Devils Lake, ND 
Ruger Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
ruger park

2-4    9/28/2015   9/28/2015
Review By: Knick
Played: 52  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice tee pads,
disccatcher baskets
, score cards with pencils and a course map
, nice clean park, garbage cans on every other hole
, not much activity here a few walkers thats it,
you use hole 9 to practice putt right when you pull up to the park,
easy to find all the holes and not speeding time looking for tee pads
Cons: no bathrooms,
no elevation,
park was not layed out very well could easy of been a great 12 hole course
every shot is straight ahead no dog legs
Other Thoughts: hole 1. 350 feet.
you throw threw brush you have about a 10 window right off the tee pad so dont miss left or right our your second shot will be right by the tee pad

hole 2. 420 feet
straight out over hole ones basket 40 feet behind the basket is really tall grass knee high

hole 3. 450 feet
straight shot the basket is placed in a row of brush trees you need to get inside the row of trees or your 6 foot put will be blocked by the brush trees i liked this hole

hole 4. 250
straight shot with a pond along the right side, tall brush and a two trees small trees along the pond so dont miss right or you will be swimming

hole 5. 280 feet
straight out again right in front of the tee pad is a drainage ditch that runs to the pond on 4 along the left side of the fairway is the drainage ditch with long brush and cattails

hole 6. 525 feet
straight ahead again no obstacles expect distance and wind

hole 7. 440 feet
straight ahead again 3 big pine trees right in the middle of the fairway about 300 feet out there is a nice creek that you have to shot over the basket is about 10 past the creek. this was another fun hole

hole 8. 300 feet
straight ahead again the creek runs to the left of the fairway then tee off behind the basket so the basket has water to the left of it and behind it dont over throw or miss left

hole 9. 330 feet
straight ahead again about 300 feet out there is brush blocking the basket so you have to go over threw or around the brush

You could of easily made this a 12 hole. Bad use of the park

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    8/30/2013   8/30/2013
Review By: JFasteen
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2015
Pros: Distance average over 300 ft. Nice to see for a 9-holer. Decent mix of open and semi-obstructed shots.
Cons: could use some real trees. Fairly simple layout but it is about as good as it can be for the location.
Other Thoughts: Nothing to crow about but I am glad I stopped and played. For an open, 9-hole course it was pretty fun. I'll definitely stop and play again if I'm driving through...for what that's worth!

 The devil made me do it!

1    7/27/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: Arnie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: I enjoy the course layout, because it was a nice mix of long and short shots. Hole # 3 was a nice change, because you had to work for your shot. This is a well maintain course, the grass is short on the fairways and tall in the rough. I like shooting threw the trees on Hole # 1.
Cons: There are no restroom. The park area is on the small size.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to have restroom and more tables. How about a 19th watering hole. There is room to add more baskets, but add so small mounds or a hill, so you can play up and down too.

 The Disc Eater

1    7/30/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 62  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun 9-hole course to play. Most of the shots are wide open with no trees or any other obstructions, allowing for some monster drives. The close hazards on either side of some shots made for some fantastic challenging shots. The baskets and tees were in great condition, each hole was clearly marked. The best part of the course was that at the beginning of the course is a large course map and a box with scorecards and pencils for tracking your games.
Cons: The hazards! I lost one disc in a wheat field (ok, so that was just a bad throw) and a relative lost one in the drainage creek. When you talk to locals about Ruger Park, they all get a far off look in their eyes and tell you about all the discs they have lost at the park. While searching for one of mine, I found another. So while there are some amazing distance shots, you have to tamper them with a little finesse.
Other Thoughts: A good course with plenty of challenges, but some great open shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Ok course

5+    9/4/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: mr.roboto170
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a nice course for beginners. A couple holes are in open areas away from hazards. Some holes have short trees which gives the course a little extra challenge without making it to difficult. Tees and baskets are set up nice making the course easier to traverse without the confusion of were the next tee is located.
Cons: Out of bounds areas are close on left and right side of hole #8 which gives it a nice challenge but also gives little room for error. Throwing disk over water on holes #5 and #6 will require you to walk a long way around the water.
Other Thoughts: This is my hometown course and its the only place i can go on the average day. Overall this is a great course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.