Athol, ID 
Farragut SP - Wreckreator DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg  
General Park Shot



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
course confusion

1    6/11/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: pypirate
Played: 54  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of limited elevation, relativity easy to follow, more mature trees (than northstar), minimum under growth.
Cons: Easy to accidentally switch to Northstar course at tee #2, the key to staying on correct course is the color of the basket top ring. Wreckreator baskets have orange rings, Northstar rings are yellow. Also, the baskets have arrows on the poles below basket that point to next tee box. Trail to #7 tee crosses #12 tee, pay attention to tee markers so you don't assume #12 is #7 (like I did).
Other Thoughts: I started playing wreckerator, and went to Northstar tee #2 which is much closer to wreckerator basket #1. I ended up playing the next 17 holes of Northstar and was frustrated . After finishing Northstar, I played wreckerator and liked it much better. IMO, much better course than northstar.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

durby800

5+    4/21/2015   4/21/2015
Review By: durby800
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout. Challenging par 5's and beautiful mountain view all around you.
Easy to find next Tee box,clearly marked.
Varied ups and downs in elevation to challenge how you throw and contend with the wind.
Plenty of trees to challenge even the straightest thrower.
The course is kept trimmed and neat most of the time.
Camping is nearby in the park as well.
Cons: The trees can make it difficult to get the distance you need at times.
Other Thoughts: It's difficult to find much bad about this course its always challenging and Ive been playing it for yrs now. every game is different,with the wind and weather.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Trees and Doglegs

5+    6/10/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the "middle sister" of the three 18-hole courses at Farragut State Park. Tougher than NorthStar, but easier than AWOL.

There is a good mix of tight, tree-lined holes and more open holes. Never wide-open, but some chances to air out a drive. But every hole has enough trees to knock a disc out into the woods and add a stroke or two.

This course uses the one available hill to add some interesting elevation and side-hill basket positions. Holes 6 and 15 tee off from the hill and offer long downhill drives. Hole 5 is a left-hand dogleg to a basket sitting on the steepest part of the hill. A basket strike or bad bounce will roll your disc to the bottom.

Several holes favor a right-fading drive to the basket, giving the course a good mix of hzyer and anny holes. A decent FH is useful as well.

Hole 14 is an example of a deceptively difficult hole. Listed as 132 feet, it plays more like a 200' hole. It is a completely blind drive to a basket tucked behind a large area of tall, dense brush, so you have to carry over the brush. Landing in the brush is an easy way to lose your disc, and at best will add a stroke or two trying to escape. You definitely want to drive long on this one.

Good concrete teepads on all holes, with a simple tee sign listing hole number and distance. All baskets have a "next hole" arrow on them. and there are a few additional guide signs.

Overall a great variety of lines to hit on this course. If you can shape your drives you'll enjoy the challenge of this course.
Cons: Navigation can be a little tricky, especially at the start. The #2 tee for the NorthStar course is visible from the #1 basket on Wreakreater. Very easy to accidentally switch courses.

Quite a few holes require that you walk up to see the basket. More detailed tee signs would be great.

The course map shows two pin positions for each hole, but I get the impression that they don't get moved much (if ever).

Hundreds of Ground Squirrel holes on the course. With the tall grass you can step into one pretty easily.
Other Thoughts: Excellent new course map available in the Visitor Center for $1.00. Includes all four courses.

Amazing selection of discs in the Visitor Center as well, at decent prices.

With two other 18-holes courses in the property and the fun 9-hole Little Brown Bear course, this is an outstanding disc golf destination.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Over Growen

5+    6/1/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: ClimbandDisc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has good use of the land and has a little of everything on this course. You better not leave any of you shots at home on this course cause you are going to need them. By far the best thought out course at Farragut.
There are plenty of holes on this course that really force you make a great shot to score well.
Cons: The course as well as all the Farragut courses need fairway and green maintenance. Lots of down trees and overgrown branches and brush.
Other Thoughts: With a little TLC this course would be by far one of the best in North Idaho.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wreckreator Can Wreck You

5+    5/21/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: General Scales
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome variety of holes. Bombers and placement shots. Good balance between sidearm and backhand shots. Good elevation changes throughout. Punishes those who throw errant tee shots. Course kept up well with a lot of the fairways being cleaned out from what they were 3 years ago.
Cons: Somewhat difficult to navigate if you aren't familiar. No next tee signs anywhere. Many people that play out here for the first time will skip the back loop due to the fact that walking off the first long hole you'll see a teepad to the left of the trail. This is not the correct hole as there are at least 3 or 4 more that play around the back of this area.
Other Thoughts: Out of the three courses at Farragut, this is the hardest (in my opinion). A.W.O.L maybe more wooded and longer, but there are par fours on that course. This course is all par three. Still an awesome course and worth the time (and frustration) that it brings.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/20/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Probably my favorite out of the Farragut trio. Challenging and a very well laid out course with several elevation changes including pin placement and several holes where you can "air it out". Tee pads #6 and #15 are placed at the back of the water tower and allow you to really get some distance with the elevation. BUT, be careful on #6 as there are some pretty nasty thorn infested bushes on the left at the bottom of the hill. One thing I forgot to mention is that on all 3 courses there are pro and amateur pars.
Cons: Some blind shots here and there but nothing to difficult. Sides of fairways are heavily wooded with brush as well. Leaving the fairway with your disc can sometimes be time consuming to find. Beware of ground squirrel holes and such.
Other Thoughts: Defiantly don't pass Farragut up if your in the area. It's a excellent place to camp and frolf!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wish it was My Local Course

1    5/29/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: Barthanatos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course maps available at ranger station (for a fee).
- Discs for sale at ranger station. They had a few different brands, and I would say more than fifty kinds to choose from.
- Concrete tee pads.
- Signage was adequate, particularly in combination with the course map.
- There is a practice basket.
- Good parking.
- Restrooms at parking lot.
- There are two other courses on site.
- Course was well-maintained.
- The courses where I live are almost all tight, technical and heavily wooded. This course was a welcome change with many more open, longer throws, while still incorporating good in-the-woods holes.
Cons: - Some of the teepads are quite small, and irregularly shaped.
- "Pro" and "Am" scoring differs only in what is expected for par. I don't really see the point in this except making people feel better about themselves.
- One of the drives needs to clear these really nasty tree/bush things, which is not hard per se, but woe to he who lands in them.
Other Thoughts: I played here with my dad and brother-in-law, both first time disc golfers. They enjoyed the course. Of the three courses at Farragut, this is the only one we had time to play, and we were uncertain of the location of the A.W.O.L. course (our first choice). It turns out that the map/pamphlet we got at the ranger station was missing an insert that had the other course on it. We learned this by asking another group we ran across. A.W.O.L. is apparently located across the street from the parking lot, where we thought the "family" course was.

Based on my day here, I don't understand the comments by other reviewers about losing discs or the course not being beginner friendly. The course is an easy enough walk my 3 year old would have no trouble, and a jogging stroller would be easy to use here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Combo - Although perhaps a bit too similar

1    9/23/2010   4/5/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 642  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 16.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Besides major elevation changes and perhaps multi-shot holes, Wreckreator has pretty much everything you need in terms of variety. There are plenty of different distances from 132-546 feet, lots of right/left turns that range from slight to nearly ninety degree doglegs. Many of the best holes, like Northstar, I found myself throwing hard, straight teebird or TL shots down a tunnel and then turning either slight left or right. Most of these fairways also had some real punishment and risk of bogey or worse with poor execution off the tee.

Beauty: Both Wreckreator and North Star are blessed with the natural beauty of the area. There are tons of pines, a cool landscape, and usually a dry 'nature' smell that revives great memories of camping and hiking. There are several nice little lookout points (although you never gain serious elevation) which offer beautiful views and the old watertower is pretty neat as well.

Solitude: We visited on a hot fall weekend and the course was mostly empty (or at least felt that way). Most of the fairways are distinct from one another and you get the feeling that you are literally on a walk through the forest. We didn't see any wildlife to mention but I'm sure it is out there from time to time.
Cons: Needs more diabolicalness: Yes, it is a word, probably...but you get my drift, its called the Wreckreator, it needs a bit of 'evil'. Both North Star and Wreckreator could benefit a ton from a few par four or five holes mixed in amongst the already strong layout. There is plenty of space and the terrain makes for perfect landing zones on multi-shot holes. Why not drop a few 'angry' holes just to keep things interesting. I've heard this might be changing with the new Black Diamond course but either way, the challenge level on North Star and Wreckreator is just too similar to me and could use a little extra.

Maintenance: Really poor maintenance was only obvious on the open section of holes near the water tower (I think holes 12-14). This section is also pretty hard to figure out where to go next and we spent a bit scouting out both next teepads and their respective baskets.
Other Thoughts: I'd have to agree with a couple of previous reviewers in recommending the North Star course before Wreckreator. Both courses have a number of shared features and although very solid, Wreakreator just doesn't have the feel of completeness or caretaking that North Star does.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good challenge

1    7/25/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 189  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 21.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After playing North Star, I started on Wreckreator. I would have scored a bit higher but signs were in poor shape and the transition from pin 7 to tee 8 is horrible.

There are two elevated shots with long drives--those were really fun, although it's hard to play them for the first time (the pins are not visible). This is a longer course, and for the most part the long holes have relatively open fairways. The shorter holes either hide the pin off to one side of the fairway or make it narrow.
Cons: The signs are in complete disrepair. Since this seems less used than the nearby North Star course, the trails between pins and tees are less worn down, making it a little tougher to figure out. After hole 7, I followed a trail to the road, then asked the camp host if there was a tee nearby. He knew of one, which happened to be 8, back behind his trailer near the restrooms. It's a 2 min walk, and very poor design.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course more than North Star, and it was slightly harder and a few of the holes were 400 ft or longer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course, Bring Water

1    7/7/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: Sixth Man
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well designed tournament level course. The holes are very diverse in terms of difficulty, length, and elevation. There are some great holes to challenge your arm, blind corners to challenge your approach, and some tight, short throws for accuracy. This is a very good experienced player course.
Cons: Many things also suck about this course. Even with a park map (which sucks but is only .50), you'll likely get lost or have trouble finding the next hole. The tight, blind, over-grown nature of the course makes it a total disk-eater. I felt fortunate to only lose one. Use a spotter! I played alone and didn't have the luxury. As many others have pointed out, there's not much out there. Take 2-3X the amount of water you think you'll need. Especially if you're bringing your dog. I used every ounce. There isn't even a small pond/puddle for your dog if you bring them and it gets hot out there. There are also thousands of gopher holes which make it very easy to turn an ankle. so be careful out there.
Other Thoughts: OK,... this course is great. Just be prepared. Very prepared. Don't bring small children, don't be a beginner, don't have a short timeline to play the course and you'll be fine. It's definitely worth it if you are a serious player. If you aren't this won't be any fun at all.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.