Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 201ft.   3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 97
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great Course

5+    5/29/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 65  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -There are 24 holes to play, so you can enjoy it all day out here
-Great elevation changes
-Every hole is different (some need good accuracy while others dont need accuracy at all) and a new challenge
-They take really good care of the course by mowing the lawns very often
-It is very easy to find the next hole (you wont have to be searching for it for hours)
-The sign at the tee is very nice as it shows you what the par is, the distance, and where the pin is located
-The launch pad is very nice concrete so it is easy to throw from
-They have long and short tees so you can choose which one you would like to throw from
-They also have high and low tees so you can throw from above or from below
-They have benches at the tee so you can take a rest every once in a while
-They mix up the pars between three four and fives
Cons: -There is water involved in some holes so you always need to be aware of that
-They will move the pins around every once in a while so you always will need to know where they are located at that time
Other Thoughts: Out of all the courses that i have played i would have to say that by far this is my favorite. They just take such good care of it. Some of the courses that i have been to they dont even mow the lawns that often. But thats not the case here because it is taken care of very well. So if anyone is planning on coming here i would really recommend it, you'll love it.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Bank on Links at Banklick Lincoln

1    5/4/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Truly first class course. All the amenities are here. Concrete tees, signage, bathrooms, Info, perfectly manicured course from the fields into the woods. Quiet park of rolling hills,woods landscaped and natural beauty that sets an amazing backdrop for disc golf. Almost feels like an actual golf course moreso than a park at times. From the initial dive down the hill into the woods to the finishing blasts across the bluegrass fields there are visual treats that not only provide scenery they simultaneously add challenge. Such as the pond in play on holes 21 and 24. The wide stream that cuts a deep gorge along holes 14,15,and 16. The bluegrass hills of 12,22, and 23. Just such wonderful surroundings to play disc golf in. There are some very memorable holes. Highlights for me were as follows:
1-start out with a healthy dive down a sloping green hill into the woods below to start your day
4-ace run across a wooded but reasonable valley fairway
5-wonderful hyzer downwards into the forrest
6-complementary uphill anhyzer through woods
7-floater wooded ace run with fast pitched green
8-perfect woods blind hyzer fairway..just trust it
14-from the field and suddenly straight down to a fast hillside with the basket perched in such a way that floaters if not thrown precisely will land in the stream at the base of the valley
15-slightly uphill shot that requires you to stay on a 12 foot wide path with a bank rising left and a cliff descending right into the streambed 20 feet below. Errant shots here get punished 2x as your oob and have to shoot back up the cliff to be playing fairway....difficult but rewarding holes.
18-wonderful shot through window and over a steep valley. Hit a tree early and your doomed..hit it right and its a birdie run.
20-exhilerating open shot downhill and through a gap in trees to a basket rising back up the other side of the slim woodline. Another birdie or bogey hole depending on executing that gap.
21,22,23, and 24 are all open air shots that utilize elevation and placement to keep it interesting.
There are plenty of birdie chances on this course which makes it interesting as your scorecard could see 2s and 4s rather than an abundance of 3s. An indicator of good design that rewards shotmaking. The most likeable thing for me regarding this course was the supreme maintenance which kept headaches to a minimum and the fun factor going strong all round long.
Cons: The course has 24 holes and 18 of the holes were very strong but at times I had some deja vu. Holes 2&3 (play across grass fields into shallow woods with street oob),11,12 &13 (across open fields with little obstacles outside of wind), 15 & 16 (same terrifying shot with stream and gorge right and bank rising left) as well as some filler holes 9,17,and 19. (9 completes the first 9 loop while 17 is needed to get you to amazing hole 18 and then 19 will lead you to outstanding hole 20) Many of the holes are memorable but outside of the woods holes along the stream 14-16 I felt as if there was no really scary blow up my scorecard holes here. For a course to get into the perfection range I have to be challenged outside my comfort zone and quite frankly this amateurish player was quite comfortable most of the day. Some food for thought, most championship gold level courses are designed as 7-10,000 feet with varied terrain and elevations over 18 holes. This one squeezes 24 holes under 8,000 feet. So while it has all types of shots and plenty of fun here. Nothing is going to really challenge you or force you to attempt something beyond your abilities. I list this as a con as I think a top course should be enjoyable but at times should be overwhelming. This one is more just enjoyable than challenging. (to designers credit none of the shots felt stretched out to add pro distance or artificially challenging with gimicks to raise par)
Other Thoughts: It's fun to watch your discs fly over those kentucky hills. Particularly enjoyed that 4 of the open shots were downhill drives. I can't help but think this might be the best course I ever played if some of the similiar holes were altered/joined/scrapped and maybe a few longer walks along with some lengthening of certain holes were redone and suddenly rather than a moderately challenging yet fun 24 hole course there could be an equally fun but very challenging 18 hole championship caliber course here. Probably the best overall course in the Cinncinatti area (gasp! blasphemy)

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 What a great course

1    3/15/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: otter420
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: Love the holes that wind throughout the woods, and along the sides of the hills. very hard in places, but still enjoyable..i wouldn't change anything
Other Thoughts: the running stream throughout gives it a zen like quality, almost relaxing

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    4/23/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: Hitmetal
Played: 165  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Beautiful, concrete tees, nice mix of long/short and open/tight holes. 24 holes. The pictures taken here are excellent and gives a good idea of what to expect. Real fun discgolf.
Other Thoughts: Great course. I feel it is one of the best in the area and beats Idlewild easily. I would play here all the time.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A true 4.5 course with a 5 neighbor

5+    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.1 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This park is beautifully maintained. I came to play it after several days of rain excepting very muddy footing and greatly appreciated the freshly mulched fairways, tees, and basket areas.
-Bathrooms/water available at first tee.
-Practice basket area is very large and helps to get confident with the many long putts you may be facing today.
-Tee Signs are descriptive and visually appealing.
-Concrete tee pads are long and level. A must for this course and a great feature due to the accuracy and secure footing needed for the lines your going to need to hit.
-The rolling hill fairways are beautifully used and add a lot to the scenery of this course on the more open holes.
-The wooded holes are maintained perfectly to give you a good line to play or several places to lay-up and play for par.
-Benches on many of the tees are a must and are very nicely done to give you a place to rest or wait your turn during tournament play. On some courses benches can be taken for granted not this course.
-The course is beautiful. Northern Kentucky truly appreciates its disc golf courses it shows with the beautiful forest parks it places its layouts in.
-A great mix of risk and reward for all levels of play. Rec-Int players can be aggressive on the shorter holes and play smart on the more technical holes to achieve a great score. ADV-Open players can be aggressive on every hole and truly have a great round threading the needle on perfect lines.
Cons: -Several places in the woods are very difficult to navigate from hole to hole. While there are established trails to guide you some simple bridges or steps could really add to this course. This is one reason Idlewild is a step ahead of this course.
-This course can be difficult to navigate if you do not have a map. Several of the baskets were moved to the new layout and have the wrong number on the basket corresponding to the hole you are playing.
-Holes 22 and 23 are hard to find without a map a simple next tee sign would be a great help. They are across the road from # 24's tee.
Other Thoughts: In summary this course is truly a 4.5 course and there are a few differences that set Idlewild above Lincoln ridge. This course has an amazing variety of shots and in many ways is a lot more rewarding to lower level players than it's highly regarded neighbor.

I like the Hole length here a lot more than I do at Mt. Airy or Idlewild. There are several short "must 2" holes as well as some risk reward 3's. The longest holes at the course are long but not long enough that a 5 is more likely than a 3. Elevation changes, wooded fairways, open rolling hills, and creeks/ponds add up to give you all you could ask for in a disc golf course. Additionally the disc golf minds that set this course up have added

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great course overall

5+    9/1/2008   3/27/2010
Review By: racer93
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful, nicely kept park. Great distance, enough to make you focus on accuracy and short enough to not make it all about max D. Great risk and reward course. This is the type of course that if you are patient and play smart, you will score well. But if you're aggressive at the wrong time, the course can spank you raw...
Cons: Original 18 were predominantly righty-biased. Now, there are a few lefty/RHFH holes. Can get jammed with supercasual players. Just stay away any sunny, Saturday afternoon when it's warm...
Other Thoughts: Just a classic course. Uses most, if not all shots in your bag.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Better than Idlewild?

1    3/26/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: EVERY hole is outstanding! There are tight shots, and grip n rips! I actually like the 'flow' of the course better than Idlewild; and the shots up the creek with the boulders some 20 feet below with a slight mist coming up gave me the feeling that hobbits were watching nearby! Great course; and the only complaint is that I have to drive 2 hours to get there...
Other Thoughts: I'm a rec player of only a couple of years; so perhaps the pro's might better enjoy Idlewild, but for my money, this course was more fun overall. Not dissing Idlewild whatsoever, it's just that this course simply that fun!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!

2-4    2/6/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: pughdogs
Played: 100  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 24 holes, all different (for the most part), water holes, elevation changes, trees, some open holes, perfect variety of challenges throughout the course. Tee signs made the navigation very easy. Concrete tees as well. Great course!
Cons: Watch the creek on holes 14, 15, & 16. Sometimes they change the basket placements on some holes, but they're not too hard to find if you haven't played them yet. A sign on hole #21 pointing the direction of holes #22 & #23 would have helped as well. Other than that, it's a bit of a drive from north cincy/south dayton, but worth the trip!
Other Thoughts: This course should definitely be in your rotation if you live within range, it never gets boring!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 So close to a 5 in my book!

1    1/24/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 851  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.5 Years
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) Kiosk for information at the first tee. Garbage and benches at the first tee also a plus. There are also bathrooms available at the parking lot/1st tee area.

2) There is a practice basket with plenty of room for up to 50-75' putts. This is a nice feature especially for this course where you will likely have a bunch of longer putts to try and save par.

3) Signs have all information including Hole #, par, distance and a diagram indicateing a general flight path. The signs are also sponsored by local sponsors which is nice.

4) I may have beaten some of the park workers to work, but because it wasn't light out when I got there I had to wait to tee off. In the 30 minutes I waited I saw multiple trucks, and a golf cart with two guys driving around picking up trash and generally checking the condition of the disc golf course. Always a nice feature to have a parks department that cares for the course too.

5) Nice large concrete tee pads. This is essential on this course because of the rollng terrain and need for secure footing when trying to hit those small tunnels and land your disc in appropriate places.

6) The turf is in great condition on the openholes of this course. It was wet when I played but it was obviously they maintain the turf well. The turfed areas show the gently rolling hillsides that exemplify Kentucky.

7) The wooded holes generally have a good cover of leaves to keep the exposed soil from being slick and muddy. Many of the other trouble spots have mulch in places, specifically some green and tee areas.

8) Easy to follow routing despite minimal signage. A few places are slightly confusin and could use some directional signs, but all around not a bad layout and not to challenging to follow.

9) Nice DGA baskets, although I would rather see discatchers on this course because of being in the woods. It would help locate the basket from time to time.

10) Garbage and benches on many of the holes and they are very well done. They have not simply been slapped together, someone took their time to do them right.

11) Incredibly picturesque. I want to come back in season when the Blue grass is lush and Dark Green, the trees are fully leafed out and the stream is flowing like it was following the recent rains. I could spend all day playing disc golf and I am sure my wife could spend the whole day snapping cool natural setting pictures. I only wish I had brought my camera along for this course, even though it was winter there were still some cool pics, both disc golf related and simly nature related.

12) Some real risk/reward baskets. That is what makes this course a duece or die course. I feel like the front 9 is much easier to get dueces and threes while some of the wooded back 9 are certainly easier to 3 and 4 than any hole on the front.

13) There is an incredible variety on this course. They have wonderful elevation changes, they have a massive creek, they have some tightly wooded shots of all shapes, they have some rolling kentucky bluegrass fairways with baskets tucked ever so tightly into the edge of the woods. There are even a couple wide open holes that give you a chance to really rip it. I like Hole 24 despite being fairly wide open because it gives you a chance to really tear into a drive and really try to get a 3.

14) There are dual tees on holes 16, 19, 21 offering some different shorter looks at some of the harder holes on the course. I played the longer tees just because but I can see the shorter tee allowing for a much easier run at a 2 or possibly a simple 3.

15) This course has a very nice variety in hole length. A lot of the holes play much longer than the listed distance because of the inherent challenge in the woods. There are a few downhillers that play shorter too. Overall this course has enough length to challenge someone who has less than a 250' drive. That is what makes this a good duece or die type course. The pros better birdie a bunch of these holes to hold their own, and for a newer player 3's will still be accessible on most holes with a good approach and a putt.

16) This is some seriously solid DG on this course. The variety, the terrain, the maintenance, all create a wonderful experience.

17) Very fair course that has been very well played in. It does not require a lot of luck to do well it requires a lot of skill. This is the mark of a truly good course and I have played some good ones especially on this roadtrip.

18) There is some serious variety in shot shaping on this course. You have shots that have to be turned both ways and you also still have to consider how to land your disc flat to avoid those extreme rollaways!
Cons: 1) #1 tee area looks like a mess right now because the mulch has eroded or broken down. I am sure based upon the pictures that this is something they handle in spring, but I think the 1st tee should have a little more frequency since everyone stands around the tee creating compacted soils and breaking down the mulch quicker.

2) A few of the baskets seem to be low either from installation of the sleeve or erosion of the surrounding soils actually raising the soil level arond the baskets.

3) There are a few wet spots on this course and some simple steppers could be put in place to make this a better course. More permanent structures could also be made, but may not be necessary unless after a major rain.

4) Walk path comes into play as you play down the fairway on a few of the back 9 wooded holes.

5) The road is in play on the right of #3, but you will likely only have to deal with park workers in that corner of the park.

6) A sign to send you across the parking lot to Hole #5 would be helpful because you cannot see the tee sign from 4 basket because of the piles that the parks department has piled in the parking lot. There are a couple other spots where a sign might make the flow easier for a first timer.

7) Walk past tee #24 and cross the road to find holes #22 and 23. This is another spot a simple directional sign could be helpful.
Other Thoughts: If this is a 4.5 course then I cannot wait to see Idlewild. I cannot give this a 5 because it is lacking a little bit of maintenance and also some amenities that take a course to the cream of the crop. I had an awesome time and obviously on purely disc golf level this is one of the best of the best, but I rate courses on everything and not just the DG experience. I ended my epic roadtrip from Milwaukee down to Florida and back through North Carolina with some incredible courses. You can only imagine how epic this trip was when you realize that this was my 4th favorite course from this road trip. That amazes me because this is a really solid course. I am so fortunate to have been able to play so many great courses and to end the trip on this course is incredible. I am looking forward to coming back to the Cincinatti area to play this course again and Idlewild.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Deuce or Die Exemplified

5+    6/6/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 116  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is what deuce or die should be. In terms of spectacular deuce or die courses this is right next to Kereiakes Park in Bowling Green, Kentucky for the best of the best.

There is a fantastic mix of short and long holes - but the long holes are far outnumbered by the shorties. And that is not necessarily a bad thing. Lincoln Ridge Park brings the elevation into play on every hole - and most of it is near the end of the hole. Almost every green on the course has serious sloping to deal with. Every basket is placed strategically to challenge not only the driving ability of the golfer - but the putting ability as well. If you fail to park a hole you're quite literally debating whether or not you want to run at it. And if you choose to run, you're likely to either deuce or bogey, with minimal forgiveness to truly bad putts.
Cons: One of the few cons I have is that every single hole is deucable - there are no par 4's at all. I have witnessed every hole on the course birdied during one round of golf by a card of pros during the Bluegrass Open in 2009. It is possible to deuce more than half of the holes on the course and still lose 3-4 strokes to the leaders. But that's what the course is about - so you can't complain too much about it.
Other Thoughts: This course is fantastic. I can't complain about anything - the wind comes into play on occasion, but plenty of holes are wooded and protected by placement near the bottom of valleys. There is some distance, 2-3 holes, but nothing in 'tweener' range. What is most remarkable is that, as great as this course is: it is only the second best course in the area.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.