Lansing, MI
Grand Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl   (Taken 8/2009)
The course kiosk



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great course

2-4    11/13/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well thought out holes
- great variety of short/long left/right shots required
- rewards taking chances and mixing up your shots
- nice concrete tee pads
- easy to navigate
- Lots of challenge for all levels, but still approachable by beginners
- D.J. selling discs in the parking lot
- I've been told alcohol is ok in the park
Cons: - Can be VERY busy on weekends and when weather is nice
- Can be very muddy in places
- Some holes were unplayable most of the season due to flooding
- Easy to lose a disc on water holes if not careful
- Some trash and graffiti around the tees from LAZY and RUDE players
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely a classic for the lansing area. There are a ton of people who frequent this course since it is the nearest decent 18 hole course to the MSU campus. If you come on a nice weekend in season, be ready to wait. Not to say it won't be fun, just leave time so you're not in a rush.

The course plays through mostly lightly wooded holes, with some having very tight fairways. There are water hazards in play on 8 or 9 holes, though only few are dangerous to your disc on a good day. On a bad day, there are several holes that are unplayable due to flooding.

Since all holes are played as par 3, some of the longer holes are going to frustrate people with shorter drives. Given a perfect tee shot, and a great approach an intermediate player can par the course I am sure, but anyone driving less than 300 feet will have trouble getting par on a few of the holes.

Overall, I would recommend visiting this park if you are in town. It is free, an provides a great place to picnic and hang out before or after your round. For a cleaner and slightly better maintained course visit Burchfield (a newer course in the area). It is not free there, but the grounds are a bit more maintained and it is less crowded.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: scuba
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Has a bit of everything, some people hate the 4th or fith hole, (refered to as Nam) its always and adventure to find your disc. Dude at parking lot, Dusty, has good discs for sale. I like the race car track, fun to watch.
Cons: a few of the holes are somewhat the same, cops drive around somtimes, but just dont be stupid. Heavy traffic can slow play, but allows for more party time.
Other Thoughts: This place is a community in itself, always bums around either fishing for discs or cans. you Can buy buddies easily, boozin seems to be welcomed even if it is not allowed. I guess you could say this is where all the MSU students go who know what is up. People who complain about the partying at this course should suck it up and go to ann arbor and hang out with the pretty boys if you cant hang.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

4/30/2008   4/30/2008
Review By: Portablewalrus
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best course in the area.
Cons: This place does get way to crowed. The biggest problem is that locals and leagers can get really cocky despite what the previous posters said. I say leagers because I have never heard the term casuals used so much before I played this course. Its disgusting to hear this elitist attitude from people and has prevented me from joining CCR. This is the only reason I posted a review for this course, everything else is pretty well covered.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Number one Stop in Mid-Michigan

6/15/2007   11/15/2007
Review By: JoePublic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout and plenty of space. Nice tight-long holes and wide open holes make for a variety of shots and skills. Capital City Renegades is the local club, and they get plenty of action around this course.
Cons: real busy after work time. Closest great course to MSU (besides the new MSU course on campus, which is questionsble).
Other Thoughts: Great community; say hi to D.J. selling discs. Give him your action, not the store or online.
Saturday random doubles at 11am. Dont miss out on Grand Ledge only 10 miles from here.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and active

10/30/2007   11/7/2007
Review By: rootc
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good tees and challenging course design. Lots of wooded holes. The course layout has a nice flow to it.
Cons: Very easy to lose a disk either in the woods or in the water.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Lansing area. I have played it numerous times this year and figure out new and improved ways to play certain holes. There is always a guy selling disks there during the weekends and he is quite knowledgable about the sport and the disks he deals in.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.