Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 205ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 94
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wow!!!!

5+    4/17/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: Don Gibson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There's plenting of good parking.I've played the course often over the last 7 years.The grass is always cut,fresh mulch is always around the tees.Well maintained course with nice tee pads.
Cons: Some holes do get a little slick after a rain,#4,5,6 and14.but it's a wooded area so it's to be exspected.A tee sign from 4 to 5 would be very helpful.The first few times I played the course I couldn't find 5 until I was ready to play 7 and seen some players coming threw the woods.
Other Thoughts: I have no big complaints on this coures it's my favorite.Maps can be printed on the gcfdga web sight for all courses.Man I can't get enough of this course!!!If you haven't played this course before hole 5 is across the parking lot to hour left.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

1    10/1/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 24 holes
easy to follow lay out
plays to the landscape perfectly
nice views, creek beds, mini water falls
loads of challenges, with variations from hole to hole.
well manicured, and play close to the water for the KY Disc golf experience
Cons: No water fountains through the progression, definitely bring your own.
Other Thoughts: Remember why a course rated 5, you cant just put baskets through out some woods and expect to change The Big 3 when you compare the top 3 courses

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite

1    9/1/2012   8/3/2013
Review By: looking4owls
Played: 62  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent signage
All types of shots needed, long and open bombs and short, accurate holes as well
Excellent pads
Gorgeous setting
Great elevation
Cons: I didn't see any room for improvement
Other Thoughts: The best I've played, and I've played some great courses.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Would rather be here than Idlewild.

5+    6/9/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: telusive
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course, tons of variety in the holes
Equal amount of shots in the woods and through open fields
I really enjoy when the course goes down towards the creek, it can be very frustrating to lose your disc in the giant chasm of the creek to your right, but that's the whole point.
I love the downhill shots this course offers. Teaches you a bit about throwing into elevation changes.
Around 16 there's a hole where you shoot across a creekbed that is very deep. This is another one where you have to have control or you're going to have a bad time.
You leave a frustrating woods to the final 3 holes which are wide out in the open and long.
This course is always well maintained. I go here at least twice a week and have never seen this place in bad shape.
They are constantly changing basket positions, which makes for very fun play.
Cons: In a very very busy park area, thus parking can be terrible sometimes.
If it's muddy out at all, this course can be treacherous.
Other Thoughts: Would rather come here than idlewild.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Banklick

5+    10/1/2011   3/1/2012
Review By: stevemort
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great hole variety and just a beautiful course all around. It's challenging but not impossible. You can't go away from this course disappointed. You have to use all of your game here and at the end you'll know you played one of the greatest courses in disc golf. Well kept, well thought-out, length variety, elevations, woods, water, scenery - this course has it all.
Cons: When they expanded this course from 18 to 24 holes some of those added holes didn't add much to improve the course. It would have been nice to add phenomenal holes to an already great course and make it even better.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I've played - if not the best. There aren't any unfair holes created just to be difficult. There's plenty of challenges but it's still a lot of fun. Just thinking about this course makes me want to go play it again!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Paradise

5+    7/30/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: Valet
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: (My first review...forgive me for the length.)

Lincoln Ridge is a disc golf paradise for many reasons. After about 80 rounds (not all were a complete 24 holes) I feel like I need to give back to the course by rating it. The first "pro" is the fact that it is 24 holes. This course can challenge the best, but yet it can be a very good course for a beginner. The tee pads are concrete and are all in good shape. There are trash cans at almost every tee pad and the course is relatively free of litter. The baskets are in good shape and the course has multiple pin placements. The park has convenient parking by the tee pad for hole no. 1. You can also park at the back of the park near the tee pad for hole 5 and take off from there. There is a soccer field to the right of holes 2 and 3 where you can practice. There is a practice pin right next to the parking lot. Bathrooms and a soda machine are next to the parking lot as well. The course is well maintained. Fresh mulch is placed on the paths and around the tee pads in the spring and fall and the grass is well kept. Be prepared for a hike while you golf, but I guarantee that you will enjoy the views and the course and you really won't notice the hike so much until the next day!


Hole number 1 could be considered the signature hole when the basket is located just across the bridge, inside the woods. Make sure you know where the basket is before throwing on this hole. If it's in the woods it'll require an anhyzer or big S to get you close.

Holes number 2 and 3 offer up opportunities for big drives with no obstacles. Beware of the road though as it's OB. The woods to your left and this OB to the right offer a bit of a challenge to your accuracy.

Hole no. 4 is a short ace opportunity. You'll have to contend with some tree branches, but if you keep it low you'll be just fine. Many who play this for the first time, without a map, will search for hole 5 and give up and just go right over to the tee for hole 7 which is next door. To get to hole 5 continue past the basket for 4 and across the parking lot.

Hole 5 is a big bender to the left and I've found that if I take a fast disc (that I don't have the power for) and toss it down the middle, the disc will do all the work for me and bend right down the path.

Hole 6 is my nemesis. It's uphill and turns to the right about 100 feet away and then it turns a bit more to the right just before the pin. It's also heavily wooded so keep an eye on your disc. Griplock can get you into big trouble on this hole.

Holes 7 through 9 and short and ace/deuce opportunities. These holes will challenge your accuracy. Distance isn't required and some will chuck a putter off the tee (at least on no. 7). Hole 9 also has a couple of different pin placements.

Hole 10 offers an upper and lower tee pad and the possibility of a deadly roll. The fairway slants to the right down into the woods and if a disc lands just "right" it will head towards the woods, possibly down into the creek and offer up a nice little hike for you. After you've thrown, make sure your disc comes to a complete rest before taking your eye off of it.

Holes 11 and 12 are simply bombs away opportunities. It's a nice break from the woods and gives you the chance to pull out your big dog.

Hole 13 has a couple of pin placements so if you don't see the top of the basket straight away, it's just off to the right. You'll need a straight shot for this hole.

Hole 14 can be pure joy or pure hell. It's straight downhill towards the creek and very short. Going past the basket could prove deadly. Be sure that you are in adequate shape before even venturing down the hill for this hole. If you're not, there is a path (not clearly visible in the spring/summer) to the left that will take you over to hole 18 and you can skip the creek holes. If you do this, go down the path and to your right to play the "lower" tee for 18 or you can skip 18 too by heading left past the basket.

If you do play the "creek holes" (14-16), you'll find them very peaceful and scenic. Beware though that once you throw and if you're anything like me, all of that quickly goes out the window when you have to hike down, and back up, to get your disc out of the creek. These holes require a straight toss. If you try to get an S, you'll likely hit the trees to the right and end up in the creek. If you fade to the left too far you might hit the hill to the left of the very narrow fairway and roll down, across the path and down the steep incline into the creek. Plenty of opportunities here for trouble. Hole 16 has a very beautiful pin placement and also has a short and a long tee pad. From hole 16 to the tee for hole 17 is called "fat man's misery". It's partial steps and then just a path. When wet, it's tricky getting there in one piece.

Hole 17 offers a slight bend to the right and lots of trees to contend with. Keep an eye on your disc at all times.

Hole 18 (as mentioned before) offers 2 tee pads. You'll come to the upper and most don't even realize there is a lower. My favorite is the upper which shoots across a ravine and then requires a left to right finish to get near the basket. There is also a bridge across the ravine to the right, but most locals just trek right through the middle and enjoy the hike. It'll certainly get your blood going. Once you cross the ravine, if you'd like to throw the lower tee, it's hidden down a path to your left.

Hole 19 offers an upper and lower tee pad and the woods to your right as well as a group of trees to your left just before the basket can come into play.

Hole 20 is considered by some to be the signature hole. This hole requires either a monster throw over the tree line or a tunnel shot through a narrow opening. Once through, the hole is hard right which offers a challenge.

Hole 21 has 2 tee pads. There is also a small pond that shouldn't come into play, but does for some. If you happen to get the urge to chase your disc into the pond, don't. Many swear that it's infested with leaches. The basket is guarded by several trees which can prove difficult and require accuracy as you approach.

Holes 22 and 23 are referred to as the "bowl holes". There is a pond in the middle of these 2 holes which can come into play on no. 22. Both holes offer another opportunity to bring out the big gun and let it rip.

Hole 24 is the longest of them all. This hole will certainly test your arm strength at a time when your legs and shoulder might be asking you to give them a break. The basket is strategically placed around a few trees which will require some accurate putting.

Cons: I don't think there's anything I'd change about the set up of this course, but one con would be traffic. This course gets lots of traffic, pros and noobs. I guess this is the price to pay for a sweet course. (maybe a chair lift from the basket at 16 to the tee pad at 17?)
Other Thoughts: I live a mile away from Lincoln Ridge and this has spoiled me. I've played a handful of other courses and I enjoy open and wooded, long and short, flat and hilly, but this course has it all. There's not much reason for me to travel 20-30 minutes anywhere else when I get my fill 1.2 miles down the road.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing backdrop for Disc Golf!

1    6/27/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a stunning course for visual appeal and offers a ton of fun holes that wind in and out of the woods. Very clean and well kept course. The elevation that comes into play create a lot of fun, added challenge, and beauty to the course. With 24 holes, this course is definitely a battle, but a very fun one. There is a great deal of variety on this course. Long, short, open, technical, uphill, downhill, side hill; you name it you will play it. There is a beautiful creek that comes into play on a few holes back around hole 14. This course is fantastic for beginners as well as advanced players. The layout and design is very enjoyable and flows well. Lots of shade makes a hot, summer day here bearable. This course is clean, well manicured and maintained.
The baskets are in great condition, there is a practice basket, concrete tee pads of appropriate length, benches and trash cans throughout the course, and detailed maps. There are also nice, clean restrooms near the practice basket area. There are nice hanging benches throughout the course.
Cons: There are a few blind holes that will require you to walk ahead to scope things out if you are playing it for the first time. You will want a map for your first time as well, or you will have a tough time with navigation. The one area that you may have trouble particularly is after hole 3 finding the box for hole 4. You have to walk across the road a little bit to get t 4 rather than following the path like you might try to do intuitively. There is some steep parts that you must traverse at times that could be dangerous. You may also get into tricky spots retrieving discs or playing an odd lie. It was a little bit wet from rain earlier in the day and the tee pads retained a lot of moisture and were very slick. With most of the course in the shade, this may be a common problem.
Other Thoughts: Bring your camera with you for this course because it is very picturesque! This course is a lot of fun!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/29/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -There are 24 holes to play, so you can enjoy it all day out here
-Great elevation changes
-Every hole is different (some need good accuracy while others dont need accuracy at all) and a new challenge
-They take really good care of the course by mowing the lawns very often
-It is very easy to find the next hole (you wont have to be searching for it for hours)
-The sign at the tee is very nice as it shows you what the par is, the distance, and where the pin is located
-The launch pad is very nice concrete so it is easy to throw from
-They have long and short tees so you can choose which one you would like to throw from
-They also have high and low tees so you can throw from above or from below
-They have benches at the tee so you can take a rest every once in a while
-They mix up the pars between three four and fives
Cons: -There is water involved in some holes so you always need to be aware of that
-They will move the pins around every once in a while so you always will need to know where they are located at that time
Other Thoughts: Out of all the courses that i have played i would have to say that by far this is my favorite. They just take such good care of it. Some of the courses that i have been to they dont even mow the lawns that often. But thats not the case here because it is taken care of very well. So if anyone is planning on coming here i would really recommend it, you'll love it.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Heaven

2-4    12/6/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation changes everywhere.
Excellent flow from hole to hole.
Several holes begin and end by the parking lot allowing you to play the front 9, the back 12, etc...
Plenty of benches and trash cans (almost no trash anywhere!! hats off to the locals)
Excellent signs showing multiple placements and distance.
The beauty of the Kentucky foothills and a running stream as backdrop cannot be overstated.
The pruning is just right! Not too wide open, but not too cluttered either.
Only a few (out of 24) plain wide open holes, the rest are memorable, challenging, and fun, fun, fun!
Cons: Some steep descents and climbs that might be hazardous with slippery conditions, but otherwise a plus in my book!
Other Thoughts: I live in northern Illinois and my previous favorite course was Anna Page West, in Rockford, IL( also a great course!). But, after playing Lincoln Ridge, I was completely blown away by the beauty and the fun the course offered. I had time for four rounds in the area and I spent the first two trying out Lincoln Ridge and Idlewild (both awesome courses). Then, I spent my last two rounds back at Lincoln Ridge! I can't wait to return! This is the type of course you plan a trip around.
Holes #14-#18 take you on a tour to the bottom of the ravine, along the stream, and then back to the top, incredible group of holes!

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Awesomeness!! One of the BEST I have ever played!!

1    10/24/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -
-HUGE FUN FACTOR!! What a blast.
-Beautiful course, well manicured, epic in scope!
-Fantastic variation. Elevation changes, clear fairways, wooded shots, water shots!
-All holes are marked and clearly defined.
-Fairways are wide open or have a clear path.
-Hole difficulty ranges from easy to advanced.
-An excellent mixture of long and short holes.
-Baskets are good.
-Signs are good.
-Tee pads are excellent.
-Scenery is superb.
-Layout of the course makes sense and has a good flow to it. Very well designed.
-Great piece of land for disc golf!
Cons: -
-To far from Michigan.
-From basket 21 to tee 22 a little confusion exists because you need to cross a street, if you've never played you can look for awhile until you find it.
-Some ridges are steep and could make play dangerous. I fell down as did my friend on the same hole.
-snakes
Other Thoughts: -
-I loved this course. I played it and knew it was one of my favorites of all time. It is right up there with Flip City and better than The Beast in Michigan.
-We came to Kentucky to play Idlewild, but this was the course that made our trip.
-The course has a great variety that will or should appeal to beginners and advanced players.
-The fun factor was awesome. I had a better time playing this then Idlewild.
-I would play this course all the time if I lived close by.
-The course allows for decent scores and is still a challenge.
-SUPER, SUPERB, FANTASTIC, PLAY IT!!!!

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.