Lansing, MI
Grand Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #16 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My first...

5+    10/8/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Viper124
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wooded and open shots
- Water hazards
- Cement tee pads
- Stereotypical guy selling discs out of his truck
Cons: - Losing discs in water hazards
- Busy in the afternoon
- Trash and graffiti
- R/C track close to hole 1
- Walking from one hole to the next in the middle of the course can be dangerous if someone is careless
- Throwing across the road on 17 through the mando gap can be dangerous and annoying because of the cars coming through.
Other Thoughts: This is where I first picked up disc golf, so I'll try not to be biased.

This course is a nice mix of open and wooded. Though, from what I can recall, all my drives were either straight, or had a slight anny.

They moved the basket on 7 from the little ledge to the top of the hill. I guess people got sick of losing discs in the river.

There's a secret basket on 13. It's on the top of the hill and surrounded by trees. No one uses it and it's pretty rusted up.

You double back walking from one hole to the next (holes 10 through 12). This can be dangerous if people get impatient or are playing up right behind you.

Shooting on 13, 14, and 15 is pretty annoying. I feel like the designers just put a basket right in front of the teepad and through a bunch of trees and bushes in the way.

There's a lot of people if you go later in the afternoon, but any time before 3ish on a weekday, it'll be dead.

If you don't want to deal with the crowds, go to the 9-hole in Dewitt. It's a quick, heavily wooded course with some pretty nice elevation changes. It was always empty whenever I went there.

BRING A BASEBALL!!! The trees here like to hang on to discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Grand Woods

1    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice long concrete tee pads. Tee signs are nice and descriptive. for first time there was fairly easy to navigate. with the water in play on a lot of holes it makes you work on your accuracy and shot placement.
Cons: tee pad sign missing on hole 11. you also need to walk back along the fairway of 10 to get to 11. from 11 to 12 you to almost cut across the 11th fairway.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing here. didn't shoot to well but that just motivates me to come back and try to do better. i do see where hole 5 can be a major problem with all the leaves on the trees that you are trying to throw threw and around in order to get to the hole. Hole 13 can be a problem as well but not as bad as 5. my partner had a problem on both holes i had enough distance to actually make the safe landing area. 6 can be a real pain if you try and go for it. I tried to throw my anhyzer disc and ended up dropping it into the lake. still makes for a fun challenge though. i really had to work on every shot and figure out how i was going to approach each hole this made it a lot more fun then just throw any shot then putt.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Grand and then Woods

1    8/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grand Woods is an older course featuring some visually appealing holes and a moderate level of difficulty in the way of water and dense blind shots. The first 11 holes are generally quite well done here and are a joy to play with the possible exception of the blind and disorienting number five. Concrete tee pads are present at each hole as well as signage, although much of the signage is covered with graffiti scrawl. A wide open bomb hole gets things moving toward the woods at one. The first few wooded holes feature a stream and some natural cuts and depressions that are very engrossing and pleasing to the eye. The holes play mostly straight and have fairly wide corridors with some chance of trees and water entering into play. The sixth hole hugs the bank of a small pond and is quite hazardous on the left edge if care is not exercised. A classic water hazard hole. Seven runs rightward down a tight path and up and down a dirt mound showing the first use of elevation apart from the teeing area at five. The tenth is an open hole featuring a (green) water filled moat that belies an uphill basket placement. Definite possibility of treachery here. Seventeen features another interesting use of elevation with a basket placed amidst a steep rooty hillside that is a true run away putter roll danger. Some decent variety to enjoy.
Cons: Although much of the early landscape and layout is a visual delight and a fun throw, some legitimate cons slowly emerge and cause a twinge of bitterness to mingle in with the sweet at Grand Woods Park. Graffiti and an inordinate amount of litter slowly chip away at the aesthetics that the natural scenery offers. Some of us are so disrespectful to the courses and it can be upsetting at times to have it detract from an otherwise great appearance. Some design flaws come into light as well as the walk progresses. The number five tee has the potential to cast a feeling of dread when a sea of green is all that can be seen from on high. It is dead blind with plenty of patches of growth to obscure a disc that flies astray or simply out of view. The basket placement, once past the vast scrub, is quite scenic on the edge of a pond. This hole seemed somewhat dangerous and possibly unfair in that even with a walk ahead, bearing is easily lost with all of the reference points being blurred by similar looking green foliage. Perhaps a fall or spring play would be less threatening to plastic commodities. The location of the number eleven tee requires a walk back down the hill and over the moat and through the hot zone of number ten fairway in order to continue onward. Awkward. Potentially dangerous to bodies. A long walk in the wrong direction is highly probable if a player is unaware of this counter intuitive backtracking requirement. Does the course move from eleven to thirteen? Hole twelve may not exist. Uncertain. No photos on DGCR to ascertain the answer to this query. Thirteen is another pretty wicked blind hole with very narrow safe landing zones amidst the bushes. Again, hard to gain a visual reference point for teeing. After thirteen, navigation can become confusing to the point of causing frustration in individuals such as myself. No clues anywhere in sight. Fifteen, when located offers another blind basket with dense growth. Finding seventeen after playing sixteen can be difficult. Suddenly recalling that you may have driven your vehicle past a tee on your way into the park and that the tee may have actually been seventeen is a good thing to do at this point. Perhaps I expect too much.
Other Thoughts: I was truly excited and loving this park and the play it offered during the first half of the round. I realize that the vast majority of courses have a few holes that are less than stellar. For myself, the misstep after hole ten was when the course transitioned from grand to merely just woods. Half of the holes are actually quite enjoyable though. It is a shame that this course ends on a bit of a sour note after a solid beginning. Worth a play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wide range of holes here.

2-4    7/9/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: CharlotteChris
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really enjoy the first four and last five holes. These seem to at one time have been a nine hole course. They are in a park-like setting which is well mowed and has very mature trees.
Cons: Hole 5 is just a tee box and a swamp. There is no way to play this hole without losing a disc. I see that there is a basket in a strange place. Hopefully they are planing to have this be for hole 5 and make it a playable hole. Holes 6 through 13 are nice but they seem to be newer and don't have the same feel.
Other Thoughts: The graffiti and garbage are a little extreme on this course. I know that there is no good way to control it but it seems worse here than any of the other local courses.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good but busy local course

5+    4/1/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: gpaaske
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tee pads are good quality, all concrete, lots of room to throw
-Most people are very nice
-Great place to get discs at a lower price then in stores, 2-3 locals sell new and used
-A few of the locals that sell discs, also hold found ones that are marked, just in case the owner returns.
-Not the easiest course, and that is a good thing, good variety of shots, some long, some short, some open, some wooded, good amount of water.
-Newer baskets are starting to pop up that go around holes that are usually unplayable.
Cons: -Like most people will say, it is really busy.
-Discs are easy to lose, at least for me, you have to have fairly decent control, or have a spotter on almost every hole.
-Over the years, different baskets go missing, I played earlier in the week, and hole 2's basket was missing, then I played yesterday, and they had put it back in.
-Depending on how the rain has been, hole can very easily become unplayable, course stays very wet.
-Did I mention busy? Go early in the day if you can (10am-ish) even then there is usually a few people already there.
-Course is not very clean, there is trash at most tees, and most the benches and tables are broken or aren't there.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty fun if you don't have to wait too long to tee off. It is nice having locals in the parking lot selling discs out of their trucks, DJ is the older guy who keeps the lost and found going, and there is a second guy named "J" (I believe) is the guy behind J-Bird discs. Keep your throws under control, and you should avoid losing a disc on every hole :)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Variety--Somewhat challenging.

5+    8/24/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -
-Concrete tee pads
-Good baskets
-Good variety
-GREAT water holes (highly challenging)
-Decent challenges
-Good Fun Factor
-Most locals are polite
Cons: -
-Busy (VERY BUSY SOMETIMES)
-Dirty and trashy
-Swampy/Stinky water
-Needs better signage and benches
-During wetter months some holes are unplayable
-Poor navigation (hence needs better signs!)
Other Thoughts: -
-This course has decent variety. You will be shooting through woods, small elevation changes, and water.
-There are a few holes that your shooting blind on. You will then need either a spotter or have an idea of where your disc went.
-Water holes are cool, tough, and numerous (3) legit water holes.
-I enjoy this course when I play it, however it does tend to get rather busy. Since the course is nothing special I tend to avoid it when there are large crowds.
-I have been able to play through some of the crowds but sometimes people won't let you play through and you have to watch someone throw a disc 6 times to a 180 ft hole. This of course is annoying and lot's of beginners use this course. (although if your a beginner Fitzgerald Park is a better idea for you, it has less water holes)
-I'm giving this course a 3.0 only because about 3 or 4 of the holes are excellent, otherwise this is just a typical average course.
-This course is also a park that R/C racing and other activies for the family to enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 No Guts, No Glory

2-4    10/3/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 155  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grand Woods is a very challenging course offering many high risk/ high reward shots, and water coming into play on many holes. This course continuously forces you choose between going for it and playing it safe. A few holes force you to drive over an expanse of trees, scrub, and brush to set up a decent approach shot: intimidating for shorter throwers, and requiring control from bombers.

Plenty of shot variety with some moderate elevation changes, nice variations in fairway length and opportunities to use many different shots and disc choices. Course has many fairly unique and thrilling tee shots, and quite a few blind holes. Most holes stand on their own; course never feels repetitive.

A safer alternative: Hole 6 is a narrow, gently left turning fairway with water all the way down the left side. Many RHBH throwers will end up in the drink. There's an safer (but less thrilling) alternate hole 6 just a bit further down that pretty much follows the walking path parallel to the waterhole. Alt hole does not have a concrete pad, but there is a post in ground to indicate the tee area.

Pleasant suburban park setting with nice atmosphere.

Concrete tee pads were in decent shape.
Cons: - Navigation was very difficult in spots, even having played it a year ago. Maps or Next Tee signs would be a big improvement.
- Risk of disc loss is high, plenty of water and some blind holes. Some holes submerged after heavy rains or spring thaw.
- First hole plays right through an open field with quite a bit of other park traffic: may require a bit of a wait. 17th hole plays across roadway, but it's not too hard to spot cars coming.
- Some baskets are pretty old and nasty.
- Park isn't in bad shape, but course feels a bit run down: missing some tee signs, general wear & tear.
Other Thoughts: I can't rip this course (even though it ripped me)!
It's a great challenge, but better signage, navigation aids, a few new baskets and some general TLC would really make playing here much more enjoyable.

Definitely not a "Grip it and Rip it" or beginner course. Course requires control and at least moderate distance.

A few local disc divers regularly fish discs out of the water and brush for rewards, so make sure you have a name or phone # on them.

Course plays quite a bit differently depending on time of year. Peaking plant growth in mid to late summer make the course even more challenging. When I played here last fall, recent rains made water hazards on many holes much more hazardous.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is

5+    7/26/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Jim Play Two
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 35.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wonderfully demanding coarse that utilizes many different shots. Spread out over much area so there are very few bottlenecks.
Cons: This a very good coarse that could be much better. The capiatal city renegades maintain this coarse and if you are not a member, they can be very rude, especially on league nights. They will never let a faster group play through. This is also true when the league is at Fitgerald in Grand Ledge.
When it rains many holes can be under water for days.
Other Thoughts: This coarse is freequented by many stereotypical discgolfers. They look a little rough but most are very nice and will accommodate and help new golfers get around the coarse.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Always trashed

5+    6/2/2008   7/23/2009
Review By: rcd1649
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course. Well designed with a good mix of shots.
Cons: This course is always trashed, there is usually garbage everywhere. If you are playing March to November expect long waits.
Other Thoughts: The course layout deserves a 4, but the people who play it deserve a 2, no offense to the regular golfers here but this place is a garbage pit. It is a real shame, another course that could definetly benefit from pay to play.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/24/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Course Maintenance-
There are 18 good sized concrete tees. Most holes have signs, the baskets are in decent shape, and the course is clean. Also alot of holes have trash cans next to the tees.
Cons:
Hole Variety/Course Layout-
Theres a good blend of technical and big arm holes at this course. It seems like they layed out the course as best they could with the land. When I played here several holes were flooded, a few of them unplayable. Also a couple holes seem like they would be very thick in the summer time. A little elevation, but nothing special.
Other Thoughts:
Course Navigation-
No maps here, and a couple holes might confuse you (like 11 & 12). It is very possible to navigate without a map though.

Course Atmosphere-
Nice city park with alot of woods. There was a decent amount of people playing, and everyone seemed to be pretty cool (more regular players than casuals).

-Locals for this course arn't gonna like my rating, but when I was here it was badly overflooded and a few holes were unplayable. I will come back and play this course when its dry and my rating will probably change.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.