Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 94
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: Ripper
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -This course is very well kept and allot of fun.
-The course is very Hyzer and very right hand friendly, so it's more of an advanced course but you don't have to worry about throwing forehands or turnover shots though.
-The course is a blast though, and most of my greatest rounds that I have played have been on this course.
-The course has a great mix of wooded holes, elevation and downhill holes. The course is not the most advanced but it is one of the funnest courses I guarntee you will play.
-There are a few risk reward holes but most are reachable with a good drive and deucable.
Hole 3 - Love this hole just for the fact that it is a spike hyzer shot with a predator and usually an easy deuce but playing the skip off the road, you can usually park with ease.
Hole 5 - Another great hole. This hole is great and really learned to control an overstable disc because of this hole. This is another great shot for a predator and usually throw flat and just let the predator do the work. With enough finesse can usually get it within 20 or so.
Hole 6 - The only real turnover shot. This has a sharp dog leg left.

Cons: -Most holes are Hyzer shots and very, very RHBH friendly.
-There really aren't any real tough turnover shots.
-This course gets packed, and a ton of people with PBR's, Cigs and DX Valks, so get there early, or be prepared to wait on hole 1 and sometimes play stop and go game.
Other Thoughts: Lincoln Ridge has always been one of my favorite courses. The course itself is not all that advanced by any means and it is one of those courses you could probably play with 3 - 4 discs and really not have any problems. Lincoln Ridge though does have beautiful landscaping and some of the shots in the woods are great. Some of the holes like 22 and 23 really are forgettable, but the rest of the course is excellent. This course is probably 80% straight or hyzer shots though so not going to be a tough daunting course by any stretch of the imagination, but is is not a simple pitch and putt course either.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses in the NKY/Cincy area

5+    8/5/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park has ample parking for a busy day and restrooms near the first tee. Course provides everything from wide open bomber holes to short wooded technical shots. Each wooded hole is carved out nicely from thick woods. All wooded fairways are fair but straying off them can leave you hoping for at least a bogey. The course is set with moderate elevation changes throughout with one big downhill into the lower woods after number 14. Basket placements are fair with some on slopes that can leave with you with a do or die put. The open holes are well placed to provide a mix of open and wooded holes. Deuces can be gotten but they have to be worked for.
Cons: So tee pads are cracked and can affect footing. Walking the course can be troublesome after a rain especially the treks up or down the big hill. In the walk after 16 up the big hill in the woods it looks like they started to build a complete staircase then quit. It would be nice if that were completed or at least a hand rail installed. Also the fairway of 15 can be partially inundated every once in a while with the smell of crap (literally crap) from the police warehouse adjacent to the course.
Other Thoughts: This just maybe a personal preference but holes 22 and 23 seem very out of place. They require a longer walk than from 21 to 24 and don't really add much to the overall feel of the course, just a couple more open holes. Aside from that, this is an exceptional course that gets anywhere from moderate to heavy use everyday. Backups may occur in casual play but the locals are generally friendly and won't slow you down too much. Would highly recommend this if you're passing through the area. One of the top three courses in the NKY/Cincy area.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Paradise

5+    7/30/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: Valet
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: (My first review...forgive me for the length.)

Lincoln Ridge is a disc golf paradise for many reasons. After about 80 rounds (not all were a complete 24 holes) I feel like I need to give back to the course by rating it. The first "pro" is the fact that it is 24 holes. This course can challenge the best, but yet it can be a very good course for a beginner. The tee pads are concrete and are all in good shape. There are trash cans at almost every tee pad and the course is relatively free of litter. The baskets are in good shape and the course has multiple pin placements. The park has convenient parking by the tee pad for hole no. 1. You can also park at the back of the park near the tee pad for hole 5 and take off from there. There is a soccer field to the right of holes 2 and 3 where you can practice. There is a practice pin right next to the parking lot. Bathrooms and a soda machine are next to the parking lot as well. The course is well maintained. Fresh mulch is placed on the paths and around the tee pads in the spring and fall and the grass is well kept. Be prepared for a hike while you golf, but I guarantee that you will enjoy the views and the course and you really won't notice the hike so much until the next day!


Hole number 1 could be considered the signature hole when the basket is located just across the bridge, inside the woods. Make sure you know where the basket is before throwing on this hole. If it's in the woods it'll require an anhyzer or big S to get you close.

Holes number 2 and 3 offer up opportunities for big drives with no obstacles. Beware of the road though as it's OB. The woods to your left and this OB to the right offer a bit of a challenge to your accuracy.

Hole no. 4 is a short ace opportunity. You'll have to contend with some tree branches, but if you keep it low you'll be just fine. Many who play this for the first time, without a map, will search for hole 5 and give up and just go right over to the tee for hole 7 which is next door. To get to hole 5 continue past the basket for 4 and across the parking lot.

Hole 5 is a big bender to the left and I've found that if I take a fast disc (that I don't have the power for) and toss it down the middle, the disc will do all the work for me and bend right down the path.

Hole 6 is my nemesis. It's uphill and turns to the right about 100 feet away and then it turns a bit more to the right just before the pin. It's also heavily wooded so keep an eye on your disc. Griplock can get you into big trouble on this hole.

Holes 7 through 9 and short and ace/deuce opportunities. These holes will challenge your accuracy. Distance isn't required and some will chuck a putter off the tee (at least on no. 7). Hole 9 also has a couple of different pin placements.

Hole 10 offers an upper and lower tee pad and the possibility of a deadly roll. The fairway slants to the right down into the woods and if a disc lands just "right" it will head towards the woods, possibly down into the creek and offer up a nice little hike for you. After you've thrown, make sure your disc comes to a complete rest before taking your eye off of it.

Holes 11 and 12 are simply bombs away opportunities. It's a nice break from the woods and gives you the chance to pull out your big dog.

Hole 13 has a couple of pin placements so if you don't see the top of the basket straight away, it's just off to the right. You'll need a straight shot for this hole.

Hole 14 can be pure joy or pure hell. It's straight downhill towards the creek and very short. Going past the basket could prove deadly. Be sure that you are in adequate shape before even venturing down the hill for this hole. If you're not, there is a path (not clearly visible in the spring/summer) to the left that will take you over to hole 18 and you can skip the creek holes. If you do this, go down the path and to your right to play the "lower" tee for 18 or you can skip 18 too by heading left past the basket.

If you do play the "creek holes" (14-16), you'll find them very peaceful and scenic. Beware though that once you throw and if you're anything like me, all of that quickly goes out the window when you have to hike down, and back up, to get your disc out of the creek. These holes require a straight toss. If you try to get an S, you'll likely hit the trees to the right and end up in the creek. If you fade to the left too far you might hit the hill to the left of the very narrow fairway and roll down, across the path and down the steep incline into the creek. Plenty of opportunities here for trouble. Hole 16 has a very beautiful pin placement and also has a short and a long tee pad. From hole 16 to the tee for hole 17 is called "fat man's misery". It's partial steps and then just a path. When wet, it's tricky getting there in one piece.

Hole 17 offers a slight bend to the right and lots of trees to contend with. Keep an eye on your disc at all times.

Hole 18 (as mentioned before) offers 2 tee pads. You'll come to the upper and most don't even realize there is a lower. My favorite is the upper which shoots across a ravine and then requires a left to right finish to get near the basket. There is also a bridge across the ravine to the right, but most locals just trek right through the middle and enjoy the hike. It'll certainly get your blood going. Once you cross the ravine, if you'd like to throw the lower tee, it's hidden down a path to your left.

Hole 19 offers an upper and lower tee pad and the woods to your right as well as a group of trees to your left just before the basket can come into play.

Hole 20 is considered by some to be the signature hole. This hole requires either a monster throw over the tree line or a tunnel shot through a narrow opening. Once through, the hole is hard right which offers a challenge.

Hole 21 has 2 tee pads. There is also a small pond that shouldn't come into play, but does for some. If you happen to get the urge to chase your disc into the pond, don't. Many swear that it's infested with leaches. The basket is guarded by several trees which can prove difficult and require accuracy as you approach.

Holes 22 and 23 are referred to as the "bowl holes". There is a pond in the middle of these 2 holes which can come into play on no. 22. Both holes offer another opportunity to bring out the big gun and let it rip.

Hole 24 is the longest of them all. This hole will certainly test your arm strength at a time when your legs and shoulder might be asking you to give them a break. The basket is strategically placed around a few trees which will require some accurate putting.

Cons: I don't think there's anything I'd change about the set up of this course, but one con would be traffic. This course gets lots of traffic, pros and noobs. I guess this is the price to pay for a sweet course. (maybe a chair lift from the basket at 16 to the tee pad at 17?)
Other Thoughts: I live a mile away from Lincoln Ridge and this has spoiled me. I've played a handful of other courses and I enjoy open and wooded, long and short, flat and hilly, but this course has it all. There's not much reason for me to travel 20-30 minutes anywhere else when I get my fill 1.2 miles down the road.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun

1    9/13/2009   7/12/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best in my book. It offers a great variety of holes and is very well maintained in a park setting. The topo played and important, but not overwhelming role in the course. It is quite a hike, but well worth it.
Cons: A few of the holes were a little too open. One of the costs of having such a nice course is that it is so popular. I had to wait on a number of the holes for players to clear. But everyone was polite and I did not experience any inordinant delays. There were no supersized groups clogging up play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

5+    6/20/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation, treed areas and open fields. For a municipal park it is really, really pretty.

You will need all of your shots for this course. #1 starts the course with a nice downhill, multiple basket locations add interest. A little fairly open play, then into the woods where it gets tricky. As mentioned in other reviews 3-4 can be hard to follow, go through the parking area. #5 is a tough up hill, to the right then straight and down hill. Very tough hole.

After that is some more elevation/woods, some more woods. The middle holes are open, one uphill, one great downhill and then a long shot downhill through a gap in the woods, with multiple pin placements again. Then a great shot down into a ravine. Stunning scenery and scary putts can turn a 3 into a 5-6 quick. Then a couple of holes down tight fairways along the ravine. Shots can add up quick here too, throw straight and true.

Work your way through more woods, with an ace opportunity along the way, then pop out into some less crowded holes. one shot through a small window over a run-off and then you are into the open holes. I find it a nice change of pace after all of the woods. 22 and 24 are especially fun, a shorter downhill and then a looong shot over the top of the park to finish.

24 holes!!



Cons: Navigation? Other than that this course has few cons.
Other Thoughts: Put this on your top "to play" courses, along with Idlewild and Mt Airy. Not as challenging as Idlewild, but then not as aggravating either.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing backdrop for Disc Golf!

1    6/27/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a stunning course for visual appeal and offers a ton of fun holes that wind in and out of the woods. Very clean and well kept course. The elevation that comes into play create a lot of fun, added challenge, and beauty to the course. With 24 holes, this course is definitely a battle, but a very fun one. There is a great deal of variety on this course. Long, short, open, technical, uphill, downhill, side hill; you name it you will play it. There is a beautiful creek that comes into play on a few holes back around hole 14. This course is fantastic for beginners as well as advanced players. The layout and design is very enjoyable and flows well. Lots of shade makes a hot, summer day here bearable. This course is clean, well manicured and maintained.
The baskets are in great condition, there is a practice basket, concrete tee pads of appropriate length, benches and trash cans throughout the course, and detailed maps. There are also nice, clean restrooms near the practice basket area. There are nice hanging benches throughout the course.
Cons: There are a few blind holes that will require you to walk ahead to scope things out if you are playing it for the first time. You will want a map for your first time as well, or you will have a tough time with navigation. The one area that you may have trouble particularly is after hole 3 finding the box for hole 4. You have to walk across the road a little bit to get t 4 rather than following the path like you might try to do intuitively. There is some steep parts that you must traverse at times that could be dangerous. You may also get into tricky spots retrieving discs or playing an odd lie. It was a little bit wet from rain earlier in the day and the tee pads retained a lot of moisture and were very slick. With most of the course in the shade, this may be a common problem.
Other Thoughts: Bring your camera with you for this course because it is very picturesque! This course is a lot of fun!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    5/30/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 416  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Extremely hilly terrain combined with diverse wooded areas makes for a extremely wide variety of holes. Almost any combination of uphill/downfill, heavily wooded to open, and left/straight/right shots are present here.
- Elevation changes on the fairways and greens demand a controlled shot to keep in play. Great risk/reward factor on many holes. Most notably, the creek on 15 and 16 that uses gravity to suck discs from just inches off the fairway, and deep wooded valleys.
- A little more water is on the back end, but is not a major hazard. Pleasing to look at, though.
- Long, sloping upshots and downshots especially reward a well thrown disc. This helps to keep the open holes interesting as well.
Cons: - Some holes are pretty close to the road, but a good shot will easily avoid it.
- Even with the elevation changes, a lot of similar open holes on the back end.
Other Thoughts: - I was lucky enough to have a tour guide to show me around on my first round, which was an extreme, extreme help. I think it might be a little tricky to navigate on some parts, but nothing too bad.
- I recommend that you are in decent shape to play this course. If you don't think you can go hiking, you might not enjoy this course. I speak from experience, as I was out of shape when I played, and almost had to skip the last hole!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/29/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -There are 24 holes to play, so you can enjoy it all day out here
-Great elevation changes
-Every hole is different (some need good accuracy while others dont need accuracy at all) and a new challenge
-They take really good care of the course by mowing the lawns very often
-It is very easy to find the next hole (you wont have to be searching for it for hours)
-The sign at the tee is very nice as it shows you what the par is, the distance, and where the pin is located
-The launch pad is very nice concrete so it is easy to throw from
-They have long and short tees so you can choose which one you would like to throw from
-They also have high and low tees so you can throw from above or from below
-They have benches at the tee so you can take a rest every once in a while
-They mix up the pars between three four and fives
Cons: -There is water involved in some holes so you always need to be aware of that
-They will move the pins around every once in a while so you always will need to know where they are located at that time
Other Thoughts: Out of all the courses that i have played i would have to say that by far this is my favorite. They just take such good care of it. Some of the courses that i have been to they dont even mow the lawns that often. But thats not the case here because it is taken care of very well. So if anyone is planning on coming here i would really recommend it, you'll love it.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Bank on Links at Banklick Lincoln

1    5/4/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Truly first class course. All the amenities are here. Concrete tees, signage, bathrooms, Info, perfectly manicured course from the fields into the woods. Quiet park of rolling hills,woods landscaped and natural beauty that sets an amazing backdrop for disc golf. Almost feels like an actual golf course moreso than a park at times. From the initial dive down the hill into the woods to the finishing blasts across the bluegrass fields there are visual treats that not only provide scenery they simultaneously add challenge. Such as the pond in play on holes 21 and 24. The wide stream that cuts a deep gorge along holes 14,15,and 16. The bluegrass hills of 12,22, and 23. Just such wonderful surroundings to play disc golf in. There are some very memorable holes. Highlights for me were as follows:
1-start out with a healthy dive down a sloping green hill into the woods below to start your day
4-ace run across a wooded but reasonable valley fairway
5-wonderful hyzer downwards into the forrest
6-complementary uphill anhyzer through woods
7-floater wooded ace run with fast pitched green
8-perfect woods blind hyzer fairway..just trust it
14-from the field and suddenly straight down to a fast hillside with the basket perched in such a way that floaters if not thrown precisely will land in the stream at the base of the valley
15-slightly uphill shot that requires you to stay on a 12 foot wide path with a bank rising left and a cliff descending right into the streambed 20 feet below. Errant shots here get punished 2x as your oob and have to shoot back up the cliff to be playing fairway....difficult but rewarding holes.
18-wonderful shot through window and over a steep valley. Hit a tree early and your doomed..hit it right and its a birdie run.
20-exhilerating open shot downhill and through a gap in trees to a basket rising back up the other side of the slim woodline. Another birdie or bogey hole depending on executing that gap.
21,22,23, and 24 are all open air shots that utilize elevation and placement to keep it interesting.
There are plenty of birdie chances on this course which makes it interesting as your scorecard could see 2s and 4s rather than an abundance of 3s. An indicator of good design that rewards shotmaking. The most likeable thing for me regarding this course was the supreme maintenance which kept headaches to a minimum and the fun factor going strong all round long.
Cons: The course has 24 holes and 18 of the holes were very strong but at times I had some deja vu. Holes 2&3 (play across grass fields into shallow woods with street oob),11,12 &13 (across open fields with little obstacles outside of wind), 15 & 16 (same terrifying shot with stream and gorge right and bank rising left) as well as some filler holes 9,17,and 19. (9 completes the first 9 loop while 17 is needed to get you to amazing hole 18 and then 19 will lead you to outstanding hole 20) Many of the holes are memorable but outside of the woods holes along the stream 14-16 I felt as if there was no really scary blow up my scorecard holes here. For a course to get into the perfection range I have to be challenged outside my comfort zone and quite frankly this amateurish player was quite comfortable most of the day. Some food for thought, most championship gold level courses are designed as 7-10,000 feet with varied terrain and elevations over 18 holes. This one squeezes 24 holes under 8,000 feet. So while it has all types of shots and plenty of fun here. Nothing is going to really challenge you or force you to attempt something beyond your abilities. I list this as a con as I think a top course should be enjoyable but at times should be overwhelming. This one is more just enjoyable than challenging. (to designers credit none of the shots felt stretched out to add pro distance or artificially challenging with gimicks to raise par)
Other Thoughts: It's fun to watch your discs fly over those kentucky hills. Particularly enjoyed that 4 of the open shots were downhill drives. I can't help but think this might be the best course I ever played if some of the similiar holes were altered/joined/scrapped and maybe a few longer walks along with some lengthening of certain holes were redone and suddenly rather than a moderately challenging yet fun 24 hole course there could be an equally fun but very challenging 18 hole championship caliber course here. Probably the best overall course in the Cinncinatti area (gasp! blasphemy)

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 What a great course

1    3/15/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: otter420
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: Love the holes that wind throughout the woods, and along the sides of the hills. very hard in places, but still enjoyable..i wouldn't change anything
Other Thoughts: the running stream throughout gives it a zen like quality, almost relaxing

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.