Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
4 / 348ft.   3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 97
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Must Play!

1    5/1/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: Rudy W
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2009
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 27 Beautiful and varying holes. Challenging yet accessible. Great mix of open holes, wooded holes, and elevation changes (one in particular you will definitely remember! I'll leave it to you to discover this one) You WILL remember this course and want to come back. Full restroom facilities, picnic tables, etc. Water fountains!!
Cons: One or two holes were not immediately clear on where the next tee was located. You could argue some of the basket locations are unfair, but I still enjoyed the challenge!
Other Thoughts: If you're playing Idlewild make sure you plan another 2 hours to play this course. Only 20 minutes from Idlewild it will definitely make your golf trip a complete day!

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 HBB (Home Boy Bias)

5+    6/24/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've been waiting to review one of my home courses for a long time. I wanted to clear the aura of Home Boy Bias from my mind before writing this review...and I'll try my best to do it objectively.

I've played ~70 courses including temp courses that aren't listed on this site. Lincoln Ridge...Banklick...is probably the perfect course for every day play. It offers such a wide variety of shots on its 24 hole layout that you can practice for any out of town tournament here. It offers challenge to any level of player. From the beginner to the seasoned Pro. Yes, a beginner has their improvement sights set on even par...and the seasoned pro has their sights set on -16...but it is both a challenge and a very fun course to play.

Hole #1 & #2 are sort of unique in a way that they allow you to throw for distance downhill right from the start...you get your arm loosened up without having to really bomb on a long hole like some courses...your line must be true but you do have room for error. Hole #3 is a true 300+ ft Hyzer shot but if you have a late skip you are deep in the woods. #4 is a nice little ace run with a putter or mid.

Holes #5 & #6 are the newest holes and offer tight wooded holes that can be considered Par 4's for Intermediates and below. #7 is a downhill wooded ace run that is tight wooded with a risk of blowing past the basket and deep into a runoff creek.

#8 is a hole that brings debate. It is a hyzer shot that keeps going left. Some people try to throw overstable here while others say you have to hyzer understable and let it ride the curve. It is a shot that you must master because this is a must deuce hole in order to cash.

#9 offers a lefty and righty approach and for me it is the perfect Drone or Gator shot.

#10 starts the pins with alternate tees. We call them 'uppers' and 'lowers' eventhough some are actually short or long. #10 lower and #10 upper are two completely different shots.

#11 and #12 give you a chance to unload on a wide open hole...while #13 is a 300ft control drive with a sharp drop off 30ft past the basket.

#14-16 are 'the creek holes'. #14 is a sharp decline downhill that many throw a putter on...blow by...and have to dig their putter out of the creek 150ft past the basket. Try a thumber here and be surprised. #15 & #16 have both a creek..and a sharp drop off to the right....even if you hit on the left on the hill side...don't be surprised if your disc rolls down into the creek.

#17 is a great long tight forehand shot. You can try a backhand turn over here...but there are a few mature trees to the left that make that interesting.

#18 is a short shot over a big gulley..hidden to the right behind some trees. A Comet is a nice ace run while a forehand predator is a gimme deuce. #19 has uppers and lowers and make two completely different shots.

#20 is a blind hole. You stand on a very nice teepad with large granite riprap rocks protecting against errosion. the fairway falls below you to a heavily wooded creek and then back up a clearing. The first time you play you can't see a 'fair' way...however if you walk to the creek and look backwards you will see there is a line there and it is a simple Comet or forehand shot. If you have a big arm...try going over the trees.

#21 has an upper and a lower tee. The upper tee is a long...long...turn over shot that has trees protecting at about 350 feet with a sharp incline up to the basket. There is a pond to the left that loves to swallow those turnover shots that turn into nose up hyzers.

#22 and #23 are called the 'bowl holes'...because they play down into and up and out of a bowl. #22 is a 300ft Buzzz ace run that is a must deuce. #23 is a long hard pull up hill that is a must deuce for big arms and will humble short arm folks.

#24 is a 500ft downhill pull with that same pond on #21 to the left and the park entrance road to the right. A few strategic trees midway and around the basket make this a very tough hole. Simple throw as hard as you can and see if you got the ump!! to get it there.

As of a few weeks ago...new high quality benches on most holes. The upkeep of the park is phenomenal. It has real restrooms. It has a practice basket at the parking lot with plenty of room for multiple people to practice. It does a really good job of separating disc golf from the other park amenities for safety. It has quality baskets.
Cons: Being a home boy you can see the cons easier than most out of towners. Yes, you may have rose colored glasses but like your own home...you can see things others wouldn't see because you notice every little detail.

Here..the cons are it is heavily played and that certain element refuses to throw their blue beer cans into the green trash cans...thus..if you throw a blue disc off the tee..it can be hard to find if you hit the shule. We constantly clean up others mess..but atleast we do clean up. Some of the teepads are missing the back right corner where most of us start our run up.

Hole #14 needs erosion control around the basket to control erosion ofcourse but also to create a fair landing zone. Some approach layups simple jump up on the roots and roll down the hill 100ft. The steps leading down to #15 are getting old and are dangerous in wet conditions. #16 to #17..."Fat Man's Misery" steps need some serious work as does the bridge on #7.
Other Thoughts: If Idlewild weren't down the street and I didn't know what a 5 was...I would rate this course a 5 even with its flaws. It is more of a 4.8 than a 4.5. With some cosmetic work this could be a 5. The layout is wonderful. The shot selection is wonderful. The use of terrain and foilage is wonderful.

If you ever come to the Northern Kentucky/Cincy area this is a must play course. Most will find this park much more enjoyable to play than Idlewild...while Idlewild is a masterpiece...it is designed to push the pro player...Banklick....err...Lincoln Ridge is designed to challenge everyone.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 244  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lincoln Ridge (aka Banklick) is a fun, challenging, picturesque course. It has lots of elevation changes, a superb mix open and wooded, long and short, hyzer, straight and anhyzer. There is a creek bed in play on three holes and a couple small ponds to think about on a few other holes. A few of the holes have multiple tee pads and pin placements which really change the shot. Birdie opportunities are there on the majority of the course, but you've got to work hard to get of them.

The tee signs and pads are in relatively good shape. There are 5 gallon trash buckets by many of the pads. This is a great course and is well taken care of by the locals.
Cons: Really not much to speak of. The course is pretty easy to navigate but a directional sign would be nice to point you from 4 to 5 and from 21 to 22.

The ground has been dry every time I've played here so I didn't have any problems slipping. I see how it might be an issue after some rain, but it's an issue for any course with good elevation changes really.
Other Thoughts: With Idlewild close by, these two courses make for a great pairing and full day of disc golf.

The Disc N Dat store is close by with an outstanding selection of discs for sale.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 my little piece of heaven...BANKLICK

5+    6/2/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: twentiesmrclean24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: played here since high school, it has everything righties, lefties , long par fours , decent par threes..definately a place where you can start just playing three's....great place for beginners and moderate players
Cons: gets sorta stuffy b/c its a great place to play, there are two holes on the other side of a parking lot that are easily overlooked but they are pretty hard
Other Thoughts: love this place although the drink machine is broken

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 9 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lincoln Ridge disc golf course is a well-designed, well-maintained course that is both fun and challenging. The essentials for a great course are all here. The course uses Chainstar baskets that are in great shape with multiple pin positions on several holes, level concrete tee pads (mutiple tees on a few holes), and nice tee signs on all holes that accurately represent the layout of the hole.

The course flows great from hole to hole, and navigation is relatively simple. The course is comprised of two loops that each return back to the main parking area, the first loop: holes 1-11, and the second loop: holes 12-24. There are no crossing fairways, but there are a couple of fairways/tees in close proximity. The fairway for Hole11 and Hole12 parallel each other in opposite directions, and the tee for Hole 13 and Hole20 are potentially in play from the tee on Hole12, so be aware of other players in these areas. All of the fairways are well-defined, and are clearly noted on the signs. There is some underbrush and overgrowth, but only outside of the fairways. If you stay in/near the fairway, this will not be an issue. Benches and Trash receptacles are located appropriately around the course.

The course layout is fantastic! There are lots of trees/tree lines that are utilized effectively to create defined fairways which offer gentle and more severe hyzer/anhyzer shots. The slopes and elevation changes are amazing throughout the course, and help to create some asthetically pleasing and challenging tee shots. The entrance road to the park plays OB on 4 of the holes. Three of these holes require a right to left shot that starts out over the road and fade/turn (RH/LH) back to the basket. Missing your line here will either put you in the trees or OB for a one stroke penalty. The designer/s did a great job of creating a variety in the length of holes and types of shots as you play through the course. There are several tight and challenging fairways, but none of them are unfair, and a few longer (350+ft ) more open holes to let you stretch out your arm a bit.

Overall, the course provides ample challenge for players of all levels. There are plenty of risk/reward holes at Lincoln Ridge, another great feature of the course. Accuracy and distance control are most important here. A well placed tee shot can help keep the scores low, but bad placement off the tee and over-throwing some of the pin locations can get you in trouble fast. This is without a doubt one of the most visually appealing courses I have ever played.
Cons: There isn't much to put in the cons section. I will mention a few things to be aware of, but these are not necessariy "flaws" of the course. A couple of areas may be confusing to navigate for a first-timer, but the course map is excellent, I would suggest printing a copy to take with you if you are going to play. (Link below, and on the "Links/Files" tab in the DGCR course homepage) There are some steep elevations (up & down) to navigate. The course was dry when I played, so it wasn't a big deal, but I can see how getting around could be a little difficult in wet/raining conditions. This is a popular course, and can get very crowded, but the locals were very nice and let me play through on several of the holes. The extra 6 holes help to keep players scattered and help to eliminate back-ups on the course. The last thing is pin placement, some of the pins are not visible from the tee, and there is no way to identify which position the basket is suppose to be in for holes with multiple positions, this seems to be a very common issue with most courses.

Course Map: http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../e7979942.gif
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely on my "favorites" list, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. A fantastic DG experience for me from start to finish. If you are looking for a visually appealing, well-maintained course that is both fun and challenging, then this is exactly what you are looking for.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic course!

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.5 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was one of the most enjoyable I've played. It really felt like it had everything, from open bombs to tightly wooded technical holes. The design forces you to use just about every kind of shot to be successful, and mixes different types of holes through the entire course.

There were very few flat holes on the course, and the elevation changes were used brilliantly throughout, both in the woods and out in the open. The park is well-maintained, with nicely mowed grass on the field shots, and very well kept fairways in the woods.

There were a lot of people playing when we were there, but everyone we ran into was very friendly, from first time discers to obviously experienced players. Though the course was busy, the flow was still mostly good, and it seems that the locals do a good job of promoting positive course etiquette.

The tees are nice large concrete pads, and were in great shape. The tee signs looked very nice and professional, and were also mostly in good shape. They were detailed enough to get around the course, and were placed so they didn't interfere with the tee. Many holes had alternate pin placements, and the locations of these were clearly indicated on the signs.
Cons: As always, when there are multiple pin positions, and the pin is not obviously visible from the tee, I really like to see a way of marking the current position. The tee signs were very easy to follow, but the various placements on some holes were different enough that it was necessary to walk up the fairway to plan the shot.
Other Thoughts: This course is extremely well kept, and overall was a fantastic disc golf experience. I would agree with people who have described it as Idlewild's little brother, as it offers much of the same variety and challenge while being a little more accessible to newer players. I would highly recommend this course if you are anywhere near the Cincinnati area.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Best in NKY

5+    5/5/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 50  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2011
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is definitely my favorite course out of the ones I've played in my main areas of play: the Greater Cincinnati and Raleigh-Durham areas. It's not overly wooded or too long, just a nice mix that rewards thoughtful play. Definitely a championship caliber course.

The holes are well designed to leave birdie chances or safe pars, if you're playing by the pars on the signs. Once you've reached a certain level you'll be scoring well on the course, -10 or more, so for a challenge play everything a 3.

Everything is well maintained and all the tee pads have signs with par, length, and a hole diagram. Many holes have alternating basket positions and some have alternate tees.

The woods holes are definitely the best designed with appropriate risk/reward. Many have several reasonable flight lines and I don't feel the course emphasizes one type of fade over another. A lot of holes are on side slopes, which make you think about your landing, and there's two short par 3's that are great downhill shots that can easily go awful if you don't execute well if you decide to go risky. There's even a couple of tunnel shots through the woods for the precision players. A small pond comes into play on a couple holes and a creek on a couple others that give some excitement. There are a few open holes to let you throw a boomer or two but don't offer as much challenge. It is a long course with 24 holes, which I find a plus, but some think it is too long.

In other words, I think the course is very well balanced and is fun for a wide range of skill levels.
Cons: Course can get fairly crowded in late afternoon and early evening as people are trying to get in rounds after work and school. Weekends can similarly become crowded, but it is all very hit or miss.

Over the last year (2010 and now into 2011) the course has gone through a couple of changes, one good and one bad. The good is that my prior complaint of undergrowth has been taken care of for the most part. On the main lines of the holes where this was a problem it has been cleared out, though a few holes still have thorn bushes and other growth if you have an errant drive. The bad change is that I feel they're trying to make the course more beginner friendly and so have taken some of the teeth out of the holes, especially the fun ones. For example, a lot of logs have been placed around landing areas for baskets, especially the two downhill par 3's mentioned in the Pros section, that take out a lot of the risk of "going for it."

Tee signs do not mark the way to the next tee so some people get confused as to where to go. See "Other Thoughts" for the worst of these.

A couple of the holes back in the woods get muddy easily and do not quickly dry out, so wear some old shoes.
Other Thoughts: The holes that are the ones most people miss are 5 & 6 and 22 & 23. When finishing hole 4, many people just skip to 7 because the tee is very close to 4's basket. To get to 5 you must actually cross the parking lot behind 4's basket. 6 is easy to find from 5 and loops back to the 7 tee. After finishing 21 you will follow the road leftwards (towards the entrance of the park). 24's tee is the next one you come across, but at this point you actually want to cross over the main road and hit 22 and 23 before crossing back over to 24.

Lincoln Ridge is a nice park with play areas, a ball field, shelters, and a large soccer field. This field is typically empty so can be used to practice your drives.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 FUN!

1    4/12/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 64  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wow. What a great course. There is everything you could want from a course here, including shot type, scenery, difficulty, cool locals and overall enjoyment. The set of holes around the creek on the back nine stand out still and I played it several weeks ago. This is a tough series of holes, with some serious side of the hill baskets and a large creek looming off to the side. It was raining buckets when I played this course (my bag didn't dry out for about a week!), and I couldn't leave, even though I had already played Idlewild that day. Really fun. Definite stop on your trip to the mecca of DG in this area....
Cons: This is a course you don't want to play in the rain, even though i did. The pads can get dangerous as some of them are perched on the sides of hills and if you fall, you're breaking something. Some of the extra holes are just pitch and putt in a field, meh.
Other Thoughts: I am lucky enough to travel around in 7 states and play a lot of courses now and this started the best two days I've ever had in my DG career: Here, Idlewild and Mt. Airy in Columbus.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A+ = Best of 160+ I Have Played So Far!

2-4    5/8/2006   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 374  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.3 Years
10 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

10 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Idlewild's little brother?

1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.4 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love a course that has both open and wooded shots, and this course really delivers!

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. Mach baskets in very good condition. Tee signs are mostly there, but the map on here is more than adequate to navigate the course. Benches and trash cans abound, facilities are very nice.

I also like how there are some very challenging shots, as well as several that are deuce-able...

My memorable holes:
3 - Tight fairway with woods left and road OB right, tough to place it just right for a look at a bird.
5 - Neat big hyzer through the woods, down then back up. If you hit it just right you might hear chains.
6 - "Nedly's Revenge"...I don't know who Nedly is, but man this hole is tough! Over a ravine, then up and right over a hill, then BACK down to the right. I felt lucky to get a 5!
9 - 205 feet. Seemingly simple, but real tough to thread through the trees. Great feeling to reach the basket on this one.
14 - Not very long, but BIG downhill tree-lined shot. Don't go long though or you end up in a huge ravine.
15/16 - Hill with trees left, BIG dropoff to creek right. You really have to focus on these two to keep it straight, or you will be throwing back up from the water, or trying to clear trees to get back.
20 - down a hill and back up, but a line of trees all but blocks your path. You can lay up and hit the opening back up the hill, or go BIG thumber or tomahawk to clear the trees. Fun hole.
24 - Looking down a hill with a pond on the left, line of many big trees between the tee and the basket. Be careful! if you go high and not right enough (RHBH) you might be kissing your disc goodbye to the lake. Go right and let it fade back in.
Cons: Kind of rough terrain to negotiate. It was still a bit wet, and some grades were pretty steep, some stairs in places would really help (although some were in place).

Some more cleanup is necessary from the ice storm is needed, but they have done pretty well so far, just need some repairs to be done (i.e. the steps going from 16's basket to 17's tee).

Some of the fairways play very close to each other, so at times you have to be very aware of errant shots from other holes or you might just take one to the head.

Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 is based on the fact that the course is very fun, and well laid out. It just needs to progress in terms of being able to traverse the course more easily. Mostly though, it just wasn't terribly challenging when compared to longer more difficult course I've played like Idlewild and Renaissance Park. I feel it can get to 4.5 if worked on a little more.

Overall I feel this course is a MUST PLAY if you are coming through the area on I-71 or I-75. I feel very fortunate to have this gem only 75 minutes from my house.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.