Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: CraigLewis369 Hole #7 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 105
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Nice mix of holes

5+    5/18/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: Jowsepi
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 24 unique holes. Good variety of wooded and open holes. All of the tee pads are in great shape and the course is played a lot so the maintenance and upkeep are well taken care of.
Cons: There are a lot of hills to walk, so if you are not in that great of shape it could it could be a challenge to walk. (Not a con for the course really, a con for you) This course gets a lot of play so it could get busy on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: One of the top 5 courses in the greater Cincinnati area. It is a must play if you visit the area.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Northern KY Course!

2-4    2/26/2016   2/26/2016
Review By: zebrasky
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has so many positives. First of all, the shot variety is tremendous. At no point do you feel like the course is repetitive, considering the array of hole types. You have downhill bombs, heavily wooded and narrow alleys, wide open field drives, and many others in between. The rough is pretty manageable, especially since it is towards the end of winter. In the spring and summer, I imagine it becomes a bit more rough. The hazards are well thought and play an important part on many of the holes.
Also, the signage and layout of the course is expertly done. Everything flows nicely, and is clearly marked for the majority of the course. Just remember to cross the road after hole 21 (just behind the hole 24 teebox) to get to 22 and 23, before coming back across for hole 24.
The park that the course is located in is extremely scenic. The forested hills, rolling open fields, and scenic waterways make for very attractive play. As is the case with many disc golf courses, when walking through the course at Lincoln Ridge it is equally as enjoyable to take in your surroundings and environment as it is to play a round. Love this course!
Cons: There aren't many bad things to say about Lincoln Ridge. There are a couple tee pads that could use some love. For example, on a few there is uneven or missing concrete.
Several of the holes are par four and hole 24 is a par five, but the course is best played as all par three. Most of the par four holes are under 400 feet and if you are past the beginner level by any margin, you should consider playing all par three. This is not really a negative aspect of the course, though. Just preferential.
Other Thoughts: Play this course any time you get the chance. Cincinnati and Northern KY are known for having excellent disc golf courses, along with Mt. Airy (Cincinnati, Oh) and Idlewild (Burlington, Ky), I would say Lincoln Ridge is in the top tier of this region's course options.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

very fun course

1    2/6/2016   2/8/2016
Review By: IndyTyler
Played: 109  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots and hole distances. Nothing here felt repetitive. 24 holes of fun challenging golf.
Cons: Some of the tee pads need some work done to them. Hole #5 stands out in my mind the most. The course could use some numbers on the baskets and navigation arrows on the poles to show you where to go. After I played it once it's not hard to navigate but the first time was confusing in a few areas. The area that stands out the most is between hole 4 and 5. You have to cross a parking lot and you can't see the tee sign for hole 5 unless you walk half way across the lot.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely play here again and I look forward to playing here in the future. Definitely a course worthy of a day trip from pretty much anywhere in the states. I would give it a higher rating if there were navigational signs, numbers on the baskets and all the tee pads were in great shape.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lincoln is Idlewild's father!

1    6/27/2014   1/4/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 157  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 10 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 Chainstar baskets, concrete tees and nice tee signs. I think a couple holes had dual tees and most holes had multiple pin positions. Awesome elevation changes, wooded holes, open holes, downhill bombs, uphill bombs, short technical shots, ravine shots, fast greens and variety of par 3 golf shots with water coming into play a few times providing good risk vs reward shots. Fun factor is definitely high here and appeals to players of all skill level from novice to expert. Navigation was decent for the most part. Restrooms by parking lot.
Cons: Nothing major here. There's some poison ivy in some of the rough. Navigating from hole 4 to 5 and 21 to 22 was a little tricky. No indication of which pin the basket is in and a couple blind shots. Some of the concrete tees were showing age. A couple holes play a little close together and park road. Erosion on many holes due to how popular and old the course is and having only one tee per hole. Course gets crowded because it's so fun.
Other Thoughts: Lincoln Ridge is the course that fathered Idlewild into the next generation and evolution of disc golf even through many of the people that love Lincoln believe Idlewild is a bastard! I can't believe Lincoln Ridge is over 30 years old, and it seems to have been far ahead of it's time. If I was still a beginner or playing Lincoln 20 or 30 years ago this would probably be 5 disc rating for me. The course still has an old school feel to it with it being all par 3 golf, but it's fun factor is still extremely high and the golf shots are filled with great risk vs reward. Being such a fun and varied course attracts the crowds which can become a negative thing. I played here right after Idlewild on a 90+ degree day and I was the only person playing Idlewild, but when I got to Lincoln there were droves of people playing from all different skill levels. As if playing Idlewild in this heat didn't already have my legs feeling like jello, Lincoln has just as much elevation if not more. I was dragging my legs through the last couple holes here, but it was still fun. Lincoln Ridge is definitely a must play in the greater Cincy area!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque in Northern KY

1    10/21/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good signage at each hole, all intact as of this review except for one
-some holes have multiple tee pads and basket locations
-undergrowth is limited so discs aren't tough to find
-water features, elevation changes, and woods add challenge and interest
-benches and garbage cans on just about all the holes
-excellent use of space with 24 interesting holes
Cons: -can be muddy around the creek, but this is only a problem if you make a bad shot, and is to be expected
-depending on how much energy you have, 24 holes of elevation change can be tiring
-no next tee signs, can be somewhat confusing
-despite 2 ponds on this course, neither is really a risk unless you make a pretty terrible shot, they could be incorporated better
Other Thoughts: This is very picturesque course, especially in the fall with the leaves changing. The creek running through the course adds some challenge, and while none of the holes are impossible many are quite challenging and force you to make the right shot. This is a good intermediate course that allows some forgiveness but still requires some skill. It's a lot of fun and has tons of elevation change- bring your hiking boots. It probably gets overlooked with Idlewild just a few miles away but this is a very respectable course in its own right. It's definitely one worth playing. If it's your first (or second) time, I strongly recommend bringing a map, navigation can be difficult.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Grains of sand tickle my nose

1    11/24/2011   10/20/2012
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1236  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Personal Rank: 109

Good solid fun without being overly challenging or punishing. Nearly every hole is deuceable, but that doesn't mean it's easy - hit your line and you will be rewarded, miss your line and you might have a look at a par save. Use of elevation and heavily wooded areas with some thick rough make for a fun variety of shots that makes this course enjoyable many times through. I definitely enjoy a round at Lincoln Ridge as a great compliment to its neighbor, Idlewild and the other Cincy courses makes for a great destination area.

I highly recommend this area and this course for anybody traveling by or looking for a weekend destination area of great disc golf.
Other Thoughts: After playing 1000 courses, I'm excited to share my opinion on some of my favorites. My top 100+ list can be found on my blog, my favorites list is at 110 of 1020 as of writing this review. Of all courses played, the top 1.5% receive a rating of 5, down to 6% is a 4.5, and 15% is a 4.0 creating a bell curve distribution. I apologize that my reviews are not as detailed as they have been previously. I have included the details as to why this course stands out to the best that my memory serves.

My personal criteria is very subjective, a gut feeling:
~Physical beauty stands out, both scenery and the beauty of each hole.
~Amenities don't mean much to me, it doesn't much matter if there's benches, concrete tee pads, or garbage cans.
~Technical design - How well designed are the fairways/airways and landing areas? Are there unique holes that stand out? Variety of holes - distances, shapes, elevation, tree density, rough thickness. Pars 4 and 5?
~I love extreme/adventure golf. Rugged and secluded courses stand out more than park style courses. In general I prefer more technical over more open.
~Local Scene. If I was involved in a tournament or league or met up with some locals and played the course multiple times I appreciate different aspects of a course.

Thank you, enjoy my reviews and if you don't find this information helpful, please let me know what I can do to improve.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Fun, and Hilly

1    5/5/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: BearClaw
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: excellent mix of terrain
*great elevation changes
*course situated away from other park activities
*found the course easy to navigate with map
* great concrete tee pads with signs
*local player helped find TWO of my discs
*beautiful creek holes
*lots of fun to play holes and shots
*well maintained
*cute bridges and benches throughout
Cons: *Longest hole is only 516
*Only 1 hole besides longest is over 400
*While holes 14-16 by the creek are scenic and can be very fun to play because of the gorge they can also be dangerous and easy to fall on
*the elevation on other holes can make it very difficult disc diving should you go into some brush on a hill
*only a couple holes with multiple tees
*the extension holes could use more variety
Other Thoughts: Some of the steep parts are super fun just walking around on and even more fun to through from but can present a safety hazard so be careful out there! Many of the area players I talked to about this course (I called it by its current name, Lincoln Ridge Park, while the locals seemed to prefer calling it Old Bancklick or just BanckLick) expressed frustration over hole 14 mainly that its too easy to shoot into the out of bounds creek. I actually talked to a guy at Idelwild who said he would never play Bancklick again because of that 1 hole! I thought it was a fun hole but agree that it seems incredibly difficult to land inbounds and might be a touch on the short side. I believe a second, long tee pad would work perfectly for hole 14 and I think that if they added them wherever there was room longer tee pads would give you much more room to stretch out your throwing arm. While the course was one of the most fun and scenic courses I've ever played and adding more long tee pads and changing the extension holes is the only way right now I could I imagine the course getting better and deserving a 5 rating. I will absolutely play this course again the next time I am in N. Kentucky or S. Ohio and would highly recommend it for people of any disc golf skill level as long as hey can safely navigate steep hills.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    2/29/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: Gonzo86
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2012
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great over all course.
Long drives and challenging putts all around.
The fairways in the wooded areas are just big enough for you to feel comfortable really putting some energy into your drives.
Cons: Some tee pads are cracking apart a tiny bit.
Some holes do play along a water hazard. These aren't too bad now but given some time and spring rain the water level will rise and make it hard to collect discs.
A little bit of trash is collecting in the low area, but its still early in the year and weather has been bad.
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance to play here you must. Its worth the drive.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Banklick

5+    11/25/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course with a variety of holes.
The baskets were all in good condition.
Concrete teepads poured well, big enough and level.
Nice Tee signs gives a clear read of the hole. Another good thing is they clearly list what is OB and what is not such as a few holes that have casual water that is not OB.
Flow of the course is good. No unnecessary long or hard to find routes.
Foliage was well maintained.
Course does use some nice elevation changes and dynamics. Like several steep down hill holes and a nice long fair way that banks along a steep down hill to the right on #10.
Good variety of types of shots needed.
Cons: There is some interference with walking/hiking trails. Doesn't bother me to much but there is always a little concern for safety. On #15 we had to wait for a walker on a trail which is the fairway the whole distance of the hole and the next hole uses the same trail for its fairway.
The last few holes always feel like they were just thrown in to "complete" the course. #22 and #23 just throw back and forth in a field with a small pond/marsh separating the fairways. #24 the longest hole throws from high up down to the basket it always feels like it was just stuck in the middle of the course. A lack of flow, throwing away from the beginning toward a previous played teepad and another teepad. After the hole is completed you have a long walk up hill to the parking lot after playing 24 holes. Not major just a lack of flow after the rest of the course was pretty smooth.
Other Thoughts: One thing that is nice about this course is it is a challenge and step up for most beginners and is still accessable whereas a course like idlewild is really not.
Even though there is a good variety of holes there is not really any one hole that sticks out.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautifully showing it's age.

5+    6/25/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: InnocentCrook
Played: 87  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best maintained parks I've ever been to. Kenton County Parks Dept. does an amazing job keeping this course in good shape. Wood chips are typically always refreshed when needed because they keep a huge pile on hand. (You can usually see it on the walk between holes 4 and 5.) This alone makes the wooded holes very nice to play because they usually drain well and don't get very muddy. Grass is always mowed in a timely manner.

The course features some beautifully varied terrain including everything from tight and wooded to wide open fields and everything in between. You are constantly moving up and down the rolling hills. The course also plays in and out of the woods every few holes which is nice. Most of the wooded holes are very secluded with number 6 being my favorite hole to stop and have a quick snack and just enjoy being outdoors in the woods before I tackle the rest of the round.

Excellent shot variety. Though it may favor righties a bit more, there are still plenty of holes that are more lefty friendly (6, 15, 17, and 18 come to mind). Many of the wooded holes have multiple lines to the basket, you just have to look for them. For the most part, the open holes are friendly to both left and right handed throwers. A handful of holes have multiple pin locations and several even have additional tee pads that drastically change the hole.

Very good course for a large variety of skill levels. I've come a long way since I first started playing and this course still delivers the fun factor every time out. After all the rounds here, it has yet to get the least bit boring.

Baskets are in good shape and there is a practice basket across the entrance to the parking lot from tee #1 and the info board.

Benches and full size garbage cans (emptied frequently) on almost every hole. The garbage cans really help keep the place clean and tidy. Very rarely will you see trash on the course.
Cons: Seeing as how this course is 30 years old, it is starting to show some signs of its age. Some teepads are cracked and uneven, though not unplayable, and there are some areas where erosion is becoming an issue. (Especially the holes down near the creek. 14-16) The railroad tie steps from 14 to 15 are uneven and the ones down to the creek are about useless at this point as many have slipped away.

As others have said, holes 22 and 23 don't compare favorably to the rest of the course. They aren't awful holes, just not up to the level of the rest of the course. They would be more comparable to many holes at Boone Woods Park, with just a bit more elevation. The reviewer who mentioned that it wouldn't be as noticeable if they weren't back to back was spot on. Some strategic tree planting and/or landscaping could greatly improve these two holes in the future.

This is definitely one of the most popular courses in the area and as such can be very busy during peak hours.
Other Thoughts: I've probably played this course over a hundred times because my permanent address is about a 10 minute drive to the park. My wife is a travel nurse now, so I'm moving around the country every few months or so. That said, anytime I'm back home I always make a point to play this course and Idlewild as many times as possible.

Might be a struggle if you're out of shape as many of the hills are very steep and you are constantly going up and down. Bring a light snack and plenty of water. I can't say that's a con, just the way it is.

I can only imagine how much of a beast this course must have been back in the early eighties when it was designed. New disc technologies have certainly tamed some of the longer holes to an extent and as such some of the marked pars are a bit high.

Over all, it's a great park with some nice hiking trails, sand volleyball, a baseball field, a soccer field, a couple playgrounds, picnic shelters, and restrooms open seasonally. (The parks dept. usually has a port-o-let set up in the winter which is nice.) Vending machine with drinks located at the front corner of the parking lot.

Greater Cincinnati is very lucky to have such a nice collection of courses. Along with the parks departments and a great club(GCFDA) that helps keep them in excellent shape. If you're in the area I'd also recommend Idlewild, Mt. Airy Forest, & Monroe Community Park.

The Marathon gas station at the corner of Turkeyfoot Rd. and Independence Station Rd. usually has a very small selection of Innova discs but they are pretty expensive. I'd hit up Disc N' Dat in Florence for any necessary disc related purchases. Good prices and selection, and Dan the owner is an all around great guy who does a lot in the local disc golf scene.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.