Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #24
5 / 519ft.   3 / 519ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Tee



Reviews: 96
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Rip and run....

1    12/14/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Phenomenal course, long holes weaving in and out of woods. Really nice elevation changes throughout. Several tees go off near cliff size chasms of dispare. One going so far down my ears popped on my way down to the creek bed to retrieve my disc. Wonderful balance between wooded and open field holes. Several holes skirt the creek, which is deep and wide at some points. Great use of the creek as an obstacle. This course has a lot of offer in variety of shot. There are several hole where different shots can be chosen. Choice of pin placement is excellent. Very well maintained, set in a multiuse park. Easy parking, lots of refuse containers. First shot goes out over the road, nice...
Cons: Signage needed for 4 to 5..Easy to get lost as stated before. A few holes are average.
Other Thoughts: Sad that there are trash cans all over, yet people still just drop trash on the course. Did not see any public bathrooms.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Seriously, I'm from Ohio. I don't do hills.

1    11/28/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 17 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing course, beautiful elevation changes in a very nice park. Challenging lay-out that rewards great tee-shots, and punishes mistakes.

Easy to follow other than a couple tricky spots. From 4's Pin, It is very easy to walk to your left right toward 7's tee pad. Holes 5 & 6 are located up to the right, across the parking lot. The Print out a map at www.cincinnatidiscgolf.com
Cons: It's not the course's fault, but erosion has become an issue. Hills can become slippery if any moisture is present, and in this area, slippery hills are very hazardous.
Other Thoughts: Some stupid idiot jerk stole the basket from #5's basket. Stupid idiot jerk.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

1    8/30/2008   9/2/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 24 holes. Mo holes = mo betta!

Nice variety of wooded and open holes (although many of the open holes could really benefit from a few obstacles to create some challenge).

Some unique holes, and some picturesque scenery. One hole runs along a wide creek/stream and was like none I've ever played before. Really pretty.

Very will maintained, with excellent signage and large teepads.
Cons: My biggest gripe is rather nitpicky. I found the pars to be very inconsistant. On one hand you'd play a hole ("Nedly's Revenge") that is 350' uphill, dogleg right, through moderate/heavy woods that's a par 3. Then a few holes later you're playing some 350' wide-open holes without a tree in sight that are par 4? It seems like the assigned pars were almost chosen at random in several cases.

As I mentioned earlier, there were some holes that were simply too wide open as to be interesting. A few trees here or there would help greatly on certain holes.

Elevation was almost extreme in a few cases, and I'd imagine could be even hazardous if the course was wet or muddy.
Other Thoughts: If this course was closer to me, I'd play it several times a year. As it is, I may play it as part of an annual road trip along with Idlewild.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Another GREAT Cincy course

5+    6/29/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very pretty environment. Decent flow. Boasts some of the coolest individual holes in the Cincy area. My particular favorites are the ones near the stream bed. One of them is 200+ ft. away down a steep hill, facing the stream. One bad roll and you could end up all wet at the bottom. The next hole lies directly on the side of the stream and the same OB warning applies. These are true signature holes which should not be missed.

Also, the course is 24 holes which just means more fun.
Cons: Can be busy because its so awesome. Not extremely challenging...I shot a one-over-par after 24 holes (playing everything as par 3).
Other Thoughts: Only gave this course a 4.5 because it is so close to Idlewild...there can't be two true 5-star courses within 10 miles of each other, right?

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Banklick Woods

2-4    1/10/2010   8/17/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2010
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice park. Chainstar Baskets. Mix of wooded and open holes. Combo of righty and lefty holes. Practice basket. Heavily played. River and Pond make course more intresting. Get birdies and pars....... even some aces.
Cons: 5 basket was stolen, the basket is replaced.
Other Thoughts: Few other courses such as Idlewild are nearby so if your out here play a few other courses. Great Disc Golf Course. Weekly Doubles Wed. 6pm (6 dollars entry).Also Ice Bowl #2 here. Go to http://www.cincinnatidiscgolf.com for more info. If you take a right out of the park and go to the Marathon gas station down the street they have golf discs for sale.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Always was one of my favorites

5+    7/31/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 32 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2008
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Banklick is a great course. The course design is very solid. There are only a couple holes where the tee and the pin are a little bit too close together for comfort. This course has good baskets, very good tee pads and has always had good tee signs. This course gets quite a bit of play but it's always been maintained well by the parks personel and Fred Salez. There are restrooms and a cola machine as well as a shelter that's used during tournaments. The course is not in a single use park but with the exception of a few holes it is in a portion of the park that is not used for anything but disc golf. Holes 1-3 have a small chance of finding trouble in a portion of the park that might have other traffic but it's a very small chance. This course flows very well and it is pretty easy to find all the holes. You will also have to use a good mix of power and accuracy here. This was always my favorite place to play when I lived in Cincinnati because it played to my strengths more than Mt Airy did (Idlewild didn't exist but that doesn't play to my strengths anyway). Every time I go back to Cincinnati I make a trip to Banklick to play. I've only played it once in the new 24 hole configuration.
Cons: Here's the only nit picky thing I don't like about the new Banklick layout.....

Golf courses are 9 holes or 18 holes. They are NOT 6 holes, or 13 holes, or 24 holes. There can be 27 holes in a park but that would be an 18 hole course and a 9 hole course, or three 9 hole courses. 24 holes is craziness.

I assume the reason for the new 24 hole layout is because there wanted to utilize the nice new holes after holes 4 and 15. The problem is that this caused there to be a goofy number of holes. I really wish there were 3 more good holes. In my opinion, adding a few extra holes for the sake of having extra holes is silly.
Other Thoughts: A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect compliment to Idlewild

7/2/2008   7/4/2008
Review By: Greg Boyer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.1 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes. 24 but not as long to play as Idlewild. Very well maintained.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: The only way Banklick and Idlewild could be improved is with DiscCatcher baskets. But the current ones aren't bad either. I just think the yellow bands across the top make them easier to spot from a distance. Perfect DG road trip:stay in Florence,KY-Idlewild & Banklick both 15 min. away, Mt. Airy 20, great store (Disc n Dat) in town.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/24/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 95  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2010
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -The park is very well kept. Trash cans on most every teepad. Grass cut. mulch laid yearly on wooded holes.
-The course has plenty of variety, seems to favor RHBH players, but lots of woods open and doglegs in both directions.
-24 holes makes it longer and more fun.
-Great course for beginers and meds but pros will easily shoot ten down.
-Elevation change is huge on more than a couple holes.
Cons: -Lots of traffic
-Parking lot can be crowded around baseball season.
-A couple cracked tees back in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play a great course that gives you all you could want. It only has one or two 450+ holes so its not the longest out there, but it has lots of great elevation and variety. The course is very well groomed.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The hills are alive with the sound of chains

5/23/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 283  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 13 Years
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Banklick will have you going in and out of the woods over all sorts of elevation in a beautifully maintained and manicured park. If there is ever a roller coaster based on a disc golf course, this course would be the perfect inspiration.
Cons: Some indication of where the next tee was located would have been helpful in navigating a few areas of the course although this is really more of a nitpick than a con.
Other Thoughts: A short disclaimer: I was only able to play 1-19 as a monsoon decided to move in around #18.

With that said, every hole on this course was enjoyable. Short, long, wooded, open.. there is something here for every type of player.

There are quite a few stand out holes with #14 sticking out in my mind at the moment. You throw from the top of a very steep hill littered with trees towards a basket placed on the corner of a very deep creek bed. Even the lightest touch could put you in the creek but you won't care since you'll be having too much fun throwing the rest of your discs down the hill!

I could go on and on telling you about how great this course is but I think I'll sum it up quickly so you can get started on planning your trip here. This course was an absolute blast to play and I very highly recommend you play it if you're in the area.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    5/24/2008   5/28/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2008
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a little of everything. Open, woods, uphill, downhill, water, short, and long. If you can think of it this course has it. There are several holes that require shots that you are just not going to get to try very ofter. Very well maintained.
Cons: I can't think of many. A few holes in the woods have some errosion. You have to do some really steep walking, so if your not in very good shape you might have some trouble.
Other Thoughts: Great course!! My favorite in the area even though everyone else seems to like idlewild better. I think this course is more deverse and is better suited for the average disc golfer.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.