Lansing, MI 
Grand Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #17 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Always trashed

5+    6/2/2008   7/23/2009
Review By: rcd1649
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course. Well designed with a good mix of shots.
Cons: This course is always trashed, there is usually garbage everywhere. If you are playing March to November expect long waits.
Other Thoughts: The course layout deserves a 4, but the people who play it deserve a 2, no offense to the regular golfers here but this place is a garbage pit. It is a real shame, another course that could definetly benefit from pay to play.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/20/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: ejvogie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of terrain, some small elevation changes. Some people have said that it's easy to lose discs in the water, but I (luckily) didn't find that to be true. It just made me use some shots to fade away from the lake. Locals were very helpful in pointing me in the right direction to tee and pin locations.
Cons: Some sort of navigational aid could be used here. I almost didn't find the tees for holes 5 and 16. The maps at the tees could also use some work, as I skipped hole 5 because I thought I would be throwing into a swamp, instead of around it.
Other Thoughts: Better tees signs and maybe some 'Next Tee' signs would go a long way into making this a 4 or a 4.5. I thoroughly enjoyed my round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in the Mitten

5+    5/29/2007   5/29/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has great use of the land! It plays through the woods, over/around water, open field, upper/lower elevation shots, etc. Very few holes even resemble each other which makes one really utilize his whole bag on this course. The distances on the holes are also very fun to play, with a few shorties but mostly the all give great opportunites for drives.
Cons: Sometimes its a little trashed, probably due to the higher level of traffic. There is 1 hole that plays over the entrance way to the course sometimes on a busy day makes it a little bit of a wait to throw because of traffic.
Other Thoughts: This is not only the first course I played but also my favorite. The course is very well organized, a fantastic diversity of hole types, amazing use of the land within the park, the people are great, there is really not much more to say then if you are going through the Lansing, MI area you have to hit this course!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Way too wet

1    4/3/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: AWA05
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: large course, maped out, lots of hole variety, easy to find if you know the area.
Cons: Not an early spring course. Many holes were flooded and un playable. Will def. be better when the ground dries up a little bit
Other Thoughts: (I did not play here, my fiance did)

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/24/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Course Maintenance-
There are 18 good sized concrete tees. Most holes have signs, the baskets are in decent shape, and the course is clean. Also alot of holes have trash cans next to the tees.
Cons:
Hole Variety/Course Layout-
Theres a good blend of technical and big arm holes at this course. It seems like they layed out the course as best they could with the land. When I played here several holes were flooded, a few of them unplayable. Also a couple holes seem like they would be very thick in the summer time. A little elevation, but nothing special.
Other Thoughts:
Course Navigation-
No maps here, and a couple holes might confuse you (like 11 & 12). It is very possible to navigate without a map though.

Course Atmosphere-
Nice city park with alot of woods. There was a decent amount of people playing, and everyone seemed to be pretty cool (more regular players than casuals).

-Locals for this course arn't gonna like my rating, but when I was here it was badly overflooded and a few holes were unplayable. I will come back and play this course when its dry and my rating will probably change.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Grand Woods

5+    8/18/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: worthdan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good course layout with a good mixture of holes; long, short, open, wooded, right, left. fun course to play. if you loose a disc and want a new one or have questions about a disc there is a really nice guy named DJ that is there most of the time (he's the guy with the small pickup with lots of discs in the back of it)
Cons: almost always over crowded... most of the people are cool but on more than one occasion i have ran into.. um.. not cool people. in the spring time a few of the holes get flooded and really muddy.
Other Thoughts: fun course. if you want to play another fun course that is less crowded then check out Fitzgerald Park in Grand Ledge. it's about 15 minutes away from Grand Woods.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Workout

5/23/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mixture of hole challenges, lots of shots needed to keep yourself out of trouble. Water, woods, tight fairways, doglegs to the right, elevation, trees, trees and more trees.
Cons: From what I've heard (and seen), this park is almost always crowded, which made for a pretty slow round. Easy to lose discs in the water on several holes. Graffitii all over every available surface really messes up an otherwise beautiful park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

4/30/2008   4/30/2008
Review By: Portablewalrus
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best course in the area.
Cons: This place does get way to crowed. The biggest problem is that locals and leagers can get really cocky despite what the previous posters said. I say leagers because I have never heard the term casuals used so much before I played this course. Its disgusting to hear this elitist attitude from people and has prevented me from joining CCR. This is the only reason I posted a review for this course, everything else is pretty well covered.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

3/2/2008   3/2/2008
Review By: Smoke62
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of open holes, pretty well taken care of park.
Cons: Can be almost unplayable at times because of certain parties. Also two of the guys who go diving for discs don't like to give them back.
Other Thoughts: Great atmosphere, lots of information as well as discs, bags, and even baskets can be bought can be bought right at the course from DJ. Usually out there almost everyday during the summer.

P.S :P Don't forget to bring DJ a pepsi. hehe

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Number one Stop in Mid-Michigan

6/15/2007   11/15/2007
Review By: JoePublic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout and plenty of space. Nice tight-long holes and wide open holes make for a variety of shots and skills. Capital City Renegades is the local club, and they get plenty of action around this course.
Cons: real busy after work time. Closest great course to MSU (besides the new MSU course on campus, which is questionsble).
Other Thoughts: Great community; say hi to D.J. selling discs. Give him your action, not the store or online.
Saturday random doubles at 11am. Dont miss out on Grand Ledge only 10 miles from here.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.