Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 96
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful Course

1    10/27/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 176  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.9 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lincoln Ridge (Banklick) is a beautiful course that is aesthetically pleasing throughout and offers 24 great holes of golf that wind in and out of the woods.
The course is very clean and well maintained. The grass looks to be regularly cut and the woods were very free of debris.
The course designers did a fantastic job of incorporating in tons of elevation changes and offering a huger variety of hole "types". Long, short, open, technical, uphill, downhill, side sloping, trouble early, middle and late.. This course really offers a little bit of everything and flows together seamlessly. I really enjoyed the creek that is incorporated into holes 14-16. It is just beautiful and while admiring the creek I found a great hyzer line off 15's tee!
This is a great course for beginners and for advanced players.
The baskets and tee pads are in great condition. There are benches (which I needed later in the round) and trash cans throughout the course, and the tee signs are very descriptive and accurate.. There are also nice, clean restrooms near the practice basket area.
Hole # 24 is a really great finishing hole. Downhill with just a little bit of trouble. It is always nice to finish your round with a 500 ft Deuce opportunity.
Cons: A few of the holes felt a little bit like "filler" holes. I really felt that holes 22 and 23 were extremely bland and only put in to bring the total number of holes to 24. They are across a road separate from all the other holes and are very easy 3's and not too difficult to deuce.
I would like to see at least one or two par 4's or 5's on this course. I saw on the tee signs that a couple of holes have a safari like layout playing to the next holes basket to add some length to the course but I would like so see a few stand alone holes that can be par 5's
Other Thoughts: I was on a disc golf trip around the Cincinnati/Northern KY area and found that this course was by my most favorite in the area. It had a really high "fun factor" and really made me want to come back and play it again.
I really wanted to give this course 5 discs but I just couldn't since it doesn't seem like a championship level course. Even though I was not playing great I was still able to go under par easily on this course.
Lincoln Ridge is a beautiful course that is very well designed, very well maintained and supported by very friendly and dedicated locals.
I would love this to be my home course.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Bank Lick

1    10/9/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: SmoothSailor
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2010
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course utilized every inch of space they had available to them. The course is super well maintained, trash buckets on just about every hole (maybe every hole?). Plenty of variation of shots and fairways throughout the course.

The wooded holes are EXTREMELY wooded and the open holes are OPEN. There are some obstacles on the open holes and there are definitive fairways on the wooded holes, but each has their own way of making errant shots cost the player.

Memorable holes (for me):
Hole 3. I was able to skip off the road with my backhand and land within 60 feet for an easy 3.

Hole 7. Watch how your disc kicks off the trees on this hole. Mine kicked high and to the right and ended up farther away from the pin than the tee pad I drove from.

Hole 16. About 150ft on the left, I kicked off a tree straight down into the ground. Upon walking up to where we both saw the disc hit the ground we didn't see anything. After 20 minutes of looking, it was under a pile of leaves less than a foot from the tree. I liked the elevated basket placement as it turned my saved 3 into a wasted 4.

Hole 20. This shot was either an accurate shot through a small alley between what looked like 100 trees on either side, or over the top with a spike hyzer to avoid any rollback into the woods. I took the rhfh spike hyzer route and ended up planting less than 30ft from the pin.

Hole 21. I threw the rhfh again on this hole trying to hook out and spike into the wooded area near the pin. I ended up releasing early and smacked into the building to the right of the fairway. I watched my disc fall and thought it stopped, but after picking up my bag and walking 10 feet I see this blue blur rolling down the hill toward the pond (it landed in a bush).
Cons: The pond near hole 22 is nothing to go swimming in. If you lose your disc, I hope you have a retriever or a spare shower.

Other Thoughts: This course was beautiful and treated me well for my first play. I'll definitely be back to play this year.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: Ripper
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -This course is very well kept and allot of fun.
-The course is very Hyzer and very right hand friendly, so it's more of an advanced course but you don't have to worry about throwing forehands or turnover shots though.
-The course is a blast though, and most of my greatest rounds that I have played have been on this course.
-The course has a great mix of wooded holes, elevation and downhill holes. The course is not the most advanced but it is one of the funnest courses I guarntee you will play.
-There are a few risk reward holes but most are reachable with a good drive and deucable.
Hole 3 - Love this hole just for the fact that it is a spike hyzer shot with a predator and usually an easy deuce but playing the skip off the road, you can usually park with ease.
Hole 5 - Another great hole. This hole is great and really learned to control an overstable disc because of this hole. This is another great shot for a predator and usually throw flat and just let the predator do the work. With enough finesse can usually get it within 20 or so.
Hole 6 - The only real turnover shot. This has a sharp dog leg left.

Cons: -Most holes are Hyzer shots and very, very RHBH friendly.
-There really aren't any real tough turnover shots.
-This course gets packed, and a ton of people with PBR's, Cigs and DX Valks, so get there early, or be prepared to wait on hole 1 and sometimes play stop and go game.
Other Thoughts: Lincoln Ridge has always been one of my favorite courses. The course itself is not all that advanced by any means and it is one of those courses you could probably play with 3 - 4 discs and really not have any problems. Lincoln Ridge though does have beautiful landscaping and some of the shots in the woods are great. Some of the holes like 22 and 23 really are forgettable, but the rest of the course is excellent. This course is probably 80% straight or hyzer shots though so not going to be a tough daunting course by any stretch of the imagination, but is is not a simple pitch and putt course either.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses in the NKY/Cincy area

5+    8/5/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 244  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park has ample parking for a busy day and restrooms near the first tee. Course provides everything from wide open bomber holes to short wooded technical shots. Each wooded hole is carved out nicely from thick woods. All wooded fairways are fair but straying off them can leave you hoping for at least a bogey. The course is set with moderate elevation changes throughout with one big downhill into the lower woods after number 14. Basket placements are fair with some on slopes that can leave with you with a do or die put. The open holes are well placed to provide a mix of open and wooded holes. Deuces can be gotten but they have to be worked for.
Cons: So tee pads are cracked and can affect footing. Walking the course can be troublesome after a rain especially the treks up or down the big hill. In the walk after 16 up the big hill in the woods it looks like they started to build a complete staircase then quit. It would be nice if that were completed or at least a hand rail installed. Also the fairway of 15 can be partially inundated every once in a while with the smell of crap (literally crap) from the police warehouse adjacent to the course.
Other Thoughts: This just maybe a personal preference but holes 22 and 23 seem very out of place. They require a longer walk than from 21 to 24 and don't really add much to the overall feel of the course, just a couple more open holes. Aside from that, this is an exceptional course that gets anywhere from moderate to heavy use everyday. Backups may occur in casual play but the locals are generally friendly and won't slow you down too much. Would highly recommend this if you're passing through the area. One of the top three courses in the NKY/Cincy area.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Paradise

5+    7/30/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: Valet
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: (My first review...forgive me for the length.)

Lincoln Ridge is a disc golf paradise for many reasons. After about 80 rounds (not all were a complete 24 holes) I feel like I need to give back to the course by rating it. The first "pro" is the fact that it is 24 holes. This course can challenge the best, but yet it can be a very good course for a beginner. The tee pads are concrete and are all in good shape. There are trash cans at almost every tee pad and the course is relatively free of litter. The baskets are in good shape and the course has multiple pin placements. The park has convenient parking by the tee pad for hole no. 1. You can also park at the back of the park near the tee pad for hole 5 and take off from there. There is a soccer field to the right of holes 2 and 3 where you can practice. There is a practice pin right next to the parking lot. Bathrooms and a soda machine are next to the parking lot as well. The course is well maintained. Fresh mulch is placed on the paths and around the tee pads in the spring and fall and the grass is well kept. Be prepared for a hike while you golf, but I guarantee that you will enjoy the views and the course and you really won't notice the hike so much until the next day!


Hole number 1 could be considered the signature hole when the basket is located just across the bridge, inside the woods. Make sure you know where the basket is before throwing on this hole. If it's in the woods it'll require an anhyzer or big S to get you close.

Holes number 2 and 3 offer up opportunities for big drives with no obstacles. Beware of the road though as it's OB. The woods to your left and this OB to the right offer a bit of a challenge to your accuracy.

Hole no. 4 is a short ace opportunity. You'll have to contend with some tree branches, but if you keep it low you'll be just fine. Many who play this for the first time, without a map, will search for hole 5 and give up and just go right over to the tee for hole 7 which is next door. To get to hole 5 continue past the basket for 4 and across the parking lot.

Hole 5 is a big bender to the left and I've found that if I take a fast disc (that I don't have the power for) and toss it down the middle, the disc will do all the work for me and bend right down the path.

Hole 6 is my nemesis. It's uphill and turns to the right about 100 feet away and then it turns a bit more to the right just before the pin. It's also heavily wooded so keep an eye on your disc. Griplock can get you into big trouble on this hole.

Holes 7 through 9 and short and ace/deuce opportunities. These holes will challenge your accuracy. Distance isn't required and some will chuck a putter off the tee (at least on no. 7). Hole 9 also has a couple of different pin placements.

Hole 10 offers an upper and lower tee pad and the possibility of a deadly roll. The fairway slants to the right down into the woods and if a disc lands just "right" it will head towards the woods, possibly down into the creek and offer up a nice little hike for you. After you've thrown, make sure your disc comes to a complete rest before taking your eye off of it.

Holes 11 and 12 are simply bombs away opportunities. It's a nice break from the woods and gives you the chance to pull out your big dog.

Hole 13 has a couple of pin placements so if you don't see the top of the basket straight away, it's just off to the right. You'll need a straight shot for this hole.

Hole 14 can be pure joy or pure hell. It's straight downhill towards the creek and very short. Going past the basket could prove deadly. Be sure that you are in adequate shape before even venturing down the hill for this hole. If you're not, there is a path (not clearly visible in the spring/summer) to the left that will take you over to hole 18 and you can skip the creek holes. If you do this, go down the path and to your right to play the "lower" tee for 18 or you can skip 18 too by heading left past the basket.

If you do play the "creek holes" (14-16), you'll find them very peaceful and scenic. Beware though that once you throw and if you're anything like me, all of that quickly goes out the window when you have to hike down, and back up, to get your disc out of the creek. These holes require a straight toss. If you try to get an S, you'll likely hit the trees to the right and end up in the creek. If you fade to the left too far you might hit the hill to the left of the very narrow fairway and roll down, across the path and down the steep incline into the creek. Plenty of opportunities here for trouble. Hole 16 has a very beautiful pin placement and also has a short and a long tee pad. From hole 16 to the tee for hole 17 is called "fat man's misery". It's partial steps and then just a path. When wet, it's tricky getting there in one piece.

Hole 17 offers a slight bend to the right and lots of trees to contend with. Keep an eye on your disc at all times.

Hole 18 (as mentioned before) offers 2 tee pads. You'll come to the upper and most don't even realize there is a lower. My favorite is the upper which shoots across a ravine and then requires a left to right finish to get near the basket. There is also a bridge across the ravine to the right, but most locals just trek right through the middle and enjoy the hike. It'll certainly get your blood going. Once you cross the ravine, if you'd like to throw the lower tee, it's hidden down a path to your left.

Hole 19 offers an upper and lower tee pad and the woods to your right as well as a group of trees to your left just before the basket can come into play.

Hole 20 is considered by some to be the signature hole. This hole requires either a monster throw over the tree line or a tunnel shot through a narrow opening. Once through, the hole is hard right which offers a challenge.

Hole 21 has 2 tee pads. There is also a small pond that shouldn't come into play, but does for some. If you happen to get the urge to chase your disc into the pond, don't. Many swear that it's infested with leaches. The basket is guarded by several trees which can prove difficult and require accuracy as you approach.

Holes 22 and 23 are referred to as the "bowl holes". There is a pond in the middle of these 2 holes which can come into play on no. 22. Both holes offer another opportunity to bring out the big gun and let it rip.

Hole 24 is the longest of them all. This hole will certainly test your arm strength at a time when your legs and shoulder might be asking you to give them a break. The basket is strategically placed around a few trees which will require some accurate putting.

Cons: I don't think there's anything I'd change about the set up of this course, but one con would be traffic. This course gets lots of traffic, pros and noobs. I guess this is the price to pay for a sweet course. (maybe a chair lift from the basket at 16 to the tee pad at 17?)
Other Thoughts: I live a mile away from Lincoln Ridge and this has spoiled me. I've played a handful of other courses and I enjoy open and wooded, long and short, flat and hilly, but this course has it all. There's not much reason for me to travel 20-30 minutes anywhere else when I get my fill 1.2 miles down the road.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun

1    9/13/2009   7/12/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 31.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best in my book. It offers a great variety of holes and is very well maintained in a park setting. The topo played and important, but not overwhelming role in the course. It is quite a hike, but well worth it.
Cons: A few of the holes were a little too open. One of the costs of having such a nice course is that it is so popular. I had to wait on a number of the holes for players to clear. But everyone was polite and I did not experience any inordinant delays. There were no supersized groups clogging up play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

5+    6/20/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation, treed areas and open fields. For a municipal park it is really, really pretty.

You will need all of your shots for this course. #1 starts the course with a nice downhill, multiple basket locations add interest. A little fairly open play, then into the woods where it gets tricky. As mentioned in other reviews 3-4 can be hard to follow, go through the parking area. #5 is a tough up hill, to the right then straight and down hill. Very tough hole.

After that is some more elevation/woods, some more woods. The middle holes are open, one uphill, one great downhill and then a long shot downhill through a gap in the woods, with multiple pin placements again. Then a great shot down into a ravine. Stunning scenery and scary putts can turn a 3 into a 5-6 quick. Then a couple of holes down tight fairways along the ravine. Shots can add up quick here too, throw straight and true.

Work your way through more woods, with an ace opportunity along the way, then pop out into some less crowded holes. one shot through a small window over a run-off and then you are into the open holes. I find it a nice change of pace after all of the woods. 22 and 24 are especially fun, a shorter downhill and then a looong shot over the top of the park to finish.

24 holes!!



Cons: Navigation? Other than that this course has few cons.
Other Thoughts: Put this on your top "to play" courses, along with Idlewild and Mt Airy. Not as challenging as Idlewild, but then not as aggravating either.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing backdrop for Disc Golf!

1    6/27/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: cc0049
Played: 107  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 12.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a stunning course for visual appeal and offers a ton of fun holes that wind in and out of the woods. Very clean and well kept course. The elevation that comes into play create a lot of fun, added challenge, and beauty to the course. With 24 holes, this course is definitely a battle, but a very fun one. There is a great deal of variety on this course. Long, short, open, technical, uphill, downhill, side hill; you name it you will play it. There is a beautiful creek that comes into play on a few holes back around hole 14. This course is fantastic for beginners as well as advanced players. The layout and design is very enjoyable and flows well. Lots of shade makes a hot, summer day here bearable. This course is clean, well manicured and maintained.
The baskets are in great condition, there is a practice basket, concrete tee pads of appropriate length, benches and trash cans throughout the course, and detailed maps. There are also nice, clean restrooms near the practice basket area. There are nice hanging benches throughout the course.
Cons: There are a few blind holes that will require you to walk ahead to scope things out if you are playing it for the first time. You will want a map for your first time as well, or you will have a tough time with navigation. The one area that you may have trouble particularly is after hole 3 finding the box for hole 4. You have to walk across the road a little bit to get t 4 rather than following the path like you might try to do intuitively. There is some steep parts that you must traverse at times that could be dangerous. You may also get into tricky spots retrieving discs or playing an odd lie. It was a little bit wet from rain earlier in the day and the tee pads retained a lot of moisture and were very slick. With most of the course in the shade, this may be a common problem.
Other Thoughts: Bring your camera with you for this course because it is very picturesque! This course is a lot of fun!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    5/30/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 443  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.8 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Extremely hilly terrain combined with diverse wooded areas makes for a extremely wide variety of holes. Almost any combination of uphill/downfill, heavily wooded to open, and left/straight/right shots are present here.
- Elevation changes on the fairways and greens demand a controlled shot to keep in play. Great risk/reward factor on many holes. Most notably, the creek on 15 and 16 that uses gravity to suck discs from just inches off the fairway, and deep wooded valleys.
- A little more water is on the back end, but is not a major hazard. Pleasing to look at, though.
- Long, sloping upshots and downshots especially reward a well thrown disc. This helps to keep the open holes interesting as well.
Cons: - Some holes are pretty close to the road, but a good shot will easily avoid it.
- Even with the elevation changes, a lot of similar open holes on the back end.
Other Thoughts: - I was lucky enough to have a tour guide to show me around on my first round, which was an extreme, extreme help. I think it might be a little tricky to navigate on some parts, but nothing too bad.
- I recommend that you are in decent shape to play this course. If you don't think you can go hiking, you might not enjoy this course. I speak from experience, as I was out of shape when I played, and almost had to skip the last hole!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/29/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 64  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -There are 24 holes to play, so you can enjoy it all day out here
-Great elevation changes
-Every hole is different (some need good accuracy while others dont need accuracy at all) and a new challenge
-They take really good care of the course by mowing the lawns very often
-It is very easy to find the next hole (you wont have to be searching for it for hours)
-The sign at the tee is very nice as it shows you what the par is, the distance, and where the pin is located
-The launch pad is very nice concrete so it is easy to throw from
-They have long and short tees so you can choose which one you would like to throw from
-They also have high and low tees so you can throw from above or from below
-They have benches at the tee so you can take a rest every once in a while
-They mix up the pars between three four and fives
Cons: -There is water involved in some holes so you always need to be aware of that
-They will move the pins around every once in a while so you always will need to know where they are located at that time
Other Thoughts: Out of all the courses that i have played i would have to say that by far this is my favorite. They just take such good care of it. Some of the courses that i have been to they dont even mow the lawns that often. But thats not the case here because it is taken care of very well. So if anyone is planning on coming here i would really recommend it, you'll love it.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.