Lansing, MI 
Grand Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #15 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Way too tough for many amatuers

1    11/20/2016   11/20/2016
Review By: Habtacular
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great Tee Pads
-Easy to find holes
-Great signage
Cons: -No short tees
-many holes unreasonable long/tough for amateurs
-lots of water ob
-a few horrible carries
-Some baskets pretty rough
Other Thoughts: Decent, very challenging course. Lack of short tee pads makes it pretty demoralizing for players with shorter distance. I would never choose to play this course again. Probably great challenge for pros.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Holding water like a pregnant lady...

1    4/26/2016   4/26/2016
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 59  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a beautiful multi-use park. The course is definitely set in the best part of the park. Nice views of the river on several holes.
- Tee signs are ok where they are installed but a lot of them are missing.
- Concrete tee pads are in great shape and are plenty big.
- Course design is amazing. Cannot stress this enough how well laid out some of these holes are. They just roll through this pretty little park as if they naturally belong there.
- Challenging for sure. This isn't your run of the mill huckster muni. This is a well laid out almost pro caliber course.
- Holes are long-ish but not brutally so. I never felt any of the holes were truly unfair except for maybe 5 and 6. There are some tight lanes to hit on some to be sure but nothing your average DG'er can't handle.
- I also appreciated the risk/reward factor here. Almost half of the holes really challenge your strategy - layup or be aggressive. #2 right off the bat does that to you.
Cons: - Not sure if this is typical but it seems the park is severely flooded. All of the swamp in front of the #5 long tee was completely submerged. #6 is darned near unplayable. It's 300'+ long and the #6 basket is on a freaking peninsula. Seriously? If that's how it normally is, then IMHO that hole is way harder than the rest of the course and seems to be out of place.
- And to go with the water theme, there was standing water all over many of the fairways. Very very wet and muddy today.
- Many of the baskets are some sort of really old Discraft. I can't stand these abominations. Kill them with fire. They don't catch worth a crapola.
- Navigation is not bad. Sort of follow the trampled path from basket to next tee. But there are spots where a map is really needed. On the navigation issue, walking up the 11th fairway to get to the #12 tee really feels wonky. You have all this space to work with out here so this shouldn't happen in the course design.
- What was really weird was trying to follow the map to #17. That hole is not there which is probably a good thing since that looked like a rather dumb set up on the map. So go to the 18 tee and throw up the hill. Then turn right and play the other number 18 hole and throw down the hill toward the parking lot. I suspect they are in the process of renumbering those holes.
- While a lot of holes are challenging and excellently laid out a few seemed out of place. #1 and #16 are just wide open bombers. Yawn.
Other Thoughts: Seems like I have a lot of picky a$$ed cons here. Look, there's just a lot of little things not anything terribly serious. I really liked this course but I just wanted to like it better. The land is just perfect for disc golf it's just too bad it isn't better. This has the potential to be a 4.5 course to me but at the moment I can only leave it at 3.0. I have to make the trip back to Lansing later this summer and see what it's like when things are dried out a little better and then modify this review.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Difficult wooded course

2-4    9/5/2015   9/9/2015
Review By: Burzurkur
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging course
Semi-Maintained
Requires a multitude of shots
Cons: Lots of bugs
A few water holes
Lots of OB
Very busy
Baskets not marked well
Other Thoughts: As a newer player, this course was way too difficult for me. There are a lot of straight down a wooded lane type shots that I struggle with yet. I would really rate this as a upper intermediate to amateur type course. I played with a pal who was invited to the National Amateur tournament and he did well here but for me as a newer player, it was just far too challenging.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  great start

2-4    9/23/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: KittyTwist
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - All baskets up and in great repair
- Tees in great condition
- Nice mix of open shots and tricky approaches
Cons: - Mystery holes ... obviously we are not the only ones who missed a hole or two from the curious lay out
- Signage on many holes is missing or ruined so that it's hard to determine how the hole lays out
Other Thoughts: This is my first course and I had a blast. We hit it early so that we don't get trapped by all the after workers and weekenders. And the mysterious "missing" holes are kind of fun to track down and add to the workout, so I don't really mind the confusion.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    8/4/2008   4/1/2013
Review By: geoblime
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.7 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Fun lines to the basket
-Laid out pretty well
-Variety of shots will keep you on your toes.
-Mostly golfers so no cross traffic
Cons: -Signage could be better
-A little barren at times
-Trash and graffiti
-One hole if I remember right it just lame
Other Thoughts: I was out for the Amateur Nationals at the Toboggan course. Got to play this course many times while out there. Very fun course in the middle of a park. Would play again.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 ahhh, history

1    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 292  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-Nice multiuse public park. areas for disc golf seem to be exclusive to disc golf which avoids the hazards of people walking through.

Baskets-Nice and in great repair. Visible in some heavier wooded areas. Basket #13 is missing, the pole is there but no basket or chains.

Routing-not bad I guess, this place could use some "next tee" signs in some places. apparently a six-hole lettered loop is in the ground off of #8 (DJ told me when I told him I lost my disc on #10 "long" which is the basket for #D)

Teepads--LOOOOOOOONG concrete teepads in great repair.

DJ-DJ is not only the lost and found guy, he also sells new discs right in the parking lot. I found and returned two discs in this round... one to the L&F box and one to a discer who was LOUD when he lost his favorite champ orc :

Risk v Reward- Great use of the water on this course, thankfully it's been a dry summer!

Variety, a little of everything on this course. Wide open, water, wooded, poke and hope, uphill, downhill, it's all here.
Cons:
Routing/Signage-it looks like new sign posts are in the ground but no signs are present. these would help routing immensely. some of the "back 9" are a bit jumbled without signage.

Missing basket on 13. I'm sure this is some shenanigans but it's still a negative

Lack of advertising of the "lettered loop"-kinda pissed I missed this!!
Other Thoughts: This was the very first course I played ten years ago (and didn't play again for 8 years) and it's changed a LOT since then. Good to get back to my roots! :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Any pros outweighed by heavy cons.

5+    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Griplock
Played: 54  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good lines, definately a risks vs. rewards course.
-Can play the 'Quick 9' with holes 1-4 and 14-18.
-DJ's usually out with a good selection at decent prices if you lose a disc.
-Easy to navigate. (Mostly)
Cons: -Bugs. Lots.
-Graffiti and trash. Lots.
-Usually have to end up skipping two or three holes to get around groups of 4 to 8 who seem to only barely realize they're in the woods, let alone playing disc golf. Expect no courtesy.
-Usually have to skip two to three holes due to flooding.
-Easy to lose discs, even on the best of days there are a thousand little niches, a pond and a river within most drives.
Other Thoughts: I'll admit some bias on this review. It was the first course I ever played, and one I've played dozens of times. Each time I seem to be sorely disappointed in new ways. Mostly, people at GW are of the variety that give disc a bad reputation, and there are masses of them. If you aim to play it, catch it early in the morning before the idiots overrun the place, when it hasn't rained for a few weeks, and bring bug spray.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    11/13/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well thought out holes
- great variety of short/long left/right shots required
- rewards taking chances and mixing up your shots
- nice concrete tee pads
- easy to navigate
- Lots of challenge for all levels, but still approachable by beginners
- D.J. selling discs in the parking lot
- I've been told alcohol is ok in the park
Cons: - Can be VERY busy on weekends and when weather is nice
- Can be very muddy in places
- Some holes were unplayable most of the season due to flooding
- Easy to lose a disc on water holes if not careful
- Some trash and graffiti around the tees from LAZY and RUDE players
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely a classic for the lansing area. There are a ton of people who frequent this course since it is the nearest decent 18 hole course to the MSU campus. If you come on a nice weekend in season, be ready to wait. Not to say it won't be fun, just leave time so you're not in a rush.

The course plays through mostly lightly wooded holes, with some having very tight fairways. There are water hazards in play on 8 or 9 holes, though only few are dangerous to your disc on a good day. On a bad day, there are several holes that are unplayable due to flooding.

Since all holes are played as par 3, some of the longer holes are going to frustrate people with shorter drives. Given a perfect tee shot, and a great approach an intermediate player can par the course I am sure, but anyone driving less than 300 feet will have trouble getting par on a few of the holes.

Overall, I would recommend visiting this park if you are in town. It is free, an provides a great place to picnic and hang out before or after your round. For a cleaner and slightly better maintained course visit Burchfield (a newer course in the area). It is not free there, but the grounds are a bit more maintained and it is less crowded.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My first...

5+    10/8/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Viper124
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wooded and open shots
- Water hazards
- Cement tee pads
- Stereotypical guy selling discs out of his truck
Cons: - Losing discs in water hazards
- Busy in the afternoon
- Trash and graffiti
- R/C track close to hole 1
- Walking from one hole to the next in the middle of the course can be dangerous if someone is careless
- Throwing across the road on 17 through the mando gap can be dangerous and annoying because of the cars coming through.
Other Thoughts: This is where I first picked up disc golf, so I'll try not to be biased.

This course is a nice mix of open and wooded. Though, from what I can recall, all my drives were either straight, or had a slight anny.

They moved the basket on 7 from the little ledge to the top of the hill. I guess people got sick of losing discs in the river.

There's a secret basket on 13. It's on the top of the hill and surrounded by trees. No one uses it and it's pretty rusted up.

You double back walking from one hole to the next (holes 10 through 12). This can be dangerous if people get impatient or are playing up right behind you.

Shooting on 13, 14, and 15 is pretty annoying. I feel like the designers just put a basket right in front of the teepad and through a bunch of trees and bushes in the way.

There's a lot of people if you go later in the afternoon, but any time before 3ish on a weekday, it'll be dead.

If you don't want to deal with the crowds, go to the 9-hole in Dewitt. It's a quick, heavily wooded course with some pretty nice elevation changes. It was always empty whenever I went there.

BRING A BASEBALL!!! The trees here like to hang on to discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Grand Woods

1    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 40  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 20.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice long concrete tee pads. Tee signs are nice and descriptive. for first time there was fairly easy to navigate. with the water in play on a lot of holes it makes you work on your accuracy and shot placement.
Cons: tee pad sign missing on hole 11. you also need to walk back along the fairway of 10 to get to 11. from 11 to 12 you to almost cut across the 11th fairway.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing here. didn't shoot to well but that just motivates me to come back and try to do better. i do see where hole 5 can be a major problem with all the leaves on the trees that you are trying to throw threw and around in order to get to the hole. Hole 13 can be a problem as well but not as bad as 5. my partner had a problem on both holes i had enough distance to actually make the safe landing area. 6 can be a real pain if you try and go for it. I tried to throw my anhyzer disc and ended up dropping it into the lake. still makes for a fun challenge though. i really had to work on every shot and figure out how i was going to approach each hole this made it a lot more fun then just throw any shot then putt.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.