Disc Golf Store
Redmond, WA
Juel Community Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist  
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
In a word, "boring"

1    6/6/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: Udon
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice, long tiled teepads
- Alternate teepads for longer distances and a "back 9"
- Nearly impossible to lose a disc
- Big, open spaces to air out your discs.
Cons: Although the big, open spaces are nice, it left very little variety to each hole. Only two holes actually incorporated trees, but they were short and really easy. The rest of the course is pretty forgettable as almost every basket is out in the open and offers no challenge or technical shots.
Other Thoughts: I will not be returning to Juel Park as it is too far away from where I live (Everett) and not that interesting. Even if one was to make up a Safari back 9, there are nearly no obstacles or opportunities for technical shooting. It would be an ok course if I lived closer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

View it as a training course

2-4    7/9/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: b-mart
Played: 42  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Juel Community Park was the only course on the Eastside for years, which gives it a special place in the hearts of many old school players that I have had the pleasure of knowing. I understand that and I respect it, but being relatively new to the game I have to review it as someone would who thought that every course was set up during the same week...

Juel is a great place to work on shot placement and drive distance without having to worry about your score being hurt if you miss your line. That's because most of the holes are wide open with zero obstacles anywhere near the fairway. One thing that Juel does right with this setup is that they only mow the fairways, so any errant shots will sail off into the tall grass (see: rough) and be a pain to find. This doesn't mean that a bad shot will result in a bogey because you still have an open look from wherever you land, but it does mean that you still want to place your shots perfectly to keep from wading through tall grass under a blazing (or pouring) sky.

The land available for the course is used well, and all of the trees in or bordering the field are brought into play in some way during your round. You'll find right and left doglegs and a good variation in hole distance as well, from the ace run that is 9 to the 500' hole 15. All of the baskets are in impeccable shape and catch well. The teepads aren't solid concrete, but they do provide solid footing. This is definitely necessary on some of the longer holes.
Cons: The best word to describe Juel is "boring". What you essentially have are 9 holes where you throw across an open field, followed by 9 more holes that throw to the same baskets from teepads that are just a few feet away from the front 9 teepads. This means that you see different angles and distances, but when there aren't any obstacles to deal with you can hardly view this as "variation".

I'm not sure how much land is included in the park, but there is a wooded area behind the basket for 3/12 that looks very inviting. There isn't a ton of underbrush back there and it doesn't seem to be getting used by anyone else. I'm sure there's a reason that it isn't used, but since I don't know what that reason is I can't really comment on it except to say that if that IS part of the park they aren't using the property to its full potential.

The long grass does add a nice challenge, but it's a con all the same if you have to spend half an hour looking for a disc. There are definitely times of the year when it's more overgrown than others, and other times it's just a bog. You'll also find yourself exposed to the elements for your entire round. You can rest in the shelter of a tree here and there as you find it, but if it's a hot day or pouring rain this isn't quite as pleasant as Lake Stevens or Howling Coyote would be.
Other Thoughts: As I already stated, this is a great course to work on shot placement with low consequences if your shot is errant. That does warrant a return if you live in the area. It's a bit of a haul from Seattle and a ways from any other courses though, so I don't recommend it to anyone as a "destination". If you're in the area and want a quick 9 or 18, or want to work on improving most of the aspects of your game (drives, mids, putts, placement) without being concerned about watching your disc bounce off a tree? Juel is one of the best courses I've played with that in mind.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

5+    4/20/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: ForestGnome
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a great course to teach your friends on

Some long shots, some good short shots

Can't lose your disc

Friendly People

Doubles on Wednesdays

just outside of redmond proper



Cons: VERY wet at times. If the sun as been out a few days, it will just be a little muddy at holes 4 and 9. If it rained in the morning, holes 1, 4,6, and 9 will be just awful to play.
Other Thoughts: Still my most played course. Plenty of places to step out and smoke a cig. Not incredibly easy, there are two holes of the 9 that have some tree hazards. It has second tees if you want to do a full 18, but it's usually just adding like 15-25 feet, or a little more arc to the pin.

I like it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Flooded Practice Course

5+    1/26/2011   1/31/2011
Review By: Bstylin
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of room to unleash and work on your power: with concrete tee pads, signs with correct distance lengths.
Cons: It floods for the majority of the year and boots are a must. Very few technical shots and nearly all the holes are reachable on a drive. Too easy
Other Thoughts: Just a fun little course to practice on, but I wouldn't make the trip out there if it wasn't my closest course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Easy course and great for practice

2-4    11/14/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: johncourt
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is great for practicing your throws and a casual game. It is also a really fun course to bring people for their first time.

Hole 2/11 & 3/12 are my favorite by far because of their interaction with the surrounding vegetation which makes them stand out from the rest.
Cons: Wet and repetitive.

This course is always wet - always. Bring a sturdy pair of shoes that can get dirty. Also bring a towel for your discs.

The back 9 should have been designed better. The back 9 are identical to the front 9 except for slightly larger distances. They could have easily put tees for the back 9 facing other baskets to make a unique 18 hole course. This versus the two (almost identical) 9 hole courses here now.

Which brings me to the repetition. Because all the holes are wide open and duplicated, the course can get very repetitive, fast.
Other Thoughts: Ruined new pair of shoes here because I am an idiot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  First time here.

1    10/2/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: adstephens221
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Open Field
Cons: Open Field
Other Thoughts: Open Field was OK nice Par 3 course for a beginner. maps and tee pads say 18 holes but there are only 9 baskets with 2 tee pads each. The pads are about 20 feet apart making them more like an alt. pad than a back nine pad.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Juel Comm Park

1    7/17/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: stingraysteve
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee's & baskets in good condition
Great course for beginners or for the first time out in awhile.
Cons: Not much in the way of obstacles...we went in the middle of the summer, so there were no bogs.
Just a few trees.
Other Thoughts: Long straight holes
Pretty much tossing your disc around an open field.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: rxbandit1987
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Open area
-Fairly long tees
-Easy to navigate
-Not a lot of trees in the way
Cons: -Tall Grass,lots of disc hunting
-When wet you get soaked
-Some people don't let you play through(large groups don't let singles play through
Other Thoughts: I have played this course a good amount of times and it is very fun. The only thing I'd like to see is some amateur tournaments to spice things up a little.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Juel park conditions

5+    7/2/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: nllanos
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fairly long holes with good basket placements. Tees are also in good conditions and the maps are useful for first timers. Mud is not too bad, but maybe after tonight it could be a different story.
Cons: Decent winds that are constantly changing through the open field. The grass is also very unkept, so you will spend a good amount of time doin the searching thing
Other Thoughts: I go here often because of the fact that it is conveniently close to where I live.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 *update* getting better...

5+    6/4/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: rybob42
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice teepads and signs
- Two interesting holes
- Maintained and mowed by someone, with two recent basket placement changes (thanks!)
- Hard to lose a disc
Cons: - So wet during the wet seasons! Bring your rain boots!
- Very open and flat
- "Holes" 10-18 are just 1-9 with alternate teepads only 20-50 feet away from the original. Few alternate teepads makes for a more interesting shot - mostly just longer.
Other Thoughts: After wondering if this course would ever dry out, it finally happened in July and became more tolerable to play. In addition, some of the baskets placed in really boggy areas were just moved, and perhaps it won't be a problem in the wet times like it was this last spring. You'll still have hard-to-miss boggy and muddy spots, but at least it won't be unavoidable (like right around the basket, as it was).

Of the nine holes, there are only two where the basket is protected by some trees, three with a tree or two but not really blocking or protecting the fairway to basket, and the final four are as open as can be. I still don't understand the alternate tees (or holes 10-18) -- they're too close to the original that they add little value to the course.

I decided to update my review for the care that's going into the course. Moving the baskets was wise. That's impressed me and helped the course, and I have hope for things getting better over time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.