Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
4 / 317ft.   3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 104
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11
Nice mix of holes

5+    5/18/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: Jowsepi
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 24 unique holes. Good variety of wooded and open holes. All of the tee pads are in great shape and the course is played a lot so the maintenance and upkeep are well taken care of.
Cons: There are a lot of hills to walk, so if you are not in that great of shape it could it could be a challenge to walk. (Not a con for the course really, a con for you) This course gets a lot of play so it could get busy on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: One of the top 5 courses in the greater Cincinnati area. It is a must play if you visit the area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My favorite Cinci course

5+    3/29/2016   3/29/2016
Review By: Pstreby
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: 24 holes with a great variety of elevation, distance and tightness. A few fun water hazards. The rough is pretty bare and there's some fresh mulch down on most of the course.
Cons: Can be very muddy and wet in spots

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Loved It!

1    2/29/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: kindableu
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great mix of hole types from open fairways to tightly wooded holes, and all sorts of elevation changes
-Playable for beginners, but experts won't be bored. This is a fair course and not one that punishes you
Cons: -The last few holes drag a bit, and pale in comparison to the earlier ones
-Signage was good, but it still could get a little confusing as far as pin placement
Other Thoughts: I'm still amazed at the variety of holes this course offers. To have some very open shots paired with such tightly wooded holes is still mind boggling. It feels like you are almost in two completely different settings as you move from rolling hills of green to dense forest along streams.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Northern KY Course!

2-4    2/26/2016   2/26/2016
Review By: zebrasky
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has so many positives. First of all, the shot variety is tremendous. At no point do you feel like the course is repetitive, considering the array of hole types. You have downhill bombs, heavily wooded and narrow alleys, wide open field drives, and many others in between. The rough is pretty manageable, especially since it is towards the end of winter. In the spring and summer, I imagine it becomes a bit more rough. The hazards are well thought and play an important part on many of the holes.
Also, the signage and layout of the course is expertly done. Everything flows nicely, and is clearly marked for the majority of the course. Just remember to cross the road after hole 21 (just behind the hole 24 teebox) to get to 22 and 23, before coming back across for hole 24.
The park that the course is located in is extremely scenic. The forested hills, rolling open fields, and scenic waterways make for very attractive play. As is the case with many disc golf courses, when walking through the course at Lincoln Ridge it is equally as enjoyable to take in your surroundings and environment as it is to play a round. Love this course!
Cons: There aren't many bad things to say about Lincoln Ridge. There are a couple tee pads that could use some love. For example, on a few there is uneven or missing concrete.
Several of the holes are par four and hole 24 is a par five, but the course is best played as all par three. Most of the par four holes are under 400 feet and if you are past the beginner level by any margin, you should consider playing all par three. This is not really a negative aspect of the course, though. Just preferential.
Other Thoughts: Play this course any time you get the chance. Cincinnati and Northern KY are known for having excellent disc golf courses, along with Mt. Airy (Cincinnati, Oh) and Idlewild (Burlington, Ky), I would say Lincoln Ridge is in the top tier of this region's course options.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

very fun course

1    2/6/2016   2/8/2016
Review By: IndyTyler
Played: 104  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots and hole distances. Nothing here felt repetitive. 24 holes of fun challenging golf.
Cons: Some of the tee pads need some work done to them. Hole #5 stands out in my mind the most. The course could use some numbers on the baskets and navigation arrows on the poles to show you where to go. After I played it once it's not hard to navigate but the first time was confusing in a few areas. The area that stands out the most is between hole 4 and 5. You have to cross a parking lot and you can't see the tee sign for hole 5 unless you walk half way across the lot.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely play here again and I look forward to playing here in the future. Definitely a course worthy of a day trip from pretty much anywhere in the states. I would give it a higher rating if there were navigational signs, numbers on the baskets and all the tee pads were in great shape.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just get here and throw!

1    5/22/2015   1/26/2016
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to begin!

This course seemingly has it all:

To get amenities out of the way, the course has no shortage of benches and trash bins, which definitely helped lend to the very well-kept nature of the course.
The upkeep/maintenance here seemed definitely top notch, which is a huge plus.

- 24 Holes, equipped with Chainstar baskets, all holding up very well. The use of elevation and variety of terrain here is top notch in my opinion. There are multiple pin positions for some holes, allowing for a nice mix.

- An absolute great mix of open and wooded holes. You will need to be able to bring your A-Game in terms of longer drives for some holes, and the ability to throw tight lines in the wooded areas. With all that mind, with the varying pin position, putting and the strategy you use will be crucial, as huge rollaways are possible if not careful. Water also comes into play in a few spots, presenting some chances at risk/reward. You will be using all the shots in your arsenal, and having a blast doing it.

- Each hole has concrete pads, with a few having more than one tee - which offers different looks at the basket in terms of lower/higher positions. (I thought this was a neat feature)

- Signage for the teepads were pretty solid, explained par, distance and hole number.

Lincoln Ridge is located within a ~30 Minute drive from Idlewild, another must play course in Kentucky.
Cons: - Some 'fairways' are relatively close to others, which could possibly lead to shanked drives crossing over into other holes, especially with the first few holes, which can lead to safety concerns (Still not enough to really take away from the overall course rating, just exercise caution)

- In terms of navigation, we could have used a few more pointers in the right direction for the next tee. While we were never lost, routing was a bit off in a few spots. (Especially on some of the longer transitions)

- Some rough contains poison Ivy, so be careful if you're wandering off the fairway for discs.
Other Thoughts: It is so easy for me to say that Lincoln Ridge is easily in my 'Top 5 courses played' list - and I would give anything for it to be my home course. Other courses could take a page from Lincoln Ridge's book, as it was just that much fun. It is hard to believe that this course is over 30+ years old, and still offers so much. I almost listed the amount of traffic at this course under the 'Con' section, but really that traffic is just attributed to how amazing this place truly is.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Just crazy fun!

1    6/10/2015   12/3/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 227  Reviewed: 152  Exp: 4.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lincoln Ridge is a 24 hole course set in Independence, KY, not too far from Idlewild.

Chainstar baskets, all in good repair, and caught well. Some really nice pin positions in dangerous positions. Death putts abound if you're overly aggressive. Lots of risk/reward around the greens here. Some holes have multiple pin positions.

Nice concrete tee pads, which were in good repair. Some holes have multiple tees, which were explained to us more as upper/lower than long/short. Plenty long, grippy and workable.

This is just fantastic golf. There's holes here that I dream about going back to play. Want to start with a nice downhill throw? Check. Want to end with a big downhill bomber? Yep, they've got that, too. You like short, technical ace runs? You're in luck. How about some long, tight, wooded hucks? Oh yeah. Throw in some open holes, and you've pretty much checked every throw on the shot list.

Great rolling elevation in play over darn near the whole course. Hole 14 is the hole I always think back to. Almost straight downhill, not long, with a huge ravine behind the basket. Too awesome.

Water in play on a few holes. Nothing too crazy bad, but if you go in the water on 22, you're probably out of luck.

Lots of trash cans and benches, which is a nice touch.

Decent tee signs, with all the info you need.
Cons: There's not much to pick at here. Maybe it could use more pin positions and extra tee pads on some holes.

Navigation can get a little wonky, especially in the earlier holes. It's pretty easy to get turned around. A few next tee signs would go a long way, especially when you need to cross a large parking lot to find a tee.

This place is busy, for good reason. Expect backups on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: This place is just plain fun. It's what disc golf is supposed to feel like. You'll throw damn near every disc you can carry. You'll be challenged. If I lived close, this would be the place I'd play at all the damn time, because it's just that good.

If you're in the area and don't play here, you're a moron. Just get out there and frolf, brau. You won't regret it.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

is there a downside?

1    5/25/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: numbernine
Played: 59  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 holes of brilliant disc golf, set in one of the most manicured parks that I have ever set foot in. I'm going to struggle to find a downside, but I'll nitpick and get there.

Baskets - Some of my favorite baskets on earth. I don't know why I love these Chainstars so much. I don't feel like I ever get spit outs on these things. the ones at Lincoln Ridge are no different.
I think that there are two placements for each basket as well. I am not sure, as I don't remember every hole off of the top of my head, but at least most do,.

Tee pads - every tee pad is level and beautifully done. Most of the are manicured with mulch and the occasional flower or two. All of the concrete is uncracked and not broken or rolling. I was surprised at how well all of these were done. Even the ones in the woods.

Shot types- I can't think of something that Lincoln Ridge does not have. Giant, huge, hyzer bombs. Short, sweeping anny shots. Roll away greens. Enormous putter shots from 350 feet away. pinpoint accuracy tunnel shots. It really is a course that is going to make you a better golfer for having played it.

the park - unmatched in how nice it is. the grass was golf course manicured in most places. no weeds in the fairways, no trash on the ground and no unpleasant graffiti or vandalism. what a great place to be and to be playing disc golf.

signs - every tee pad has a great sign that shows you precisely where you are going. all of them are clear and leave the golfer with no questions about the shot.

x factors - this is where Lincoln Ridge shines. There is a bench and a trash can on 90% of the holes out there,. There are multiple tee pads on a couple of the holes. There are so many amazing shots that I don't know if there is a signature hole. Maybe hole 24 with the ENORMOUS downhill shot from the road.
The elevation changes are second to none.
And most of all, it's just a beautiful course. It really is nice to just sit and look at most of the course.
Oh, and it really is the most fun I have had playing disc golf in a very long time. So much fun.
Cons: Nit picking here, but the place could have used a "next tee" sign in a couple of places. I wasn't sure where to go after 21 for a minute, but we got it figured out.

it was SUPER crowded when we played there. is that a con though? Again, nitpicking. But I suppose this would make your experience different.
Other Thoughts: Just go play this place. It's fun and there aren't many things to find wrong here.
Honestly, I can't imagine someone not having a great time at Lincoln ridge.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Lincoln is Idlewild's father!

1    6/27/2014   1/4/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 157  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 9.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 Chainstar baskets, concrete tees and nice tee signs. I think a couple holes had dual tees and most holes had multiple pin positions. Awesome elevation changes, wooded holes, open holes, downhill bombs, uphill bombs, short technical shots, ravine shots, fast greens and variety of par 3 golf shots with water coming into play a few times providing good risk vs reward shots. Fun factor is definitely high here and appeals to players of all skill level from novice to expert. Navigation was decent for the most part. Restrooms by parking lot.
Cons: Nothing major here. There's some poison ivy in some of the rough. Navigating from hole 4 to 5 and 21 to 22 was a little tricky. No indication of which pin the basket is in and a couple blind shots. Some of the concrete tees were showing age. A couple holes play a little close together and park road. Erosion on many holes due to how popular and old the course is and having only one tee per hole. Course gets crowded because it's so fun.
Other Thoughts: Lincoln Ridge is the course that fathered Idlewild into the next generation and evolution of disc golf even through many of the people that love Lincoln believe Idlewild is a bastard! I can't believe Lincoln Ridge is over 30 years old, and it seems to have been far ahead of it's time. If I was still a beginner or playing Lincoln 20 or 30 years ago this would probably be 5 disc rating for me. The course still has an old school feel to it with it being all par 3 golf, but it's fun factor is still extremely high and the golf shots are filled with great risk vs reward. Being such a fun and varied course attracts the crowds which can become a negative thing. I played here right after Idlewild on a 90+ degree day and I was the only person playing Idlewild, but when I got to Lincoln there were droves of people playing from all different skill levels. As if playing Idlewild in this heat didn't already have my legs feeling like jello, Lincoln has just as much elevation if not more. I was dragging my legs through the last couple holes here, but it was still fun. Lincoln Ridge is definitely a must play in the greater Cincy area!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Busy course for a reason!

5+    11/1/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 319  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 24 holes!
Short and wooded, long and open, elevation.
This course is one of the busiest in the area for a reason: it has it all and is fun!
Ending a round on Hole 24 with a massive bomb off the elevated tee always makes me want to come back!
Cons: Unless you play early on a weekday, there will be a lot of waiting as the course is usually crowded.

I'm not a big fan of the alternate basket position on hole 1 that's longer and to the right. I feel it plays too close to hole 2's fairway and 9's basket. Plus it doesn't have that ace run appeal off the tee for the start of a round!

The steep hillside on the creek holes can be really slick. Once broke my middle finger falling there!
Other Thoughts: This is one of several must play courses in the Cincinnati area (with Mt. Airy, Idlewild, and Osage Grove).

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.