Lansing, MI
Grand Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 221ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 great start

2-4    9/23/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: KittyTwist
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - All baskets up and in great repair
- Tees in great condition
- Nice mix of open shots and tricky approaches
Cons: - Mystery holes ... obviously we are not the only ones who missed a hole or two from the curious lay out
- Signage on many holes is missing or ruined so that it's hard to determine how the hole lays out
Other Thoughts: This is my first course and I had a blast. We hit it early so that we don't get trapped by all the after workers and weekenders. And the mysterious "missing" holes are kind of fun to track down and add to the workout, so I don't really mind the confusion.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

5+    8/4/2008   4/1/2013
Review By: geoblime
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Fun lines to the basket
-Laid out pretty well
-Variety of shots will keep you on your toes.
-Mostly golfers so no cross traffic
Cons: -Signage could be better
-A little barren at times
-Trash and graffiti
-One hole if I remember right it just lame
Other Thoughts: I was out for the Amateur Nationals at the Toboggan course. Got to play this course many times while out there. Very fun course in the middle of a park. Would play again.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

ahhh, history

1    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 205  Reviewed: 201  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-Nice multiuse public park. areas for disc golf seem to be exclusive to disc golf which avoids the hazards of people walking through.

Baskets-Nice and in great repair. Visible in some heavier wooded areas. Basket #13 is missing, the pole is there but no basket or chains.

Routing-not bad I guess, this place could use some "next tee" signs in some places. apparently a six-hole lettered loop is in the ground off of #8 (DJ told me when I told him I lost my disc on #10 "long" which is the basket for #D)

Teepads--LOOOOOOOONG concrete teepads in great repair.

DJ-DJ is not only the lost and found guy, he also sells new discs right in the parking lot. I found and returned two discs in this round... one to the L&F box and one to a discer who was LOUD when he lost his favorite champ orc :

Risk v Reward- Great use of the water on this course, thankfully it's been a dry summer!

Variety, a little of everything on this course. Wide open, water, wooded, poke and hope, uphill, downhill, it's all here.
Cons:
Routing/Signage-it looks like new sign posts are in the ground but no signs are present. these would help routing immensely. some of the "back 9" are a bit jumbled without signage.

Missing basket on 13. I'm sure this is some shenanigans but it's still a negative

Lack of advertising of the "lettered loop"-kinda pissed I missed this!!
Other Thoughts: This was the very first course I played ten years ago (and didn't play again for 8 years) and it's changed a LOT since then. Good to get back to my roots! :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Any pros outweighed by heavy cons.

5+    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Griplock
Played: 54  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good lines, definately a risks vs. rewards course.
-Can play the 'Quick 9' with holes 1-4 and 14-18.
-DJ's usually out with a good selection at decent prices if you lose a disc.
-Easy to navigate. (Mostly)
Cons: -Bugs. Lots.
-Graffiti and trash. Lots.
-Usually have to end up skipping two or three holes to get around groups of 4 to 8 who seem to only barely realize they're in the woods, let alone playing disc golf. Expect no courtesy.
-Usually have to skip two to three holes due to flooding.
-Easy to lose discs, even on the best of days there are a thousand little niches, a pond and a river within most drives.
Other Thoughts: I'll admit some bias on this review. It was the first course I ever played, and one I've played dozens of times. Each time I seem to be sorely disappointed in new ways. Mostly, people at GW are of the variety that give disc a bad reputation, and there are masses of them. If you aim to play it, catch it early in the morning before the idiots overrun the place, when it hasn't rained for a few weeks, and bring bug spray.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    11/13/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well thought out holes
- great variety of short/long left/right shots required
- rewards taking chances and mixing up your shots
- nice concrete tee pads
- easy to navigate
- Lots of challenge for all levels, but still approachable by beginners
- D.J. selling discs in the parking lot
- I've been told alcohol is ok in the park
Cons: - Can be VERY busy on weekends and when weather is nice
- Can be very muddy in places
- Some holes were unplayable most of the season due to flooding
- Easy to lose a disc on water holes if not careful
- Some trash and graffiti around the tees from LAZY and RUDE players
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely a classic for the lansing area. There are a ton of people who frequent this course since it is the nearest decent 18 hole course to the MSU campus. If you come on a nice weekend in season, be ready to wait. Not to say it won't be fun, just leave time so you're not in a rush.

The course plays through mostly lightly wooded holes, with some having very tight fairways. There are water hazards in play on 8 or 9 holes, though only few are dangerous to your disc on a good day. On a bad day, there are several holes that are unplayable due to flooding.

Since all holes are played as par 3, some of the longer holes are going to frustrate people with shorter drives. Given a perfect tee shot, and a great approach an intermediate player can par the course I am sure, but anyone driving less than 300 feet will have trouble getting par on a few of the holes.

Overall, I would recommend visiting this park if you are in town. It is free, an provides a great place to picnic and hang out before or after your round. For a cleaner and slightly better maintained course visit Burchfield (a newer course in the area). It is not free there, but the grounds are a bit more maintained and it is less crowded.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My first...

5+    10/8/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Viper124
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wooded and open shots
- Water hazards
- Cement tee pads
- Stereotypical guy selling discs out of his truck
Cons: - Losing discs in water hazards
- Busy in the afternoon
- Trash and graffiti
- R/C track close to hole 1
- Walking from one hole to the next in the middle of the course can be dangerous if someone is careless
- Throwing across the road on 17 through the mando gap can be dangerous and annoying because of the cars coming through.
Other Thoughts: This is where I first picked up disc golf, so I'll try not to be biased.

This course is a nice mix of open and wooded. Though, from what I can recall, all my drives were either straight, or had a slight anny.

They moved the basket on 7 from the little ledge to the top of the hill. I guess people got sick of losing discs in the river.

There's a secret basket on 13. It's on the top of the hill and surrounded by trees. No one uses it and it's pretty rusted up.

You double back walking from one hole to the next (holes 10 through 12). This can be dangerous if people get impatient or are playing up right behind you.

Shooting on 13, 14, and 15 is pretty annoying. I feel like the designers just put a basket right in front of the teepad and through a bunch of trees and bushes in the way.

There's a lot of people if you go later in the afternoon, but any time before 3ish on a weekday, it'll be dead.

If you don't want to deal with the crowds, go to the 9-hole in Dewitt. It's a quick, heavily wooded course with some pretty nice elevation changes. It was always empty whenever I went there.

BRING A BASEBALL!!! The trees here like to hang on to discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Grand Woods

1    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice long concrete tee pads. Tee signs are nice and descriptive. for first time there was fairly easy to navigate. with the water in play on a lot of holes it makes you work on your accuracy and shot placement.
Cons: tee pad sign missing on hole 11. you also need to walk back along the fairway of 10 to get to 11. from 11 to 12 you to almost cut across the 11th fairway.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing here. didn't shoot to well but that just motivates me to come back and try to do better. i do see where hole 5 can be a major problem with all the leaves on the trees that you are trying to throw threw and around in order to get to the hole. Hole 13 can be a problem as well but not as bad as 5. my partner had a problem on both holes i had enough distance to actually make the safe landing area. 6 can be a real pain if you try and go for it. I tried to throw my anhyzer disc and ended up dropping it into the lake. still makes for a fun challenge though. i really had to work on every shot and figure out how i was going to approach each hole this made it a lot more fun then just throw any shot then putt.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Grand and then Woods

1    8/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grand Woods is an older course featuring some visually appealing holes and a moderate level of difficulty in the way of water and dense blind shots. The first 11 holes are generally quite well done here and are a joy to play with the possible exception of the blind and disorienting number five. Concrete tee pads are present at each hole as well as signage, although much of the signage is covered with graffiti scrawl. A wide open bomb hole gets things moving toward the woods at one. The first few wooded holes feature a stream and some natural cuts and depressions that are very engrossing and pleasing to the eye. The holes play mostly straight and have fairly wide corridors with some chance of trees and water entering into play. The sixth hole hugs the bank of a small pond and is quite hazardous on the left edge if care is not exercised. A classic water hazard hole. Seven runs rightward down a tight path and up and down a dirt mound showing the first use of elevation apart from the teeing area at five. The tenth is an open hole featuring a (green) water filled moat that belies an uphill basket placement. Definite possibility of treachery here. Seventeen features another interesting use of elevation with a basket placed amidst a steep rooty hillside that is a true run away putter roll danger. Some decent variety to enjoy.
Cons: Although much of the early landscape and layout is a visual delight and a fun throw, some legitimate cons slowly emerge and cause a twinge of bitterness to mingle in with the sweet at Grand Woods Park. Graffiti and an inordinate amount of litter slowly chip away at the aesthetics that the natural scenery offers. Some of us are so disrespectful to the courses and it can be upsetting at times to have it detract from an otherwise great appearance. Some design flaws come into light as well as the walk progresses. The number five tee has the potential to cast a feeling of dread when a sea of green is all that can be seen from on high. It is dead blind with plenty of patches of growth to obscure a disc that flies astray or simply out of view. The basket placement, once past the vast scrub, is quite scenic on the edge of a pond. This hole seemed somewhat dangerous and possibly unfair in that even with a walk ahead, bearing is easily lost with all of the reference points being blurred by similar looking green foliage. Perhaps a fall or spring play would be less threatening to plastic commodities. The location of the number eleven tee requires a walk back down the hill and over the moat and through the hot zone of number ten fairway in order to continue onward. Awkward. Potentially dangerous to bodies. A long walk in the wrong direction is highly probable if a player is unaware of this counter intuitive backtracking requirement. Does the course move from eleven to thirteen? Hole twelve may not exist. Uncertain. No photos on DGCR to ascertain the answer to this query. Thirteen is another pretty wicked blind hole with very narrow safe landing zones amidst the bushes. Again, hard to gain a visual reference point for teeing. After thirteen, navigation can become confusing to the point of causing frustration in individuals such as myself. No clues anywhere in sight. Fifteen, when located offers another blind basket with dense growth. Finding seventeen after playing sixteen can be difficult. Suddenly recalling that you may have driven your vehicle past a tee on your way into the park and that the tee may have actually been seventeen is a good thing to do at this point. Perhaps I expect too much.
Other Thoughts: I was truly excited and loving this park and the play it offered during the first half of the round. I realize that the vast majority of courses have a few holes that are less than stellar. For myself, the misstep after hole ten was when the course transitioned from grand to merely just woods. Half of the holes are actually quite enjoyable though. It is a shame that this course ends on a bit of a sour note after a solid beginning. Worth a play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course!

1    7/28/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: m1morri1
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park with water coming into play on some holes. Some blind holes make it interesting. Extra long tee pads were nice.
Cons: The signs were not very accurate.
Other Thoughts: A guy sells discs out of his truck which is sweet (descent prices).

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Memorable in many ways...

5+    10/20/2009   7/31/2010
Review By: laschus
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Extremely picturesque especially in autumn, friendly locals to assist, challenging without being stupid, easily accessible, a good mixture of tight and wide open holes.
Cons: Easy to get lost, poor signage, lots of graffiti and trash, easy to get lost, one preposterous hole layout, did I mention easy to get lost?
Other Thoughts: I spent four months in Lansing as my "home away from home" and played Grand Woods at least a couple of times a week after work when the weather allowed. The locals were terrific...DJ, the local icon, was always at the ready with disks. The scenery was worth the visit in late September/October as the traffic died down and I got to know a few locals. Once you manage to find your way from hole to hole throughout the course it is both challenging and rewarding. Grand Woods raised me from novice to intermediate in a short while, and I will always have fond memories.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.