Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
4 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 94
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 my little piece of heaven...BANKLICK

5+    6/2/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: twentiesmrclean24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: played here since high school, it has everything righties, lefties , long par fours , decent par threes..definately a place where you can start just playing three's....great place for beginners and moderate players
Cons: gets sorta stuffy b/c its a great place to play, there are two holes on the other side of a parking lot that are easily overlooked but they are pretty hard
Other Thoughts: love this place although the drink machine is broken

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.1 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lincoln Ridge disc golf course is a well-designed, well-maintained course that is both fun and challenging. The essentials for a great course are all here. The course uses Chainstar baskets that are in great shape with multiple pin positions on several holes, level concrete tee pads (mutiple tees on a few holes), and nice tee signs on all holes that accurately represent the layout of the hole.

The course flows great from hole to hole, and navigation is relatively simple. The course is comprised of two loops that each return back to the main parking area, the first loop: holes 1-11, and the second loop: holes 12-24. There are no crossing fairways, but there are a couple of fairways/tees in close proximity. The fairway for Hole11 and Hole12 parallel each other in opposite directions, and the tee for Hole 13 and Hole20 are potentially in play from the tee on Hole12, so be aware of other players in these areas. All of the fairways are well-defined, and are clearly noted on the signs. There is some underbrush and overgrowth, but only outside of the fairways. If you stay in/near the fairway, this will not be an issue. Benches and Trash receptacles are located appropriately around the course.

The course layout is fantastic! There are lots of trees/tree lines that are utilized effectively to create defined fairways which offer gentle and more severe hyzer/anhyzer shots. The slopes and elevation changes are amazing throughout the course, and help to create some asthetically pleasing and challenging tee shots. The entrance road to the park plays OB on 4 of the holes. Three of these holes require a right to left shot that starts out over the road and fade/turn (RH/LH) back to the basket. Missing your line here will either put you in the trees or OB for a one stroke penalty. The designer/s did a great job of creating a variety in the length of holes and types of shots as you play through the course. There are several tight and challenging fairways, but none of them are unfair, and a few longer (350+ft ) more open holes to let you stretch out your arm a bit.

Overall, the course provides ample challenge for players of all levels. There are plenty of risk/reward holes at Lincoln Ridge, another great feature of the course. Accuracy and distance control are most important here. A well placed tee shot can help keep the scores low, but bad placement off the tee and over-throwing some of the pin locations can get you in trouble fast. This is without a doubt one of the most visually appealing courses I have ever played.
Cons: There isn't much to put in the cons section. I will mention a few things to be aware of, but these are not necessariy "flaws" of the course. A couple of areas may be confusing to navigate for a first-timer, but the course map is excellent, I would suggest printing a copy to take with you if you are going to play. (Link below, and on the "Links/Files" tab in the DGCR course homepage) There are some steep elevations (up & down) to navigate. The course was dry when I played, so it wasn't a big deal, but I can see how getting around could be a little difficult in wet/raining conditions. This is a popular course, and can get very crowded, but the locals were very nice and let me play through on several of the holes. The extra 6 holes help to keep players scattered and help to eliminate back-ups on the course. The last thing is pin placement, some of the pins are not visible from the tee, and there is no way to identify which position the basket is suppose to be in for holes with multiple positions, this seems to be a very common issue with most courses.

Course Map: http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../e7979942.gif
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely on my "favorites" list, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. A fantastic DG experience for me from start to finish. If you are looking for a visually appealing, well-maintained course that is both fun and challenging, then this is exactly what you are looking for.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic course!

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was one of the most enjoyable I've played. It really felt like it had everything, from open bombs to tightly wooded technical holes. The design forces you to use just about every kind of shot to be successful, and mixes different types of holes through the entire course.

There were very few flat holes on the course, and the elevation changes were used brilliantly throughout, both in the woods and out in the open. The park is well-maintained, with nicely mowed grass on the field shots, and very well kept fairways in the woods.

There were a lot of people playing when we were there, but everyone we ran into was very friendly, from first time discers to obviously experienced players. Though the course was busy, the flow was still mostly good, and it seems that the locals do a good job of promoting positive course etiquette.

The tees are nice large concrete pads, and were in great shape. The tee signs looked very nice and professional, and were also mostly in good shape. They were detailed enough to get around the course, and were placed so they didn't interfere with the tee. Many holes had alternate pin placements, and the locations of these were clearly indicated on the signs.
Cons: As always, when there are multiple pin positions, and the pin is not obviously visible from the tee, I really like to see a way of marking the current position. The tee signs were very easy to follow, but the various placements on some holes were different enough that it was necessary to walk up the fairway to plan the shot.
Other Thoughts: This course is extremely well kept, and overall was a fantastic disc golf experience. I would agree with people who have described it as Idlewild's little brother, as it offers much of the same variety and challenge while being a little more accessible to newer players. I would highly recommend this course if you are anywhere near the Cincinnati area.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Best in NKY

5+    5/5/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2011
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is definitely my favorite course out of the ones I've played in my main areas of play: the Greater Cincinnati and Raleigh-Durham areas. It's not overly wooded or too long, just a nice mix that rewards thoughtful play. Definitely a championship caliber course.

The holes are well designed to leave birdie chances or safe pars, if you're playing by the pars on the signs. Once you've reached a certain level you'll be scoring well on the course, -10 or more, so for a challenge play everything a 3.

Everything is well maintained and all the tee pads have signs with par, length, and a hole diagram. Many holes have alternating basket positions and some have alternate tees.

The woods holes are definitely the best designed with appropriate risk/reward. Many have several reasonable flight lines and I don't feel the course emphasizes one type of fade over another. A lot of holes are on side slopes, which make you think about your landing, and there's two short par 3's that are great downhill shots that can easily go awful if you don't execute well if you decide to go risky. There's even a couple of tunnel shots through the woods for the precision players. A small pond comes into play on a couple holes and a creek on a couple others that give some excitement. There are a few open holes to let you throw a boomer or two but don't offer as much challenge. It is a long course with 24 holes, which I find a plus, but some think it is too long.

In other words, I think the course is very well balanced and is fun for a wide range of skill levels.
Cons: Course can get fairly crowded in late afternoon and early evening as people are trying to get in rounds after work and school. Weekends can similarly become crowded, but it is all very hit or miss.

Over the last year (2010 and now into 2011) the course has gone through a couple of changes, one good and one bad. The good is that my prior complaint of undergrowth has been taken care of for the most part. On the main lines of the holes where this was a problem it has been cleared out, though a few holes still have thorn bushes and other growth if you have an errant drive. The bad change is that I feel they're trying to make the course more beginner friendly and so have taken some of the teeth out of the holes, especially the fun ones. For example, a lot of logs have been placed around landing areas for baskets, especially the two downhill par 3's mentioned in the Pros section, that take out a lot of the risk of "going for it."

Tee signs do not mark the way to the next tee so some people get confused as to where to go. See "Other Thoughts" for the worst of these.

A couple of the holes back in the woods get muddy easily and do not quickly dry out, so wear some old shoes.
Other Thoughts: The holes that are the ones most people miss are 5 & 6 and 22 & 23. When finishing hole 4, many people just skip to 7 because the tee is very close to 4's basket. To get to 5 you must actually cross the parking lot behind 4's basket. 6 is easy to find from 5 and loops back to the 7 tee. After finishing 21 you will follow the road leftwards (towards the entrance of the park). 24's tee is the next one you come across, but at this point you actually want to cross over the main road and hit 22 and 23 before crossing back over to 24.

Lincoln Ridge is a nice park with play areas, a ball field, shelters, and a large soccer field. This field is typically empty so can be used to practice your drives.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 FUN!

1    4/12/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 62  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wow. What a great course. There is everything you could want from a course here, including shot type, scenery, difficulty, cool locals and overall enjoyment. The set of holes around the creek on the back nine stand out still and I played it several weeks ago. This is a tough series of holes, with some serious side of the hill baskets and a large creek looming off to the side. It was raining buckets when I played this course (my bag didn't dry out for about a week!), and I couldn't leave, even though I had already played Idlewild that day. Really fun. Definite stop on your trip to the mecca of DG in this area....
Cons: This is a course you don't want to play in the rain, even though i did. The pads can get dangerous as some of them are perched on the sides of hills and if you fall, you're breaking something. Some of the extra holes are just pitch and putt in a field, meh.
Other Thoughts: I am lucky enough to travel around in 7 states and play a lot of courses now and this started the best two days I've ever had in my DG career: Here, Idlewild and Mt. Airy in Columbus.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A+ = Best of 160+ I Have Played So Far!

2-4    5/8/2006   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
10 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

10 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Idlewild's little brother?

1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.6 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love a course that has both open and wooded shots, and this course really delivers!

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. Mach baskets in very good condition. Tee signs are mostly there, but the map on here is more than adequate to navigate the course. Benches and trash cans abound, facilities are very nice.

I also like how there are some very challenging shots, as well as several that are deuce-able...

My memorable holes:
3 - Tight fairway with woods left and road OB right, tough to place it just right for a look at a bird.
5 - Neat big hyzer through the woods, down then back up. If you hit it just right you might hear chains.
6 - "Nedly's Revenge"...I don't know who Nedly is, but man this hole is tough! Over a ravine, then up and right over a hill, then BACK down to the right. I felt lucky to get a 5!
9 - 205 feet. Seemingly simple, but real tough to thread through the trees. Great feeling to reach the basket on this one.
14 - Not very long, but BIG downhill tree-lined shot. Don't go long though or you end up in a huge ravine.
15/16 - Hill with trees left, BIG dropoff to creek right. You really have to focus on these two to keep it straight, or you will be throwing back up from the water, or trying to clear trees to get back.
20 - down a hill and back up, but a line of trees all but blocks your path. You can lay up and hit the opening back up the hill, or go BIG thumber or tomahawk to clear the trees. Fun hole.
24 - Looking down a hill with a pond on the left, line of many big trees between the tee and the basket. Be careful! if you go high and not right enough (RHBH) you might be kissing your disc goodbye to the lake. Go right and let it fade back in.
Cons: Kind of rough terrain to negotiate. It was still a bit wet, and some grades were pretty steep, some stairs in places would really help (although some were in place).

Some more cleanup is necessary from the ice storm is needed, but they have done pretty well so far, just need some repairs to be done (i.e. the steps going from 16's basket to 17's tee).

Some of the fairways play very close to each other, so at times you have to be very aware of errant shots from other holes or you might just take one to the head.

Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 is based on the fact that the course is very fun, and well laid out. It just needs to progress in terms of being able to traverse the course more easily. Mostly though, it just wasn't terribly challenging when compared to longer more difficult course I've played like Idlewild and Renaissance Park. I feel it can get to 4.5 if worked on a little more.

Overall I feel this course is a MUST PLAY if you are coming through the area on I-71 or I-75. I feel very fortunate to have this gem only 75 minutes from my house.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Artist formally know as Banklick

1    6/1/2005   2/3/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2010
13 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is not an 18 hole course- it has 24 great holes!!! So if you like to get more from a round then this is your place. Some courses have extra holes that can actually detract from the course, but not this course- all 24 holes are sweet and make the course complete.

It is challenging, yet manageable, and there are birdie opportunities. There is a very good mix of open and wooded holes as well as left/right/straight shots required. There is quite a bit of elevation as well. It is set on a beautiful piece of land- the open grassy holes are just begging you to throw a disc on them. They are ideal for watching your disc sail through the air, then landing softly on the lush fairway. The wooded holes are fair and test your accuracy as they do have actual well-defined fairways.

I personally liked the teepad area- the concrete tees, signs, and mulch just look amazing and beg you to come throw your drive. Many of the basket locations are unique and creatively placed.
Cons: If you are an 18 hole purist then the number 24 may not sit well with you!

A stray cat followed us for around for the first 14 holes (he had a lot of energy). He was noisy meowing frequently (probably hungry and lonely) and sometimes he got in the way as he tried to walk through you legs, which is dangerous when you are trying to throw!!! (not really a con, but a funny, memorable story nonetheless.)
Other Thoughts: A must play. Check out the pictures and you will want to play here. (And the holes look 10 times better in person.) Couple it with with nearby Idlewild, it and makes for an unbelievable day of disc golf!!!

This course/park was known (and probably still is in some circles) as Banklick- until it was renamed in February '09 to Lincoln Ridge.

13 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Rip and run....

1    12/14/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Phenomenal course, long holes weaving in and out of woods. Really nice elevation changes throughout. Several tees go off near cliff size chasms of dispare. One going so far down my ears popped on my way down to the creek bed to retrieve my disc. Wonderful balance between wooded and open field holes. Several holes skirt the creek, which is deep and wide at some points. Great use of the creek as an obstacle. This course has a lot of offer in variety of shot. There are several hole where different shots can be chosen. Choice of pin placement is excellent. Very well maintained, set in a multiuse park. Easy parking, lots of refuse containers. First shot goes out over the road, nice...
Cons: Signage needed for 4 to 5..Easy to get lost as stated before. A few holes are average.
Other Thoughts: Sad that there are trash cans all over, yet people still just drop trash on the course. Did not see any public bathrooms.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Seriously, I'm from Ohio. I don't do hills.

1    11/28/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing course, beautiful elevation changes in a very nice park. Challenging lay-out that rewards great tee-shots, and punishes mistakes.

Easy to follow other than a couple tricky spots. From 4's Pin, It is very easy to walk to your left right toward 7's tee pad. Holes 5 & 6 are located up to the right, across the parking lot. The Print out a map at www.cincinnatidiscgolf.com
Cons: It's not the course's fault, but erosion has become an issue. Hills can become slippery if any moisture is present, and in this area, slippery hills are very hazardous.
Other Thoughts: Some stupid idiot jerk stole the basket from #5's basket. Stupid idiot jerk.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.