Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 201ft.   3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 92
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My top course

2-4    6/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: kmrynders
Played: 73  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.1 Years
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I can confidently say this is my favorite course I've played to date.

Tees, Signs, and baskets are all in great condition. Garbage cans on many holes.

This course will blow you away from the start. The general flow of the course is greatůsave for the odd walk from hole 4 to hole 5 and 6. Head over the parking lot to reach these holes.

This course has everything you could want. Diverse holes and all types of shots. Elevation, water, long, short, lefty, righty, everything is involved. This course will challenge you with risk/reward shots that will keep you coming back. Getting a few birdies isn't too tough, but getting those birdies that are just out of reach will make you addicted to this course.

Most holes are picturesque to the point that, if it's your first time playing the course, you'll stand on the tee and just want to soak in the beauty. There are a handful of holes in the woods that my friends and I just stopped playing and hung out for a while. The grooming on the course is top notch, you'll know what disc path(s) work for the hole and the course challenges you to actually take them.

There are water hazards which add to that whole risk/reward mentality.

All types of players will enjoy playing here. The course isn't just for the seasoned veteran, but if you play here often you will for sure become one. Even the amateur player can grab a few birdies and be happy with their play, while the veterans can strive to hit a double digit negative score.
Cons: I guess the course could get a little crowded, but being a 24 hole course you shouldn't really have too much of a backup. No other real cons, bring a course mapů? It'll help if you get turned around, but you really don't need one if you are paying attention.
Other Thoughts:

This is the course I wish I had as my home course. There really isn't much that could be done to make this course any better than it already is. Play it once and you'll love it. It has everything a golfer could ask for.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 a fun course

5+    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: jrrphil
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is at times very challenging, but at the same time it can be played by everyone; beginners, intermediate, and advanced. It has very wide open holes and very tight shots. It is fair to every type of player and does not favor a specific player. It helps to have a strong arm, but it isn't necessary. I love the course because every hole is unique. It is as if God designed the land for a disc golf course. The designer used the land and put a lot of thought into each hole
Cons: Alternate tees and holes exist on many holes. I think if you play the alternate holes than the course ends up being 18 holes. A few next hole signs by baskets would make things so much better for people new to the course. Holes 5 and 6 are reached by going across a parking lot, but most people seem to skip them.
Other Thoughts: The course is 24 holes, going up and in, down and back out of the woods, so it can take 2 plus hours to play. It is very clean, but it would help if everyone used the trash cans. People take good care of the course. In NKY this is probably the 2nd best course to play next to Idlewild, but consider playing this course over Idlewild if you aren't very, very good because although neither are for the faint of heart, Idlewild can end up being a very bad day. At Banklick/Lincoln Ridge I feel you are guaranteed to have a great time even on an off day.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 idlewild's BIG brother

1    8/24/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: xs9095
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.2 Years
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: nice layout,easy to find your way from one hole to another. not alot of thick underbrush to lose a disk. 24 holes!
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: fun factor of 4.5 out of 5 IMO the fun factor is everything. im not one of those guys with 30 disks in a bag,and I dont play tourneys. I play for FUN. i would never travel back to this part of the country for idlewild,but i would for this course.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and FUN!

1    7/3/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: Cobra165
Played: 100  Reviewed: 10
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost every hole is unique. Never a dull moment. Major elevation changes, and some terrific downhill holes. Slightly rocky terrain. Holes designed by someone with an imagination and a purpose. Holes are challenging but always fair, with actual fairways and routes to holes, even in the woods. Very little poke-and-hope. Easy to navigate. Very fun course.
Cons: A couple of cracked tees, but only on short holes where run-up is not needed. A very minor quibble.
Other Thoughts: This course has the one thing that its big brother Idlewild lacks: FUN. Play Idlewild first (a great course too), then come here, and you'll see what I mean. I played with a couple of accommodating locals who showed me around. It was pretty crowded but everyone was cool and courteous. I'm also struck by the seeming lack of vandalism at this course. The locals seem to take pride in their courses. Great to see that. Whoever designed this course knew what they were doing. Granted, they had a fantastic piece of land to work with, but they still had to come up with a layout that utilized the land, and they did a magnificent job. Uphill, downhill (some of the funnest downhills I've ever played), side-hill, you name it. From the first hole, you know you're in for a treat: tee off on a wide open downhill that finishes in the dark woods. It looks a little daunting from the tee, but what a fun hole to start out with! If I have to pick a favorite, it's hole 21(?), which plays along the side of a big hill that slopes down to a pond. There is a building on the right (don't worry--the windows are plexi) which you have to bend your drive around, and if you don't stick the shot, it can roll down into the pond. Your upshot plays through a copse of trees to the basket that waits at the top of the hill. Just beautiful, and very imaginative. This picturesque hole is indicative of the entire course. I wish I could have played it again, but since I play on mostly flat courses in central Illinois, 24 holes up and down these hills had worn me out. Can't wait to go back!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/8/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout-
Good variety here from tightly wooded to mostly wide open. The pin placements with the hills make elevation a factor on alot of holes. Also I would say this course favors "big arm" players, but it will give anyone a challenge.

Course maintenance-
Every hole has nice sized concrete tee pads. Benches and trash cans add to the good maintenance. Overall the park looked really nice, I didnt see one piece of trash on the ground through out the whole course.
Cons:
-Not to many cons here. There were a couple tee signs that needed to be replaced and "next tee" arrows could help in a couple spots.

-Also it was a little busy when I played and we got held up at a few holes.
Other Thoughts:
-Overall this was a great course! Makes for a GREAT day of disc to play here along with idlewild! The people who live in the area are very lucky to have 2 world class courses so close to each other.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play!

1    5/1/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: Rudy W
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2009
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 27 Beautiful and varying holes. Challenging yet accessible. Great mix of open holes, wooded holes, and elevation changes (one in particular you will definitely remember! I'll leave it to you to discover this one) You WILL remember this course and want to come back. Full restroom facilities, picnic tables, etc. Water fountains!!
Cons: One or two holes were not immediately clear on where the next tee was located. You could argue some of the basket locations are unfair, but I still enjoyed the challenge!
Other Thoughts: If you're playing Idlewild make sure you plan another 2 hours to play this course. Only 20 minutes from Idlewild it will definitely make your golf trip a complete day!

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 HBB (Home Boy Bias)

5+    6/24/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've been waiting to review one of my home courses for a long time. I wanted to clear the aura of Home Boy Bias from my mind before writing this review...and I'll try my best to do it objectively.

I've played ~70 courses including temp courses that aren't listed on this site. Lincoln Ridge...Banklick...is probably the perfect course for every day play. It offers such a wide variety of shots on its 24 hole layout that you can practice for any out of town tournament here. It offers challenge to any level of player. From the beginner to the seasoned Pro. Yes, a beginner has their improvement sights set on even par...and the seasoned pro has their sights set on -16...but it is both a challenge and a very fun course to play.

Hole #1 & #2 are sort of unique in a way that they allow you to throw for distance downhill right from the start...you get your arm loosened up without having to really bomb on a long hole like some courses...your line must be true but you do have room for error. Hole #3 is a true 300+ ft Hyzer shot but if you have a late skip you are deep in the woods. #4 is a nice little ace run with a putter or mid.

Holes #5 & #6 are the newest holes and offer tight wooded holes that can be considered Par 4's for Intermediates and below. #7 is a downhill wooded ace run that is tight wooded with a risk of blowing past the basket and deep into a runoff creek.

#8 is a hole that brings debate. It is a hyzer shot that keeps going left. Some people try to throw overstable here while others say you have to hyzer understable and let it ride the curve. It is a shot that you must master because this is a must deuce hole in order to cash.

#9 offers a lefty and righty approach and for me it is the perfect Drone or Gator shot.

#10 starts the pins with alternate tees. We call them 'uppers' and 'lowers' eventhough some are actually short or long. #10 lower and #10 upper are two completely different shots.

#11 and #12 give you a chance to unload on a wide open hole...while #13 is a 300ft control drive with a sharp drop off 30ft past the basket.

#14-16 are 'the creek holes'. #14 is a sharp decline downhill that many throw a putter on...blow by...and have to dig their putter out of the creek 150ft past the basket. Try a thumber here and be surprised. #15 & #16 have both a creek..and a sharp drop off to the right....even if you hit on the left on the hill side...don't be surprised if your disc rolls down into the creek.

#17 is a great long tight forehand shot. You can try a backhand turn over here...but there are a few mature trees to the left that make that interesting.

#18 is a short shot over a big gulley..hidden to the right behind some trees. A Comet is a nice ace run while a forehand predator is a gimme deuce. #19 has uppers and lowers and make two completely different shots.

#20 is a blind hole. You stand on a very nice teepad with large granite riprap rocks protecting against errosion. the fairway falls below you to a heavily wooded creek and then back up a clearing. The first time you play you can't see a 'fair' way...however if you walk to the creek and look backwards you will see there is a line there and it is a simple Comet or forehand shot. If you have a big arm...try going over the trees.

#21 has an upper and a lower tee. The upper tee is a long...long...turn over shot that has trees protecting at about 350 feet with a sharp incline up to the basket. There is a pond to the left that loves to swallow those turnover shots that turn into nose up hyzers.

#22 and #23 are called the 'bowl holes'...because they play down into and up and out of a bowl. #22 is a 300ft Buzzz ace run that is a must deuce. #23 is a long hard pull up hill that is a must deuce for big arms and will humble short arm folks.

#24 is a 500ft downhill pull with that same pond on #21 to the left and the park entrance road to the right. A few strategic trees midway and around the basket make this a very tough hole. Simple throw as hard as you can and see if you got the ump!! to get it there.

As of a few weeks ago...new high quality benches on most holes. The upkeep of the park is phenomenal. It has real restrooms. It has a practice basket at the parking lot with plenty of room for multiple people to practice. It does a really good job of separating disc golf from the other park amenities for safety. It has quality baskets.
Cons: Being a home boy you can see the cons easier than most out of towners. Yes, you may have rose colored glasses but like your own home...you can see things others wouldn't see because you notice every little detail.

Here..the cons are it is heavily played and that certain element refuses to throw their blue beer cans into the green trash cans...thus..if you throw a blue disc off the tee..it can be hard to find if you hit the shule. We constantly clean up others mess..but atleast we do clean up. Some of the teepads are missing the back right corner where most of us start our run up.

Hole #14 needs erosion control around the basket to control erosion ofcourse but also to create a fair landing zone. Some approach layups simple jump up on the roots and roll down the hill 100ft. The steps leading down to #15 are getting old and are dangerous in wet conditions. #16 to #17..."Fat Man's Misery" steps need some serious work as does the bridge on #7.
Other Thoughts: If Idlewild weren't down the street and I didn't know what a 5 was...I would rate this course a 5 even with its flaws. It is more of a 4.8 than a 4.5. With some cosmetic work this could be a 5. The layout is wonderful. The shot selection is wonderful. The use of terrain and foilage is wonderful.

If you ever come to the Northern Kentucky/Cincy area this is a must play course. Most will find this park much more enjoyable to play than Idlewild...while Idlewild is a masterpiece...it is designed to push the pro player...Banklick....err...Lincoln Ridge is designed to challenge everyone.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lincoln Ridge (aka Banklick) is a fun, challenging, picturesque course. It has lots of elevation changes, a superb mix open and wooded, long and short, hyzer, straight and anhyzer. There is a creek bed in play on three holes and a couple small ponds to think about on a few other holes. A few of the holes have multiple tee pads and pin placements which really change the shot. Birdie opportunities are there on the majority of the course, but you've got to work hard to get of them.

The tee signs and pads are in relatively good shape. There are 5 gallon trash buckets by many of the pads. This is a great course and is well taken care of by the locals.
Cons: Really not much to speak of. The course is pretty easy to navigate but a directional sign would be nice to point you from 4 to 5 and from 21 to 22.

The ground has been dry every time I've played here so I didn't have any problems slipping. I see how it might be an issue after some rain, but it's an issue for any course with good elevation changes really.
Other Thoughts: With Idlewild close by, these two courses make for a great pairing and full day of disc golf.

The Disc N Dat store is close by with an outstanding selection of discs for sale.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 my little piece of heaven...BANKLICK

5+    6/2/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: twentiesmrclean24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: played here since high school, it has everything righties, lefties , long par fours , decent par threes..definately a place where you can start just playing three's....great place for beginners and moderate players
Cons: gets sorta stuffy b/c its a great place to play, there are two holes on the other side of a parking lot that are easily overlooked but they are pretty hard
Other Thoughts: love this place although the drink machine is broken

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.9 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lincoln Ridge disc golf course is a well-designed, well-maintained course that is both fun and challenging. The essentials for a great course are all here. The course uses Chainstar baskets that are in great shape with multiple pin positions on several holes, level concrete tee pads (mutiple tees on a few holes), and nice tee signs on all holes that accurately represent the layout of the hole.

The course flows great from hole to hole, and navigation is relatively simple. The course is comprised of two loops that each return back to the main parking area, the first loop: holes 1-11, and the second loop: holes 12-24. There are no crossing fairways, but there are a couple of fairways/tees in close proximity. The fairway for Hole11 and Hole12 parallel each other in opposite directions, and the tee for Hole 13 and Hole20 are potentially in play from the tee on Hole12, so be aware of other players in these areas. All of the fairways are well-defined, and are clearly noted on the signs. There is some underbrush and overgrowth, but only outside of the fairways. If you stay in/near the fairway, this will not be an issue. Benches and Trash receptacles are located appropriately around the course.

The course layout is fantastic! There are lots of trees/tree lines that are utilized effectively to create defined fairways which offer gentle and more severe hyzer/anhyzer shots. The slopes and elevation changes are amazing throughout the course, and help to create some asthetically pleasing and challenging tee shots. The entrance road to the park plays OB on 4 of the holes. Three of these holes require a right to left shot that starts out over the road and fade/turn (RH/LH) back to the basket. Missing your line here will either put you in the trees or OB for a one stroke penalty. The designer/s did a great job of creating a variety in the length of holes and types of shots as you play through the course. There are several tight and challenging fairways, but none of them are unfair, and a few longer (350+ft ) more open holes to let you stretch out your arm a bit.

Overall, the course provides ample challenge for players of all levels. There are plenty of risk/reward holes at Lincoln Ridge, another great feature of the course. Accuracy and distance control are most important here. A well placed tee shot can help keep the scores low, but bad placement off the tee and over-throwing some of the pin locations can get you in trouble fast. This is without a doubt one of the most visually appealing courses I have ever played.
Cons: There isn't much to put in the cons section. I will mention a few things to be aware of, but these are not necessariy "flaws" of the course. A couple of areas may be confusing to navigate for a first-timer, but the course map is excellent, I would suggest printing a copy to take with you if you are going to play. (Link below, and on the "Links/Files" tab in the DGCR course homepage) There are some steep elevations (up & down) to navigate. The course was dry when I played, so it wasn't a big deal, but I can see how getting around could be a little difficult in wet/raining conditions. This is a popular course, and can get very crowded, but the locals were very nice and let me play through on several of the holes. The extra 6 holes help to keep players scattered and help to eliminate back-ups on the course. The last thing is pin placement, some of the pins are not visible from the tee, and there is no way to identify which position the basket is suppose to be in for holes with multiple positions, this seems to be a very common issue with most courses.

Course Map: http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../e7979942.gif
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely on my "favorites" list, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. A fantastic DG experience for me from start to finish. If you are looking for a visually appealing, well-maintained course that is both fun and challenging, then this is exactly what you are looking for.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.