Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 303ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 94
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Always Banklick to me!!

5+    8/20/2011   10/31/2011
Review By: Jason Kerl
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 28.2 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Having grown up 5 miles away, THIS IS THE PLACE THAT TAUGHT ME TO LOVE DISC GOLF! The original Banklick DGC was located about a half mile away, currently Fox Run Golf Course (you pass it on your way to the course on your left if coming from Turkeyfoot Rd.) The lake that you see was in the middle of the course.

On to the Pros of Lincoln Ridge: FUN FUN AND MORE FUN. Not extremely long by any means but the elevation changes bring some shots out of your bag that you don't normally get to use.

Kenton County Parks does a great job on maintaining everything in the park from the disc course, to play ground, to nice bathrooms.
Cons: My only con is that it changed names. I now refer to it as Banklick Disc Golf Course at Lincoln Ridge Park.
Other Thoughts: If you are in town this is a must play as well at Idlewild, and Mt. Airy in Cincinnati

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Par 3 golf at its finest

5+    9/27/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 170  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has fantastic variety and shot selection. Most of us wont be able to reach every pin from the tee. You will need to shape and land some nice approach shots. If you want deuces, your putting had better be in order.

The park is perfect for disc. The elevation is top shelf. There are multiple upshots and sail shots. The density is ideal. The flow is perfect IMO. This course never feels monotonous. It constantly winds you through varying terrain. Be prepared for a bit of a hike.

You will be rewarded for a balanced game. The layout calls for finesse, power, annys, darts and hyzers. I don't feel this course leans in any direction. Yes, there are some wide open holes, but they are complimented by some technical holes. I'd say this course is split by thirds. One third is relatively open. One third is moderately wooded and one third is tight and technical.

I know this is a debatable point, but this course is extremely high in the fun factor. It will take skill and technique to score well, but it wont beat you down. Beginners can enjoy a good time here. Advanced players will be excited to bank some deuces.
Cons: The only thing this course lacks is significant par 4's. Hole #6 is my fav hole. It is also the closest to a true par 4 on the course. If there were a few more of these, it would be a 5.0 rating and worthy of knocking Idlewild from the Kentucky pedistal.

The signage is in relatively poor shape. However, with a step or two, you can see most pins from the tee.

Navigation is typically smooth, but be aware of holes 4-5. You will need to cross the parking lot after 4 to reach 5. There are no signs directing you.
Other Thoughts: This course is more than a pitch and putt. To lower this course to that level is a great disrespect to its design, terrain and challenge.

As far as par three courses go, this is elite level. The course is over 7000ft. in length. The holes are balanced in the following lengths;

<200ft. = 1 hole
200ft - 300ft = 9 holes
300ft - 400ft = 12 holes
>400ft = 2 holes

Good times await.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Formerly Banklick Woods

5+    9/4/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: Stizall
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great course for all types of players. Challenging for the begginers and Relaxing or the More advanced
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc so choice is imperative, Is a hike and can be exhausting if your a little out of shape.
Other Thoughts: Learning how to play on this course I will never say anything bad about this course but you should have a great time period.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Over the Hills and Through the Woods

1    9/4/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 167  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Marvelous terrain for disc golf: great elevation changes, wonderfully wooded holes, and a creek (or creek bed when dry) combine for some naturally spectacular landscapes and quality discing. Every bit as aesthetically appealing as it is enjoyable to play.
• Nice combo of open and well wooded fairways over 24 holes. Wind can play a big factor on several holes, while playing little to no factor on others (conveniently on those where precision is important).
• Shot variety is quite good, (but not great): long/short, uphill/downhill/ somewhat flat, (see cons) with a few blind holes as well.
• Steep inclines and drop-offs and present numerous risk/reward opportunities - makes you think about whether or not to "go for it."
• Begins and ends with memorable holes, with many interesting holes in between.
• Well designed - makes splendid use of the natural assets gracing the land on which it sits.
• Good tees and baskets with a few holes offering alternate pads and pin placements.
• Nice signs (a few missing), intuitive layout, and well-worn paths help you stay on track, but course map is always a good idea for first timers. Just remember to cross the main park road after 21 to get to 22, and cross again after 23 to get to 24.
• Neatly mowed fairways on open shots, wood chips around baskets. Garbage cans located at many (if not all) holes… I was too busy appreciating the course to notice garbage cans.
• Multi-use park is quite well maintained, and offers typical park amenities and activities: walking trails, pinic tables/pavilions, ball fields, etc.
• Clean restrooms with running water located across the parking lot from the 1st tee.
Cons: • Lacks good L/R balance, seems too RHBH friendly. Not a big factor on open holes which allow many routes to the basket, but some may find the wooded holes a bit unfair, as routes are more or less well defined.
• Several places for discs to hit rocks towards the middle of the course; scenic, but tough on plastic.
• Dry when I played, but with all the steep inclines, I can see where footing could get treacherous on a wet day.
Other Thoughts: Whether you still call it Banklick, or Lincoln Ridge, courses that are this much fun to play are the reason you bought discs in the first place; a beautiful course that plays well, is extremely inviting, offers wonderful disc play and opportunities to use a variety of shots.

In a bit of a contrast to what some others have said, I think this course is particularly well suited to recreational and intermediate players of varying abilities. Pros looking for a real challenge simply won't find it here. Likewise, I wouldn't recommend it for the most novice of players, either - other nearby courses would be far better for someone's first few rounds. That being said, Pros looking for a fun, (i.e. more relaxed) round, as well as beginners who've already logged several rounds elsewhere should really have a great time here.

Be prepared for a workout: 24 holes up, down, over and around the varied terrain will have you throwing all kinds of shots, and likely catching your breath every now and then. Leave your flip-flops at home - you'll want to wear a pair of sturdy hikers here.

Standout holes for me were:
14 - a "very short" 240' shot down a steep downhill that has a looong way to fade left to the creek/bed a long way down. Screaming to be Aced… easier said than done.
15 - What a view! Runs parallel to creek/bed, with a nasty drop-off all the way down the right side of the hole. Disc, don't get squirrely on me now!
22 & 24, downhill bombs where water can come into play.

Course has aged gracefully, but you can tell some of the wooded holes have "opened" up, presenting lines that weren't there a few years ago, and erosion is showing in spots. Even so, this is still a great addition to the local scene and folks in The Nati are lucky to have this gem in their backyard!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautifully showing it's age.

5+    6/25/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: InnocentCrook
Played: 84  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best maintained parks I've ever been to. Kenton County Parks Dept. does an amazing job keeping this course in good shape. Wood chips are typically always refreshed when needed because they keep a huge pile on hand. (You can usually see it on the walk between holes 4 and 5.) This alone makes the wooded holes very nice to play because they usually drain well and don't get very muddy. Grass is always mowed in a timely manner.

The course features some beautifully varied terrain including everything from tight and wooded to wide open fields and everything in between. You are constantly moving up and down the rolling hills. The course also plays in and out of the woods every few holes which is nice. Most of the wooded holes are very secluded with number 6 being my favorite hole to stop and have a quick snack and just enjoy being outdoors in the woods before I tackle the rest of the round.

Excellent shot variety. Though it may favor righties a bit more, there are still plenty of holes that are more lefty friendly (6, 15, 17, and 18 come to mind). Many of the wooded holes have multiple lines to the basket, you just have to look for them. For the most part, the open holes are friendly to both left and right handed throwers. A handful of holes have multiple pin locations and several even have additional tee pads that drastically change the hole.

Very good course for a large variety of skill levels. I've come a long way since I first started playing and this course still delivers the fun factor every time out. After all the rounds here, it has yet to get the least bit boring.

Baskets are in good shape and there is a practice basket across the entrance to the parking lot from tee #1 and the info board.

Benches and full size garbage cans (emptied frequently) on almost every hole. The garbage cans really help keep the place clean and tidy. Very rarely will you see trash on the course.
Cons: Seeing as how this course is 30 years old, it is starting to show some signs of its age. Some teepads are cracked and uneven, though not unplayable, and there are some areas where erosion is becoming an issue. (Especially the holes down near the creek. 14-16) The railroad tie steps from 14 to 15 are uneven and the ones down to the creek are about useless at this point as many have slipped away.

As others have said, holes 22 and 23 don't compare favorably to the rest of the course. They aren't awful holes, just not up to the level of the rest of the course. They would be more comparable to many holes at Boone Woods Park, with just a bit more elevation. The reviewer who mentioned that it wouldn't be as noticeable if they weren't back to back was spot on. Some strategic tree planting and/or landscaping could greatly improve these two holes in the future.

This is definitely one of the most popular courses in the area and as such can be very busy during peak hours.
Other Thoughts: I've probably played this course over a hundred times because my permanent address is about a 10 minute drive to the park. My wife is a travel nurse now, so I'm moving around the country every few months or so. That said, anytime I'm back home I always make a point to play this course and Idlewild as many times as possible.

Might be a struggle if you're out of shape as many of the hills are very steep and you are constantly going up and down. Bring a light snack and plenty of water. I can't say that's a con, just the way it is.

I can only imagine how much of a beast this course must have been back in the early eighties when it was designed. New disc technologies have certainly tamed some of the longer holes to an extent and as such some of the marked pars are a bit high.

Over all, it's a great park with some nice hiking trails, sand volleyball, a baseball field, a soccer field, a couple playgrounds, picnic shelters, and restrooms open seasonally. (The parks dept. usually has a port-o-let set up in the winter which is nice.) Vending machine with drinks located at the front corner of the parking lot.

Greater Cincinnati is very lucky to have such a nice collection of courses. Along with the parks departments and a great club(GCFDA) that helps keep them in excellent shape. If you're in the area I'd also recommend Idlewild, Mt. Airy Forest, & Monroe Community Park.

The Marathon gas station at the corner of Turkeyfoot Rd. and Independence Station Rd. usually has a very small selection of Innova discs but they are pretty expensive. I'd hit up Disc N' Dat in Florence for any necessary disc related purchases. Good prices and selection, and Dan the owner is an all around great guy who does a lot in the local disc golf scene.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Loved It.

1    3/12/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 110  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
20 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Practice Basket
Concrete Tee Pads
24-Holes
Both Open and Wooded Holes
Good Use of Elevation
Well-Maintained (Tees and Signs Need Work)
Multiple Pin Positions
Bathrooms On-Site
Very Scenic
Great for All Skill Levels
Plays Away From Other Park Users
Cons:
Needs More Shot Types (Many RHBH Hyzers)
Some Tee Signs Are Damaged or Missing
Navigation Can Be Hard For First-Timers
Alt. Tees Aren't Marked and Hard to Find
Some Tees Are Cracked and Uneven
Erosion is Starting to Become an Issue
Other Thoughts:
Lincoln Ridge, formerly Banklick, is a great 24-hole course located in a very well maintained county park. In Addition to the great course the park also has playgrounds, baseball and soccer fields, hiking trails, and restrooms on-site.

Once you enter the park you will see the practice basket and parking on the right. The first tee pad is located across the parking lot from the practice basket right beside the information board.

I do recommend printing a map or acquiring a guide if you are a first-timer as there are a couple tricky walks between some holes and also a few blind holes. The first, as previously mentioned, is between holes 4 and 5. From hole 4 continue past the basket and across the parking lot and you will see the tee pad for 5 just on the other side of the lot. It starts to get a little confusing after hole 13 when you enter the woods again, but like I said print a map or grab a local if at all possible, and you should have no problems.

The course itself is great. I think a variety of skill levels could enjoy the course. It could be a real challenge for novice and intermediate while still being fun for both advanced and open players as well. The course has a nice balance of open to wooded holes, but could use a little more variety in shot types as many go left off the tee making it very RHBH friendly.

I only have a couple of complaints on this course. The first is the tee signs. Many are damaged or missing and the alternate tees are not marked at all, making it very hard to find the correct tee. While this doesn't really hurt the play of the course too much, it definitely detracts some points that courses with nicer and complete tee signs will get. Another issue the course has are some of the tee pads being cracked and uneven making footing unsure and even dangerous in some cases. While these things are detractors they definitely aren't worth missing this great course over.

Overall this is one of the better courses I have played and I recommend it to anyone in the greater Cincinnati area. With all the amenities and 24-holes you could easily spend the entire day discing or bring the family and make it an outing they can all enjoy.

20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Funnest course in the area

2-4    1/15/2011   1/25/2011
Review By: mreynolds24
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think that this is one of the more fun courses in the area. Has a great mix of long and short holes. Just about every hole is possible to drive to the basket. However most require a well placed throw in order to do so. There are some holes in the open which give you a break from all of the wooded holes. This course can be very technical requiring a variety of different shots and thinking/accuracy in order to have a look at birdie/par. Good shots get rewarded in this way and errant throws can leave you scrambling for bogey. Really enjoy the holes that play beside and around the river. Adds a lot of pressure to make a good drive so as not to roll all the way down into the valley. Also, the downhill par 3's are very treacherous because they are on such a steep incline that if you are not careful and a little lucky your disc could leave you with a 100' uphill look for your second shot. The shortest holes could make or break your round.
Cons: Do not care much for holes 22 and 23. They seem like they were just added as filler. They do not provide much challenge which is odd for this course. But 2 out of 24 holes is not bad. If they weren't back to back it would not be as glaring of a problem either. The course also gets a little tough to navigate going to hole #4 if you're not paying attention or have not played the course. But signs and paths help you along your way if you take the time to notice them. Even though I enjoy the holes by the river, they are a very easy place to lose a disc if the sides of the valley are icy or slick as it is very dangerous to make your way down because they are so steep.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course with a lot of different challenges from hole to hole. I usually pair this course with another course from the area to have a great day of disc golf. This course complements idlewild well in my opinion. Idlewild is very demanding and challenging, while this course is still challenging but a little shorter and more forgiving, and offers up several ace runs.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 More Fun Than Idlewild

1    11/6/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every type of shot you could want

There are some excellent lines to be found here, some are in plain site and for others you need to be a creative risk taker, the may not be so obvious but they're there

Changes in Terrain, One minute your playing a great open field course the next your playing a great wooded course and still the next your up against some fantastic elevation changes.

Park is Well kept, mowed. cleared out of heavy brush and is free of trash.

Whoever designed this course had Phenomenal land to work around and used it to perfection

Even if there was no Disc Golf Course here it would still be a kick ass nature trail.

Fun Factor is off the charts
Cons: I couldn't find any, I enjoyed every second I played this course

If I wanted to nit pick though, I could say it'll wear you out if your not in shape.

Also some other people have said 22 and 23 were bland holes. I would have to agree, it's seems like they were just thrown in to artificially inflate the course to 24 holes.
Other Thoughts: I've played a fair amount of courses now and this one may be my 2nd favorite course of all time, at the very least it's in my top 5.

Probably the most diverse course I've ever played. When you play it, it feels like several different types of great courses combined into one. It's hard to believe your on the same piece of land you were on just 20 minutes ago. The changes are that drastic

I had more fun here than I have at Idlewild. To be fair maybe it's because this course is more on my skill level. It's definitely not as difficult. I'm not saying anything bad about Idlewild, I played it several times and I love it. I just loved this place more. It's good that there are 2 courses this fantastic in the same area, I imagine it thins out the traffic for them both.

To sum up, fun fun fun. The fun factor here is insane. If your a local I'm sure you've played it a thousand times. If not shame on you. But if your a road tripper and you come to the area to hit up Idlewild be sure and make some time for this place. It's well worth it

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    10/27/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.2 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lincoln Ridge (Banklick) is a beautiful course that is aesthetically pleasing throughout and offers 24 great holes of golf that wind in and out of the woods.
The course is very clean and well maintained. The grass looks to be regularly cut and the woods were very free of debris.
The course designers did a fantastic job of incorporating in tons of elevation changes and offering a huger variety of hole "types". Long, short, open, technical, uphill, downhill, side sloping, trouble early, middle and late.. This course really offers a little bit of everything and flows together seamlessly. I really enjoyed the creek that is incorporated into holes 14-16. It is just beautiful and while admiring the creek I found a great hyzer line off 15's tee!
This is a great course for beginners and for advanced players.
The baskets and tee pads are in great condition. There are benches (which I needed later in the round) and trash cans throughout the course, and the tee signs are very descriptive and accurate.. There are also nice, clean restrooms near the practice basket area.
Hole # 24 is a really great finishing hole. Downhill with just a little bit of trouble. It is always nice to finish your round with a 500 ft Deuce opportunity.
Cons: A few of the holes felt a little bit like "filler" holes. I really felt that holes 22 and 23 were extremely bland and only put in to bring the total number of holes to 24. They are across a road separate from all the other holes and are very easy 3's and not too difficult to deuce.
I would like to see at least one or two par 4's or 5's on this course. I saw on the tee signs that a couple of holes have a safari like layout playing to the next holes basket to add some length to the course but I would like so see a few stand alone holes that can be par 5's
Other Thoughts: I was on a disc golf trip around the Cincinnati/Northern KY area and found that this course was by my most favorite in the area. It had a really high "fun factor" and really made me want to come back and play it again.
I really wanted to give this course 5 discs but I just couldn't since it doesn't seem like a championship level course. Even though I was not playing great I was still able to go under par easily on this course.
Lincoln Ridge is a beautiful course that is very well designed, very well maintained and supported by very friendly and dedicated locals.
I would love this to be my home course.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Bank Lick

1    10/9/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: SmoothSailor
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2010
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course utilized every inch of space they had available to them. The course is super well maintained, trash buckets on just about every hole (maybe every hole?). Plenty of variation of shots and fairways throughout the course.

The wooded holes are EXTREMELY wooded and the open holes are OPEN. There are some obstacles on the open holes and there are definitive fairways on the wooded holes, but each has their own way of making errant shots cost the player.

Memorable holes (for me):
Hole 3. I was able to skip off the road with my backhand and land within 60 feet for an easy 3.

Hole 7. Watch how your disc kicks off the trees on this hole. Mine kicked high and to the right and ended up farther away from the pin than the tee pad I drove from.

Hole 16. About 150ft on the left, I kicked off a tree straight down into the ground. Upon walking up to where we both saw the disc hit the ground we didn't see anything. After 20 minutes of looking, it was under a pile of leaves less than a foot from the tree. I liked the elevated basket placement as it turned my saved 3 into a wasted 4.

Hole 20. This shot was either an accurate shot through a small alley between what looked like 100 trees on either side, or over the top with a spike hyzer to avoid any rollback into the woods. I took the rhfh spike hyzer route and ended up planting less than 30ft from the pin.

Hole 21. I threw the rhfh again on this hole trying to hook out and spike into the wooded area near the pin. I ended up releasing early and smacked into the building to the right of the fairway. I watched my disc fall and thought it stopped, but after picking up my bag and walking 10 feet I see this blue blur rolling down the hill toward the pond (it landed in a bush).
Cons: The pond near hole 22 is nothing to go swimming in. If you lose your disc, I hope you have a retriever or a spare shower.

Other Thoughts: This course was beautiful and treated me well for my first play. I'll definitely be back to play this year.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.