreases the course's replay value in my eyes. There's not much draw to play it again, as there's not much left untried or undiscovered. This sense is amplified by the single set of tees and the static pin positions.

For those who like to bomb a drive or two, there's not really an opportunity for that here. This isn't a drawback for me in a vacuum, but it stood out when coupled with the vanilla shot selection. Similarly, the lack of OB, water hazards, elevation (except 4's green), and mandos (except 8) puts a pressure on the shot selection to provide a level of interest that it wasn't up to supplying.

There are a few potential spots for a navigation snafu, but thankfully the course is compact enough that you won't end up severely off trail. In particular, the transition from 17 to 18: 17 plays near the wooded section of 11-16, but 18 is back near 1-6. Some navigation signage in cases like this would be welcome.
Other Thoughts: Having read and heard positive things about this course, I was disappointed. This wasn't from expecting one type of course and getting another: I knew it featured tight lines and shorter holes, and I was looking forward to playing a course like that in my neck of the woods. The lack of challenge, line shaping, and shot selection disappointed me, though. With all of the trees here, I feel as though Greenwood could offer a significantly more challenging and interesting experience. I assume that space limitations are part of the issue, as the course seems crammed on the land it sits on, particularly in 1-6/18 and 11-15.

Despite my misgivings, I would happily play this course again as part of a day trip to Flanacher, whose challenges and novel lines I enjoyed a lot more. There's just not a lot to draw me to this course in itself.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very nice, if short, course.

1    7/13/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 52  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2015
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A good mix of wooded and fairly open holes with a layout that requires both right and left turning shots. A RHBH player with a good RHFH game can do well at this course. One of the things that this course does well, and which took me several rounds to get a grip on, is that the layout challenges players with right turning and left turning shots at different distances and with varying levels of technicality. This course stands out in this respect from both Highland Road Park and Flanacher. Although Highland has better land to work with, Greenwood is a more fun course at the moment and is a good relief from the beatdown Flanacher tries to administer.

The park starts out with a couple of open shots leading you into the woods and a string of technical, low celing shots, ending with a dead straight, ace run over a small creek (Hole 6). Hole 7 begins a string of somewhat more open shots, with 7, 9, and 10 requiring right turning shots with varying degrees of turn and openness. Holes 11-16 are in a more open area with scattered trees that allow more varied approaches to each hole. The course ends with a couple of fun holes, 17 a slight right turn, somewhat downhill with OB left, woods right and water long and 18, a short hole than can be approached straight or with a sky hyzer.

Additionally, Greenwood has a dedicated roller hole, something that I haven't seen on any other course that I have played. The only way you are going to get into the putting circle on 8, barring some stroke of luck, is with a roller.

The course is fairly short with no holes that truly require more than a fairway driver although you may want to try to shoot the gauntlet or trees on hole 11 for a birdie chance.

New paver tee pads are large. Pads are marked well with good signs and navigation is fairly straightforward with few issues.

This is a fun and quick course to play with plenty of shade to keep it comfortable in the summer.
Cons: There is very little elevation change. Some holes have blind OB that isn't marked on the signs.

Navigation isn't always straightforward and next tee signs would be helpful, but once you get started, the only problems will be after 7 (take a right and follow the road, tee 8 is on right), after 10 (cross creek on small bridge) and after 17, (cross roadway bridge and tee is on the way back to the tennis courts).

This course holds water in places but is still reasonably playable after rains, which is something that I cannot comfortably say about Flanacher. Only Holes 2 and 3 get a little sloppy when wet. Other areas do hold some water, but don't seem to stay muddy.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course to play in the Baton Rouge area. It is less challenging than the nearby Flanacher, which isn't all that far away, but is definitely more fun. Play both if you get a chance.

I'd recommend this course to most players over the other options at least until the improvements at Highland Road Park are finished (this update done in fall 2015). I think Highland Road Park will be the best course in South Louisiana when it is finished if the original course isn't altered too much.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Neat short course

1    10/9/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: Mung
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short course where accurate throws can net you a great score.
Cons: mosquitos, mosquitos and more mosquitos!
Other Thoughts: Course starts wooded, with lots of tree obstacles but which can be avoided. Breaks into more open area with longer holes. Short enough to complete relatively quickly. Definitely some spots where you can lose a disc. Bring bug dope, for sure.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/5/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: medropout
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easiest and most beginner-friendly course in the area. Plenty of tight shots will test your accuracy, but you won't be too harshly punished if you miss the line. You'll give up shots at birdie and might have a tough time making par, but you won't be entirely out of it. No holes are unreasonably long, and many holes are good birdie options if you're accurate enough off the tee. Course seemed well maintained with concrete pavers for tees, and grass not overgrown, and baskets in good shape. Few water hazards, but one in particular (9 and 16) deserves some respect and is easily in play. It's easy to navigate the course.
Cons: Not a whole lot of shot variation (I almost exclusively used a RH forehand for straight and slight fade to the right), practically no elevation change, and not a lot of variance (the only obstacle is typically trees). Some holes are heavily treed without a clear line so that unless you're very accurate, you'll be throwing and hoping for the best. A stretch on the back 9 from 11-15 is very uninteresting and repetitive, with moderate distance holes with occasional trees to dodge.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a fun, easy course to play. Great for beginners, as it's fairly tough to lose a disc (outside of the water hazard on 9/16). There's a pro shop with restrooms, water fountain, drinks, equipment, and scorecards in the middle of the tennis courts.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Newly Remodeled

5+    12/10/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: bayouace
Played: 41  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 23.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: BREC has just redone (10/11) this old classic and it has a new look. A combination of wooded holes and reasonably open holes with many RHBH annies and some RHBH hyzers will test your technical game. Baskets on 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7 and 18 are heavily guarded by strategic trees to the point of praying and throwing. 4, 9, and 15 are good RHFH holes. 8 has a hairpin hyzer to deal with. Most of the other holes are straight or slight turns, but those trees here and there will grab that disc. The grass is cut for rollers. Lots of shade. The nearby clubhouse has a nice restroom. Another rest room(when open) is on the back half of the course. Tees are well-marked with stepping stone pads and a hole map. Parking is fine beside the tennis courts. The course will test your mids and putter approaches. Many of the baskets are on narrow land that slopes away quickly for putts that are not precise. Good course for new players and those who welcome shorter, technical courses. Water available at the clubhouse. Other activities are the nearby zoo and kayaking/canoeing.
Cons: A rain brings standing water on or near 1,2,5 and 6. Only one air-it-out hole, #11. If you want the big arm course, this is not for you. Try Flanacher Road instead. If hyzer courses are your specialty, you will be forced to use other skills - which is really a pro, as well as a con for some. Benches are pretty scarce, so a stool is a good idea.
Other Thoughts: Scorecard/maps are available in the clubhouse, but if it is closed navigation will be tricky going from 7 to 8 (around the corner) to 9. 18 is a decent walk from 17, but you will see it as you move from 6 to 7, so remember it if you have no map. It finishes back at the tennis courts.Overall this is a fun, great addition to the Baton Rouge DG scene. I really enjoy the course and it is a lot of fun. Lots of birdie opportunities if you can hit your lines. This is now my favorite BR course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Memory

1    11/14/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: Drivin2win
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Medium wooded, new tees and baskets. The baskets have a ring of rocks around it to signify a parked disc. New bridges and very easy to get around. VERY well marked also.
Cons: There is a steep dropoff next to many holes, so beware of a wayward disc.

NOTE: debris from the renovation is still scattered around. I went with a friend who had a 8 year old with him, and said 8 year old found a saw blade.
Other Thoughts: A good course for a Predominately Sidearm thrower like me; many of the holes curve to the right.

They finished the renovation.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.